Log in
6.0 million people served.
Select Pontiac Torrent Model Year - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006

2008 Pontiac Torrent

2008 Pontiac Torrent
Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Sport Utility Vehicle
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 16-19/24-26 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
3.4L V6 185HP
3.6L V6 264HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 18 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2008 Pontiac Torrent in the bottom 42% of 2008 model year vehicles.
Rank:
42%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2008 Pontiac Torrent in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2008 Pontiac Torrent also consider:
2008 Pontiac Torrent Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2008 Pontiac Torrent
  1. Style inside and out
  2. Sound system
  3. Rear seat leg room
  4. Visibility
  5. Handling
Top 5 Cons of the 2008 Pontiac Torrent
  1. Larger fuel tank
  2. Standard power passenger seats
  3. Window washer lever location
  4. Gas mileage
  5. More precise steering
Submitted Aug 17, 2013

Theresaldasilva
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Pontiac Torrent?
Handles well.

2008 Pontiac Torrent Review:
My service airbags light keeps coming on and they cannot find any problems, or that perhaps it may be caused by my cell phone interfering with the computer. Has this been reported before?


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 22, 2013

Lexie
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Pontiac Torrent?
Horsepower is great!

Exterior of vehicle; ie chrome handles chrome rims.

Very comfortable and easy to drive.

Heated seats (heat up quickly).

Sound system.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Pontiac Torrent?
Not very good in snowy conditions (maybe better with snow tires).

Cup holder locations.

Spring creaking noise in front of vehicle when you go over bumps (worse in cold weather) wish I knew this before purchasing.

2008 Pontiac Torrent Review:
Overall great vehicle...however not impressed with creaky noise in front when it goes over bumps. Definitely not made for Ontario winter conditions but great in the summer with sun roof!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 12, 2011

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Pontiac Torrent?
The handling around curves.
The sound system is nice and loud.
The passing speed.
The MPG.
The steering wheel controls.
The rear seat leg room.
The chrome wheels.
The body style.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Pontiac Torrent?
A better cup holder.
A better turning radius.

2008 Pontiac Torrent Review:
I bought my Pontiac Torrent and I really enjoy driving it to and from work and on long trips.

The handling and the speed of this car are very good, the wheel controls help you to keep your eyes on the road, the sound system sounds nice when you are cruising down the road, and the chrome wheels and the body style along with the spoiler gives it that sports car look, and the rear seat leg room is really good for my kids when they sit in the back seat.

So all in all, I'm glad that I chose the Pontiac Torrent as my primary driving vehicle.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 6, 2011

darlene_simmons
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:2
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Pontiac Torrent?
The overall look on the outside.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Pontiac Torrent?
Blind spots on windshield corner post.

Hate the cup holders - they are awful.

Don't like location of windows.

Don't like the way the steering is when trying to park.

2008 Pontiac Torrent Review:
I basically think it is a good car and the price was reasonable. Now they have quit making them.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 2, 2011

Jack_Babcock487
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Pontiac Torrent?
This is an update to my previous review of our 2008 Pontiac Torrent GXP.
I have changed oil to a full synthetic Quaker State Edge 10W30. (Very expensive but worth every penny.) Also switched to a K&N air filter. This has really made a difference on how this vehicle handles off the line, and passing on the highway. I have several other changes I am considering making, but am not sure how the vehicle will be affected, so I will do a follow up when I have had a chance to test these out.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Pontiac Torrent?
Same as stated in my original posting. Larger fuel tank, and change the cup holders. Small but inconvenient changes that could have been made.

2008 Pontiac Torrent Review:
Loving it all still. Impressive ride for someone looking for a vehicle with a lot of spunk.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 13, 2010

Jack_Babcock487
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Pontiac Torrent?
All I can say is WOW. This is our first Pontiac, and from what I can see, it won't be our last.
Dynamic interior, and the seating gives as much cargo space as we would ever need.
Lots of power, and perfectly matched with a 6 speed transmission.
Throaty exhaust from a standstill start is way beyond what I expected.
Very well designed inside and outside makes for an impressive ride.
I can learn to really grow to love interior lighting.
Headlights are much more than needed, but a great bonus.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Pontiac Torrent?
Need to change the cupholders as they are hard to use with hot coffee.
Windshield posts are hard to see around as they are very large.(Might be a good thing if you have a rollover)
Mileage is a bit iffy from what the specs say, but I do have a heavy foot at times.
I believe a K&N air filter would help with this problem, as well as a full synthetic premium engine oil.

2008 Pontiac Torrent Review:
Might be too optimistic, but this vehicle is everything I ever wanted in a vehicle. GM has a winner here.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 1, 2009

Sonya
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Pontiac Torrent?
The look of the vehicle, smooth riding and plenty of room for my dog.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Pontiac Torrent?
Location of cup holders.

2008 Pontiac Torrent Review:
For some unknown reason my Torrent has been in the shop twice in less than a year to have the noisy insulators replaced. Not happy about that but otherwise nice vehicle.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 19, 2009

JANICE
Performance:5
Exterior:3
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Pontiac Torrent?
I like the sporty look. It is easy to get in and out of. I love the heated seats. The paint color. It has a very roomy front seat, and lots of cargo room in the back. I am told it is even very comfortable sitting in the back seats.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Pontiac Torrent?
The windshield is a very poor design. In the winter it holds the snow in the sides of the windshield and makes visability a problem. It is a pain to clean off the windshield due to the deep inset of the windshield.
It needs better placement of cup holders.

2008 Pontiac Torrent Review:
Overall, I really like the vehicle and am glad I purchased the Pontiac instead of the Chevy. It seems to be of better quality materials and appears more sporty looking than the chevy. I have had a lot of compliments on the color also.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 25, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Pontiac Torrent?
Everything! (GXP) from the heated seats, lots of leg room, interior is hot looking, goes very fast.. quick to respond, exhaust/stereo system sounds awesome. Mechanic husband really likes the wife's GXP.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Pontiac Torrent?
Smaller windshield pillars
they are very wide and hard to see making turns

2008 Pontiac Torrent Review:
Overall I like everything about it. I'm 5ft tall and I can get in and out of it nicely


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 6, 2008

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Pontiac Torrent?
overall performance
styling inside and out
flexible cargo capacity and rear seating
quality of materials and fit and finish

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Pontiac Torrent?
relocate/redeisgn cup holders in arm rest

2008 Pontiac Torrent Review:
So far vehicle is everything I had hoped for. Plenty of power smooth and quiet ride. Good handling for a vehicle with a high center of gravity. Execelent braking and a smooth shifting transmission. Quality of materials is very good with execelent fit and finish


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Pontiac Torrent Model Year - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2008 Pontiac Torrent?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Pontiac Torrent? Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Pontiac Torrent? 2008 Pontiac Torrent Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2008 Pontiac Model Lineup:
2008 G5
2008 G6
2008 G8
2008 Grand Prix
2008 Solstice
2008 Torrent
2008 Vibe
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

©2006-2020 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2008 Pontiac Torrent | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact