Log in
6.0 million people served.
Select Volvo XC90 Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2013 Volvo XC90

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Sport Utility Vehicle
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 8
MPG: 16/23 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
3.2L I6 240HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:3
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 3 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2013 Volvo XC90 in the top 29% of 2013 model year vehicles.
Rank:
71%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2013 Volvo XC90 in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2013 Volvo XC90 also consider:
Be the first to review 2013 Volvo XC90!
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Oct 26, 2011

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volvo XC90?
Roomy in front and middle isles.
Very attractive exterior.
The car is the epitome of driving class without all of the bells and whistles.
Drives strong, moderate acceleration capability which prevents irresponsible driving.
Beautiful sound system and great placement of interior adjustment knobs.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volvo XC90?
For the class that the car competes, seems to be at the bottom.
Car could use better 'bells and whistles' inside the car.
Center console design should be sturdier and accessible.
More outlets for electrical appliances.
More third row space for adults.
Add at least 6 inches to the cars length and another 6 in depth or height.

2006 Volvo XC90 Review:
Overall, the vehicle is average. It falls short of the Volvo owner's longevity expectation. The old motto, "Drive the Volvo like you hate it" will not survive with today's Volvos. My car is always in the shop and it is just a matter of time when your Volvo will get another transmission. Most fall apart around 80k-100k miles. Get extended warranties for all parts. Volvo maintenance is horrible. Mechanics are of poor quality, seems Volvo spends more time planning to repair cars than selling.

My entire family has driven Volvo since 1985, sadly to say after: my sister's car caught on fire, poor maintenance issues and repairs with dad, mom, sis, bro, and myself....our view has changed about the brand.

I have owned the S40, S80, and currently own the XC90. Mom and Pop each own a S80, bro owns a S60, and sis owns a S40. My XC90 drives the best, when in operation but the poor quality of dealer mechanics and constant attention of the care downgrades the car's rating.

The car does not have quality lined within the parts we cannot see. Nor is the service system at the dealerships equip to car for you car with the luxury tag you expect from Volvo. My sis bought two new suv's, a Mazda and a GMC, both outperform the XC90.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 4, 2011

Tim W481
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2012 Volvo XC90?
Third row seats.
Safety features.
Separate video screens for second row.
Classy exterior styling.

Cons: How would you improve your 2012 Volvo XC90?
More engine power.
Dealer service.

2012 Volvo XC90 Review:
XC90 is the best value in its class. We compared all available vehicles with 3rd row seatings. The XC90 rose up to the top in value to cost ratio. The price was on the higher end of non-luxury vehicles, but the features were similar to most of the high-priced luxury vehicles.

We do not use the third-row seating on a daily basis, but it is a great feature whenever we have to haul kids' friends around, or when we have grandparents visiting.

It is a heavy vehicle, and the engine seems a bit underpowered. But I would not want to lower the MPG any, so the power to MPG ratio may be well-balanced.

Dealers can definitely improve on their service attitude. People working at the Volvo dealers do not seem to act like other luxury brands' dealer people. Maybe the whole transition from Swedish to American to Chinese shook up the dealer training process.

We love our XC90, and we got a great deal in this slow economy. We hope that Chinese ownership of the company would improve the overall Volvo brand.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 20, 2013

diane ciaramitaro
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volvo XC90?
I just purchased a used 2006 xc90. So sorry I did.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volvo XC90?
So far in three months....my steering wheel lock broke. Thankfully covered under warranty. However, the cd player just died and is not covered they,want 700.00 for that. Two days later my air condition died. Now they want 649.99 for that. So i guess a 2000.00 warranty covers squat....wouldn't have got it had I known all this wouldn't be covered.

2006 Volvo XC90 Review:
Do not buy a Volvo....the managers do absolutely nothing to help anyone. They told me that's the breaks when, you buy a used Volvo. Just don't do it!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 11, 2012

HerbSchulz
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volvo XC90?
Very Safe and good handling vehicle.
My 2006 looks as a 2012, a few little cosmetic changes only an owner would recognize. It has 60 K miles and the performance is as new.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volvo XC90?
Driver Seat control panel has broken/cracked and been repalced a 4th time.
Windshield post covers have delaminated and required changing.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 25, 2012

jennelle
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volvo XC90?
Do not buy this car. I bought brand new from the Ontario dealer. I have had one problem after another. Most were minor but annoying since my closest dealer is 1 1/2 hrs away and they don't offer authorized repair anywhere but at a Volvo dealership.

At 500 miles the brand new tire blew and the spare was defective. Stranded in the desert for 4hr waiting for Volvo road side assistance. Got to dealer after 10pm, closed and I was stranded in Ontario. Nightmare.

Took 4 trips to dealer to fix the noise coming from the dashboard.. some kind of baffle problem. I spent all day waiting, got in my car and noice still there. Dealer "O yes, i see here that we didn't have the part...we've ordered part. You'll have to bring it back.." 2nd attempt, spent all day. They didn't have the loaner car i reserved. End of the day, 1/2 way home, noise started AGAIN. Dealer - ... "so sorry, it's hard to tell which baffle is making the noise. Come back and we'll replace the rest of them...." Long story short... 4 trips latter I gave up and now live with the noise.

The GPS system is a joke. Its CD driven, so in just 1yr it was completely out of date. And the charge a ridiculous amt to get and updated CD. I could buy a Tom_Tom for less than the cost of an updated CD. I live in growing area of S. CA. None of the new roads are recognized by the Volvo GPS. It's like having a 6yr old Thomas Guide

Next, just a miles beyond my sched. maintenance... (driving to dealership is over 100 miles) and they would not honor the warranty... I had to pay

Now at just 60,000 miles the transmission and drive shaft have to be replaced to the tune of $5000+. If the dealer does the repairs is $8000 . And Volvo won't help one bit.

Talking to my local mechanic and reading the blogs the Volvo SUV have had a lot of major mechanical problems.

Do your research... do not buy a Volvo SUV you will be sorry.

2006 Volvo XC90 Review:
Do not buy this car. I bought brand new from the Ontario dealer. I have had one problem after another. Most were minor but annoying since my closest dealer is 1 1/2 hrs away and they don't offer authorized repair anywhere but at a Volvo dealership.

At 500 miles the brand new tire blew and the spare was defective. Stranded in the desert for 4hr waiting for Volvo road side assistance. Got to dealer after 10pm, closed and I was stranded in Ontario. Nightmare.

Took 4 trips to dealer to fix the noise coming from the dashboard.. some kind of baffle problem. I spent all day waiting, got in my car and noice still there. Dealer "O yes, i see here that we didn't have the part...we've ordered part. You'll have to bring it back.." 2nd attempt, spent all day. They didn't have the loaner car i reserved. End of the day, 1/2 way home, noise started AGAIN. Dealer - ... "so sorry, it's hard to tell which baffle is making the noise. Come back and we'll replace the rest of them...." Long story short... 4 trips latter I gave up and now live with the noise.

The GPS system is a joke. Its CD driven, so in just 1yr it was completely out of date. And the charge a ridiculous amt to get and updated CD. I could buy a Tom_Tom for less than the cost of an updated CD. I live in growing area of S. CA. None of the new roads are recognized by the Volvo GPS. It's like having a 6yr old Thomas Guide

Next, just a miles beyond my sched. maintenance... (driving to dealership is over 100 miles) and they would not honor the warranty... I had to pay

Now at just 60,000 miles the transmission and drive shaft have to be replaced to the tune of $5000+. If the dealer does the repairs is $8000 . And Volvo won't help one bit.

Talking to my local mechanic and reading the blogs the Volvo SUV have had a lot of major mechanical problems.

Do your research... do not buy a Volvo SUV you will be sorry.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 4, 2011

tostik
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volvo XC90?
Great cargo space--or 7 seats.
Fantastic ride.
Safety features.
Gas mileage about 21.5 mpg on my 2.5T engine--which is great for a 4500 lbs vehicle.
Surprisingly good acceleration for this small engine--Volvo really did the engine/turbo/transmission interface well.
AWD great in snow.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volvo XC90?
Poor rear visibility.

2006 Volvo XC90 Review:
Great car! Finding a good independent Volvo mechanic can save you $$$. I have had only one major problem in 2 years of ownership. The right front bearing had to be replaced--$450. The car does eat tires, so go ahead and pop for high quality tires with good warranties. Also, You get better performance and gas mileage with premium gas.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 8, 2010

David88
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:2
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volvo XC90?
Good looking.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volvo XC90?
Terrible front end suspension problems from day 1, and continue to have rattles even when replaced struts, ball joints, control arms and bushings for the 3rd time.
Navigation system failed and it is not repairable, only replaceable for $800.00+.
In shop for some type of repair more often than my 3000 oil changes.

2006 Volvo XC90 Review:
Would not buy this car or another Volvo again.


Rate this review:
1
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 20, 2010

M1A2TankerGuy524
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volvo XC90?
I purchased this vehicle about 2 weeks about.
It has the 2.5t engine, 72,000 miles so far.
Very comfortable and a ton of safety features and extras.
Love the 2 dvd players and 3 tv's in her!

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volvo XC90?
No complaints yet! Except gas mileage!

2006 Volvo XC90 Review:
I'm quite happy with my Volvo so far, but I am concerned with the high cost of repairs and the many complaints online. I love her, but I hope she treats me right! I'll be sure to conduct maintenance on a regular basis, thats for sure!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 16, 2010

Tom K
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Volvo XC90?
Third row seat.
Interior layout.
Exterior design.
Safety.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Volvo XC90?
V6 is underpowered.
Fuel economy can improve.

2010 Volvo XC90 Review:
XC90 is the ideal family vehicle. It always feels safe to drive in this solid suv. The third row seats are awesome. The second and third rows fold down completely, and it makes the suv an extremely utilitarian cargo carrier as well.

I chose the V6 because of the fuel economy, but it is still not that great. Other than the fuel economy, this is a great family vehicle.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 1, 2010

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volvo XC90?
The 2006 XC90 is a fabulous vehicle.
It rides and drives securely with all of the most advanced safety features available.
Ingress and egress are very easy.
The high lift gate gives easy access.
There is plenty of room to carry all sorts of items including a bicycle.
The wide stance and the driving height give one high visibility.
Bottom line...it is a great vehicle...just the right amount of everything.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volvo XC90?
High dealer service costs, like all luxurdy vehicles.

2006 Volvo XC90 Review:
This is a great SUV for all sorts of good reasons!
It is the best I have owned for safety, security and ease and comfort of operation.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Volvo XC90 Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2013 Volvo XC90?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Volvo XC90? Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Volvo XC90? 2013 Volvo XC90 Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2013 Volvo Model Lineup:
2013 C30
2013 C70
2013 S60
2013 S80
2013 XC60
2013 XC70
2013 XC90
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

©2006-2020 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2013 Volvo XC90 | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact