Log in
6.0 million people served.
Select Dodge Avenger Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2006 - 2005

2008 Dodge Avenger

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Midsize Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 6
MPG: 19-21/28-30 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.4L I4 173HP
3.5L V6 235HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 86 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2008 Dodge Avenger in the bottom 30% of 2008 model year vehicles.
Rank:
30%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2008 Dodge Avenger in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2008 Dodge Avenger also consider:
Submitted Jul 22, 2011

Guest18
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Dodge Avenger?
I love the sporty look of my car - we've upgraded to 20" chrome wheels with some nice rubber, chrome handles, added a spoiler, painted it purple with a dodge signature rear stripe down the sides, tinted the windows etc.

Gas mileage is average.

I have the AWD R/T version it works fantastic in our Canadian winters - saved me a few times with the auto traction fix.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Dodge Avenger?
Cheap leather interior - cracks in the seat.

Brakes replaced first year.

Water runs in the trunk when opened.

Have had some issues with stalling in the spring when idling.

I have the remote start feature which I use in the winter only problem is it seems to cut operating controls to my radio/gps unit intermittently - Sirius shows it is playing a song but no sound comes out. Often loses my downloaded songs I have saved too.

2008 Dodge Avenger Review:
Overall I really enjoy driving my car - I like the power my 3.5L has, nice riding vehicle, handles the crappy roads here pretty good. Lots of room and have had no major issues. I like that it is sporty and with the AWD version I can enjoy it all year.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 18, 2010

Joanna_Kunckel
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Dodge Avenger?
It is really a cute car. I used to have a true sports car, but I wanted a car that is not too fancy (expensive repairs) but is comfortable, big enough to carry the equipment I need for my job, but not too big so that it is easy to maneuver and park. Honestly I needed something I enjoy driving and like the way it looks, but not something that begs to be stolen or is too "precious" to be driven for my work.

I love this car! Good gas mileage, above average acceleration for a 4 cylinder, good size, and did I mention it is cute?

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Dodge Avenger?
I do not like the seat design-- it seems to be a new Dodge thing but I have had to add a support so that the headrest didn't hit my head at a weird spot.

I did get some options, but I should have gotten more to increase comfort.

Also, the wheels are a bit wimpy. I ended up replacing two wheels and rims on separate occasions within the first 6 months, but I probably had not adjusted from driving the Durango I had been driving as a primary vehicle for the two prior years.

2008 Dodge Avenger Review:
I have had my Avenger for two years and I have very few complaints. If I had it to do over again, the only thing I would change is to get more of the options. I have read some reviews where people complained of a lot of mechanical issues, but I drive mine for work and I really do NOT baby it, but I have had no problems thus far. When I first got it I had a hard time with the wheels (switching from a Durango) -- I ruined one rim, two tires, and bent two other rims that didn't have to be replaced within the first six months. I really use my car, but I keep up on the scheduled maintenance and everything works well. It is a good car that is practical for me to drive, and it is very cute! A lot of my co-workers would like one, and a few have also gotten one too!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 18, 2013

E
Performance:1
Exterior:1
Interior:1
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Dodge Avenger?
Sporty

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Dodge Avenger?
Stalls and misses out a lot.
Knocking sounds coming from engine.
Engine light always on.

2008 Dodge Avenger Review:
Horrible pile of junk. Still owe on it and can't unload this thing.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 7, 2013

nicole
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Dodge Avenger?
Handling is great.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Dodge Avenger?
Seats are uncleanable.
Tire sensor light stays on.
When it rains the trunk gets wet.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 4, 2013

Dawn S.
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:2
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Dodge Avenger?
I love that it resembles a Charger. I call it my "Poor Man's Charger" since I bought it at such a great price. I purchased it about 6 mos ago but it only had 42, 000 miles so I think I got a great deal.

I love the gear shift.

It handles great.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Dodge Avenger?
The cheap interior...

The tire pressure sensor stays on for no reason.

It stalls when in the rain or when there is a lot of moisture in the air.

2008 Dodge Avenger Review:
I love my car and once I get a few things taken care of, I'm sure I'll love it even more. No major complaints from me. I would definitely purchase this car again if I had a do-over.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 12, 2011

D_C_Foster
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Dodge Avenger?
I have a 2008 SXT, black & I absolutely LOVE the look of it on the outside.. I call it my mini Charger.
I drive a long way to & from work everyday & it is very comfy.
Great on gas.
Very roomy.
I love the cooler in the dashboard.
Great acceleration.
Very dependable.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Dodge Avenger?
Water leaks in the trunk when you open it after it rains.
Airbag light keeps coming on.
Lots of outside noise while driving with the windows up.
Interior fabric hard to clean.
Tire pressure light stays on.

2008 Dodge Avenger Review:
This was my dream car when it first came out.. I just bought mine, used, in March 2011 & I am still in love with it! I haven't had any major problems with it... I would definitely buy another Dodge.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 15, 2011

SPEC
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Dodge Avenger?
Looks Great, price was right.
Sporty yet has loads of room, nice sound system...love the cooler in the dash.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Dodge Avenger?
Cheap plastic interior.
Not a smooth riding car.
Lots of outside road noise.
Paint flake on front of hood, was covered and fixed under warranty.
Blind spots when backing up, and brake lights not bright enough.
Auto windows slam shut at times.
Click in steering wheel.
Upgrades I've done, remote start, and rear spoiler, plus tinted windows. They all should come with spoilers and tinted windows.

2008 Dodge Avenger Review:
Would buy another Avenger in a heartbeat, I just love this car, but would buy one up, from a 4 cylinder to a 6 just for a little more power and maybe a few more options.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 15, 2011

Steve904
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Dodge Avenger?
Has absolutely incredible acceleration for an I4.
Looks like a Charger.
Takes corners sharp and fast.
Barely takes any gas.
Incredible bass and sound quality.
THERE IS A COOLER IN THE DASHBOARD - that alone is awesome.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Dodge Avenger?
Massive blind spots.
If you open the trunk too fast, water drops in.
Tire pressure light always stays on.
The ignition sticks occasionally.

2008 Dodge Avenger Review:
I bought a used Avenger. It was leased for 3 years with 28,000 miles on it. It came with real chrome rims, spoiler, auto doors, windows and cruse control. Absolutely love the car. It's great. It will beat any other I4 in a race hands down. Its trunk is huge, the bass is incredible, and overall it's great. Although more in car lighting would be nice, also more vents to the back seat.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 16, 2011

Theresa_Cyrgalis
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:1
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Dodge Avenger?
I love the way it looks on the outside. I have the inferno red 2.4ltr with sunroof and also the air scoop on the back. The car looks beautiful and for the most part drives great.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Dodge Avenger?
I absolutely hate the interior that "yes" fabric should be an absolutely "NO" fabric.

My car was about 6 months old when my gear shift would not comes out of park it was fixed, but then they had a recall and it was repaired again.

I am now having problems with stalling mostly on humid days and/or days after it rained. Need to have that looked at also.

In the past several months when I turn on my right blinker my windshield wiper goes on, the wiper handle is on the other side.

I hate the fabric it stains from water if you open the window when it rains. Same thing with the door arm rests they are all mottled from water spots and they won't come off. I have tried everything on the spots on my seats all they are are water stains some from my grand daughters bottle and the remainder are from having the windows open slightly when it rains.

The factory tires suck they are 17" mine were ready to be replaced at 25,000 miles bald.

I haven't noticed the water in the trunk thing so knock wood on that one. I think they should recall the interior of the car completely and replace all the seats and door handles because their fabulous stain resistant fabric is absolutely horrid. It makes me angry because I have tried everything and those stupid stains take away from the entire interior of the car when its been washed.

2008 Dodge Avenger Review:
I love the way my car looks, I love the way it handles. I get many compliments on the exterior.

If they changed the interior, fixed the stupid blinker and got rid of the horrible fabric they used and the cheap plastic crap they have on the interior door arm rests. I would most likely buy another one. The stalling thing the dealer told me was because I needed to do maintenance at 15K miles which it said nothing about in the manual, I took it in because it was stalling it was under warranty and I ended up having to pay $655 for the work. I was furious I called Chrysler and they said the dealership said it was voluntary maintenance and after that it is still stalling after it rains or is humid not all the time but whenever it feels like, especially slowing down for a red light. Or if I take a turn sharp into a parking lot, etc. just cuts out no warning no hesitation just dies. I put into neutral and it starts right back up. Other than the cheap interior, the horrible yes fabric seats and the plastic door rests that stain from water I would love the car. I take good care of my car and I like it to look good but when you try and clean your interior and you have spots or stains all over the seats that virtually nothing will remove water stains it is very annoying as is the dots all over the interior arm rests. I have only been notified of the gear stick recall none of the others and I am going to find out about them.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 21, 2011

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Dodge Avenger?
Muscle car looks, totally different to anything on UK roads, Dodge fitted the Audi/VW 2.0 tdi& 6 speed manual transmission for Europe and they chose well, pulls like a train and shifting is short and sporty. Every where I go it draws attention. I love it.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Dodge Avenger?
Steering column seems a constant issue, replace once under warranty.
Way too much plastic inside cabin that looks cheap as well as fit of some of the interior trim, I think it was the inside of the vehicle that has not made it a success in the UK it could have been, ALL the European alternatives are far superior in this dept.
Noticed rust pushing the paint on the front leading edge of the bonnet for about a inch, strange as bonnet is aluminum, this has to be a qc issue back at factory, never seen that before on a 2009 car, will take it back soon to dealer while under warranty.

2008 Dodge Avenger Review:
Has its issues, but I still love the looks, it's a shame no more are being imported to UK, as it's an alternative to the usual crowd that all look the same. I can never understand it when the issues mentioned above cannot be sorted at the factory which would make this unique mark a top contender for its sector.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Dodge Avenger Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2008 Dodge Avenger?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Dodge Avenger? Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Dodge Avenger? 2008 Dodge Avenger Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2008 Dodge Model Lineup:
2008 Avenger
2008 Caliber
2008 Challenger
2008 Charger
2008 Dakota
2008 Durango
2008 Grand Caravan
2008 Magnum
2008 Nitro
2008 Sprinter
2008 Viper
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

©2006-2020 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2008 Dodge Avenger | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact