Log in
6.0 million people served.
Select Chevrolet Malibu Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2009 Chevrolet Malibu

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Midsize Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 6
MPG: 17-22/26-30 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.4L I4 169HP
3.5L V6 217HP
3.6L V6 252HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 30 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2009 Chevrolet Malibu in the top 40% of 2009 model year vehicles.
Rank:
60%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2009 Chevrolet Malibu in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2009 Chevrolet Malibu also consider:
2009 Chevrolet Malibu Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2009 Chevrolet Malibu
  1. Great gas mileage
  2. Remote starting
  3. Roomy inside
  4. Quiet and comfortable ride
  5. Powerful engine
Top 5 Cons of the 2009 Chevrolet Malibu
  1. Better interior
  2. Include floor mats
  3. Better gas mileage
  4. Center console too far back
  5. Low quality gas gauge
Submitted Sep 19, 2010

Jo_Sanders
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Malibu?
I love the look of the 2009 Chevy Malibu LS. The low to the ground, short window look is a cross between luxury and sporty.

The sound system is wonderful.

I love driving the car and feel very luxurious in it. It's very quiet to drive both on the highway and in town.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Malibu?
The gas mileage is terrible. I bought it used with 46,000 miles on it. The gas mileage readout when I bought it was 19.6 mpg. I mostly drive it in town and after driving it a month the mpg now reads 17.9.

Another thing is the clunking sound coming from the left front wheel area when driving over rough roads.

Also the blinkers don't always turn off after making a turn. Sometimes they make a loud snap after completing the turn and do not turn off.

2009 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
I love the look and feel, but would probably not buy another one unless they fix the problems I mentioned.

This is my first American made car in over 15 years. I'd like to stay with American made cars but they need to pay more attention to details like those mentioned.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 8, 2011

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Malibu?
I love the ride of this car.
I also found the outside and inside to reflect someone with some cash. It looks luxurious. When I showed it to my friends they were speechless, because I always chose old cars.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Malibu?
Like everyone said here the pull on the transmission I did notice, but it picks up well enough to do what I need.
The paint does peel or scratch easily but I don't plan on worshiping the car - stuff happens.
It is but a car but it is always a good stand by...meaning GM is known for cars that will last and this one seems it will last and look good doing it.
I don't know about gas mileage yet...but everyone should try looking for 92 or 93 gas any how, because for just a few cents more you get longer lasting gas!

2009 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
I for one love my car and see me enjoying it and the family of GM for some time to come. It has great features for sure!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 8, 2011

tm
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Malibu?
I love this car.
My 4 cylinder is getting 31 mpg on the freeway. Haven't done a lot of in town driving yet.
I have the Ltz model and love all of the features.
I have gotten numerous comments on how great the car looks.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Malibu?
I would love to have back up sensors.

2009 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
Love it!!!!!!!!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 17, 2011

Wesley
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Malibu?
Good looking.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Malibu?
Cheap quality.
Gas mileage not as good as portrayed.
4cyl very under powered.
Front bumper too low to the ground.
Poor quality stereo speakers.

2009 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
Ok first car for a teenager. Good value for the buck. Returned to the dealer frequently for quality issues.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 2, 2010

Laurie637
Performance:1
Exterior:5
Interior:2
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Malibu?
The only thing this car does is look good!

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Malibu?
The interior plastics and leathers need to be improved so they don't scratch so easily or wear through.
The engine needs to perform to the fuel economy label.
The car is rattle trap.
The whole Malibu LTZ is a disappointment.

2009 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
The mileage sucks, the 4 cylinder engine is just adequate, the car has been in the garage on a monthly basis ever since it was 3 months old. O2 sensors have been replace, fuel pressure sensor replaced twice, EVAP vent valve replaced, gas cap replaced, fuel tank replaced, rattles in doors, headliner and sunroof shade. The interior plastics scratch really easy & the drivers seat cover has worn through. I love cars, and take great care of them, but this is the worse car I have ever had. It's the award winning Lemon if you ask me. Guess what??? It was built on Friday, August 8, 2008, opening day of the Olympics in China, guess the workers were preoccupied. A lot of hard earned money for a lot of heartache.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 28, 2010

Guest
Performance:2
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Malibu?
The smoothest riding and quietest car in its class, tested all the rest.
Exterior, interior very stylish with all the bells and whistles.
Great in all kinds of weather.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Malibu?
I hate to say it, but lots of things I don't like!
In the city, very poor fuel economy. 2.4 does not have near enough power to pull around 3400Lbs of car and is not very responsive, which is why the fuel economy is so bad.
The trunk sucks, can't even put a cooler through the opening.
Signal switch never works properly.
The transmission needs better shift calibration to correct the lagging at lower speeds.

2009 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
Overall, the car has been very reliable and nice to drive, but would I buy another one, "No". Me and my family all drive GM's and I think its time for a change. I also don't like the way GM screwed its shareholders.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 14, 2010

Kenneth
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Malibu?
Styling, features, quiet ride.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Malibu?
Poor gas mileage.

2009 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
The gas mileage is nowhere near EPA estimates. I've never averaged better than 26 for pure highway driving and routinely average 14.5 for pure city driving. I average around 21 for mixed driving with the bulk of those miles driven approaching highway speeds. That's a far cry from the 22/33 estimate. Love the car, hate the gas mileage. Also, the lag time on acceleration can be so bad that I think twice before attempting a lane change.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 13, 2010

wes663
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Malibu?
Everything.
It put the excitement back in driving.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Malibu?
Raise front a bit - hits curbs.

2009 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
Best feeling of pride for a car I have had in 40 years.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 24, 2010

Al Roberts
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Malibu?
Design...beautiful car.
Ample accessories.

2009 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
2009 is first year for this particular tranny. Chev. rep says 6-speed is for fuel economy. I think it's a bummer. Car pulsates at almost any speed on the road. On some bumps, metal-on-metal "clunk" in the front. In the shop numerous times at less than 4,000 miles. Dealer keeps saying "performing as designed". B.S. Get me out of this vehicle.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 12, 2010

Tom826
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Malibu?
Good gas economy, 33 mpg highway.
Performance good, 4 cyl engine.
Good body design.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Malibu?
Front end is too low to ground. Front end scrapes when going into some driveways and parking in most spaces with a curb.

2009 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
I like the 2009 Malibu but the quality is bad. My car was 2 days old and it would not shift out of first gear. Six months later my left front strut went bad and my heater motor started to make a noise. A few months later my right strut went bad and paint inside my trunk started to peel. Then my right front head lamp got moisture inside it needed to be replaced now it is in the shop and my dash is being replaced because it has a bulge in it.

Its too bad because I actually like the car but will most likely never buy another GM car after 30 yrs of only GM cars.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Chevrolet Malibu Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2009 Chevrolet Malibu?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Malibu? Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Malibu? 2009 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2009 Chevrolet Model Lineup:
2009 Avalanche
2009 Aveo
2009 Cobalt
2009 Colorado
2009 Corvette
2009 Equinox
2009 Express
2009 HHR
2009 Impala
2009 Malibu
2009 Malibu Hybrid
2009 Silverado
2009 Silverado HD
2009 Suburban
2009 Tahoe
2009 Tahoe Hybrid
2009 TrailBlazer
2009 Traverse
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

©2006-2020 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2009 Chevrolet Malibu | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact