Log in
6.0 million people served.
Select Pontiac Grand Prix Model Year - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2006 Pontiac Grand Prix

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Midsize Car
ABS Brakes: Optional
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 18-20/27-30 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
3.8L V6 200HP
3.8L V6 260HP
5.3L V8 303HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 96 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2006 Pontiac Grand Prix in the bottom 12% of 2006 model year vehicles.
Rank:
12%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2006 Pontiac Grand Prix in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2006 Pontiac Grand Prix also consider:
2006 Pontiac Grand Prix Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2006 Pontiac Grand Prix
  1. Powerful engine
  2. Exhaust note
  3. Braking power
  4. Remote start
  5. Blast to drive
Top 5 Cons of the 2006 Pontiac Grand Prix
  1. More front headroom
  2. More back seat legroom
  3. Upgrade interior
  4. Fuel economy
  5. Improve the sound system
Submitted Nov 6, 2013

GPguy
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac Grand Prix?
I like the size of the car. It looks big. I park it next to my neighbors Cadillac and it's nearly as long. I love the shape of the GP. When they first came out in 04 I didn't like it at all but over time the look has grown on me so much that I've been wanting one of these for years. I bought an 06 used with a little over 100,000 miles on it. I love how wide the doors open up.

I like that the stereo automatically turns up volume when you speed up and turns down when you slow down. It's a wonderful feature. The seats are comfortable. My tailbone never hurts on long trips. Which is always nice.

I like how powerful the engine feels. I love how the car shifts. It drives like a dream. It covers many highway miles quickly! On the open road the car feels right at home. It wants to accelerate and pass other cars! Very athletic vehicle. It takes turns nicely. Always a hunkered down, solid feel to the car. Corners very well.

Big trunk. Fold down rear seats. Love the stereo controls on steering wheel. Like the trunk open option on power locks/windows area. Big side mirrors. Strong strong brakes. Even without antilock to assist the brakes really stop this car in its tracks! Roomy interior. Interior is pleasant for driver and passenger. A friend of mine said he thought the interior looked ultra sleek. It does.

It's an impressive car even amongst the newer cars out now. The onboard digital computer is good. Not over fancy mind you, but conveys basic information clearly. Not as impressive as the new touch screen systems in place on the new cars now. But it's a practical feature. Love the red interior lights. Like how when you turn the car on all the needles in the instrument read outs flip to maximum. It's the only time the car's speedometer gets to the 140 mph mark! It's fun. Engine sounds throaty and strong yet quiet when idling.

Like how my elbow can rest on window sill or the arm holder. I like the A/C. I like the heater. Rear defrost works fast. Love the built in cup holders in front and rear. Like the two power ports for phone and GPS. Love the alloy wheels. Very sporty. Really love the shape of the long hood. Love the gas mileage. Great for commuting.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac Grand Prix?
Hate the emergency brake on the floor. Reminds me that this is a cousin of a Buick. I feel like an old man because of this.

I love how the interior looks but hate the quality of it. The center armrest squeaks and rattles like it's going to fall apart. Very annoying. My drivers seat moves around a little. Like a very large person drove car before I did. Annoying.

Some interior touches are nice, however, like the actual aluminum metal on the steering wheel. Feels high quality. Most of the dashboard is of nice quality as are door panels. There is just this smattering of cheap plastic in odd places. One piece of dashboard so strong and high quality then another so cheap. I like the knobs on the stereo and environmental controls. Feel like quality pieces. The switches for doors and locks feel alright. Just strange cost cutting thrown in at weird places. I think the car will hold up well, just don't care for cheap parts.

I also don't like the plastic used for the headlamps. I've known for years that all automakers including Toyota and Honda and Nissan have all been using cheaper plastic for things like headlamps. Which is why cars headlamps get yellow after a few short years. I wish automakers would stop with the cheap headlamp plastic covers! It makes cars look much older too soon! Drives me crazy. Anyway, this car has some of that yellow plastic on the headlamps. Tacky.

I also wish the car came with traction control standard and antilock standard.

If you shop for a used Pontiac Grand Prix, these are things to look for. They make a big difference. I miss those features! No Auxillary port for mp3 player or phone on stereo. No biggie I just bought a transceiver that plugs in powerport. But still, these days cars should have this standard. Only one key hole for the entire car. No key hole for trunk. Annoying if my key fob breaks.

2006 Pontiac Grand Prix Review:
Awesome used car to buy. Great for single person or a family. These cars are known to go well past 200,000 miles. I've seen them for sale with 250,000 miles on them. So don't be afraid of high mileage.


Rate this review:
0
-1
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 25, 2009

Richard_Moran
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac Grand Prix?
Great design with aerodynamic flow lines and overall Pontiac "Growl" om the road.
Interior appointments I consider to be elegant and yet a classical American hot rod in every respect.
The fold down rear seats were an unexpected extra which really improves extra space for movement of things too big for the average car.
The V-6 has the "just right" ability to move when called upon and demands constant attention or you just might pass V-1 on the roll (aircraft takeoff term).
Disc brakes are fantastic and extremely dependable.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac Grand Prix?
Insofar as the overall conception I cannot see much room for improvement in performance, controllability or looks in general.

2006 Pontiac Grand Prix Review:
A major problem that I have encountered is that my 2006 Grand Prix has a tendency to just stall for no apparent reason, be it at a standstill or in gear on the road. When this occurs I must roll to a complete stop, place the tranny in park, wait a few seconds and it will start right back up. Numerous suggested resolutions have been offered and yet none have resolved the problem. I went as far as having the fuel pump/filter pulled and replaced a electrical relay of sorts (at great expense I might add). The fuel tank had to be lowered as the pump sits on the top side. The results have been marginal at best. The car still has a tendency to stall, but at much longer intervals.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 4, 2014

Steve
Performance:2
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac Grand Prix?
It looks nice, and it has a lot of room.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac Grand Prix?
By never buying one again.

2006 Pontiac Grand Prix Review:
My wife and I bought this car because we were tired of having problems with the old cars but this one is no better.
Bought the car in 2008 with onlt 60,000 on it and here it is 2014 and we only have 177,000 on it and since we bought the car we have replaced front brakes, rotors, calipers twice on it, replaced front struts, had to replace back breakes, rotors, and in the summer you can not sit and have the car idle to long because if you do, it wants to over heat, had it checked at the dealer they could not find a propblem. In 2012 lost all heat in car, also had a bad shake when breaking, the garage said my heater core was a gummed up, they took and cleaned it up (then I had heat) braking problem was becasue my breaks we ceasing up. I have a clunk in the steering colum since we bought car (dealer said don't worry about that, it is common in these cars) and now the car won't start. Went to start it after a cold night and car ran for a few seconds (but shaking like crazy) then heavey smoke started coming out of it. Then car died and now it won't start. I have had it plugged in for two days to see if the would help.
Still no starting, I could list more but what's the point.
I will not buy GM again.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 23, 2013

stacie
Performance:1
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac Grand Prix?
Power of the engine is great when it' s running okay.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac Grand Prix?
The location of the power steering is horrible.

2006 Pontiac Grand Prix Review:
I purchased my car used in 2008. I have replaced the front, back breaks, high pressure powering steering hose, two bearings, Ty rode, plastic elbows to the engine mount to the water pump, replaced the water pump, the ignition module, now I am about to get the cb joint fixed. The car also jerks real hard at times when I take off. Can you say lemon? I have under 89,000 miles on this car. First American made and will be the last. Worst car ever!!!!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 7, 2011

Ed_Jorgensen
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac Grand Prix?
One of the most powerful cars I've ever driven. I have a GXP model with the V8. Love the rumble and the way it launches from a stop. WOW!!!!

Has 45000 miles on it and drives like new!! Have NEVER had one ounce of trouble with it!!

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac Grand Prix?
Not a whole lot of room for improvement here!! Maybe handling a little better in cornering when I'm pushing it!

2006 Pontiac Grand Prix Review:
LOVE this car and plan to keep it for a LONG time. Will be storing it as soon as I pay it off and use it for cruise nights!!! People as well as my friends are constantly checking this car out!! It's HOT!! BLACK on BLACK w/leather!! Loaded with GPS as well!! NICE!!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 8, 2010

Sassy
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac Grand Prix?
I love everything about my car. I have had it 1 year now. I bought it used in 2009 and wouldn't change it for the world. From looks to overall handling. It's amazing. The best car I have ever owned. I don't plan on ever getting rid of it.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac Grand Prix?
There isn't anything I would change about my car.

2006 Pontiac Grand Prix Review:
I've driven my car back and forth from Michigan to West Virginia. Anyone that has ever ridden in it on one of those trips says they think it is very comfortable and spacious. I treat my car with the utmost respect.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 10, 2010

Gambler53mo
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

2006 Pontiac Grand Prix Review:
More on my 2006 GP which now has 24,000 miles on it.
A.) On*Star had to be replaced.
B.) Dealer replaced rear brakes as the calaper was frozen up which means I was stopping with just my front brakes which was the reason the front rotors were warped (paid for out of pocket for front brake pads and rotors).
C.) Dealer replaced valve seals to try to eliminate the usage of 1 qt. of oil being added every 1,200 or so miles. Told me this was the first step in solving the problem.
D.) Car was towed to dealer today as it had no power and was jerking. Found out mechanic (If you want to call him that) did not seat the plug wires properly after seal job was completed and one came loose. Do you believe that. Just hope he wasn't the one that did my brakes.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 22, 2010

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac Grand Prix?
Its engine! It's a blast quick acceleration. All that holds me back from hitting 140 mph is the speed limiter, which one day I will remove.

Sweet looks, a cross of sexy and aggressiveness, that I never get tired of looking at.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac Grand Prix?
The brakes are grumpy on mine, my Prix was used before with less than 50,000 miles on it. I'm hesitant to fully use the brakes at above 100mph, have to pump them at intervals to slow down.

2006 Pontiac Grand Prix Review:
The brakes are the only con for me. Otherwise a bad ass car. GM's a fool, should've canned Buick.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 25, 2010

Gambler53mo
Performance:1
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac Grand Prix?
Love the handling of the car in both dry and snowy conditions.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac Grand Prix?
After car had about 18,000 miles it started using 1 qt. of oil every 1,250 or so miles, then at approx. 21,000 miles had to have new pads and rotors replaced on the front. Now at approx 23,ooo miles it needs rear pads and rotors. The dealer has stated this is all common and not covered under my extended warranty or basic warranty. I am 62 and have purchased many new cars and never ever have I seen these problems as being common on any cars I have owned. If this is what America builds now days shame on us. I guess if you can't sell cars the next best thing is to make money on repairs. These problems may end my purchasing any American auto in the future.

2006 Pontiac Grand Prix Review:
Wife feels very secure and safe while driving.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 20, 2010

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac Grand Prix?
I like the smooth ride - fast sporty, but family good.
Four door room on a two door ride, varoooom!

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac Grand Prix?
Better mpg.

2006 Pontiac Grand Prix Review:
Loving it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Pontiac Grand Prix Model Year - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2006 Pontiac Grand Prix?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac Grand Prix? Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac Grand Prix? 2006 Pontiac Grand Prix Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2006 Pontiac Model Lineup:
2006 G6
2006 Grand Prix
2006 GTO
2006 Solstice
2006 SV6
2006 Torrent
2006 Vibe
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

©2006-2020 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2006 Pontiac Grand Prix | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact