Log in
6.0 million people served.
Select Nissan Xterra Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2006 Nissan Xterra

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Sport Utility Vehicle
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 16-17/21-22 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
4.0L V6 265HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 36 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2006 Nissan Xterra in the top 33% of 2006 model year vehicles.
Rank:
67%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2006 Nissan Xterra in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2006 Nissan Xterra also consider:
2006 Nissan Xterra Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2006 Nissan Xterra
  1. Plenty of power
  2. Interior space
  3. Cargo area
  4. Side step
  5. Roof rack
Top 5 Cons of the 2006 Nissan Xterra
  1. Fold flat front seat
  2. Leather option
  3. Fuel economy
  4. More torque
  5. Sunroof option
Submitted Feb 15, 2011

Total_confidence
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Nissan Xterra?
I got the base SE model. My first Nissan. Bought it in Utah 2 weeks ago with 35 thousand miles on it and drove 340 miles to Rawlins wyoming in ice and snow.. (2wd the whole way)

It tracked and grabbed the road better than my friends 3/4 ton dodge 4x4 truck.. the vehicle we went there in... Was very impressed with the antilock brakes and the vehicle traction system (VDO).

Stock radio did well with reception, I left my discs at home..

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Nissan Xterra?
Totally functional interior but would have liked to have seen better instrumentation (Oil Pressure and auto trans temp gauges). I'm a die hard Toyota fan and I question the vehicle's ability to compete with the FJ cruiser.

After I got the vehicle I saw a local dealer here in Rawlins with a load of used wranglers.. Don't want to look.. but I want to look... The Xterra looks tough with a lift kit.. I have plans.... I wonder if I can modify it to surpass Jeep Wrangler's off road performance... But I need a cross country commuter too - HMMMMMM??

2006 Nissan Xterra Review:
Overall great vehicle so far. Still has stock shocks and tires.. doing well at 35k+ better gas mileage than my Toyota truck with the 3.0 liter V6, but my Toyota had off road gearing that made Jeep cringe (4:56 to Nissan's 3.73 hence the better mileage).. I think Nissan could have done better with the efficiency of the motor and put slightly taller gears behind it to achieve the same on road objective with more offroad jeep bite... I love to love and hate the Jeep... this Xterra was an impulse purchase based on dire circumstance. Times are tough and I'm not sure if it was wise, but on the other hand I have nothing to really worry about as far as vehicle reliability goes.. Do I??


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 24, 2013

taratb23
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Nissan Xterra?
I love my xterra and it is great in the snow and off road I purchased mine brand new and it has 94000 miles it is the 6 speed have had the same clutch since got it had a Mazda before and had to put a clutch in. no real mechanical problem that weren't covered by warranty's

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Nissan Xterra?
stock cd stop working once warranty over changed stereo stared have electrical problems would be nice with a passenger mirror and if back seat was designed different would be able to fit my baby carseat toddler car seat booster seat just perfect like I was able to in moms toyota

2006 Nissan Xterra Review:
over all I love this xterra and its better paid off


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 29, 2010

magnus
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Nissan Xterra?
POWER! Great engine from the 350Z.
Tight turning radius, better than my Vette.
Sporty feel for an SUV.
14k miles and zero issues thus far...
Looks sharp and love the offroad tires.
Rear seats fold flat down.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Nissan Xterra?
Gashog but this is to be expected with such power.
Armrest is too short.
Stock stereo lousy, replaced it with a Kenwood.

2006 Nissan Xterra Review:
Lots of outdoor sport for the money. Good power, great looks.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 11, 2010

suv reviews
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Nissan Xterra?
Excellent drive-trains.
Towing capacity.

2006 Nissan Xterra Review:
Nissan Xterra Has Standard all-disc antilock brakes which has electronic brake-force distribution and brake assist. Seat-mounted side-impact airbags and side curtain-type airbags are optional. Vehicle Dynamic Control is also available. Nissan's Xterra is still geared toward the youth market.

Best Regards
Jigna


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 3, 2010

JACK686
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Nissan Xterra?
FEELS NICE AND SOLID WITH PLENTY OF POWER.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Nissan Xterra?
NONE.

2006 Nissan Xterra Review:
IT RIDES NICE. IT FEELS VERY STURDY AND THE STEERING IS VERY SMOOTH.
NICE SUV, WELL WORTH THE MONEY. BOUGHT IT AS A SECOND VEHICLE AND AM VERY HAPPY WITH IT. I HAD A 2004 F150 BEFORE AND GOT SICK AND TIRED WITH ALL THE LITTLE PROBLEMS WITH IT DUE TO THEM CHEAPING OUT ON THINGS LIKE THE WINDOWS THE FRONT SPRINGS THE SPARK PLUGS..... ETC.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 1, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Nissan Xterra?
The performance is great and the inside is alot more roomer than it looks from the outside

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Nissan Xterra?
sunroof

2006 Nissan Xterra Review:
I would recommend it for anyone.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 21, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Nissan Xterra?
The look, the interior size, my dog takes up the whole back w/ seats folding down very nicely. The power is awesome too.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Nissan Xterra?
Better factory radio and speakers. It is kind of lacking for a factory base model.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 8, 2008

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:3
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Nissan Xterra?
Solid feel-power-interior style

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Nissan Xterra?
Higher gearing-at least 25 mpg

2006 Nissan Xterra Review:
I just moved up from a 2003 Xterra I really enjoyed. However, this a whole other Xterra (2006)


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 18, 2007

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Nissan Xterra?
plenty of interior space, lots of power, lots of cargo area, and its just plain fun to drive...never left me stranded in sand, mud, or snow.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Nissan Xterra?
More comfortable seats. A little better fuel economy would be nice.

2006 Nissan Xterra Review:
Overall, I love it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 6, 2007

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Nissan Xterra?
ITS SMOOTH

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Nissan Xterra?
INTERIOR DESIGN SUCH AS IN DOORS AND HANDLES


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Nissan Xterra Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2006 Nissan Xterra?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Nissan Xterra? Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Nissan Xterra? 2006 Nissan Xterra Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2006 Nissan Model Lineup:
2006 350Z
2006 Altima
2006 Armada
2006 Frontier
2006 Maxima
2006 Murano
2006 Pathfinder
2006 Quest
2006 Sentra
2006 Titan
2006 Xterra
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

©2006-2020 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2006 Nissan Xterra | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact