Log in
6.0 million people served.
Select Dodge Charger Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006

2008 Dodge Charger

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Fullsize Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: N/A (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.7L V6 190HP
3.5L V6 250HP
5.7L V8 340HP
6.1L V8 425HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 20 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2008 Dodge Charger in the bottom 30% of 2008 model year vehicles.
Rank:
30%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2008 Dodge Charger in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2008 Dodge Charger also consider:
2008 Dodge Charger Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2008 Dodge Charger
  1. Power of the Hemi V8
  2. Sound system
  3. Smooth ride
  4. Room for adults in rear
  5. Exhaust note
Top 5 Cons of the 2008 Dodge Charger
  1. Odd looking cruise control
  2. Sportier seating
  3. Adjustable lumbar support
  4. Sportier suspension
  5. Tighter steering
Submitted Apr 27, 2009

X_Import_Owner
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Dodge Charger?
Mean front end styling
Solid
Safe car
Strong body
Strong roof
Smooth ride
Comfortable leather seats
26 average mpg, 35 I have had on the highway.

Handles great, steering is excellent easy to park in crowded areas not like the armstrong steering of my old 2006 BMW. I owned a 2004 Honda Accord V-6(trans problems) and a 2006 B.M.W 3 series(rough ride,very rough) and the V-6 Charger's performance is almost the same off the line but the Charger has better mid-range performance. I drive a lot of highway for business. I have the 3.5 V-6 model with 18" wheels.36,000 miles on the clock so far reliable, reliable. I ran a 15.47 in the 1/4 mile with a V-6 with 2.82 gearing pretty good for a 4,000 lb car with those gears. My BMW ran a 15.39 and my Honda ran a 16.78. I usually go to Friday night drags once in a while to see my personal cars real world performance. Love the smooth ride, great handling, 26 average mpg of the Charger.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Dodge Charger?
Nothing really but maybe this: Most complaints are probably people who drove the base 2.7 model, with smaller tires, different suspension. I would say base engine should be the 3.5 as the 2 Hemis are truly perfect. I drove the Hemi, but I drive almost 40,000 miles per year for my business, so the extra cost didn't work for me.

Also,they have the base model with the 2.7,then a 3.5 model then if you want better performance/handling the R/T then the B.M.W killer S.R.T model's, so there is no reason to knock this car. Performance, handling is top notch, just jealous people knock these cars.

2008 Dodge Charger Review:
Charger is Perfect but now I am going to buy a 2009 S.R.T-8 Charger for a weekend car in June-July 2009, and keep my 6 banger S.X.T as my business car. I was a import owner for many years my only other Dodge was a 1984 Plymouth Turismo I used in High School/College in the mid 1990's it also was reliable and trouble free. Now I am hooked on Mopars again.. I need the extra room of a 4 door otherwise a new Challenger would be my weekend car.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 21, 2008

Bimmerphile
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:1
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Dodge Charger?
Acceleration of the 3.5L V6 was adequate (not pinned back in the seat).
MPG was good.
Satellite radio tuner was great.
Roomy trunk.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Dodge Charger?
I rented this car at Dulles Airport because my Bimmer was in the shop. Don't know where to start on the cons, so much was bad.

I guess the worst was the handling. Car did not track well at all, it had to be steered back into a straight line rather than finding its own way after taking a corner, like all Bimmers do. At speed, the steering was very loose and the car tried to wander all over the road. Braking and acceleration were adequate, but not what I'd expect from a "sporty" car.

Suspension/shocks were mushy, it bounced all over our west virginia roads.

Radio speakers were crapola. My wife's Subaru has a much better system.

Interior finishing was cheap: plastic stuff and poor cloth seats.

"sport seats" felt more like a bench: did not hold driver in firm position when cornering.

2008 Dodge Charger Review:
All in all another example of ho-hum American engineering and cheapness. It's no wonder our companies are going bankrupt, we just don't have the quality, design, and engineering that the imports do (except maybe Kia). This Dodge was very siimilar to a Chevy Malibu I drove recently: just plain-vanilla cars with no personality.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 2, 2014

foxlog14
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Dodge Charger?
Srt8 is flawlessly perfect and FAST. LOVE IT CAN SAY THAT ABOUT MY 2014 RAM 3500 UNFORTUNATELY.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Dodge Charger?
I have already done to mine many aftermarket performance mods and it is 100% PERFECT..

2008 Dodge Charger Review:
I ONLY WISH THAT THEY COULD MAKE THEIR $67,000 Ram 3500 trucks half as well as the srt. 8 Charger!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 1, 2014

mike2327
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Dodge Charger?
I love everything about my car have had it for 3 years and it has 91000 kms. The only problem I have had is with the front tensions struts on the front suspension. Got them replaced and all has been good. Love the space in the interior and the trunk. Good gas milage also.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Dodge Charger?
If it had a 5psd auto in it I would love it more but the 4 speed is not to bad .

2008 Dodge Charger Review:
Over all I love my car but just one week ago I was in a 4 car pile up and I was in the middle of it. My car sustained some major rear end damage and I am scared they may write it off. I will find out later this week. If it is I will buy another charger or 300 of the same vintage .


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 16, 2013

GUEST
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Dodge Charger?
The mean look and the gas mileage and all black in and out.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Dodge Charger?
Is good the way it is.

2008 Dodge Charger Review:
100 good.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 21, 2013

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Dodge Charger?
I like the fact that I had it 5 years and it still runs great to me. I have a 2.7 because at the time I didn't have any credit and had just join the military. So I wanted something I could afford and not go broke driving. Since I've brought this car the only problem I had was coolant leak which was a known problem for the 2.7. Just hit 100,000 miles and still happy with this car.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Dodge Charger?
Every car has room for improvements, maybe making it a little bit more gas friendly.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 18, 2010

McClinton_Brown
Performance:1
Exterior:2
Interior:3
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Dodge Charger?
The Interior is comfortable and lots of button to push for comfort adjustments, i.e. seats, adjustable brake pedals, wife loves heated seat.
When it's running, great power from the 5.7L.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Dodge Charger?
Too much body roll on suspension, sloppy steering, and poor braking. We has two 2008 Chargers, R/T model, first one at around 26,000 miles, premature tie rod failure, dodge would not cover premature wear damage to both front tires cost us $400.00. Second 2008 Charger R/T, premature spark plug failure around 9,000, Dealer said it needed a tune up, Spark plugs are not covered under warranties, so labor cost at $221.00 and plugs at $68.00 plus other charges $22.00, we paid to dealer. No more Dodges in my Garage.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 3, 2010

nick899
Performance:2
Exterior:3
Interior:1
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Dodge Charger?
Absolutely nothing.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Dodge Charger?
Too light unreponsive steering, acceleration delay, musshy brakes, terrible interior, ho hum styling.

2008 Dodge Charger Review:
Terrible, this is why Chrysler went bankrupt, poor all around. Granted my normal car is a Hyundai Genesis Coupe and very well made, exactly the opposite of this piece of crap. Thank god this was only a 2 day rental.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 30, 2009

daniel
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Dodge Charger?
Smooth ride, nice body style, adequate power.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Dodge Charger?
I've had it for 1 year now and so far it's had a new transmission, push rods tappet covers rocker arm assembly, air intake manifold. Not to mention there was a problem with esp or whatever it's called, it caused my brakes to lock up heading down the highway. All sensors rear rotors and pads had to be replaced as a result. Clear coating was chipping off the front bumper and hood. Did I mention this is the replacement Charger for my original 08 that the dealership offered me because my first one had so many problems. And what's up with no back seat cup holders.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 21, 2009

NELSON CRUZ
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Dodge Charger?
COMFORTABLE RIDE IS NICE AND SMOOTH AFTER 25MPH.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Dodge Charger?
CHARGER SE PLUS 3.5 - I NOTICED MY VEHICLE AND THE SHOWROOM VEHICLE I DROVE HAVE A LARGE BANGING SOUND, ON STOP & GO TRAFFIC! ALMOST TO THE POINT OF THINKING SHOULD WE GET ANOTHER ONE FOR THE WIFE, BUT NOT YET WITH THAT SLIP IN THE REAR END OF VEHICLE (DOES NOT MAKE ME COMFORTABLE) DEALER SAYS THAT'S HOW SHE WAS SET UP BUDDY!

2008 Dodge Charger Review:
SCALE 1 THRU 10 (GIVE IT A SEVEN JUST ENOUGH MUSCLE FOR FUN) BUT THAT BANGING FROM REAR ON STOP & GO TRAFFIC TEARS ME UP INSIDE.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Dodge Charger Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2008 Dodge Charger?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Dodge Charger? Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Dodge Charger? 2008 Dodge Charger Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2008 Dodge Model Lineup:
2008 Avenger
2008 Caliber
2008 Challenger
2008 Charger
2008 Dakota
2008 Durango
2008 Grand Caravan
2008 Magnum
2008 Nitro
2008 Sprinter
2008 Viper
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

©2006-2020 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2008 Dodge Charger | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact