Log in
6.0 million people served.
Select Pontiac SV6 Model Year - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2006 Pontiac SV6

2006 Pontiac SV6
Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Sport Utility Vehicle
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 17-18/23-25 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
3.5L V6 201HP
3.5L V6 196HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 26 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2006 Pontiac SV6 in the bottom 15% of 2006 model year vehicles.
Rank:
15%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2006 Pontiac SV6 in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2006 Pontiac SV6 also consider:
2006 Pontiac SV6 Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2006 Pontiac SV6
  1. Standard DVD
  2. Fuel economy
  3. Responsive acceleration
  4. Front design
  5. Great value
Top 5 Cons of the 2006 Pontiac SV6
  1. Gas mileage
  2. More storage space
  3. Reliability
  4. Seats need to fold down flat
  5. Higher quality plastic
Submitted Sep 16, 2009

jas
Performance:2
Exterior:5
Interior:1
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac SV6?
Love the look.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac SV6?
Another lemon! I have had way to many problems, from the water stains on the seats. Electrical problems that cant be solved, the electric slide door locks and won't open, both front hub assembles were replaced a year ago are bad again. after 3 sets of tires, ABS<TCS<ALB systems fail., the back interior handle broke right away, along with the glove box handle and the rear wiper for the second time.

I have owned it for 3 yrs and I would loose too much on a trade in. I am disappointed in GM and my local dealer who has not offered much help by clearing the computer and saying they cant find any thing wrong until the warranty ran out!!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 8, 2009

Karla
Performance:2
Exterior:4
Interior:1
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac SV6?
I like the look of the van.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac SV6?
Maybe I would make sure that the vehicle is truly road worthy. We have trouble with this vehicle since the 13,000 mile marker. Repeatedly took into DEALER for repair and was told to rotate and balance. 14 tires later we are about to need 2 more. Clunking in rear end again, whole new front end, 3 set of rotors, dvd player was replaced right out of the box. Drivers window motor keeps running after window is up (by the way when we took this in originally we were still under warranty...they oiled it but that was all they could do) moldings are pulling away from the interior, rear window washer motor is froze, drivers passenger door will not open at all. Tire rod was replaced within 20k miles, rear suspension arm gone bad...was in shop for 2 weeks for them to figure this one out. The drivers door handle molding is busted, the seats and carpets stain just by looking at them. Constant grinding noise in the back end along with a horrible clunking that we were told was the brake cable and they taped it up. The handle on trunk snapped right off at 37,000 miles, so no handle to close trunk. Glove box hinge does not stay closed, have to rig it. The sprayer for front windshield washer busted on driver side. We are at 81k miles owe more than we will ever get out of, we are stuck. We are to take in for a diagnostic on wed. We have to pay for this before GM will help us. Burning OIL, poor gas mileage, lurching engine, constant dead battery and the lights dim as if it is straining for power. So to improve...get back to the drawing board and start over.

2006 Pontiac SV6 Review:
I do like how the van looks and it could offer some nice features if it were reliable. I would not buy this vehicle again ever. My father is a retiree from Lordstown he was a diemaker for over 30 years, he was always very proud of his work and as a child I was proud my father was part of a great American company and tradition. Now, I am embarassed for the men and women who dedicated their workmanship and were loyal customers of GM/BOC. When I spend nearly $30k for a vehicle, I'd better not need to do anything but routine maintenance for the first 60K miles. Not purchase a dozen plus tires that are @150.00 each.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 25, 2009

d_brower
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac SV6?
DVD is excellent on long trips.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac SV6?
More leg room between 2 & 3 row seats.
One problem I have when water gets on the seats it leaves a stain. Does any one knows what to do? It looks awful. I need help with this.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 29, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac SV6?
looks cool

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac SV6?
more powerful enginge


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 27, 2007

fyrfytr2u
Performance:1
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac SV6?
Buyer Beware: I have a 2006 SV6 AWD. Had several AWD problems and the latest is with a groaning noise from the rear differential when turning to the left or the right. GM's suggestion to the dealer was to change it's rear end fluid, than take the vehicle to a vacant area and drive it in cicles for 5 minute intervals. Imagine 5 minutes in one direction then 5 minutes in the other. Not only did this not work, it tore the hell out of my two front tires not to mention the other wear and tear on other parts. I suggest not to allow this to happen to anyone's vehicle. As for GM's bandade approach, I am not a happy customer and they will never do this to me again. This is my 8th GM vehicle and maybe my last. Oh, by the way did I mention that I work for the dealer where the procedure was performed. They are a top notch dealer and they are only doing what is suggested by GM.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac SV6?
Stay away from them!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 30, 2007

Guest
Performance:1
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac SV6?
The unique look

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac SV6?
I think the auto makes of today need to go back to the days of old school where cars were built to last past 17,000 miles.
Mine has been in the shop
repeatedly and I will have only had it 2 years this Sept 07.

2006 Pontiac SV6 Review:
Keep on GM when you find you have bought a lemon!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 10, 2007

jaboujaoude
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac SV6?
The first new car (out of 5 that I bought so far) that did not have to be taken back for repair after 24,000 miles so far.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac SV6?
Removable Seat are extremely heavy and don't fold enough.

2006 Pontiac SV6 Review:
My wife and I love this van. It proved to be more reliable than an Accura TL and an Infinity G20 that we own and bought brand new. After owning it for 1.5 years, we put on it about 24,000 miles and it did not need any repair other than the standard oil change and tire rotation. It is a great value for the price. It feels and handles like a luxury car, yet it is priced reasonably.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 16, 2006

joejeep27
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac SV6?
good ride, excellent mileage, comfortable, ease of entry, mechanically sound. A great car, my 4th Montana.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac SV6?
none

2006 Pontiac SV6 Review:
Great van


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 1, 2006

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac SV6?
looks and comfort

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac SV6?
fuel economy


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 15, 2006

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:2
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac SV6?
I like the sporty look of the front of the vehicle.

It drives smoothly.

It seems to sit up high.

The van feels sturdy, even heavy, but has a great turning radius and handles easily.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac SV6?
The center bucket seats nor the very rear seats will lay back. That's a real problem when you're making long trips with uncomfortable children!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Pontiac SV6 Model Year - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2006 Pontiac SV6?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac SV6? Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac SV6? 2006 Pontiac SV6 Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2006 Pontiac Model Lineup:
2006 G6
2006 Grand Prix
2006 GTO
2006 Solstice
2006 SV6
2006 Torrent
2006 Vibe
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

©2006-2020 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2006 Pontiac SV6 | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact