Log in
6.0 million people served.
Select Pontiac Torrent Model Year - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006

2006 Pontiac Torrent

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Sport Utility Vehicle
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 18-19/23-24 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
3.4L V6 185HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 53 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2006 Pontiac Torrent in the bottom 25% of 2006 model year vehicles.
Rank:
25%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2006 Pontiac Torrent in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2006 Pontiac Torrent also consider:
2006 Pontiac Torrent Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2006 Pontiac Torrent
  1. Style inside and out
  2. Sound system
  3. Rear seat leg room
  4. Visibility
  5. Handling
Top 5 Cons of the 2006 Pontiac Torrent
  1. Larger fuel tank
  2. Standard power passenger seats
  3. Window washer lever location
  4. Gas mileage
  5. More precise steering
Submitted Jul 15, 2020

SabbathChick91
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac Torrent?
The comfy seats
The nice AC and Heater
The heated leather seats
The 5 disc changer

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac Torrent?
They build their cars better because i've had nothing but trouble since I've purchased this vehicle!
I've replaced three CV axles!
Replaced Bearings, Tie end rods and plus other things.
It's a huge headache

2006 Pontiac Torrent Review:
It drives smooth when nothing is wrong with it.
I wouldn't advise anyone to buy this car.
Just sayin. It's a POS because a lot of things go wrong with it all the time.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 22, 2014

deandra robinson
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac Torrent?
It's cute and fully loaded... My 1st SUV and finally something that I had to have when I saw it...... I love the way it moves and the sunroof...lol

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac Torrent?
I wish it came with auto start...
I didn't like the cup holders that come out of the console like that.

2006 Pontiac Torrent Review:
Overall, I like my SUV. I can't complain really - jusf thankful for something to drive.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 6, 2013

GUEST
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac Torrent?
Great system.
Stylish.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac Torrent?
Better gas mileage.

2006 Pontiac Torrent Review:
I absolutely love my truck!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 5, 2011

Shane572
Performance:2
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac Torrent?
Great sound system.
Heated leather seats.
All Wheel Drive.
17" wheels.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac Torrent?
Awful fuel mileage.
Small steering radius.
The odd starting issue.
Idles funny and sluggish from time to time.

2006 Pontiac Torrent Review:
Wish Pontiac would own up and fix the known issues.
Can't wait to go back to trucks. Very disappointed.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 11, 2010

mpyreman
Performance:4
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac Torrent?
The looks, the handling and general engine performance.
We have owned this vehicle since new, lady driven and nearly 100% highway mileage less than 30,000 mile (50,000kms) in the shop several times. But read on.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac Torrent?
The gas mileage is not as good as expected under normal driving, under highway speeds will not get more than 27 miles per gallon (Canadian gallon) 10 litres/100kms. Many other complaints the same, poor lighting and turning radius terrible, small gas tank. Now for the repairs. Over 3000.00 in repairs so far, not counting oil changes, now in the shop needing a new fuel pump- $1400.00 part and $300.00 labour. Time to sell this lemon!

2006 Pontiac Torrent Review:
It was nice when it was new, but still with few kms on it, it seems to have overstayed its welcome. I am disappointed that a vehicle that was $34000.00 plus when it was new has cost us so much in the few years and little kms we have put on it. I am currently researching new Chrysler300's after having owned GM products for over 20 years.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 2, 2010

sandra_desjardins
Performance:1
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac Torrent?
I love the model ..that's about it, nothing good about it.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac Torrent?
I would have a recall of all 2006 Pontiac Torrents.

2006 Pontiac Torrent Review:
Ever since I bought my Torrent, I had nothing but trouble. Now it's the heater.. I've been to the garage so many times I lost count.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 20, 2010

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac Torrent?
Love the body style.
Lots of leg room.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac Torrent?
Like everyone else, needs to have a larger gas tank.

2006 Pontiac Torrent Review:
After buying it had to have a new rearend put in with only 50,000 miles. Wish I would have looked around more before I decided to buy this. I'm beginning to wonder if it's not a lemon.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 14, 2010

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:2
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac Torrent?
I like its look and it is made better than the Saturn Vue or Chevy Equinox.

It's got some good power. I can step on the gas and it gets up to 60 in a little time.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac Torrent?
I would like the AWD to have better gas mileage.

The steering ratio is too short. I cannot pull up into a parking spot without having to back up and pull in again in order to park straight.

I also do not like the fact that the window buttons on the console are not lighted. When it's dark you cannot see them.

I do not like the fact that the glove box does not have a light in it. Again during the dark, you cannot see in your glovebox.

Another problem I have is when I open the back hatch door, the overhead lights do not come on. A real problem at night.

I have only 25K miles on my Torrent and already there is something wrong with my ABS/Traction Control.

2006 Pontiac Torrent Review:
Overall, I like the Torrent, but I wish Pontiac had spent a little bit more money on making it turn shorter and improving on some of the interior light fixtures.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 22, 2010

Norma_Santerre483
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac Torrent?
It is easy to park, just the right size for me.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac Torrent?
Change that little cover that protects the drive shafts to something that will stand up against the Michigan weather.

Better seat covering.

Sun visors mirrors that do not break the first time you use them.

2006 Pontiac Torrent Review:
At first I really like my torrent, but after driving my car for 3 1/2 years, all highway driving, my rubber joint that connects the two drive shaft had to be replace. In all my experience of driving a car, I am 65 years old, I don't think this part should have gone bad.

Also the drivers seat had to be replace and again it is falling apart.

I am not hard on my Torrent but these little things all add up to a lot of money.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 18, 2010

merlyn_swarm
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac Torrent?
The extra leg room in the back is very comfortable.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac Torrent?
I have had a lot of problems with the hub bearings. They should find a better supplier. I've replaced mine twice - very expensive and Pontiac doesn't care.

2006 Pontiac Torrent Review:
I really like the car and have not had any problems with the engine performance, never been in for any repairs under the hood, only hub bearings. The Torrent is a 2006 and I have 88,000 miles on it. Hub Bearings went at 49,000 miles and Pontiac wouldn't do anything for me. I've owned Pontiacs before and had over a hundred thousand miles and never replaced a hub bearing.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Pontiac Torrent Model Year - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2006 Pontiac Torrent?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac Torrent? Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac Torrent? 2006 Pontiac Torrent Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2006 Pontiac Model Lineup:
2006 G6
2006 Grand Prix
2006 GTO
2006 Solstice
2006 SV6
2006 Torrent
2006 Vibe
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

©2006-2020 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2006 Pontiac Torrent | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact