Log in
6.0 million people served.
Select Chevrolet Malibu Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2008 Chevrolet Malibu

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Midsize Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 6
MPG: 17-22/26-30 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.4L I4 169HP
3.5L V6 217HP
3.6L V6 252HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 107 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2008 Chevrolet Malibu in the top 38% of 2008 model year vehicles.
Rank:
62%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2008 Chevrolet Malibu in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2008 Chevrolet Malibu also consider:
2008 Chevrolet Malibu Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2008 Chevrolet Malibu
  1. Great gas mileage
  2. Remote starting
  3. Roomy inside
  4. Quiet and comfortable ride
  5. Powerful engine
Top 5 Cons of the 2008 Chevrolet Malibu
  1. Better interior
  2. Include floor mats
  3. Better gas mileage
  4. Center console too far back
  5. Low quality gas gauge
Submitted Apr 28, 2013

bob
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chevrolet Malibu?
Great styling, Tons of power with the V-6 although it has serious "torque oversteer" because of the V-6.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chevrolet Malibu?
Mileage should be better with a 6 speed trans.
Overloaded with cheap mechanical and electrical components.

2008 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
This is why people have switched to foreign brands.
G.M keeps making the same mistakes, and then won't stand behind their product.
Dealerships are disastrous.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 4, 2012

Kimberly Bell
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chevrolet Malibu?
I love the looks of this car.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chevrolet Malibu?
I bought this car Dec 2011 with 30k miles on it, thinking low mileage, should be good. I have had to resurface brakes, had the steering column replaced due to a popping noise in steering wheel, the brake like continued to stay on, cruise would not work due to the brake, and then the entire brake assembly replace to correct the popping noise when removing foot off brake..... Back passenger floor board hold waters. This is something ALL the time with this car! I will NEVER, NEVER buy another one.

2008 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
I have no idea if something has gone wrong with this car, but it is very poor quality.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 28, 2011

D_Sparrow
Performance:4
Exterior:2
Interior:5
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chevrolet Malibu?
I like the style of the car, the interior is nice.
It has a lot of power.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chevrolet Malibu?
The auto locks have broke on two doors, the car leaks from the sunroof.
My back floor completed flood more than once.
The front breaks did not even last 25,000 miles.

2008 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
I would not purchase another one of these cars. It seems like there something always going wrong with it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 7, 2011

GUEST448
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chevrolet Malibu?
A great, great car. I've only had it back to the dealer for oil changes, tire rotation, steering problems.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chevrolet Malibu?
For me the steering problems need to be addressed, only 18,000 miles and back twice to dealer. What happens after warranty is out? Now it's a ticking or knocking in the front end that disappears when braking.

2008 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
It's really been a great car for me... I really like the looks.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 23, 2011

Dave_Glassey
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chevrolet Malibu?
Style.
Performance.
Power.
Reliability.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chevrolet Malibu?
More aftermarket performance accessories.

2008 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
Best car I ever owned. No problems in 3 years 60,00 miles. Get the 3.6 ltr engine - fast.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 8, 2011

Da_Shawn_Biggers
Performance:2
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chevrolet Malibu?
The stylish look, and the setup of the dashboard instruments.
Also the OnStar option w/XM radio.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chevrolet Malibu?
By providing a more powerful radio and an armrest in the back.
Along with a bigger utility cup in front with the auxiliary outlet (not big enough for my HTC Evo)...

2008 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
I enjoy the ride minus the light popping when coming to a stop and/or turning. It will be sufficient for my new teenage driver. Haven't spent too much on gas, but the 1/2 tank fill ups have not yet to broke my pockets. So I must appreciate the 4 cylinder option. Good car but still looking for something more grown and mature. ;)


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 17, 2010

George740
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chevrolet Malibu?
Looks good.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chevrolet Malibu?
Car needs a lot of attention paid to quality.
Appears cheap parts are being used.
Dealers also need to be trained to handle problems better.

2008 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
Brake pedal makes noise - when you release it makes a loud noise like it is hitting something. Dealer cannot figure it out, so they do nothing.
Left front and left rear door lock actuators had to be replaced.
Turn signal cancel cam has been replaced twice, still not fixed.
Fuel gauge not accurate. It registers empty with 3 gallons still in tank.
Does not get advertised fuel mileage. Best ever in town 18 on highway 28mpg. This car only has only 17,700 miles.
Sometimes dash lights take over a minute to come on. They also go off at ties while driving.
Will not buy another.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 15, 2010

Rich_B
Performance:1
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chevrolet Malibu?
The styling is very nice, the car looks great inside and out.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chevrolet Malibu?
Quality is horrible, where do I start, instrument cluster blinks in and out with multiple codes, that the dealer wants $$$$ to check. Front rotors warp as soon as they warm up, I am replacing with after market cross drilled, door lock on pass side doesn't work anymore, steering col linkage shaft had to be replaced, key fobs have even failed, I had to re-solder. Wipers sometimes come on by themselves. I have an 03 Silverado 2500, best vehicle I've ever owned, the 08 Malibu is the worst. 70k miles all highway bad roads in MI excuse doesn't cut it.

2008 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
Great styling terrible quality. Too bad the car looks so good, wish I could sell it for close to what I owe.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 19, 2010

allen_broadway763
Performance:1
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chevrolet Malibu?
Nice looking car.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chevrolet Malibu?
Having steering problems, in the dealership for second time, the steering is dangerous.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 8, 2010

EA
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chevrolet Malibu?
Very good performance and excellent gas mileage.
The 2.4L is powerful, quiet and low maintenance.
Easy to change the oil.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chevrolet Malibu?
A knocking on the steering column when I steer and brake. GM replaced the steering column, they said it is one of those things that happen. The AC stops working when I need it most.

The bad thing is the service charges at the dealership. $120 per hour for just looking at the car. The Lexus dealership does not charge me as much!

2008 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
I bought this car used (32k) a year ago through a dealer. It used to be from a car rental. I average 3k miles a combination of city and highway miles, cold and hot weather. Excellent ride and handling.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Chevrolet Malibu Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2008 Chevrolet Malibu?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Chevrolet Malibu? Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Chevrolet Malibu? 2008 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2008 Chevrolet Model Lineup:
2008 Avalanche
2008 Aveo
2008 Cobalt
2008 Colorado
2008 Corvette
2008 Equinox
2008 Express
2008 HHR
2008 Impala
2008 Malibu
2008 Malibu Hybrid
2008 Silverado
2008 Silverado HD
2008 Suburban
2008 Tahoe
2008 Tahoe Hybrid
2008 TrailBlazer
2008 Uplander
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

©2006-2020 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2008 Chevrolet Malibu | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact