Log in
6.0 million people served.
Select Nissan Sentra Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2006 Nissan Sentra

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Compact Car
ABS Brakes: Optional
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 23-28/28-35 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
1.8L I4 126HP
2.5L I4 165HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 40 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2006 Nissan Sentra in the bottom 14% of 2006 model year vehicles.
Rank:
14%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2006 Nissan Sentra in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2006 Nissan Sentra also consider:
2006 Nissan Sentra Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2006 Nissan Sentra
  1. Handling
  2. Transmission
  3. Torque
  4. Interior design
  5. Great value
Top 5 Cons of the 2006 Nissan Sentra
  1. Cup holder location
  2. More power
  3. Back seat room
  4. Exterior body style
  5. Better center console
Submitted Jan 4, 2011

kevin68
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Nissan Sentra?
Gas mileage is good for a small car made after 2000. I had a 96 Sentra that was rated at 30 city 40 highway and this one is 24 and 31. My 97 never averaged below 35 and I got almost 60 in it on a road trip and that was with 269k miles on it.
But the new engines are more powerful, they can get up a hill without being floored and sounding like a weedeater like the 96. So I will take a drop in my mpgs for this because it is safer when getting on highway (I average 27 in 06).

Interior is a little plain but makes for less to break. Front seats are comfy. Rear is too small to be for many.

Trunk has lots of room.

Quiet operation and lots of city power for small sedan.

Engine compartment is spacious in 1.8 engine cars. I don't know about 2.5 versions.

Console is laid out good and special edition look is great.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Nissan Sentra?
Wheels without hub caps (as in full rims) standard, not steel wheels (not a big deal; those just look better to me).

Better paint (scratches rather easy, heard they fixed this in 07).

More room in rear.

Better fuel pump (can make for hard starts, but only every now and then).

2006 Nissan Sentra Review:
Great investment. I have had 2 Nissans before and never had major issues with them. Nissan in my opinion makes best cars on road and you should be served great if you buy one. All my complaints are minor and don't keep me from loving my little sedan.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 1, 2020

Connor
Performance:4
Exterior:3
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Nissan Sentra?
Pros about this car:
Fast when you want it to be.
Handles well in snow.
Not the perfect drift car but it works as one.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Nissan Sentra?
Cup holder location- up against the radio isn't the best spot.
Needs more back seat room. I have a friend who is 6'2 and he sat in the back once and hates it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 9, 2012

GUEST
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Nissan Sentra?
Good Gas mileage...I drive 45 miles one way to work, I filled it up and got 348 miles to my tank. Compare to my old 98 ford Ranger with a V6 I got 260 miles to the tank.

Nice simple interior, exterior is nice.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Nissan Sentra?
Better leg room in back. I have kids and when I pick them up....my 6 yo has her legs fold sometimes, I would have my 11 yo sitting in front move her seat up.

Also cup holders...Need to find another spot for those...underneath the A/C and stereo doesn't work.

Arm rest console...may need to be enlarged just a little bit more.

And maybe make rims a standard...hub caps are a thing of the past now...a lot of companies are going away from them.

2006 Nissan Sentra Review:
Overall great car...lots opf bang for your buck in this vehicle. Gas mileage, simple interior makes for a simple car for a simple person not looking to spend too much on a gas saver. Engine is strong with just enough power to keep up with the traffic.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 9, 2012

jos02
Performance:2
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Nissan Sentra?
Good gas mileage

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Nissan Sentra?
at 138000 ive spent $2000 if not more fixing the calipers, catalitic converter, break pads rotters, a new battery and now the car wont start for me. Now the place my car is at the guy started it and it started. So what is the problem with my car? Ive spent too much money on my car and if i keep it will i keep having problems? Im at 145000 kms

2006 Nissan Sentra Review:
its costing too much money to fix this car and nissan is supposed to be a good company.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 16, 2011

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Nissan Sentra?
Trouble-free for 5 years.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Nissan Sentra?
No legroom in the back.

2006 Nissan Sentra Review:
I've put 40K over 5 years without a single problem. I have to move the passenger seat all the way up for someone to sit in back, but I bought it for commuting, so no big deal to me. The SE-R has plenty of power and gets close to its hwy miles (avg 27 mpg).


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 16, 2010

randy52
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Nissan Sentra?
The compact size of it. It's not that big.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Nissan Sentra?
New upgrades.

2006 Nissan Sentra Review:
The car is a gas saver, especially with the gas prices now. And the price of the vehicle was great...


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 7, 2009

Erika
Performance:4
Exterior:3
Interior:1
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Nissan Sentra?
Good gas mileage.....

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Nissan Sentra?
I bought this car about a year ago, and I really regret it. I say that because I needed it at the time that the gas prices were at $5.00 and I was driving at least 30 miles to work everyday in a big suv, so it was good at that time. But now I have a different job 5 miles from my house and have two kids and no leg room. My 7 year old son has to sit with his legs crossed just so he can fit in the back seat. The cupholders suck big time, they will only hold a can because the stereo is in the way.....

2006 Nissan Sentra Review:
It is great if you have no family...


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 3, 2009

mike_black
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Nissan Sentra?
STYLING IS NICE
CAR HANDLES REALLY WELL FOR STOCK
TRANSMISSION IS USER FRIENDLY
GREAT GAS MILEAGE

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Nissan Sentra?
INTERIOR NOISE IS ANNOYING, LOTS OF BUZZES AND SNAPS, DEALERS WON'T WARRANTY ANYTHING, DRIVER SEAT SHOT AT 26,000 MILES.

2006 Nissan Sentra Review:
BOUGHT THE CAR WHEN GAS WAS ALMOST $5.00 A GALLON AND I'M VERY HAPPY WITH ITS ECONOMY, RELATIVELY QUICK FOR ITS MOTOR AND SHINES UP WELL, STILL FELL LIKE I SHOULD HAVE BOUGHT AN ALTIMA!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 21, 2009

Emily
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Nissan Sentra?
I have a 2006 Special Edition Sentra. I like the overall feel of it. It's a sporty looking car that is great on gas and is definitely modifiable.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Nissan Sentra?
Move the cupholders back and a better sub for the sound package.

2006 Nissan Sentra Review:
Overall great car and keeps its value relatively well. I test drove a 2007 Civic EX and chose to keep my Sentra because I like the feel of the Sentra better.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 24, 2008

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Nissan Sentra?
looks nice. gas mileage good

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Nissan Sentra?
needs a bigger engine but okay on the hiway. brakes squeak alot.

2006 Nissan Sentra Review:
nissan is not good on making repairs. does not live up to warranty. always trying to avoid warranty repairs. i will not buy another nissan


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Nissan Sentra Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2006 Nissan Sentra?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Nissan Sentra? Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Nissan Sentra? 2006 Nissan Sentra Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2006 Nissan Model Lineup:
2006 350Z
2006 Altima
2006 Armada
2006 Frontier
2006 Maxima
2006 Murano
2006 Pathfinder
2006 Quest
2006 Sentra
2006 Titan
2006 Xterra
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

©2006-2020 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2006 Nissan Sentra | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact