Log in
6.0 million people served.
Select Pontiac G6 Model Year - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2006 Pontiac G6

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Midsize Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 18-28/24-32 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.4L I4 167HP
3.5L V6 201HP
3.9L V6 240HP
3.9L V6 227HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 151 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2006 Pontiac G6 in the bottom 45% of 2006 model year vehicles.
Rank:
45%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2006 Pontiac G6 in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2006 Pontiac G6 also consider:
2006 Pontiac G6 Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2006 Pontiac G6
  1. Fuel economy
  2. Sporty design
  3. XM radio
  4. Comfortable seats
  5. Roomy back seats
Top 5 Cons of the 2006 Pontiac G6
  1. Better marketing
  2. Difficult to open trunk
  3. Better quality interior material
  4. Rear seat headrests block view
  5. Low front clearing
Submitted Oct 19, 2010

Gayle
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac G6?
The 2 door body style.
Lots of get up and go.
Great mileage on the hwy, I got 200 miles on a quarter tank of gas.
Comfortable to drive.
Good air conditioning, love it as my old car didn't have AC.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac G6?
Can't see very well out the back window when backing up.
Have had the car in for brake work a few times, and had to have steering column fixed as it was clunking and banging a lot. Turned out to be a common problem and was fixed under warranty, ball joints apparently.
Cheap plastic parts inside. The hinges on my vanity mirror have broken and it is irritating when you pull down the sun visor and the mirror flops open. Also my drivers side seat belt holder broke right off, I don't know how as it hasn't been leaned on or pulled on. It will cost $70 for the part to fix it.

2006 Pontiac G6 Review:
I like really like my car but it has had more than it's share of problems. I bought it brand new and think that there should have been a lot less problems than there have been. I only have 44,000km on it and hope to keep it for another 10 years but we will see.

I will say that the GM Dealership that I deal with in Victoria has been very good to me and have had no problems with service.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 3, 2013

GUEST
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac G6?
Nice looking car, very comfortable to drive. I bought it with 80,000km and now have just under 240,000km. Have driven it across Canada and back, plus my daily commute is min 100km / day. So I drive the hell out of this car.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac G6?
Wheel bearings.
Strut assembly.
Control arm.

2006 Pontiac G6 Review:
Like I said, I drive this car every single day, and have had some quirks with it, which I chalk up to it being a GM product (never had one that didn't have some odd thing happen, I had a Cadillac STS before this G6).

In a nutshell, I love my car. But would never buy another one, and certainly would never recommend a GM/ Pontiac/ or Chevy product to anyone I liked.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 18, 2013

Pat Como
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac G6?
I'm very satisfied with my G6 3.5 engine.
Excellent gas mileage for a 6 cylinder compared to the other 6 and 4 cylinder engines from other car manufactures.
Good pick up and handling.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac G6?
The only thing I would improve, would be those warning lights that keep popping up on the dash (the engine light, power steering, air bag and the check the gas cap light). I had that engine light check by a garage with their computer and found noting wrong. So I took it a step further and had them give it the smoke test. They found nothing wrong with the car.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 15, 2012

Janice52
Performance:1
Exterior:1
Interior:1
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac G6?
The body style

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac G6?
the engine mines i bought it one week ago ran great then the following week it starts then it wound gave it gas it starts then it wont. In did not get the warranty sorry now. I do believe the dealership knew it before I got the car. Any informatiom would help if anyone have or had the same issues.

2006 Pontiac G6 Review:
Crap!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 27, 2012

newbrad23
Performance:2
Exterior:1
Interior:1
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac G6?
I own the V6 and the only benefit to this car is that it gets up and goes.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac G6?
The buttons are fading on the radio, my interior light will not function, the paneling on the outside of my two back doors started pealing back. I have had to replace the starter twice and the fuel pump. This car is COSTLY to the keep and do are piles of JUNK!

2006 Pontiac G6 Review:
The buttons are fading on the radio, my interior light will not function, the paneling on the outside of my two back doors started pealing back. I have had to replace the starter twice and the fuel pump. This car is COSTLY to the keep and do are piles of JUNK! Do yourself the favor and run fast if a dealership ever tries to sell you one!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 12, 2012

quentin
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac G6?
Sharpe and slick design.
Its amazing 2.4 engine that's great with today's gas prices.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac G6?
Less problems.
A lot of power.
Steering problems.

2006 Pontiac G6 Review:
Great, expensive looking car.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 10, 2011

bruce768
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac G6?
Fast.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac G6?
Recall suspension problems as well as steering problems.

2006 Pontiac G6 Review:
Good looking car but way to many problems. GM could greatly improve their reputation if they take care of these common problems.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 22, 2011

courtney709
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:2
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac G6?
The exterior, power (3.5 litre 3500), it's a 4 door sedan, and the way it drives.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac G6?
The seats are very uncomfortable, little better gas mileage for a 3.5 litre, the popping when I turn and the starter sticking.

2006 Pontiac G6 Review:
My 06' Ponitac G6 4 door sedan with a 3.5 litre 3500 in it does ok for having 92,000 miles. I've only put $800 in it and I almost have it paid off, so its almost been 5 yrs. And I got it when it had 40,000 miles. That $800 don't count new tires and oil changes every 3,000 miles, but I think that's pretty great. You know the American made vehicles now are not what they used to be. German vehicles are the best in my opinion. Ahh they all have their issues.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 9, 2011

grant
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac G6?
Just got the car - 4 cyl ps, pl, pm, pw 101km, great on gas, sporty looking.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac G6?
Better suspension.
Better quality parts, i.e. breaks, rotors, steering column etc..........

2006 Pontiac G6 Review:
Over all, this car has not been too bad, little problem so far, will let you know if any thing comes up.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 13, 2011

erin_redden
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac G6?
The body style...sporty.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac G6?
My steering keeps locking up when I put it into drive. It says power steering across the radio. Then when I turn the car off and turn it back on it unlocks. I have the clunking noise in my steering also. When I drive it, it sounds like it's going to fall apart. I'm concerned about the steering locking up. I called Pontiac to see if there has been any recalls for that problem and they said no. I will never buy another Pontiac again!!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Pontiac G6 Model Year - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2006 Pontiac G6?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Pontiac G6? Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Pontiac G6? 2006 Pontiac G6 Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2006 Pontiac Model Lineup:
2006 G6
2006 Grand Prix
2006 GTO
2006 Solstice
2006 SV6
2006 Torrent
2006 Vibe
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

©2006-2020 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2006 Pontiac G6 | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact