Log in
6.0 million people served.
Select Volkswagen Passat Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006

2013 Volkswagen Passat

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Midsize Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 6
MPG: 20-31/28-43 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.5L I5 170HP
3.6L V6 280HP
2.0L I4 140HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 10 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Best Pick ?Consumers rated 2013 Volkswagen Passat in the top 1% of 2013 model year vehicles.
Rank:
99%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2013 Volkswagen Passat in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2013 Volkswagen Passat also consider:
Submitted Sep 30, 2014

Mark
Performance:5
Exterior:3
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Volkswagen Passat?
We love everything about our Passat! Subtle classic styling, Great performance, amazingly large rear seating area.
We have the base gas model and consistently get amazing gas mileage. 35 to 45mpg.

Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Volkswagen Passat?
After one year the paint (silver) is not holding up as well as the competition.

2013 Volkswagen Passat Review:
We love our Passat, when our lease is up we will replacing it with a new one.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 27, 2013

canuck
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Volkswagen Passat?
Solid, firm but very comfortable ride. Roomy interior. Great, roomy seating. VERY quick takeoff that competes easily with much pricier models in the same category. SUPERB mileage. Smartly configured controls. Great fun to drive. People give a thumbs-up and an appreciative smile when they look at it. Quiet ride. Absolutely no rough diesel sound. A REAL WINNER!

Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Volkswagen Passat?
Noe, if the folks at VW had only included a front and rear distance warning device, the car would sell itself.

2013 Volkswagen Passat Review:
Mission accomplished. VW, you' ve got real winner. A tip of the hat to you. My Passat Highline TDi is the most fun-to-drive car I've driven in the last 10 years, including 2 Lexus models.


Rate this review:
1
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 5, 2013

robertomat1911
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Volkswagen Passat?
The fuel mileage of the TDI SEL is better than estimated and the interior room is amazing, especially back seat leg room. It rides like a premium automobile and has a classic appearance.

Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Volkswagen Passat?
The navigation system is average - does not have voice activated programming. Tire noise is somewhat intrusive.

2013 Volkswagen Passat Review:
We love the new Passat TDI SEL. It is an amazing automobile for the money. It provides exceptional comfort and performance. Economical to own and operate.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 7, 2013

unhappy2013
Performance:4
Exterior:3
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Volkswagen Passat?
Size and handling.
Like the SE features.

Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Volkswagen Passat?
The brakes make an awful squealing noise. It is very irritating. New car with less than 1k miles. Not getting much help from VW America other than wait for possible replacement parts. Not a happy customer.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 1, 2010

A_Zen_Maiden
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volkswagen Passat?
Bought the car used I just love it.

Styling, interior window shades, tinting nice n dark keeps interior cooler.

Sport package is really nice, seats gorgeous, back seat roomy. Good handling. Exterior lights for fog are great. Stereo great.

Interior lights are beautiful, colorful and soothing.

It's a fun car to drive..

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen Passat?
AC takes awhile to wake up and work even with a replaced compressor, doesn't blow really cold.. for really hot weather it's a bummer, my Honda's AC works better.

Ignition steering column lock problems initially noted and dealer fixed as part of the sale, at my insistence repaired a dealership.

Make the repairs less expensive.

Make it so you don't have to use premium gas.

2006 Volkswagen Passat Review:
It's got many more features that I like than the Audi A4. It has so many cool features and things about it that you learn going along. It's an intelligent car (computer brain), which I haven't owned one like this before. It tells you many things about itself with monitoring lights.

Great handling, fun fun did I say Fun to drive? .. my friends also love the legroom when we drive out at lunch and love the seats too, very comfortable.

Recommend to anyone who wants this type of car. The tan interior is gorgeous. Recommend getting the 3.6 L engine, it has lots of power.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 28, 2011

Victor H
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2012 Volkswagen Passat?
German engineering.
American built.
Highway mpg.
Price.
Sturdy exterior look.
Simple interior design.
Surprisingly nimble handling for the size of the car.
Responsive breaks.
Quiet cabin.
Spacious back seats.

Cons: How would you improve your 2012 Volkswagen Passat?
Plain exterior look.
Interior material does not feel luxurious.
Much larger size compared to the previous generation.
Is this Volkswagen or Toyota?

2012 Volkswagen Passat Review:
It is built in America, and I like that very much. This new version of Passat does remind me of the Maxima and the Altima when they were first built in America. Just as the Nissans somehow no longer felt like Japanese cars, this new Volkswagen does not feel like a German car anymore. It is a good and a bad thing.

Volkswagen used to thrill its buyers. I loved my old Passat. It felt like a luxury car. Volkswagen engineers and designers made sure that almost every facet of my interaction with the car to be a good experience. Everything that I touched felt nice and sturdy.

The new Passat feels more like the Toyota Avalon. It is big and nice, but it does feel a bid old. This new car is not that exciting.

So far, I test drove the new Passat a couple of times. I am still not convinced that I like it as much as my old Passat, and I am not sure I am going to buy one. As much as I loved my old Passat, it started to give me some electrical issues after a couple of years. But I still enjoyed the car so much that I was willing to look past those issues. With the new Passat, however, I am not sure I will be able to live with similar issues if they indeed come up, because I am not sure I love this new version.

As the new Passat thrills me as much as the Camry does, and since my last Camry was as dependable as morning sunrises, I will most likely buy the Camry. Though, I will keep my eyes open for the Passat in the next three years. If owners review positively of the new Passat's reliability, I would more likely buy it the next time around. It is a Volkswagen after all, and it just is more fun to own one.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 4, 2011

Maintain
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volkswagen Passat?
Solid handling.
Responsive and powerful motor in the 2.0T - turbo lag is very minor.
Good highway fuel economy. I saw 30 to 33 mpg on long trips.
Intuitive and easy to read system monitoring display.
Love the dark blue backlit interior console lighting.
Massive trunk capacity - fold down the back seats for even more!
Comfortable front seats - seat heaters work great.
Major styling improvement over the B5 Passat.
Quiet and comfortable ride.
Triptronic shifter is fun to use.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen Passat?
6 speed automatic doesn't always know what gear it's supposed to be and can experience hard downshifts. VW has extended the warranty on a certain valve in the transmission and can flash the TCM to smooth this out.

Air conditioning takes a while to blow cold air.

Defective turbo diverter valve. VW has created an upgraded version.

2006 Volkswagen Passat Review:
I bought my 2006 VW Passat new in 2006 and so far I've been very happy owning this car.

I've taken it on several long distance trips including L.A. to NYC. where I averaged 33mpg. I really liked the fact that I could count on getting nearly 600 miles per tank of gas.

The car performed predictably and comfortably in a wide variety of weather conditions from ice and snow to hot desert roads.

The Passat is surprisingly roomy and easily seats 5 adults. The trunk is absolutely cavernous and easily rivals most SUVs.

I've just passed 65k miles on Passat and I've had very little trouble. So far I've taken it in twice for warranty work. One was a defective trunk latch and the other was a factory recall for a brake booster hose and a wiper motor - very minor stuff.

I'd strongly recommend Passat to anyone.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Sep 14, 2010

KAREN216
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volkswagen Passat?
Performance.
Handling.
Comfort.
Ride.
Safety features.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen Passat?
Power seats and possibly clearer and more visible lighting on warnings, fuel, etc. They are not easily read and do not stay on long enough to warn properly. In the sun they are almost impossible to read.

I would also like to have wood below the dashboard.

2006 Volkswagen Passat Review:
I love my Passat. I got a German car for half the price. I have owned two Mercedes and yes, they are the very best. But they are not twice as nice.! My VW drives and handles like a Mercedes. It is almost as luxurious.

And it has all the power I need. It handles great, and it is comfortable. I left the lights all night soon after I got it and it started up very fine the next morning.

I really love the look of the back lights. It is a pretty car.

I feel as though as a woman I made the right choice for my needs.

I owned a BMW and as far as I am concerned that car is garbage.

I owned a '74 Beetle and ran it into the ground and sold it after I abused it to my uncle for $600 during the gas embargo and he drove it for another 6 years.

I now want an EOS. I hope to keep my Passat for another year or two.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 15, 2011

jessie
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volkswagen Passat?
Great ride.
Interior.
Exterior nice!

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen Passat?
None.

2006 Volkswagen Passat Review:
I really love this car. What's not to like?


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 18, 2010

Don902
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Volkswagen Passat?
The BMW driving feel...very German.
The 2.0T is a fantastic engine...peppy.
The car is very sexy yet not over done.
Functional interior...nice materials used.
People constantly compliment it.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Volkswagen Passat?
Nothing negative.

2007 Volkswagen Passat Review:
This is the best midsize sedan for drivers who can't afford a BMW or Audi. Camry & Accord are for old ladies...the Passat is more diverse. From the 2.0T to the loaded V6 with sport seats...this car has something for every driver.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Volkswagen Passat Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2013 Volkswagen Passat?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Volkswagen Passat? Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Volkswagen Passat? 2013 Volkswagen Passat Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2013 Volkswagen Model Lineup:
2013 Beetle
2013 CC
2013 Eos
2013 Golf
2013 GTI
2013 Jetta
2013 Passat
2013 Tiguan
2013 Touareg
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

©2006-2020 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2013 Volkswagen Passat | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact