Log in
6.0 million people served.
Select Pontiac GTO Model Year - 2006 - 2005

2006 Pontiac GTO

2006 Pontiac GTO
Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Sporty Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 16-17/21-25 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
6.0L V8 400HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:5
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 242 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2006 Pontiac GTO in the top 14% of 2006 model year vehicles.
Rank:
86%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2006 Pontiac GTO in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2006 Pontiac GTO also consider:
2006 Pontiac GTO Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2006 Pontiac GTO
  1. Horsepower
  2. Excellent interior style
  3. Comfortable seats
  4. Responsive transmission
  5. Handling
Top 5 Cons of the 2006 Pontiac GTO
  1. More available options
  2. More traditional styling cues
  3. More horsepower
  4. Fuel economy
  5. MP3 capability
Submitted Oct 25, 2015

nashvilleman243
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac GTO?
I liked the styling of the 2006 GTO I had. The Impulse Blue Metallic is a very pretty color, I got a lot of compliments on the color. I also liked the blue leather seats, and the blue inserts on the door panels. I loved the Blaupunkt 6 disc CD stereo that comes stock. Of course, I loved the power!! These things move!!!

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac GTO?
First and foremost, I had to get this thing worked on extensively!!! It seems GM can't design ignitions for the GTO's, and several other cars lately!!! I had to replace the ignition switch, and the ignition cylinder 3 times!!! And a new steering column as well!!! No heated seats on my GTO, the leather sure is cold on your butt in winter!! Also, the leather feels very thick and hard. The blue dye comes off very easily!! Also, at 70-75 mph, the ass end is very very light!! It feels as if the rear spoiler is pulling up on the ass end, instead of pushing down, like a spoiler should do. It's very twitchy at interstate speeds!! Also didn't like the skinny steering wheel. A performance car of this caliber deserves a proper thick and sporty steering wheel!! Small trunk, 6.6 cubic feet. The exact amount as in the 1970 1/2 - 1981 Camaro's and Firebird's. But I know GM had to relocate the gas tank for crash standards. And that's ok.

2006 Pontiac GTO Review:
Overall, I loved my GTO!! Yes, the ignition problems were very very frustrating, it's a good thing I didn't take it in road trips when the switch conked out. The engine will die, and every light on the dash will light up. Not that good at taking turns as well. Decent gas mileage for a 400 HP V8, as long as you keep your foot out of it. Good build quality. Nice solid thump when closing the door.


Rate this review:
0
-1
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 12, 2013

Kenrogers
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac GTO?
Where do I start? The car is simply amazing. Before I owned this one, I hardly noticed them because the styling is so low key. Now that I have one, the styling is awesome to me. Only those that know these cars, can figure out what the 6.0 on the rear means, or can read the 6.0 litre under the GTO on the side emblems have an idea of what this car has. Extremely rare. I love that I finally have a car that you hardly ever see. Nowhere like the "one on every corner" Mustang or Camaro. Very comfortable interior, awesome quality. The engine is the heart of the car, and the LS2 is beyond description! This engine will happily lug around in fifth gear at 45-50 MPH, and it barely sounds like its working at 100 MPH. Instant acceleration, and will break the tires loose up to third. The only car that I have ever owned that will go from a start in fourth gear! Yes, I tried second, then third and she was hardly bothered, so I had to try it. Just an amazing amount of torque and horsepower stock. I am always getting admiring glances and nods. She is just a sweetheart of a car, and has performance that allows her to keep up with modern offerings easily (and the car is SEVEN years old!). Pontiac finally had what it was seeking all of those years; a four seat/passenger Corvette basically.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac GTO?
Most of the annoyances listed by other commentors have been taken care of on my car. My only issue is the government's insistence on Holden moving the gas tank into the trunk. Trunk space is a premium since the tank cuts the available space by half. Other than that, my GTO is perfect to me! I would very highly recommend one.

2006 Pontiac GTO Review:
Many original GTO owners do not look upon the 2004-2006 GTO as true GTOs. I beg to differ. Both have their roots in another car with a large engine stuffed into it, and very good at going in a straignt line insanely face. You literally have to watch what you do in this car. It will get to 100 in no time if you are not paying attention, and you cannot tell the difference in engine sound between 65 and 100. Nothing really seems to bother this engine. It is a powerful brute. Six liters is a lot in this day and age of four and six cylinder engines. You pay a premium for those six liters though. If you are looking for a car that is great on gas mileage, then definitely look elsewhere, but then again the majority of us that buy these cars could care less about fuel economy. I am averaging around 18.5 MPG in a combination of city and highway driving. This on premium fuel since the LS2 has 10.9-1. Not quite cheap! The car has so much power that the engine literally twists the car when it starts (causes it to shake). She reminds me of an old school musclecar when stopped at a light. Other drivers just look in amazement because the car shudders and shakes just like the '60s. I have a set of Kooks axleback mufflers, and it sounds amazing. The car rumbles, pops, and sputters tempermentally just like an oldschool big block! I am getting ready to put a Svedespeed intake and Kooks longtubes on. Modification: this car makes amazing additional horsepower on very common upgrades/bolt ons. This car was designed very well, is very rare, and can still easily compete with the newest offerings. More than worth the price!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 9, 2012

GUEST
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac GTO?
Great Power, very comfortable interior. Just took the car from Colorado to Minnesota with my wife and was one of the more comfortable road trips we've ever been on. Love driving this car on the Interstate.

Even got good mileage for this much power. (Avg 26)

Wife didn't think much of the car until I finally let her drive it on the road trip on account I got extremely tired. She fell in love and now wants one instead of her '08 grand prix gt.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac GTO?
Trunk space is limited like everyone says. Had to tell my wife to pack light.

Wish there was more room to put wider tires on.

2006 Pontiac GTO Review:
I bout this car in February and don't get the chance to drive it that much, but when I do I always end up with a smile on my face. I've owned a couple muscle cars in the past and this is hands down the best one. Comfortable interior, with decent handling, and enough hp to dust 90% of other cars on the road.

I believe this is one of the best buys out there today for a muscle car, and I plan on having this car for quite some time.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 22, 2011

gtodriver
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac GTO?
I was looking at a new vette back in 07 but still had a child at home, so I needed the back seat. Well GM got smart and found a way to give a corvette 2 extra seats, the GTO. Found this one with 7000 miles and never titled. You press on the throttle and you go...now! Sure beats turbo lag, and if you are anywhere above 2500 you better hold on.
The only negatives I have ever heard were regarding the exterior styling but not one single person has every looked at my car and not liked the styling.
Extremely comfortable interior, good quality material, very, very fast and can average 22mpg if you don't race it all the time.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac GTO?
Trunk is small, but you don't buy a GTO to take a week vacation with a family of 4.
Having to use super unleaded, synthetic oil and parts not always available in the US (car was made down under) can make upkeep expensive.
Design of car and tire layout is annoying. You move to any larger of a tire and the body will rub them. OEM tires are great dry, but wet......not for the faint of heart.

2006 Pontiac GTO Review:
There are always those who want to bash American made rear wheel drive muscle cars, but to get the same comfort and performance as the 2006 GTO you will need to look at cars like an M5 BMW (for 3 times the cost).

If you enjoy driving, and the occasional foot to the floor, press your back into the seat, remembering what 60's muscle cars were like experience, it doesn't get any better.... The fact the GTO will never be made again sure can't hurt their future value as well.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 18, 2009

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac GTO?
Flat power band.

Lots of horses for a small car, so the American kangaroo jumps at most any rpm.

Sleeper styling.

Easy to drive at low rpm's.

I normally shift 1-3-5-6 to improve gas mileage to 17 plus in the city.

Kits readily available to make it competitive with any street car.

Everything is tight and firm, e.g. clutch, shifter, suspension, steering, etc.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac GTO?
They should have done away with the rear seats and made the trunk larger or something. I can only imagine how fast it would be with a little less weight.

I don't like the grooved ignition key. the 1-4 shift gimmick is really annoying.

I don't like the shifter, as it is too long and clunky, but mods are available.

I would have liked a little more muscle sound. It's hard to tell whether one is doing 2500 rpm in second or 1800 in 3rd the car is so quiet, even under acceleration.

2006 Pontiac GTO Review:
If you want a simple, fast muscle car at a decent price with the potential to upgrade to more muscle, this is the one. Plus, I doubt there will be any more.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 12, 2009

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac GTO?
Love everything about this car this is my second one. My first one was totaled when a cabbie blew a light. It was supercharged pushing 600 hp at the motor. Starting all over found one with 5000 miles on it. Leaving it stock the value on these cars are gonna skyrocket. Best interior GM has ever made. Sooo comfortable.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac GTO?
Not enough trunk space.
Wheel hop.
A button to open the doors instead of reaching all the way around you to open them.
Stronger rear-end axles and driveshaft.

2006 Pontiac GTO Review:
I'm 6'5 inches tall love the leg room how comfy it is. Couldn't even fit in the corvette. This is the best car I have ever owned. Have the sap performance package on it so it doesn't look like a caviler or colbolt on roids. Car has tons of power, love it on the parkway passing all those slow cars. Passing power is amazing. Racing from a stop the wheel hop stinks and shakes the car and rear apart. Rear swaybar will get rid of that. Has a mean look and you don't see them everywhere you go like the Mustangs and Camaros that you will be seeing all over in the near future. Hang on to your goat value is gonna be insane on these cars now that Pontiac is done. This is the most powerful car Pontiac has ever produced besides g8(gxp) that I see old ladies everywhere driving. LOVE MY GTO.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 30, 2009

T. Paladino
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac GTO?
Using this car as my daily commuter, it makes the best two times of the day being the drive to and from work. The insanely quick acceleration and taunt quick response steering puts a smile on my face every time.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac GTO?
It would have been nice if the gas tank did not take up most of the trunk, and it prevents having pass through capabilities to the back seat. We can thank the U S Government for that one.

The loss of Pontiac and future GTOs.

2006 Pontiac GTO Review:
Owning a GTO is like having a Corvette with four seats. Performance from the stop light is always lighting quick yet extremely smooth. The throaty sound announces the cars athletic abilities. The 400 HP LS2 engine loafs along at 2500 RPM at 80 + MPH and is ready to sprint from there at a moments notice. All this with an over the year average of 19+ MPG.

Taking sharp freeway interchanges or mountain roads is always a thrill due to the solid grip and flat cornering. One does not have to let up but can power through the turn having total control, a true road racing machine.

All this at an value price well below the cost of many mundane coupes and sedans, especially the higher end imports.

Due to the limited number of 2005 and 2006 models with the LS2 engine this is sure to be a classic in future years and a well maintained model could prove to be not only a pleasure to own but a financial investment.

It's none stand out exterior design got bad press, which over rode the car's true overall virtues. In the long run the exterior styling will be appreciated and the cars performance virtues will make it a sought after classic.
GM's best kept secret!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 10, 2007

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:3
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac GTO?
The LS2 6.0L engine along with the 6 speed manual transmission has the power and the torch to handle anything you throw at it through out the entire RPM range, up to its 6 1/2 RPM redline... The fist 3 gears will literally pack you back into the well crafted racing style seats and that's when shifting in the 1000 - 3000 RPM range!!... The other 3 1/2 RPM's if used when shifting to the next gear will get you sideways even on a flat straightaway!!!! If you think the 2006 Pontiac GTO is INSANE in the 1000 - 3000 RPM range..... Then I dare you to push it into the 4000 - 6500 RPM range!!! HOLD ON BOY WONDER!!! THE BATMOBILE NOW HAS AN LS2!

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac GTO?
#1.) Body styling needed to be more "Old School" Looks like my brother-in-laws Saab Hatchback from a distance
#2.) Gauges: The average mpg gauge jumps around waaaay too much!! when you let off the gas it jumps to 99 mpg when given the least amount of throttle it drops to 0 MPG... needs to be less sensitive and spanned out over a couple of seconds.
#3.) I would have liked to of seen it come with a "push button" optional system that seamlessly turns the 6.0L V8 into a 3.0L V4 to save on fuel for times of long flat highway usage...

2006 Pontiac GTO Review:
Overall who can complain, for $32K your getting a Corvette that slightly resembles a European sports..... well sedan!!! I can live with that... fools the younger generation into thinking they are going to show old grandpa a thing or two only to be left gasping for oxygen in a thick cloud of smoke due to the fact of not being able to see which direction to head before the light turns green!!!! and if there is a cop in the area... who do you think is going to look guilty.... the lowered Civic with is cab full because of all the cobbling they did to get the cool looking ground effects screwed on with what ever sheetrock screws nuts bouts and mechanics wire they could find lien around dads garage as you drive out of the cloud of smoke nice and slow with 400 Hp grocery getter!?!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 1, 2007

wulfman
Performance:5
Exterior:3
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac GTO?
400/400 LS2 V8.
6 speed manual transmission.
Comfortable seats.
The car's performance.
It's a GTO.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac GTO?
I would have liked to had more classic styling cues on the car to give it more personality. The car is nearly invisible in traffic and is noticed only buy people who are hip about the car, no one else notices it. But, the styling grows on you and I have come to like the appearance of the car.

I hate the 1-4 skip shift. It seems to activate at the worst possible time; mostly in city traffic. An audio input for an MP3 player would have been nice for a car in this price range.

2006 Pontiac GTO Review:
The GTO is a car that has to be driven to be appreciated. I had no preconceived intentions on buying a GTO. But, while on a errand, I drove past the local Pontiac dealership, in my modified 2001 Mustang GT, and noticed the dealer had several GTO's on his lot. On a whim I decided to test drive one. My very first impression was how "right" the car felt. It was like driving a highly refined version of my 1968 Olds 442. It felt like what an intermediate sized muscle car should feel. The LS2's power curve is flat and produces good torque at low RPM. The suspension is a bit soft but makes for a comfortable ride. The interior is nice and the instruments are easy on the eyes and easy to read. Driving the GTO is a pleasure!

I took my GTO to the drag strip when it had about 2500 miles on it. The car wheel hops badly if launching above 1500 RPM (soft IRS suspension). My car ran a 14.05 @101.3, but big ET gains could be made by making some rear suspension mods to allow the car to launch without wheel hopping.

Being a classic Olds 442 lover and owner, I can't help but think how this car is too nice to be a Pontiac, and that it would have made a really great 442!

I am pleased with my 2006 GTO and am happy I bought it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 20, 2006

manleitner68
Performance:5
Exterior:3
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac GTO?
Powertrain, interior, and build quality.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac GTO?
I would add a cylinder deactivation feature to improve fuel economy, and add more speeds to the automatic transmission. However, if you are worried about fuel economy, this isn't a car you should consider.

2006 Pontiac GTO Review:
After taking delivery of a 2006 GTO with automatic transmission one month ago, I can honestly say that this car is simply fun to drive.

The powertrain is exceptional --smooth, incredibly powerful over any part of the RPM range, and capable of powering the car around town at a mere 1,200 RPM. But if you need power, just ask. Throttle response is immediate and breathtaking. The automatic transmission is acceptable, but a four speed box is a bit behind the times. I did drive the 6 speed Tremec manual before driving the car, but I found the throws to be long, and the feel somewhat indistinct. I had trouble with the 1-4 bypass feature, missing second gear several times as I completed a test drive. On the manual, I also didn't particularly like the pedal positions. I personally found the automatic to be a better overall choice, although it required payment of a $1,300 gas guzzler tax.

The interior is also exceptional. With color-coordinated leather on the seats and door trim, and color coordinate stitching on the leather steering wheel cover and shifter boot, no detail has been overlooked. The seats are very comfortable--better than any GM product I have ever been in, and even better than my 2002 Audi A6.

The audio system is first rate, featuring a 6 CD Blaupunkt system, with great speakers and well devised controls.

The car handles quite well, better than the Cadillac CTS in my opinion. The ride is very smooth on good pavement, but the tightly wound front and rear suspension can be rough on less-than-ideal roadways.

The only thing that many people don't like is the non-descript exterior styling. I've had many people ask me what kind of car this is, and more than one has told me that they thought it was just a G6 with a bigger engine, even though it is rear drive, with a completely different vehicle platform architecture. For me, that's a plus.

With a car like this, you don't want to be a cop magnet.

Even at age 55, my biggest concern about the GTO is whether I will still have my driver's license in three years!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Pontiac GTO Model Year - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2006 Pontiac GTO?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac GTO? Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac GTO? 2006 Pontiac GTO Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2006 Pontiac Model Lineup:
2006 G6
2006 Grand Prix
2006 GTO
2006 Solstice
2006 SV6
2006 Torrent
2006 Vibe
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

©2006-2020 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2006 Pontiac GTO | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact