Log in
6.0 million people served.
Select Chevrolet Malibu Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2014 Chevrolet Malibu

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Midsize Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 6
MPG: 21-25/30-36 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.4L I4 196HP
3.6L V6 259HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 1 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2014 Chevrolet Malibu in the top 36% of 2014 model year vehicles.
Rank:
64%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2014 Chevrolet Malibu in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2014 Chevrolet Malibu also consider:
Be the first to review 2014 Chevrolet Malibu!
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Apr 30, 2013

Rob Olsson
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Chevrolet Malibu?
Exterior styling, the car's electronics.

Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Chevrolet Malibu?
Increase back seat legroom, improve upon the extremely light steering.

2013 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
My new 2013 Chevy Malibu is an attractive, moderately comfortable mid-sized four door sedan. Fuel economy at 26 MPG is average for its segment. The car features many impressive bells and whistles including XM radio and Bluetooth smartphone integration. Chevrolet's OnStar system - basically a glorified pre-paid cell-phone subscription - is offered. The car features a large 7-inch screen which tends to wash out on sunny days. The view from the rear view camera is displayed here. It's fortunate that this car includes a rear view camera because the rear view from the driver's seat is very poor.

Those who prefer a more firm feel and much lumbar support will appreciate the seats in this car. Others will consider the seating hard and uncomfortable, especially on longer trips. Interior fit and finish is good on the LT trim. Some might find the two-toned seat color schemes on higher trim levels a bit gaudy and unrefined. All seats are quite firm regardless of whether they're leather or cloth. This car is very, very quiet. Wind noise is virtually non-existent at any speed.

Handling and especially steering are this car's Achilles heel. Handling is fair with a rather floaty ride with minimal road feel. But the electrically assisted power steering is far too light and sensitive for this driver's tastes. While it's adequate and borders on nimble on a winding country road, a long drive down a highway is like a tug of war with a very determined opponent who wants to lean right or left but never center. Minimal corrective driver inputs cause the car to veer ever so slightly in the opposite direction. The end result of this is not so much steering as it is a process of constant correction. As this is a new car with less than 200 miles it is possible that this driver is simply unaccustomed to the performance characteristics of this car. Or, it may work itself out as the car is broken in.

The 2.5 liter engine seems neurotic as it is smooth and competent at some points and at others seems lacking in confidence and torque. However, the 6-speed transmission is smooth and delivers a consistently refined performance whether on the freeway or driving at slower speeds.

This car's styling and overall build quality seem quite good, the paint and fit and finish on the exterior are are outstanding. Another strong point is the extremely quiet ride. But I do have other concerns: The uncertain feel of the engine, the steering, road-handling, and interior comfort quality all leave much to be desired. The electronics are great but as usual, OnStar falls short of delivering a competitive navigation system without charging a monthly fee which is disappointing. This car has potential but I don't see it fully realized this year. Therefore I give the 2013 Chevy Malibu a "C."


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 7, 2012

DrunkenElvis
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Malibu?
Simply an easy car to drive. Comfortable, Quiet, Roomy, Good Gas Mileage, Nice instruments, Many power options are included in the base model, Reliable, Trip computer and Oil life Monitor, Regular maintenance tasks are easy, Bright headlights, Large trunk and rear seats fold down opening to trunk, Larger than expected rear seat room.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Malibu?
Small Glove Box, Interior show dirt and stains way too easily, Wiper control is confusing, Sunvisors break easily, Front suspension components wear out, Engine is noisey under load, Paint on radio controls wears off, Drink holders could be located better, Interior materials are cheap, Center armrest feels poorly made, Dome light switch feels cheap,

2006 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
This is a 4 cylinder, Mid size, Family Car. It is not a sports car. I wanted it to be quiet, comfortable, roomy and get good gas mileage. It has delivered slightly above average in all of these areas. Again I must say, it is simply easy and comfortable to drive and does not fall short in any area. I have over 100,000 miles on this car and I don't think I've spent more than $1,000 on repairs. I'm excluding tires and brakes and oil changes from this figure.

The car has a few minor flaws but hell, it's a cheap car to buy. It is true, that if you push hard on the gas, the engine gets loud and sounds rough but it's only a 4 cylinder and when you take it easy, the engine is quiet and smooth.

I am a conservative driver and I am very please with this car. I would rate it good to excellent on long trips and I have often seen 43 mpg U.S. whiie on interstate highways.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 18, 2011

MJF
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Chevrolet Malibu?
1. Good Mileage (have seen 30+ mpg, typically 27-29 on mostly highway driving).
2. Low Noise.
3. Interior & Exterior styling.
4. Good legroom in the back.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Chevrolet Malibu?
1. Bigger gas tank (good mileage, but want to more range).
2. A few more HP...would be willing to give up a little mpg, but not enough for the V6...maybe consider the 4-cyl Turbo from the Regal (but only if the gas tank gets bigger).
3. Wider ... hard to squeeze three in the back even for short trips.
4. More headroom in the back.

2010 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
22K miles, mostly long commutes and business trips. Overall happy with it.

When I'm driving colleagues out to lunch, most of whom are my size, (6+ ft. tall), the interior feels small. No way to get three in the back. Just an inch wider and an inch taller in back would make a big difference.

Have a long commute, and a bigger tank would be a plus.

Will get 380-420 miles on a tank (without sweating it too much). Was able to get 500+ in my old Altima.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 28, 2010

Vincent_Guerrieri
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Chevrolet Malibu?
Sold my 1994 Pontiac Bonneville with 3.8 engine in April and replaced it with a 2010 Malibu 2LT. We have put 8400 miles on it, including a 3000 mile trip, so we know it pretty well. While it's no Bonneville, it is a good car that I would buy again.
1. Decent acceleration with the four cylinder and six speed trans
2. Highway mileage almost as advertised at 30 to 33 mpg
3. Interior is comfortable
4. Handles well
5. Looks good, even received compliment from stranger
6. Fold down rear seats allow us to carry skis inside the car
7. Bluetooth makes it very easy to use the cell phone in the car

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Chevrolet Malibu?
1. Hard to get in and out
2. Steering wheel buttons too small
3. Transmission/gas pedal way too slow to respond after coasting
4. City gas mileage is terrible, less than my V8 Oldsmobile Aurora
5. Tilt steering wheel needs to actually tilt up out of the way
6. Center console not comfortable

2010 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
The 2010 Malibu is a very good car. Though it isn't perfect, it compares very well against the Fusion, Camry and Accords that I have rented on business trips and I believe it is the superior car. It is great for an around town car even though the around town gas mileage is way lower than expected. It is also surprisingly comfortable and peppy on the highway. I would buy it again.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 15, 2010

Erin_T_
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Chevrolet Malibu?
I just bought this car a few days ago and it took all of 24 hours for me to fall in love with it!

I love the redesign of the Malibu from it's boxier predecessor, and it has one of the smoothest rides I have experienced in a while.

It handles extremely well - I love the electronic power steering, though it does take a bit to get used to.

This is by far my favorite of the many cars I have purchased over the years.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Chevrolet Malibu?
I agree with the others that the trunk is somewhat awkward, but it is still very roomy.

I wish they would have moved the power jack over a bit, it seems to get in the way of the gear shift when the car is in park.

Also - I think the 33 mpg highway that Chevy proclaims may be stretching it a little, but it is all in how you drive the car.

2010 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
Overall - I really do love my Malibu. My husband swears by his Accord, but I think the Malibu definitely has him beat in styling and handling. I think the gas mileage of the Accord is probably a little better, but that is the only thing!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 19, 2010

Jo_Sanders
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Malibu?
I love the look of the 2009 Chevy Malibu LS. The low to the ground, short window look is a cross between luxury and sporty.

The sound system is wonderful.

I love driving the car and feel very luxurious in it. It's very quiet to drive both on the highway and in town.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Malibu?
The gas mileage is terrible. I bought it used with 46,000 miles on it. The gas mileage readout when I bought it was 19.6 mpg. I mostly drive it in town and after driving it a month the mpg now reads 17.9.

Another thing is the clunking sound coming from the left front wheel area when driving over rough roads.

Also the blinkers don't always turn off after making a turn. Sometimes they make a loud snap after completing the turn and do not turn off.

2009 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
I love the look and feel, but would probably not buy another one unless they fix the problems I mentioned.

This is my first American made car in over 15 years. I'd like to stay with American made cars but they need to pay more attention to details like those mentioned.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 24, 2010

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Chevrolet Malibu?
1. Sporty looking.
2. Doors and trunk sound solid and tight when closing.
3. Easy to manage radio controls.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Chevrolet Malibu?
1. Buttons on the steering wheel too small and can be distracting to the driver.
2. Trunk is difficult when loading an unloading.
3. The interior is a snap and fit - feel like I am in a model scale car.
4. Gas mileage is not what is expected.
5. The noise on bumps are somewhat loud.
6. Hard to balance the front and rear speakers.
7. A spoiler would make the trunk easier to open.
8. The turn signal sounds like a game show.
9. Hard to look over to see cars in blind spot.
10. Hard to look over seats when backing up into a lane.
11. Cloth seats show water marks easily.
12. Second back cup holder is smaller and difficult to put another cup in because of the center armrest.
13. Roof sound like a tin can in a car wash.
14. The oil cap area inside the engine needs to be wiped out from the remaining oil with a rag.
15. Steering wheel adjustment does not let the wheel go high enough up.

2010 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
Chevrolet Malibu LS.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 13, 2010

Anthony_Parran
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Malibu?
Great gas mileage.

Styling could be better, but each time I stand back; I like it!

Fantastic performance on the 3.5 V-6 engine. Friend drove it from the British Columbia interior as I drove my Jaguar in lead. As we drove through the Canadian Rockies, I noticed this mild mannered, 65-year old woman taking the corners very aggressively and would accelerate, pulling up beside me and then fall back. I asked over the two-way radio what was she doing and her answer was a resounding Yahoooo!!! She owns a far more expensive car and stated she was absolutely impressed with the handling and performance. What more can I say?

Interior space is great.

Trunk space is great.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Malibu?
The dash is plan.

The seats show stains too easily and must be cleaned on a regular basis.

I have 140,000 kilometers on the ticker. Not impressed with the fact that there is an oil leak on the ground. I was informed that Chevy has a service note out on the fact the rear seals might have to be replaced on some cars.

Today noticed I have a hum from the front wheel bearings. Had it checked and sure enough, both bearings will have to be replaced. Bummer.

2006 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
OK for the next month I'm going to invest about $1,200 for repairs on a car that is four-years old. That equates to $25 a month of ownership.

I can think of other cars that had I replaced the same parts, I'd need to auction off my first born. Hummmm, maybe that's not a bad idea.

Overall, I love my Malibu.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 2, 2010

Jasper2
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Chevrolet Malibu?
Styling is very fresh with an understated look. Others have had issues with the tail lights, but I think they look great--especially the LTZ. Thank God they didn't put red plastic all over the back end like older Impalas.

Very quiet at cruising speeds. Comfortable seats.

4-cyl has plenty of smoothly delivered power and great gas mileage. (6 speed automatic is a must, however--the 4-speed transmission is rough shifting.)

Body very solid. Braking is excellent.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Chevrolet Malibu?
Standard Goodyear Eagle LS2 tires are AWFUL. Replaced them with Hankook Optoma's at 6,000 miles. What a difference in handling and ride!

Electric power steering with 4 cylinder engine feels numb (like most American cars).

Trunk opening is too small, and lip too high. Difficult to get anything larger than a valet case in.

Rattle in the trunk area drove me nuts until I discovered there are two recesses in the wheel well cover than fit over two tabs at the rear of the trunk causing the lid to buzz whenever any irregularity in pavement was crossed. Bad design--even the dealer couldn't find out what was causing the problem. Only my own perseverance saved the day. Buzz now gone.

2010 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
A winner for GM! Far from perfect, but better in most respects than either Camry or Accord. Priced somewhat higher than comparable imports, but substantial discounts from list make it more than competitive. This one's a keeper!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 16, 2010

Ron_Freemyer
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Malibu?
Gas mileage excellent for this size car. Can maintain 32 mpg at 65 mph.
Sound system very good.
Tight body rattle free, and all body parts fit nicely, and good paint finish.
All havc controls work perfectly.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Malibu?
Spend more time and money to correct the many defects most owners relate to. Bulbs burning out, premature rear brakes wearing out, rack and pinion problems, rattling noise in steering column (dealer charged $100 to grease), my garage does free at oil change time.

Needed wheel alignment at 26,000 which dealer would not do free, causing premature tire wear and replacement at 30,000 mi. Unheard of for a new vehicle.

Seat upholstery stains too easily, always have to clean it. Seats also too hard, but this is common in all cars this size, unlike the comfort of my mini van seats.

2005 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
Overall, after reading the others reviews, I can't complain. As everyone knows, even Toyota has their share of problems. Maybe if GM were to be more concerned with quality, and being more responsible when it comes to recalls, I would consider another GM product. They have to do better before I will buy another car.

I have 95,000 miles on mine, and will probably keep it for another few years. It is running fine and hope it continues to do so. All manufactures have their share of recalls in all sorts of products not just cars. If they don't address those issues, they lose.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Chevrolet Malibu Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2014 Chevrolet Malibu?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2014 Chevrolet Malibu? Cons: How would you improve your 2014 Chevrolet Malibu? 2014 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2014 Chevrolet Model Lineup:
2014 Camaro
2014 Corvette
2014 Cruze
2014 Equinox
2014 Express
2014 Impala
2014 Malibu
2014 Silverado
2014 Silverado HD
2014 Sonic
2014 Spark
2014 SS
2014 Suburban
2014 Tahoe
2014 Traverse
2014 Volt
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

©2006-2020 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2014 Chevrolet Malibu | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact