Log in
6.0 million people served.
Select Cadillac XLR Model Year - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006

2008 Cadillac XLR

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Luxury Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 4
MPG: 14-17/21-27 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
4.6L V8 320HP
4.4L V8 443HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 4 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Best Pick ?Consumers rated 2008 Cadillac XLR in the top 2% of 2008 model year vehicles.
Rank:
98%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2008 Cadillac XLR in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2008 Cadillac XLR also consider:
2008 Cadillac XLR Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2008 Cadillac XLR
  1. The looks
  2. Pleasure to drive
  3. Wonderful ride
  4. OnStar
  5. Hardtop convertible
Top 5 Cons of the 2008 Cadillac XLR
  1. Build quality
  2. Customer support
  3. Cabin storage
  4. Poor handling
  5. Loose steering
Submitted May 8, 2011

Richard_Belter
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Cadillac XLR?
Everything!! It is absolutely a Corvette in a Tuxedo!! So sexy and luxurious!!

Why GM stopped making them is beyond me. They should have stayed the course.

No other car like it - very different, very head turning.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Cadillac XLR?
Very minor points include larger trunk, Bluetooth and back-up camera.

2008 Cadillac XLR Review:
Wonderful, wonderful car!! So distinctive--love every inch of it. Plenty fast for me. Would have gone for the V series if the seats were better constructed in the V.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 4, 2007

cchiro
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Cadillac XLR?
Takes the sports car to a new level of elegance

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Cadillac XLR?
increased engine size....I do so love the power

2008 Cadillac XLR Review:
it allows incredible motoring at a still very resonable price


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Mar 30, 2010

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Cadillac XLR?
Styling, power, uniqueness. Always get a lot of questions when I am driving around and people(especially guys) are intrigued by the mechanics of the retractable roof.

This is my 4th Cadillac & my favorite. Only 2 others in this area, both older than mine.

But really BEST thing about my XLR - my older brothers are green with envy when their little sister pulls up in her "Black Raven"!!!

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Cadillac XLR?
Better dealer education. Very few mechanics are trained to work on this type of luxury car. Past 2 detail jobs have been horrible, not worth the $300 cost.

Original dealer where I bought new sold when original owner for 50 years retired. New dealer carries mainly lower price cars and haven't quite figured out that to sell more Cadillacs, you must treat Cadillac customers like a Cadillac, not a Ford.

2007 Cadillac XLR Review:
WOW!! Bought new, traded my CTS, and took the "Black Raven" home. Felt like a teenager, and spoiled. Definitely a head-turner!! Although black is harder to keep spic -n-Span, it is best color for this style of car.

My nephews would've signed over their souls to borrow for prom night; instead I took pictures of each w/their date sitting in car. They LOVE their Auntie!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 22, 2010

Alec_D_Storm
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Cadillac XLR?
The looks are fantastic and it is a real head turner on the road.

Not many of them out there.

The look with the top up or down is just a classic sexy roadster with a hint of futuristic tease.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Cadillac XLR?
Wouldn't even know where to start...have a lemon, make lemonade! I think the car was overdesigned and under thought out at GM.

The cargo divider, which locks into place to allow roof retraction must be made out of carpeted cardboard. Flimsy, to say the least. I have had the same issues experienced by EVERY XLR owner I have met...

Gas tank cable broke $550.00 fix, gear shift cable bent $1200.00 fix, roof alignment to allow retraction $600.00 fix, windshield wiper relay switch "pain in the butt fix, regulator on driver side power window lift kit $700.00 fix, etc...

It always seems to be some nit picky little annoyance that keeps you from enjoying completely what obviously was meant to be a pleasure drive.

2006 Cadillac XLR Review:
When you buy the top of the line vehicle in any dealer collection, you should expect to pay a little more for the upkeep, maintenance, tires and repairs. This vehicle, however, will nickle and dime (and by that, I mean $500 and $1000) you to death because of the inferior design.

The engine, electronics, AC, sound system, suspension, so far seem to be worry free...GM got that part right.

But overall, it is like owning a Jaguar in the late 80's...you better have a second car to get around town while it is in the shop.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 5, 2014

greg
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Cadillac XLR?
Everything.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Cadillac XLR?
A wing on the trunk lid.

2009 Cadillac XLR Review:
It's the perfect Caddy.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 25, 2013

larry bernard
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Cadillac XLR?
Everything!!!

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Cadillac XLR?
Purchase a second one!!!

2006 Cadillac XLR Review:
Saw it, luvd it, brought it. :-)


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 12, 2010

Terry_Denisco
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Cadillac XLR?
Everything.
It comes loaded with with a great list of comfort and convenience options.
It has beautiful looks and elicits a lot of compliments.
Ride, performance, and quality are exceptional.
No problems have been encountered, and my experience with the dealer is excellent.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Cadillac XLR?
It is a delight just the way it is.

2006 Cadillac XLR Review:
I lament the discontinuation of this car and hope that production be resumed in the future.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 8, 2010

jlmartin999
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Cadillac XLR?
Exotic Exterior Styling
Superior Fit and Finish
Ultra Modern Interior Design
Ride Quality
Overall Performance

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Cadillac XLR?
Beautiful Color Selection, but limited
Very Limited availability
2009 Last Production Model
Create 2nd Generation

2009 Cadillac XLR Review:
Cadillac's 2009 XLR Platinum is one of the world's most exotic designed and advance luxury performance roadsters developed. Beautifully executed in grand touring perfection with extensive features all standard and comfort and luxury that raises the one's expectations for sports car travel. Cadillac's XLR Platinum is simply superb.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 14, 2008

akmorris
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Cadillac XLR?
Fun to Drive and its a convertible.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Cadillac XLR?
Better gas milage

2007 Cadillac XLR Review:
I have an 06' XLR and I love the way it drives. The Northstar engine has good getup and go.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 22, 2008

atlantacolours
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Cadillac XLR?
The head turning looks and it is rare to see another one on the road.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Cadillac XLR?
Teach the dealers how to fix/work on them without having to go back ten times!

2007 Cadillac XLR Review:
A wonderful car that I look forward everyday to driving. It would be perfect if Cadillac had worked on the build quality just a little more....this IS after all an $85,000 dollar car and as such, we who can afford this type of car want things as close to perfect as possible!!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Cadillac XLR Model Year - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2008 Cadillac XLR?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Cadillac XLR? Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Cadillac XLR? 2008 Cadillac XLR Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2008 Cadillac Model Lineup:
2008 CTS
2008 DTS
2008 Escalade
2008 Escalade EXT
2008 SRX
2008 STS
2008 XLR
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

©2006-2020 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2008 Cadillac XLR | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact