Log in
6.0 million people served.
Select Dodge Charger Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006

2009 Dodge Charger

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Fullsize Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 13-18/19-26 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.7L V6 178HP
3.5L V6 250HP
5.7L V8 368HP
6.1L V8 425HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 7 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2009 Dodge Charger in the bottom 33% of 2009 model year vehicles.
Rank:
33%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2009 Dodge Charger in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2009 Dodge Charger also consider:
2009 Dodge Charger Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2009 Dodge Charger
  1. Power of the Hemi V8
  2. Sound system
  3. Smooth ride
  4. Room for adults in rear
  5. Exhaust note
Top 5 Cons of the 2009 Dodge Charger
  1. Odd looking cruise control
  2. Sportier seating
  3. Adjustable lumbar support
  4. Sportier suspension
  5. Tighter steering
Submitted Aug 7, 2013

monctonnewfie
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Dodge Charger?
I had my 09 dodge charger not a week and had to take it back. $2800 later and the very next day the car was banging and all over rd. Went back and the supension is falling apart. And they told me I had bumper to bumper and the warranty I got dont cover supension....I got it parked and never had it 4 mths....cant afford to fix it....thanks you rip off dodge assholes.....

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Dodge Charger?
Burn it


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 15, 2010

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Dodge Charger?
Car is fast and very aggressive on the road.
Has a sleek look that turns heads.
Looks good sitting in my parking space at work. LOL

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Dodge Charger?
The car wanders as if it is looking for its home. The handling is terrible and the steering is very sloppy. Very difficult to tell which direction the car is going in. It's impossible for my to drive in the rain on the highway because the car skids all over the place. I feel like the car has a mind of its own and I don't have any control behind the wheel. Every time I leave home I wonder if I'm going to return in one piece or ever return at all. I have a 2009 and it's the car from hell!!!

2009 Dodge Charger Review:
The car from hell has cost me over 3000.00 and I've only owned it for 3 months. Thanks Dodge.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 3, 2010

Barry_Ludwar
Performance:1
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

2009 Dodge Charger Review:
I have recently purchased a 2009 Dodge Charger SXT AWD. I have experienced a lot of trouble with the AWD system. It seems no matter what the temperature the car is always in 4WD mode. As soon as you shift into drive, it automatically goes into 4WD mode. The manual however says that the car will only go into 4WD when it is necessary, depending on road conditions or temperature.

Unfortunately it has been in the shop more than I have actually driven it. The dealer is trying to tell me that they can't find anything wrong with it and they believe this to be normal operation. I am now led to believe that on a beautiful summer day when there is no rain or adverse conditions that my new car will run in 4WD. I am becoming more and more frustrated, has any one else had the same problem?? Please help!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 3, 2009

cherylkidd
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Dodge Charger?
The car feels good with a lot of car around you. I feel safe and love the high seats.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Dodge Charger?
Adding sun roof and auto lights.

2009 Dodge Charger Review:
Excellent vehicle.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Sep 24, 2013

ledman
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Dodge Charger?
I love the aggressive styling! I have never in my life, gotten so many positive compliments on a new car!
The V-6 has plenty of power for me, coming from a Nissan with 170HP to a 292 HP V-6 is quite the jump in HP!
I love the interior. I am not sure about some who say it feels like cheap plastic, but that is not the case to me. It's solid, well built. Reminds me of the old Dodge, solid reliable cars!

Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Dodge Charger?
Not much at the moment I would improve on, but maybe more HP for the V-6.

2013 Dodge Charger Review:
The 2013 Dodge Charger SE V-6 has plenty of power for me, coming from a Nissan with 170HP to a 292 HP V-6 is quite the jump in HP! I have the 5 speed trans which seems fine to me, but the 8 spped would have been nice, but cost about $1500 extra.

I love the interior. I am not sure about some who say it feels like cheap plastic, but that is not the case to me. It's solid, well built. Reminds me of the old Dodge, solid reliable cars!

A lot of built in amenities too, things you used to have to pay extra for now come standard.

It drives like a dream on the road...nimble, but forgiving, you think you are driving a sports car, not a 4 door sedan. The car overall is a 4.5 for me, to make it a 5 I should have gotten the Hemi!


Rate this review:
0
-1
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 28, 2011

Lisa Meadows
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Dodge Charger?
Purchased in July 2006 with 8000 miles.
Best of 3 worlds - power, comfort and style.
Awesome to drive..love, love love it.
R/T with Hemi was the perfect choice (inferno red).
All leather interior was good quality. Has worn well.
Nothing like it on the road when I bought it.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Dodge Charger?
Tail fin paint peeled at 80,000 miles. (cost $75.00 to repaint)
Other than general maintenance and light brake work...it's been a jewel.

2006 Dodge Charger Review:
My husband thought this car had too much power for me. This car has been an awesome purchase. I feel completely in control and know how to handle this vehicle.

I am now at 89,000 miles and had a slight thought about trading. After shopping, it is hard to compete with the styling and power of this car. Although others cars have more bells and whistles, I have found nothing that I love as what this car offers me. My opinion, the 2011 body style hampered my decision to go with another Charger this year.

Think I will hold on to this car a little while longer.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 9, 2010

charlene
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Dodge Charger?
I have always loved muscle cars. I wanted to be a race car driver as a little girl..

When they brought out the New Charger I was in love.. I bought my 2006 Charger Se 3.5 high output Inferno Red Metalic Pearl paint job on May 30, 2006.

I love everything about it it has a great sounds system and great ESP the worked great in the Illinois snow.. I love my car I get some me heads that turn when they look at me. I have a little over 47000 miles on it right now.. I love the adjustable pedals..

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Dodge Charger?
I wish the 2006 Se would have came with fog lights.

Better wheel covers..

I did have the O ring replaced a couple of months after I had the car but that was standard recall no biggie to me..

I have had to replace the tire rod on the driver side.. but I made a lot of trips to Georgia and Georgia has some rough highways and streets..

2006 Dodge Charger Review:
I LOVE MY CAR.. HOPING ONE DAY I CAN TRADE IT IN FOR A NEWER MODEL DAYTONA R/T SAME COLOR OF COURSE WITH RACING STRIPE. BUT I ALSO DO LOVE THE NEW CHALLENGER.. BUT THE CHARGER IS MY BABY.. CAUSE I LOVE THE 4 DOORS. AND IT IS VERY ROOMY ON THE INSIDE...


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 27, 2009

X_Import_Owner
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Dodge Charger?
Mean front end styling
Solid
Safe car
Strong body
Strong roof
Smooth ride
Comfortable leather seats
26 average mpg, 35 I have had on the highway.

Handles great, steering is excellent easy to park in crowded areas not like the armstrong steering of my old 2006 BMW. I owned a 2004 Honda Accord V-6(trans problems) and a 2006 B.M.W 3 series(rough ride,very rough) and the V-6 Charger's performance is almost the same off the line but the Charger has better mid-range performance. I drive a lot of highway for business. I have the 3.5 V-6 model with 18" wheels.36,000 miles on the clock so far reliable, reliable. I ran a 15.47 in the 1/4 mile with a V-6 with 2.82 gearing pretty good for a 4,000 lb car with those gears. My BMW ran a 15.39 and my Honda ran a 16.78. I usually go to Friday night drags once in a while to see my personal cars real world performance. Love the smooth ride, great handling, 26 average mpg of the Charger.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Dodge Charger?
Nothing really but maybe this: Most complaints are probably people who drove the base 2.7 model, with smaller tires, different suspension. I would say base engine should be the 3.5 as the 2 Hemis are truly perfect. I drove the Hemi, but I drive almost 40,000 miles per year for my business, so the extra cost didn't work for me.

Also,they have the base model with the 2.7,then a 3.5 model then if you want better performance/handling the R/T then the B.M.W killer S.R.T model's, so there is no reason to knock this car. Performance, handling is top notch, just jealous people knock these cars.

2008 Dodge Charger Review:
Charger is Perfect but now I am going to buy a 2009 S.R.T-8 Charger for a weekend car in June-July 2009, and keep my 6 banger S.X.T as my business car. I was a import owner for many years my only other Dodge was a 1984 Plymouth Turismo I used in High School/College in the mid 1990's it also was reliable and trouble free. Now I am hooked on Mopars again.. I need the extra room of a 4 door otherwise a new Challenger would be my weekend car.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 23, 2007

Dfw8888
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Dodge Charger?
Exterior design - stands out.
HEMI performance with MDS - Genius!
Lots of little things, like the fact you can grip your hands fully around the interior door handles. Not just a flimsy cup like design.
Utility of 4 doors and plenty of trunk space.
Placing the battery in the trunk- great idea!
Good design and build quality + LIFETIME warranty = incredible value.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Dodge Charger?
Interior. Somewhat already addressed on the 2008. The Bezel for the radio and temp cluster had a strange cutout for the knobs that could make adding 3rd part GPS/DVD look awkward.

2007 Dodge Charger Review:
The 07 Charger R/T is a very solid feeling car including the "clunk" of the doors; it gives a sense of quality. You can feel that the car has a bit of weight, but still handles well. The V8 more than compensates for the weight. It down right pins you back to the seat at take off.

The car provides a nice quiet, smooth ride, with plenty of power when needed. The 4 doors and big trunk make it very practical for everyday uses. Placing the battery in the trunk next to the spare has several advantages. It places the weight over the rear wheels, makes changing easy, and really extends the battery's life, as it keeps heat and cold directly off it.

The interior has lots of room, but the design may be a bit plain for some. I kind of like it that way. There are no plastic tortoise shell accents that might warp in the hot sun.

After a couple of months driving in wet and dry weather; I am very happy with this purchase.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 11, 2007

rtspady_45
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Dodge Charger?
Everything!! The styling, the power,..I would have bought a Nitro but it's still in the first year. I wanted to stick with Dodge and I'm not disappointed. In addition to the three packages that I ordered, I got a good deal on the sunroof. Initially I didn't want it, but I'm so gald I got it. In the evenings when the sun is setting, I can crank it open and just enjoy the atmosphere. Truthfully I only use the A/C when someone else is in the car.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Dodge Charger?
I am one of those people that always uses my turn signals. However, with the placement of the cruise control, the left siganl indicator is hard to see. I tried adjusting the seat in order to get a better view however, I felt a little awkward sitting so high and too far forward. It definitely could be lowered, bent little further down, or placed somewhere else altogether. Also, I find it hard to believe that you invest that much into the purchase of such an awesome vehicle, yet I had to pay extra for an alarm system. That seems a bit odd.

2007 Dodge Charger Review:
I am so elated with my new car!! I thought that I would just go around stomping the accelerator every chance I got but in fact it's just the opposite. The dealership let me take one home for the weekend and I pretty much got all of that out of my system then. I drive about the same if not a little slower than I did in my last vehicle (01' Rodeo). I don't want to draw a whole lot of attention to myself but at the same time, my impreesion is that most people know it's a beautiful car (Inferno Red) that can pretty much blow the doors off of the majority of the cars on the road (w/ style, comfort, and luxury). I wish the fuel economy was a little better but hey, you can't have everything! It's also very flattering when the local police are intrigued and actually inquire about it as well.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Dodge Charger Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2009 Dodge Charger?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Dodge Charger? Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Dodge Charger? 2009 Dodge Charger Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2009 Dodge Model Lineup:
2009 Avenger
2009 Caliber
2009 Challenger
2009 Charger
2009 Dakota
2009 Durango
2009 Durango Hybrid
2009 Grand Caravan
2009 Journey
2009 Nitro
2009 Sprinter
2009 Viper
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

©2006-2020 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2009 Dodge Charger | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact