Log in
6.0 million people served.
Select Pontiac Torrent Model Year - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006

2009 Pontiac Torrent

2009 Pontiac Torrent
Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Sport Utility Vehicle
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 16-17/24 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
3.4L V6 185HP
3.6L V6 264HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 7 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2009 Pontiac Torrent in the top 33% of 2009 model year vehicles.
Rank:
67%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2009 Pontiac Torrent in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2009 Pontiac Torrent also consider:
2009 Pontiac Torrent Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2009 Pontiac Torrent
  1. Style inside and out
  2. Sound system
  3. Rear seat leg room
  4. Visibility
  5. Handling
Top 5 Cons of the 2009 Pontiac Torrent
  1. Larger fuel tank
  2. Standard power passenger seats
  3. Window washer lever location
  4. Gas mileage
  5. More precise steering
Submitted Aug 4, 2013

Rocketts
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Pontiac Torrent?
The cabin is extremely roomy.
The rear seats are adjustable back and forth even.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 23, 2012

cal
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Pontiac Torrent?
The way it handles.
Way better fuel than my old Chevy ex-cab truck.
Nice pick up and go.
Nice family vehicle.

2009 Pontiac Torrent Review:
Thanks for a nice vehicle.
And not to much $$$$$$$.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 20, 2012

Samantha
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Pontiac Torrent?
It's awesome in snow!
Fully loaded!
Passes everything but a gas station!
Awesome lil suv - it's the suv for me.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Pontiac Torrent?
The gas mileage! They are horrible on gas! Pass everything but a gas station.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 17, 2010

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Pontiac Torrent?
Space and room.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Pontiac Torrent?
Air con sounds funny.
Visibility is not good when looking out rear window, hard to see.

2009 Pontiac Torrent Review:
Does anyone else have problems with the steering wheel locking when you turn the car off. I have never had a car that the steering wheel did not lock when turned off and Pontiac says it is a feature of the car that something happens to the mechanism and even though it seems it is not locked it is. Does not sound right and it seems too easy to turn the wheel in the off position. Even my turn signals did not turn off properly. Sounds like the whole steering column is messed up.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 2, 2010

Mary_Ann_Mascorro
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Pontiac Torrent?
Great interior room--I have two car seats in the back, and can still comfortably fit an adult passenger.
Great acceleration.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Pontiac Torrent?
I would like a little better fuel economy.

2009 Pontiac Torrent Review:
I love this car. It is exactly what our family needed!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 12, 2009

garyrobinson_
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Pontiac Torrent?
Great interior space.
Lots of power.
Rides well.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Pontiac Torrent?
Poor gas mileage.
Better insulation of road noise.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Jan 13, 2014

E_Abbey
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Pontiac Torrent?
Exterior.
Interior looks good.
Good gas mileage.
Over all very nice driving car.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Pontiac Torrent?
Change the interior door handles to make driver seat adjustments more accessible.
I find the vehicle handles like a pig for winter driving. It does not track properly and traction control totally sucks - gets stuck in the winter really easily in less than 6 inches of snow.
Cup holders are too cheap in the console arm and the back of the vehicle.
Power up plug not located in a good place, on the floor tray below the arm rest console.

2007 Pontiac Torrent Review:
I bought a used vehicle in the late summer, thought it was great until I had to adjust the driver's seat from my driving position to my husband's driving position. I had to open the door to adjust settings. Maybe put memory for seat settings in instrument control panels so you can set individual settings and save them to be called up with the touch of a button.
Get rid of all traction control, change it to front wheel drive with front wheel traction control assist.
Put power outlet on the Instrument control panel take it off the floor.
Put more sturdy cup holders in the front and the back.
Change the console to a floor console. not a liftable arm rest console. It will also give you more storage in the front between the seats.
Add cup holders on the floor console front and back.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 29, 2010

Julie_Mathhews
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Pontiac Torrent?
It is very roomy in the back and has comfortable seats for the most part. I LOVE that you can move the back seat forward or back & recline them.

It looks great on the outside and has a smooth ride.

Very pretty.

Tons of room throughout the vehicle. I like that there is a power port charging area for the back seat and cup holders that stow away.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Pontiac Torrent?
The cup holders up front are in a horrible spot, always in the way. You can't reach the power port underneath the armrest in front if you have the armrest down, especially with drinks in the cup holders. If you have a cell phone or iPod it is a pain to use the charger because of this. The little area in front of the shifter is inadequate to hold a phone or change or whatever. It is also dangerous to use it for storage because if you have to reach in front of the shifter when driving there is very little room to maneuver & there is a possibility of hitting the shifter while driving.

There needs to be an over the door handle on the passenger side. It is uncomfortable to get out of the passenger side because of the hard plastic side.

The front seat adjustments are not easy to reach while sitting in the seats & are very difficult to actually use.

The red dash lights are hard on the eyes, don't really like the red. Never thought about it but the glare from the reflective silver on the shifter is distracting while driving.

It's also hard to get used to the window controls on the middle on the shifter.

Having issues right now with my windshield wiper fluid pump not working and my driver side door lock not locking unless pushed by hand from the inside. I have no idea how many times the car was left sitting with this door unlocked until I realized this was happening. I only realized after I forgot that I had locked the car & then opened the door just to set the alarm off. Nice!

2007 Pontiac Torrent Review:
Overall, I would really love this vehicle if the kinks were worked out which will not happen now since they no longer make them. I guess if I want to get into a newer model of this style of car I will have to just purchase a Equinox since it is basically the same vehicle. Too bad!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 22, 2014

deandra robinson
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac Torrent?
It's cute and fully loaded... My 1st SUV and finally something that I had to have when I saw it...... I love the way it moves and the sunroof...lol

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac Torrent?
I wish it came with auto start...
I didn't like the cup holders that come out of the console like that.

2006 Pontiac Torrent Review:
Overall, I like my SUV. I can't complain really - jusf thankful for something to drive.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 17, 2013

Theresaldasilva
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Pontiac Torrent?
Handles well.

2008 Pontiac Torrent Review:
My service airbags light keeps coming on and they cannot find any problems, or that perhaps it may be caused by my cell phone interfering with the computer. Has this been reported before?


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Pontiac Torrent Model Year - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2009 Pontiac Torrent?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Pontiac Torrent? Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Pontiac Torrent? 2009 Pontiac Torrent Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2009 Pontiac Model Lineup:
2009 G3
2009 G5
2009 G6
2009 G8
2009 Solstice
2009 Torrent
2009 Vibe
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

©2006-2020 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2009 Pontiac Torrent | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact