Log in
6.0 million people served.
Select Volkswagen Jetta Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2013 Volkswagen Jetta

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Midsize Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 6
MPG: 22-42/31-48 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.0L I4 115HP
2.5L I5 170HP
2.0L I4 140HP
2.0L I4 200HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 3 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2013 Volkswagen Jetta in the top 36% of 2013 model year vehicles.
Rank:
64%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2013 Volkswagen Jetta in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2013 Volkswagen Jetta also consider:
Submitted Aug 28, 2013

Scott
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Volkswagen Jetta?
I often think the fuel indicator is broken because the mpg of my TDi is insanely good.
The car looks pretty sharp (black on black).
Feels smooth and silky to drive.
Has nice thrust of power when you stomp on it.

Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Volkswagen Jetta?
Independent rear suspension.
Not having my phone in the glove box.

2013 Volkswagen Jetta Review:
Amazing car overall and very happy with it. This TDi has a lot of potential and many people are already unlocking more power and better fuel economy out of it. I can't wait to "play" with it, but don't want to void my warranty!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 16, 2011

Wes T
Performance:4
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Volkswagen Jetta?
The I5 engine.

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Volkswagen Jetta?
Bring back the Jetta from the '90s.

2011 Volkswagen Jetta Review:
Compared to Hyundai Sonata, the new Jetta is a dismal failure. I really did want to overlook Jetta's inferiority compared to its competitors, because I loved my Jetta from the '90s.

But I couldn't.

First, the exterior design is ten years behind Honda. The new Jetta looks like any other mass produced midsize sedans. Other brands, such as Toyota, Honda and Hyundai, figured out how to spruce up the look without sacrificing the efficient manufacturing system. VW is way behind on this.

Second, the interior does not feel special anymore. What clearly differenciated Volkswagen from the others in the past was VW's attention to detail on every single knob or handle or surface that the driver touched. The Jetta's interior feels no longer luxurious, but cheaper even than the Hyundai Sonata.

Third, while the size of the Jetta became like a family sedan, the back seats are not that child friendly. From where the cup holders' locations to the shape of the seats, families with kids in cars seats may not like in small little inconveniences.

On a positive note, the Jetta still feels like a driver's car. I loved how the engine felt and sounded as I accelerated. Others, even the venerable Honda, made the car a bit too timid.

Overall, the new Jetta is an adequate car, but nothing exciting. I had two long test drives, but could not pull the trigger. I am now waiting for the new Camry that is coming out later this year. If the new Camry disappoints, then I might consider the Jetta (or the Passat) one more time.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Nov 7, 2009

David_Mathieson
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Volkswagen Jetta?
The body is much more solid than the 99 Jetta where the rear door would vibrate when you closed the drivers door.
Mileage seems improved for highway driving.
Very secure and safe feeling when driving at 70-80 mph.
Low wind noise.
It tracks very nicely on wet road surfaces.
The 6 speed manual transmission is great and allows high speed driving at very low rpm.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Volkswagen Jetta?
The TDI mileage in town with little traffic driving barely makes about 650KM. My old 99 Jetta TDI would consistently get 700km.
Would be nice to have your speed and time prominently displayed on the multifunction readout.
The 2010 golf has a nice white and grey background multifunction readout.
I use the car for work to move boxes, microwaves etc around and found that the trunk opening is so small now that these items would not fit so I have to sell the car and get a wagon. I also miss having the back seats fold down flat like the 2010 golf wagon.
When pressed by traffic sometimes I had trouble finding the right gear.
I find it hard to check blind spots when changing lanes.
The space under the back window is so narrow that it has little use for storing things and it is hard to clean the window.
It would be nice it the satellite radio had a larger memory because the program cuts out when you go under bridges on the highway.
The rear lights cheapen the look of the car and make it look American. I would like to see the yellow turn lamps on the back.
Watch out when you are parking near a curve as the front valance seems very low. The hood slopes down so much that it is very hard to judge how close you are to the curb when you nose in.

2009 Volkswagen Jetta Review:
The car overall is excellent value provided this model suits your life style. Make sure you test drive it thoroughly to be sure it suits your needs.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 5, 2009

fl_dolphin
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Volkswagen Jetta?
This is the best driving car I have been in for under $30,000 US. Sure a BMW 3 series is nice but the price is stupid money. The engineers did a great job on the handling. Even the rear wheels will turn up to 5 degrees to get me through a tight turn. ABS is great - But not if it's pumping all four wheels when only one is slipping. The Jetta has a separate channel to each one of the wheels and only pumps the wheel that slips. It stops in half the time of other cars.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Volkswagen Jetta?
I have a 2009 Jetta TDI - I would like another DC Power outlet in the rear and maybe one more in the front.

2009 Volkswagen Jetta Review:
I think this is the best car for the money around today. I don't want to go hybrid cuz of what batteries do to the environment, don't even mention the cost of replacing one ($5 to $6 grand). But if I were to get into a accident with that battery sitting next to my kids is horrible thought.
Just look at the door hinges that's thick steel. And no black plastic strips on the top where they joined the sides to the top, it's got to be stronger if hit in the side.
It's just a Great Car and a lot of fun to drive. I would rather have a CC. Maybe next time it will have a TDI engine.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 13, 2013

redrose_Rocker
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Volkswagen Jetta?
Looks sharp.. This is my 3rd VW and the MK5 has improved the interior of the car over previous models by leaps and bounds.. My car has everything (nav system, leather, sunroof, all the controls) and I absolutely love it. I love driving it and I hope this car lasts me a very long time. Currently has 60K on it and has been a very good car to me so far. I feel very safe driving it, love how it is a little larger than the MK4.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Volkswagen Jetta?
Nothing.

2008 Volkswagen Jetta Review:
Best car I have ever owned.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 15, 2011

John_DeFriese
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Volkswagen Jetta?
Excellent performance all around, city as well as highway.
There is plenty of room for the average adult.
Excellent as a daily driver.
Good mileage, fun to drive with standard transmission, smooth shifting.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Volkswagen Jetta?
The tire pressure light on the dash is rather sensitive and comes on frequently. I have Nitro filled tires and they hold their pressure normally very well. I have it reset by the dealer each time.
Check ups at dealer are somewhat expensive, but they keep it running like new.

2008 Volkswagen Jetta Review:
Overall good value. Now have 41/m miles on it and she runs like a dream. Good warranty to 50/m. I will purchase a TDI next for even better mileage. Typical German Engineering.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 12, 2011

Frank_Mackey
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Volkswagen Jetta?
TDI - Solid, well built.

Holds the road exceptionally well.

Compare its performance with the 2011 BMW diesel, performance sedan. It is very hard to find differences, except in the price tag and probably prestige.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Volkswagen Jetta?
Reliable automatic door locking and unlocking system.

2009 Volkswagen Jetta Review:
Perfect car for my use. Great fuel millage, usually over 40mpg, I got 37.7 from the latest tank in freezing weather with slow speeds, engine running for heat when the car was not moving, etc.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 17, 2010

Amy974
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Volkswagen Jetta?
It has a nice looking body, handles great, has plenty of power.
Great options and wonderful fuel mileage.
Jetta 2010 TDI


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 6, 2010

serellek
Performance:5
Exterior:2
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Volkswagen Jetta?
Almost every thing.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Volkswagen Jetta?
The paint quality. It scratches very easily.

Also the fuel economy could be better.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 16, 2009

nancy_scouten
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Volkswagen Jetta?
I have a 2009 VW Sportswagen TDI...... I'm averaging 42 mpg and I have under 16,000 miles on it so I know it will get better as the motor breaks in... I had a 2006 Jetta TDI which I gave to my daughter (she really needed a good car) and she averages 50 mpg..... That car gets better with more mileage on it... She's reached 58 mpg on that car... Anyway I like the Jetta Sportswagen for my needs - I'm going to dog shows and the car is perfect for crates, etc. and a comfortable ride. I also have the huge panoramic sun roof and the great GPS ...the GPS is really cool!

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Volkswagen Jetta?
The only con I can come up with is I wish it had more DC power outlets..

2009 Volkswagen Jetta Review:
I really love the VW Jetta Sportswagen!!! And it's a good looking auto.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Volkswagen Jetta Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2013 Volkswagen Jetta?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Volkswagen Jetta? Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Volkswagen Jetta? 2013 Volkswagen Jetta Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2013 Volkswagen Model Lineup:
2013 Beetle
2013 CC
2013 Eos
2013 Golf
2013 GTI
2013 Jetta
2013 Passat
2013 Tiguan
2013 Touareg
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

©2006-2020 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2013 Volkswagen Jetta | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact