Log in
6.0 million people served.
Select Chevrolet Cobalt Model Year - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2009 Chevrolet Cobalt

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Compact Car
ABS Brakes: Optional
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 22-24/31-33 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.2L I4 155HP
2.2L I4 260HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 7 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2009 Chevrolet Cobalt in the top 13% of 2009 model year vehicles.
Rank:
87%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2009 Chevrolet Cobalt in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2009 Chevrolet Cobalt also consider:
2009 Chevrolet Cobalt Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2009 Chevrolet Cobalt
  1. Quiet and smooth ride
  2. Acceleration
  3. Good gas mileage
  4. Radio controls on steering wheel
  5. Stereo with XM radio
Top 5 Cons of the 2009 Chevrolet Cobalt
  1. Better visibility - rear window
  2. Nicer interior material
  3. Cup holder location
  4. Poorly designed center console
  5. More color choices
Submitted Jun 5, 2012

Toni Hill
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Cobalt?
I like the way it rides and the look of the body of the car.
I have a Cobalt LS and it has been a great car except for about 3 recalls, which I never had a problem with any of them, but took it in for the recall anyway.
Good on gas.
Just a good all around car that fits for me.
I'm happy with it.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Cobalt?
I really don't see anything that has to be improved on my side.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 25, 2011

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Cobalt?
No real problems with our Cobalt. Just scheduled maintenance.
Protected our son well in a head on collision. Air bags deployed and only ended up with a broken wrist.
Great fuel economy.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Seat somewhat uncomfortable on rides over 3 hours.

2009 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
We're looking to buy another after the accident.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 16, 2009

Guest
Performance:2
Exterior:3
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Cobalt?
I like that it's roomy, and the trunk is huge.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Cobalt?
My 2009 Colbalt is having electrical problems. I was driving on the 401 and all power to the car was gone. After a few seconds it would turn itself back on. It did this many times, but only after I was driving it for awhile. I Like the cars but I am not happy that I own one because this problem doesn't show up on the computer and the mechanics do not believe you. I do enjoy this car but again this issue needs to be resolved. Also the car does have a shaking noise after it runs for a long time also and it's in idle. Ag


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 26, 2009

Randy_Luke
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Looks, price, value, fit and finish, quiet, safe, and very reasonable.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Better tires on the XFE.
Dash is alright but way to much plastic in the interior.
Finish off the trunk inside.

2009 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
I really like the cobalt. It's much better than the Cavalier ever was.
I have 1000 miles on the clock and the gas mileage just keeps climbing - 29 mpg, now that's amazing.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 7, 2009

joshua simpson
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Cobalt?
I like the smooth ride and the ability to upgrade easily.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Cobalt?
More rim selection. interior trim should come factory painted different colors. Better accessories on it when you first buy it. Blow off valves for tc. color air intakes both color coated. When people buy these cars they are looking for power and looks.

2009 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
I would recommend the ss tc to anyone looking for a great sports car for decent money an it's American made.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Mar 15, 2011

James412
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Exterior appearance (the coupe only).
Lay-out and design of the radio and H-VAC center stack. The design of the dash is very straight forward and pleasing.
Driver info center with features like oil life monitor and tire pressure gauge.
Gas mileage, considering the nice performance.
Lots of "extra" features not found in other cars of this class.
Lovely brushed aluminum trim inside and quality switches on doors/radio.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Chevrolet Cobalt?
The plastic materials used on the dash and doors could use an upgrade.
Rear visibility.
Poor quality/insufficient height and storage in the tiny armrest/console.
Cramped, uncomfortable back seats (BUT it's is a compact car).
Gas cap is located on the passenger side leading to unusual maneuvering at gas stations.

2010 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
I have had two 2010 Cobalts: A base LS coupe with a manual tranny and no frills, and now a 1-LT coupe with an auto tranny and lots of bells and whistles. I totalled the first one due to my driving.

The manual was fun for a while and helped wring every horsepower out of the 2.2L engine. The base car had very cheap fabric on the seats. However, for an LS (the LS has base content plus air conditioning), I got the wonderful trip computer, tire pressure monitor, and other information features; remote trunk release, split rear seatback, NICE radio with auxillary input, chrome ringed guages, and nice looking brushed aluminum painted trim bits.

When I got the LT, I was really really happy with the content level. First of all, the seats/fabric was so much better! Having power windows, locks, mirrors and remote lock/unlock/trunk is so much better. Remote start is very cool. Also, it has a superb 4-speed auto which seems to almost anticipate my foot on the petal. My car also has the top radio with the USB port. Unfortunately I think it only recognizes Apple Ipods as it won't work with my MP3 device. I also have cruise on the steering wheel, along with driver and passenger vanity mirrors. This car is a great value! Also the DOHC 2.2L LAP engine is awesome, with variable valve timing- it has more horsepower than Corolla, Focus, and Civic standard models and is always willing to play.

This is all a great value because I happened to find this car as a leftover 2010 and a discontinued model that the dealership wanted to get rid of. I got the car for around $13000 (sticker was $18700) with all of the rebates. I plan on keeping this care a long time (long live the powertrain warranty!)!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 4, 2009

Carol_Ann_Lamothe
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt?
I really love the acceleration. I love the look of my candy apple red Cobalt, especially the rear view. It has a classy look combined with a sporty look...very appealing to all ages.

I've owned it for about eight months and so far I love it. I hope I won't be disappointed because it has taken me 24 years to come back to domestic cars. It sure has a lot of spirit!! The price was good too. So far I'm really happy and I will buy another domestic car if this one does not disappoint me.

The dealership here has treated me amazingly well and I will take that into consideration when purchasing my next vehicle...but I've tested the waters.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt?
I can't really point to anything major. I've owned enough cars to know that there is always something...as long as it doesn't mean something major.

The only thing I would point to so far is on the interior on the automatic shift. The plastic covering on the shift broke...a minor thing. It is still functional though.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
So far, I love my Cobalt. It has great acceleration. It has taken me many years to come back to domestic cars, please don't disappoint me.

My next purchase could be another domestic car because my Cobalt so far has really impressed me with its look and its gitty-up and go. Domestic cars have an eye catching design and that is very appealing to me.

However, I must reserve judgement. I don't want to be too silly happy and then be disappointed.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 31, 2010

Robin
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Tried cars all of the same class.
2010 Ford interior noise too loud;
Mazda was better for noise, good power;
Honda seat were +++ uncomfortable, that was a short ride turned around - not even a km away from the dealer;
Toyota was overpriced with nothing in it.
I believe the best for your $$$ was the Cobalt. We purchased 2010 Canadian Olympic edition with on star, sun roof, in dash computer that tells you everything, real nice features, good gas consumption and more.
Stock pioneer base in the trunk that really kick hard mp3. Aluminium rims chrome tip exhaust, leather steering, mud flaps, spoiler, block heater - all stuff that adds up quickly.
Anyway, the best was the interior cabin that is soooo quiet. You don't hear the road and the car.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Chevrolet Cobalt?
It's small on the inside.
First day we had it, we had water leaking in the front driver side. They fixed it, and it was a leak from a drainage pipe from the sunroof area.
2 weeks after, passenger headlight was taking in water. They fixed it.
Other than that, so far so good. We like it. I can't wait to add a fuel genie to it. We had a 2000 Cavalier and that gave us a extra 200km per tank.

2010 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
The reason we did not go with Mazda was that mpg was better on the Cobalt. If you really want zoom zoom, Mazda was the most pep by far, but we were looking at mpg. And also Cobalt was still much more quiet. Mazda would have been 2nd choice.

At the end of the day, they were all the same price - just the wording was different. But we really got so much more options with the Cobalt - hands down more for your buck by far. I did my homework before purchasing.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 17, 2009

Bob913
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:2
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Performance and handling in good weather for the most part seems sufficient. Especially in cooler weather.

Love the heated seats! It's the little things, the creature comforts that help me somewhat look forward to my drive to work, or long car rides.

Two power outlets are great, one for the GPS and another for a computer (again, for long trips). The seats are a little stiff, but definitely tolerable.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt?
***NEED REAR SEAT LIGHTING!!!*** It's a pain loading our son into his car seat in the dark. It'll be even more fun next August when we have another to put in there as well. This also has safety implications, especially in inner-city neighborhoods - you can't see if anyone's hiding in the back seat. I hope I get a better job soon so we can upgrade to a bigger/safer car before #2 gets here!

A larger trunk opening, and larger opening between the trunk and rear seat would be nice. I don't think anything could be done about the amount of space in the car, it is what it is ... a small, somewhat fuel-efficient car. It's a little cramped for two adults and a small child to drive cross-country. I'd hoped my boy would be over 2 years old before he can kick the back of the seat, but GM can't do anything about kids growing too fast :)

The cruise control is a little jerky. I'd like to see the speed adjustments made a little smoother.

This is not a car for hilly terrain. Fuel economy suffers. We get mid-20s MPG. In flat terrain, it's consistently above 30 MPG on the highway. It'd be great (for fuel economy, at least) if we lived in the plains states.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
In 2-1/2 years and 55,000 miles, *some* of the more notable problems we've had:
-Oil cooling lines are leaking.

-Control arm bushing is getting replaced this weekend.

-Driver's side door handle pulled out of the door.

-Driver's side front hub assembly/wheel bearing needed changed at 48k miles. Got it at Advance for $170 and did it myself. Dealer wanted $370+ for part alone, not including labor. Asked him why so much ... he said "you get what you pay for." I guess it's asking too much for a $19,000 car to get you down the road without stupid problems? This is the *ONLY* car I have *EVER* owned that needed a wheel bearing changed. But at 48,000 miles?

-Weird ticking noise coming from the rear end sometimes after shutting the car off. Had same issue in our old 2005 Cobalt. Our dogs thought it was someone knocking and started howling at it :).

-The cup holders are annoying. Drinks reliably take a flight on mediocre bends. My wife naturally reaches over to hold them up when she sees a bend coming. The drinks also interfere with the environmental controls.

-*MY* Biggest gripe is GM's maintenance departments.

There's some ugly horror stories on the web of injuries and deaths involving Cobalts where airbags didn't deploy. After two years, I'm wishing I'd never got the car. There's just too many stupid things for a car that we try to take decent care of. I'm kind of not surprised GM is doing so bad. If they don't start putting out good quality vehicles like they used to, and following up with better customer service than I've been getting, I don't suspect they'll be with us much longer.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 14, 2012

mike_cobalt05
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Good on Gas, great engine, still have it with 96,000 miles love it roomy in front, i have a 2.2 L engine upgrading it in the summer of '12 to 2.5 L turbo

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt?
cheep paint cheep rims Alloy had 3 wheel bearings gone 100 dollars each, back seats are okay if the front are all the way up if not the person in the back is screwed

2005 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
Bought my cobalt with 3 different tires got that fixed a little better on gas miles


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Chevrolet Cobalt Model Year - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2009 Chevrolet Cobalt?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Chevrolet Cobalt? Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Chevrolet Cobalt? 2009 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2009 Chevrolet Model Lineup:
2009 Avalanche
2009 Aveo
2009 Cobalt
2009 Colorado
2009 Corvette
2009 Equinox
2009 Express
2009 HHR
2009 Impala
2009 Malibu
2009 Malibu Hybrid
2009 Silverado
2009 Silverado HD
2009 Suburban
2009 Tahoe
2009 Tahoe Hybrid
2009 TrailBlazer
2009 Traverse
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

©2006-2020 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2009 Chevrolet Cobalt | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact