Log in
6.0 million people served.
Select Chevrolet Cobalt Model Year - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Compact Car
ABS Brakes: Optional
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 23-25/29-34 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.2L I4 145HP
2.4L I4 173HP
2.0L I4 205HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 53 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt in the bottom 14% of 2007 model year vehicles.
Rank:
14%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt also consider:
2007 Chevrolet Cobalt Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt
  1. Quiet and smooth ride
  2. Acceleration
  3. Good gas mileage
  4. Radio controls on steering wheel
  5. Stereo with XM radio
Top 5 Cons of the 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt
  1. Better visibility - rear window
  2. Nicer interior material
  3. Cup holder location
  4. Poorly designed center console
  5. More color choices
Submitted Dec 17, 2009

Bob913
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:2
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Performance and handling in good weather for the most part seems sufficient. Especially in cooler weather.

Love the heated seats! It's the little things, the creature comforts that help me somewhat look forward to my drive to work, or long car rides.

Two power outlets are great, one for the GPS and another for a computer (again, for long trips). The seats are a little stiff, but definitely tolerable.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt?
***NEED REAR SEAT LIGHTING!!!*** It's a pain loading our son into his car seat in the dark. It'll be even more fun next August when we have another to put in there as well. This also has safety implications, especially in inner-city neighborhoods - you can't see if anyone's hiding in the back seat. I hope I get a better job soon so we can upgrade to a bigger/safer car before #2 gets here!

A larger trunk opening, and larger opening between the trunk and rear seat would be nice. I don't think anything could be done about the amount of space in the car, it is what it is ... a small, somewhat fuel-efficient car. It's a little cramped for two adults and a small child to drive cross-country. I'd hoped my boy would be over 2 years old before he can kick the back of the seat, but GM can't do anything about kids growing too fast :)

The cruise control is a little jerky. I'd like to see the speed adjustments made a little smoother.

This is not a car for hilly terrain. Fuel economy suffers. We get mid-20s MPG. In flat terrain, it's consistently above 30 MPG on the highway. It'd be great (for fuel economy, at least) if we lived in the plains states.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
In 2-1/2 years and 55,000 miles, *some* of the more notable problems we've had:
-Oil cooling lines are leaking.

-Control arm bushing is getting replaced this weekend.

-Driver's side door handle pulled out of the door.

-Driver's side front hub assembly/wheel bearing needed changed at 48k miles. Got it at Advance for $170 and did it myself. Dealer wanted $370+ for part alone, not including labor. Asked him why so much ... he said "you get what you pay for." I guess it's asking too much for a $19,000 car to get you down the road without stupid problems? This is the *ONLY* car I have *EVER* owned that needed a wheel bearing changed. But at 48,000 miles?

-Weird ticking noise coming from the rear end sometimes after shutting the car off. Had same issue in our old 2005 Cobalt. Our dogs thought it was someone knocking and started howling at it :).

-The cup holders are annoying. Drinks reliably take a flight on mediocre bends. My wife naturally reaches over to hold them up when she sees a bend coming. The drinks also interfere with the environmental controls.

-*MY* Biggest gripe is GM's maintenance departments.

There's some ugly horror stories on the web of injuries and deaths involving Cobalts where airbags didn't deploy. After two years, I'm wishing I'd never got the car. There's just too many stupid things for a car that we try to take decent care of. I'm kind of not surprised GM is doing so bad. If they don't start putting out good quality vehicles like they used to, and following up with better customer service than I've been getting, I don't suspect they'll be with us much longer.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 4, 2009

Carol_Ann_Lamothe
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt?
I really love the acceleration. I love the look of my candy apple red Cobalt, especially the rear view. It has a classy look combined with a sporty look...very appealing to all ages.

I've owned it for about eight months and so far I love it. I hope I won't be disappointed because it has taken me 24 years to come back to domestic cars. It sure has a lot of spirit!! The price was good too. So far I'm really happy and I will buy another domestic car if this one does not disappoint me.

The dealership here has treated me amazingly well and I will take that into consideration when purchasing my next vehicle...but I've tested the waters.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt?
I can't really point to anything major. I've owned enough cars to know that there is always something...as long as it doesn't mean something major.

The only thing I would point to so far is on the interior on the automatic shift. The plastic covering on the shift broke...a minor thing. It is still functional though.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
So far, I love my Cobalt. It has great acceleration. It has taken me many years to come back to domestic cars, please don't disappoint me.

My next purchase could be another domestic car because my Cobalt so far has really impressed me with its look and its gitty-up and go. Domestic cars have an eye catching design and that is very appealing to me.

However, I must reserve judgement. I don't want to be too silly happy and then be disappointed.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 26, 2014

kamtory
Performance:1
Exterior:3
Interior:1
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Nothing!!

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
I have 2007 cobalt i bought it 6 moths ago with 110000km from GM dear ship in the first 3 months I had to replace my engine it cost me $2000!! when I phoned the GM dealer ship they told me it wasn't there problem!!! GM only cares about $$$$ not the consumers!! Since then my abs and my traction control light came on!! Today I got letter from them telling me that there is a recall that needs to be done because there is a risk,under certain condition, that your ignition switch may move out of the "run" position resulting in partial loss of electrical power and turning off the engine.. But they don't have the parts to fix it yet!! What???
So now I have to drive unsafe car!! Good job GM!! You suck!!
I will never buy a GM agin!!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 8, 2013

Debbie Newell
Performance:2
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt?
NOTHING at the moment.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt?
wider opening at trunk.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
I have had this car for 5 years (bought it brand new). I just had to spend $1900.00 on shocks, struts, valve covers, tune up & front end alignment, and it only has 41,000 miles on it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 22, 2011

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt?
I just brought one. I love it. Very sporty.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt?
All cars have cons.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
Nice!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 30, 2011

Amanda356
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Has 4 doors! Used to have a 2 door coupe and with 2 small children in carseats, it was VERY inconvenient getting them in and out of the car.

Love the acceleration.

Love the air conditioning.

The car is a dream.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt?
The interior could be a little darker...you can see everything that might get on the seats and you have to get rid of it right away.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
It is a great little car and the gas mileage is great too.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 23, 2011

adam582
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
You get what you pay for. If you want a really nice interior, very well put together car, then go spend the 20-30 grand and get it... For the price new when mine was bought in 2007, wasn't bad ($13500), but like I said, you get what you pay for... The only thing so far that I had to do was the control arm bushings.. 30 bucks and my time.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 20, 2010

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:2
Interior:4
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt?
It's a decent little car for the price.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt?
My door handle broke.
There is a rattle in the rear of the car every time I turn off ignition.
My power steering seems to 'go out' a lot.
I was in an accident 3 days ago and my airbag (should have but) didn't deploy!!

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
Dissatisfied Customer. Will def buy American made car again, just not a Cobalt.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 30, 2010

Sandra260
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Great fuel mileage.
Looks cute.
Drives smoothly.
Punchy acceleration.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Knocking noise in trunk like it's a diesel.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
I bought this car brand new & it's been my trooper for 4 years. I drive fast & hard and the Cobalt can take it. I have 76,000 miles on it & it's still running great. Had to replace tires but that's a given & do regular oil changes & that's it. American cars are the way to go!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 25, 2010

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Great gas mileage!
Handling, easy maneuvering and parking.
Comfortable for a small car.
Good power for a small car.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Some type of arm rest.
Better cup holder, further back from controls.
Change passenger wiper so it doesn't stop so close to driver side windshield.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
I just bought my 2007 Cobalt this spring so I haven't had any winter experience. After buying the car I increased the tire pressure to 44 pounds which the sidewalls indicate and began using premium gas and increased my gas mileage to 31 city and 34 highway. Proper driving techniques also help with gas mileage.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Chevrolet Cobalt Model Year - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt? Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt? 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2007 Chevrolet Model Lineup:
2007 Avalanche
2007 Aveo
2007 Cobalt
2007 Colorado
2007 Corvette
2007 Equinox
2007 Express
2007 HHR
2007 Impala
2007 Malibu
2007 Monte Carlo
2007 Silverado
2007 Silverado HD
2007 Silverado Hybrid
2007 Suburban
2007 Tahoe
2007 TrailBlazer
2007 Uplander
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

©2006-2020 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact