Log in
6.0 million people served.
Select Dodge Dakota Model Year - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2007 Dodge Dakota

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Pickup
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 15-16/19-22 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
3.7L V6 210HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 27 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2007 Dodge Dakota in the bottom 11% of 2007 model year vehicles.
Rank:
11%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2007 Dodge Dakota in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2007 Dodge Dakota also consider:
2007 Dodge Dakota Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2007 Dodge Dakota
  1. Exterior design
  2. Ride
  3. Plenty of standard options
  4. High seating for 2WD
  5. Clever storage rooms
Top 5 Cons of the 2007 Dodge Dakota
  1. Better gas mileage
  2. More standard HP
  3. Reliability
  4. More aggressive front design
  5. More towing power
Submitted Mar 20, 2012

Red
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Dodge Dakota?
Nice body style.
Powerful V8.
Perfect size truck.
Towing capability beats competitors.
Redesigned interior is more appealing than previous generation.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Dodge Dakota?
This is my third Dakota. I've owned a 1994, 2000, and now a 2007 model. The only complaint I would have is that they did away with some of the gauges on the dashboard, like the battery reading and coolant temperature, which are useful to the driver.
Also only the Laramie version has the chrome rear bumpers now. They should have made these standard on the SLT at least.

2007 Dodge Dakota Review:
I have the V8 flex fuel engine and it's powerful. Love to hear it rev, especially when you pick up speed. I also test drove a V6 and it was smooth. Dodge fixed a lot of the engine and transmission problems in older models with this generation and you'll notice.

These newer Dakota's have a lot more room too, they compare to the older Rams of the late 90s. A lot of people have mixed feelings about the newer style body. I think it's classy and looks sharp. The 05-07 chrome front end model is a lot more appealing to me than the flat plastic front they changed for the 08-11 Dakota. I'm up to 100,000 miles on my 2007 and so far runs great.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 16, 2010

Charles_Perry
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Dodge Dakota?
Loved the look on the outside and the inside, which provides plenty of leg room in the front and back.

Seats could be a bit more comfortable in the lumbar area of the back.

The V7 engine with 6 speeds is impressive and
responsive on the road.

Love the output of the air conditioner, especially out hear in Arizona.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Dodge Dakota?
I wish this truck came with the option of more colors to on the seats and also offer leather seats.

The glove compartment is small.

Mirrors are large but they needs a smaller mirror built in to see your blind spots. We did purchase small mirrors and attached them to the manufactured mirrors and and it made a difference.

A storage compartment between the front seats.

2007 Dodge Dakota Review:
We got the truck from a dealer and it still had a three month bumper to bumper warranty and 6 year or 80,000 miles coverage for transmission and much more to list. This was another incentive to buy this truck.

My wife and I both love driving the six speed.

The MGP was not as high as we expected but better than the bigger trucks or Jeeps, which we were considering.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 17, 2009

George_Patrick
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Dodge Dakota?
Truck has lots of room, for four people for longer trips. Has good gas mileage, handles like a sport car, great towing power, longer bed for golf clubs and other items.

This is my second one, I had a 2002 previously, put 115k miles and only spent 90.00 that wasn't routine maintenance.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Dodge Dakota?
I bought mine used and had been ordered special with heavy duty springs all the way around, 4 leaf's in rear.

Harsher ride than my 2002. I will change that eventually.

I did put the chip in it and a soft toneau cover. The gas mileage in hilly 100 plus temperatures in Calif is 22 highway and 16 city running hi air conditioning. I'm sure 24 mpg is possible in flatter Terrane.

2007 Dodge Dakota Review:
I've never understood the pricing by the dealers of Dakota's especially in California. You never see an add on one, never discounts, always low inventory. The big trucks get massive discounts off similar retail stickers. It seems you have to buy one used to get a deal. I can by the full size one any day for less than a Dakota, which won't fit in my garage. Nobody else has a truck that size with V/8 power, which I don't count the Ford Explorer track as real competition.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 4, 2011

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Dodge Dakota?
I love this truck. I'm averaging 19 mpg in a 4 door 4x4 that handles very well for a truck.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Dodge Dakota?
Cup holders are in a bad location and the alleged non-staining interior stains quite easily.

2007 Dodge Dakota Review:
I love my truck! Get the TRX with the V8. The ride is better and the 4WD locks all 4 wheels.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 1, 2011

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Dodge Dakota?
Truck has great curb appeal.
The interior is spacious.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Dodge Dakota?
Transmission is acting funky and I can't quite tell what it is. It seems to shift into the high gear but then their is sudden kick-back.
Coffee cup holders are too far away.
Other than that it is a nice ride.

2007 Dodge Dakota Review:
Roomy.
Aggressive styling.
If you keep the A/C off and don't have a lead foot, you can get 21 MPG highway.
Plenty of cargo space (get a bed extender).
Can't understand the trans situation.
Nice truck.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 21, 2011

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Dodge Dakota?
Awesome color & chrome all around, great sound and reliability.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Dodge Dakota?
Better mileage, needs a technology overhaul (no I-pod or G.P.S).

2007 Dodge Dakota Review:
I had to I-pod radio & use a dedicated GPS.
Also handles like a truck - not for the faint hearted if you drive fast.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 17, 2010

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Dodge Dakota?
Handles real well.
Love the heated seats.
Roomy and comfortable.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Dodge Dakota?
Need better gas consumption.

2007 Dodge Dakota Review:
Love the truck, needs better gas efficiency.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 17, 2009

A SOMMERFELD
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Dodge Dakota?
Best midsize truck on the road, run circles around Tacoma.

Fun to drive, 4x4 has great traction, feels like a full size truck inside, handles like a dream.

Rugged good looks.

If you don't need a full size truck this is the truck for you. The 4.7 v8 with the tow package can haul all the toys. Gets not bad gas mileage.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Dodge Dakota?
The only thing I would like to see is have a few more interior colors to choose. Seems like grey is the only color, not bad but be nice to have a few more on the list


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 31, 2009

adam_rose
Performance:4
Exterior:3
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Dodge Dakota?
I the room in the '07 Dakota isn't that of a full size, but it's more than any other truck in its class. I went from an '05 ext cab to a '07 4 door when my daughter was born, and very happy with it. I can pack all my hunting or hiking gear in the cab easily, or a stroller and baby seat quite nicely. the power for the truck is well balanced. The four wheel drive is surprising, there have been several times where I knew I was stuck, but the truck just pulled right through it. And it doesn't even have all terrain tires. It's also easy for my wife to drive as well, seeing as how I hear most wives complain about their husbands truck being too big.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Dodge Dakota?
The only thing I would change is the bed construction. Seems to me like its a bit flimsy, and doesn't stand up too well to moderate abuse. However I guess that's nothing a spray in liner wouldn't help.

2007 Dodge Dakota Review:
If you're looking for a well rounded 4 door vehicle, that isn't "too much" in any area, the '07 Dakota is your vehicle.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 30, 2008

Guest
Performance:2
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Dodge Dakota?
Sturdy body and suspension.
Roomy and conveinent interior

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Dodge Dakota?
I would drastically improve the transmission and throttle response.
HP to wieght ratio and MPG at least to the advertised estimate.
I would also offer more straight drive manual shifts in this model as
the automatic does not perform that well .

2007 Dodge Dakota Review:
I purchased a V6 ST that was vastly under powered for hp to wieght ratio
with major transmission shifting problems . It was so bad I exchanged
the V6 with the cooperation of the Dodge rep. for an SLT V8 with fair performance.
Neither truck got any where near the advertised MPG ,city or highway.
Until I installed after market performance items that did not void warranty.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Dodge Dakota Model Year - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2007 Dodge Dakota?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Dodge Dakota? Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Dodge Dakota? 2007 Dodge Dakota Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2007 Dodge Model Lineup:
2007 Caliber
2007 Caravan/Grand Caravan
2007 Charger
2007 Dakota
2007 Durango
2007 Magnum
2007 Nitro
2007 Sprinter
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

©2006-2020 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2007 Dodge Dakota | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact