Log in
6.0 million people served.
Select Nissan Sentra Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2008 Nissan Sentra

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Compact Car
ABS Brakes: Optional
Standard Airbags: 4
MPG: 21-25/29-33 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.0L I4 140HP
2.5L I4 177HP
2.5L I4 200HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 13 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2008 Nissan Sentra in the bottom 38% of 2008 model year vehicles.
Rank:
38%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2008 Nissan Sentra in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2008 Nissan Sentra also consider:
2008 Nissan Sentra Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2008 Nissan Sentra
  1. Exterior style
  2. Gas mileage
  3. CVT
  4. Interior layout
  5. Safety features
Top 5 Cons of the 2008 Nissan Sentra
  1. Tighter steering
  2. Standard ABS
  3. Engine noise
  4. More solid trunk and door closing
  5. Insulation
Submitted Dec 21, 2011

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Nissan Sentra?
Great gas mileage for the price.
Smooth ride.
Very roomy interior.
Huge trunk and glove box.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Nissan Sentra?
Some of the interior trim feels rather cheap.
The stock speakers are terrible.

2008 Nissan Sentra Review:
I bought my Sentra as a commuter car and I'm getting 28 miles per gallon.
Definitely not a flashy car but it gets the job done.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 4, 2011

Corey__Johnson
Performance:2
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Nissan Sentra?
Looks nice, nice and roomy and comfortable.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Nissan Sentra?
Transmission makes a whining noise, currently in the shop needs a new CVT only 3 y/o with 80000+ miles.
Not good gas mileage at all.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 13, 2009

Jim
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Nissan Sentra?
Great gas mileage.
Looks great on the inside and out.
Transmission is nice but it takes some getting used to.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Nissan Sentra?
Poor trim assembly from south of the border. They need better a quality assurance system.

2008 Nissan Sentra Review:
I would buy another one. I just wish the assembly workmanship on the plastic trim was better.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 30, 2008

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:2
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Nissan Sentra?
The car rides great, a baby cadillac, good for road trippin
Nice size room inside it feels like a larger car
Seamless automatic transmission (CVT) is very good, but you need to get use to it for sure!
Fairly good on gas but Nissan is not accurate with mileage

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Nissan Sentra?
Put a key lock on the passenger side. Nissan got way to cheap on cutting out needed items like this
Car is not very good looking on the outside
Interior fabric probably will not hold up. After about 6000 miles fabric is creasing and pulling badly
Sloppy Mexican assembly, this is not your daddy's Japanese car

2008 Nissan Sentra Review:
I would recommend this car as a work car or to use around town or even for trips
I would not recommend this car for long term ownership, it is made with cheap materials
and built in Mexico with sloopy assembly. But if you want a car for a short term (3yrs)
and plan to run up mileage, this is a good car for you


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 23, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Nissan Sentra?
GOOD PRICE FOR VALUE

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Nissan Sentra?
MAKE IT A HACTH BACK

2008 Nissan Sentra Review:
THIS CAR IS A SLEEPER.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 18, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Nissan Sentra?
I get over 34 miles per gallon on the highway with the air conditioner on! Its a really nice car.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Nissan Sentra?
Engine noise, but you get used to it.

2008 Nissan Sentra Review:
I would buy another one.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 1, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Nissan Sentra?
Everything

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Nissan Sentra?
It need's a navagation system and a bose stereo system

2008 Nissan Sentra Review:
I drove a sentra while my car was in the shop and i love the sentra it's a great car,i went outta town in this car and got 33.4 mpg.I'm thinking about buying me a new sentra.It's a great car.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Jun 16, 2011

Logan
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Nissan Sentra?
MPG.
Appearance(SR pkg).
Features(iPod hookup).
Ease of maintenance.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Nissan Sentra?
Acceleration.

2010 Nissan Sentra Review:
We bought this Sentra new in June '10 and 1 year later it has 26,000+ miles.

This car is great. Awesome mpg. Just took it on a 1500 mile trip and got 34mpg on the Interstate with a/c running. Very comfortable car and quiet inside. The engine gets plenty of power for a 4cyl and the cvt transmission is acceptable.

The only reason I gave it a 4 for performance was it lacks in quick acceleration (ie, passing a car or getting on the interstate.)

This car (as you can tell) is a daily driver and primary family car. Not much room in the back for long-legged adults, but plenty for kids.

As far as maintenance, I do all the work myself on my vehicles and this car is a dream to work on. Oil filter is easily accessible from top, bottom, side and the engine bay is large enough to house a small v8 (just saying).

We opted for the SR model of the Sentra series and I'm glad we did. The appearance package makes it stand out from the million other Sentras on the road and coupled with the Super Black paint, it looks great and gets plenty of compliments.

Overall, this is a GREAT car for a small family or couple with lots of miles to cover. I see this car staying in our family for long time.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 4, 2011

kevin68
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Nissan Sentra?
Gas mileage is good for a small car made after 2000. I had a 96 Sentra that was rated at 30 city 40 highway and this one is 24 and 31. My 97 never averaged below 35 and I got almost 60 in it on a road trip and that was with 269k miles on it.
But the new engines are more powerful, they can get up a hill without being floored and sounding like a weedeater like the 96. So I will take a drop in my mpgs for this because it is safer when getting on highway (I average 27 in 06).

Interior is a little plain but makes for less to break. Front seats are comfy. Rear is too small to be for many.

Trunk has lots of room.

Quiet operation and lots of city power for small sedan.

Engine compartment is spacious in 1.8 engine cars. I don't know about 2.5 versions.

Console is laid out good and special edition look is great.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Nissan Sentra?
Wheels without hub caps (as in full rims) standard, not steel wheels (not a big deal; those just look better to me).

Better paint (scratches rather easy, heard they fixed this in 07).

More room in rear.

Better fuel pump (can make for hard starts, but only every now and then).

2006 Nissan Sentra Review:
Great investment. I have had 2 Nissans before and never had major issues with them. Nissan in my opinion makes best cars on road and you should be served great if you buy one. All my complaints are minor and don't keep me from loving my little sedan.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 18, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Nissan Sentra?
Mileage is great for the roominess.

Very roomy.

Corners good, very little roll. Great family car/40 miles one way to work car. Great for trips, can put a TON of stuff in the trunk. Hidden compartment is great for spare stroller stowage! (More below)

More on brakes in my review. Engine is 2.2, you want mileage, you wont be doing 7 second 1/4 miles, but then again, if you like 25 bucks a week for gas, this is your car! We are easily getting 400+ miles on a fill up.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Nissan Sentra?
Okay, look, Nissan, pay attention, I'm only going to say this once:

MAKE YOUR SIDE FLIP OUT SUNGLASS/GLASSES HOLDER BIG ENOUGH TO PUT AN EYEGLASS CASE IN FOR CRYING OUT LOUD. Good grief another 1/4 inch and it's perfect!

Stupid speed controlled junk radio. For anyone else, you can shut that off under speed sensor "Audio options". Totally stupid.

Radio jack hookup for Mp3/whatever, hey, 2 wires down to the center console (Like they did with the Scion Xa) and my radio wont look like it's growing a tentacle across to the passenger seat. Jack in the middle! (But thanks for the extra power socket!)

2009 Nissan Sentra Review:
We just crashed the 2008 Sentra with S trim with just a few thousand miles on it. We now a month later have a 2009, so we were able to jump out of one into a near exact replica, with some improvements.

1. The seats have that plush material on them vs the fabric whatever on the 08, definite plus. Radio is the same, Hands Free Bluetooth is an absolute deal breaker, IF you don't have it on the car. I picked my 09 on that basis alone, which left few options for colors lol. (Silver, Blue, or White). There's no side body moldings, so the doors look kind of naked, but you can put them on yourself from dealer (55 bucks a side, well worth it), plus get a front bra from dealer (115 bucks well spent), and a rear spoiler (not the racing kind just a low profile one), and the ONLY thing different on this year vs 2008, was the auto-dimming mirror (2009 didn't have it, bummer!) BUT, remember if you are going to tint the windows (we are), then the auto-dim might veritably leave you near blind to headlights when coupled with tint. Just a thought.

Now, the engine, same engine, transmission always feels a little slippery, but I guess that's the CVT working and SOP. Also the brakes, on our 2008 model, one tiny tap and you were screeching to a halt. WAY too sensitive. This year, ahhhh, just perfect. No worries.

Since my wife is not a road demon, she sips gas, and we have stretched mileage up to 37 mpg highway, that's exactly what we got in that tiny Scion Xa!

Room, talk about room, check this out, I put FIVE (5 gallon) water bottles in the trunk, standing straight up, 4 in a row, one in front of that, with plenty of room to spare. That's without opening the hidden compartment either! WOW. Duly impressed, haven't had that much room since my Chevy Long Bed.

Plus, whoever designed that "fit a BBQ inside" glove box, THANK YOU.

Handles great, drives great, brakes great, quiet on the road, cocoon effect is dangerous but can be remedied with loud radio or conversation on the hands free Bluetooth, which shuts radio off and answers a call for you, no more missed calls on the road, YEAH!

Bravo Nissan! (And thanks for trading in my Chevy!)


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Nissan Sentra Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2008 Nissan Sentra?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Nissan Sentra? Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Nissan Sentra? 2008 Nissan Sentra Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2008 Nissan Model Lineup:
2008 350Z
2008 Altima
2008 Altima Coupe
2008 Altima Hybrid
2008 Armada
2008 Frontier
2008 Maxima
2008 Pathfinder
2008 Quest
2008 Rogue
2008 Sentra
2008 Titan
2008 Versa
2008 Xterra
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

©2006-2020 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2008 Nissan Sentra | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact