Log in
6.0 million people served.
Select Nissan Maxima Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2006 Nissan Maxima

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Midsize Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 6
MPG: 20/28-29 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
3.5L V6 265HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 51 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2006 Nissan Maxima in the bottom 47% of 2006 model year vehicles.
Rank:
47%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2006 Nissan Maxima in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2006 Nissan Maxima also consider:
2006 Nissan Maxima Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2006 Nissan Maxima
  1. Amazing V6 engine
  2. Roominess
  3. Exterior style
  4. Sound system
  5. Heated steering wheel
Top 5 Cons of the 2006 Nissan Maxima
  1. Self-locking doors
  2. Lighted garage controls
  3. Remove cassette deck
  4. Radio controls on wheel protruding
  5. Turning radius
Submitted Sep 28, 2012

Alexander225
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Nissan Maxima?
The Ride (it glides smoothly)
The Large Interior (Not many cars have a large back seat)
The Features (It has and does everything)
The Design (the car is to date)
The MPG (about the same MPG on the highway as 2010 Altima 2.5)

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Nissan Maxima?
Turning Radius (this is not a greyhound bus)

Notorious for transmission failure 2004-2006 (cost of repair 3000 to 3500)
Steering wheel shimmy (its the tires)(roadforce balance from Discount tire will fix this problem)

Either way you look at it this car will not leave you stranded. Its a high performance sedan dont buy it and expect to use regular unleaded and to maintain it like a Honda Civic. Use preventative maintenance and take care of your car. We have an 06 SE and an 06SL. Bought the SE new currently has 109,000 on it never had any trouble out of it. The SL was preowned converted to synthetic oil changed the timing chain out early runs great. People reading these reviews this is one of the best cars on the Market. All cars have problems and far much worse than the 6th generation Maxima.

2006 Nissan Maxima Review:
The car is fantasic it rides and handles great. When loaded you can easily compare this to a Mercedes E320. Bottom line maintain your vehicle and it will run for years to come.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 23, 2009

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Nissan Maxima?
I love this car. I had a 97 Maxima and put 344,000 miles on it. It never saw a repair shop. I had to buy another one. I didn't even compare other models.

The car is sharp to look at. I love the big wheels and the roominess in the cabin, as does my golden retriever. I like the modernness of the instrument panel. The car can more than hold its own against its much more expensive counterparts. I love the auto stick on the out of the way windy roads.

The car pretty much does everything for me. It dims the mirrors, defrosts the side mirrors, turns on the lights and adjusts the temp in the cabin.

It is a smart car. Maybe smarter than I want it to be though.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Nissan Maxima?
Considering the amount of driving I do, the seats are my biggest complaint. My legs fall asleep when I'm driving. The seats don't go into the position I want. my old Maxima did. My 97 Maxima had much more comfy seats for long drives.

The turning radius is something that takes time to adjust to. It has to be one of the worst on the road.

The AC likes to turn on by itself. I understand that the AC is needed to defrost windows, but it does it all the time.

The transmission is very jumpy at low speeds. It's like the car is trying to tell me to drive fast, which it is very good at doing.

I don't like the brake assist. I know how to operate brakes and don't need help in that department.

2006 Nissan Maxima Review:
I would recommend this car to anyone in need of a fun car to drive that has a kid or 2 to transport. It is a very roomy car. I cant even reach the back ceiling light from the driver seat.

I love how the car looks. It's the best design that Nissan has even made, including the new Maxima. The day I drove it home, I had a couple follow me to a parking lot just to tell me how pretty my car was, then they drove off. It looks fast and doesn't disappoint.

Every time I drive it I'm tempted to blow the doors off whatever car is sitting next to me at a traffic light. I don't because I'm a good driver : )

I have driven my last 2 Maximas 500,000 miles (97 & 06) without ANY problems. Neither car has ever seen a repair shop for anything other than routine maintenance. I have owned 2 Hondas and 2 Toyotas and cannot say the same thing about them. The biggest plus is no time belt to change every 60,000 miles. Maximas have timing chains which never need to be replaced with routine oil changes. On average, I change my oil every 7000-8000 miles.

I think it's one of the best made cars on the road. They invented to 3.0 V6 back in 1994 that every other company copied. Now they have the best 3.5 V6 that everyone is also copying. When it comes to performance engines, they are definitely the leader.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 30, 2015

edward
Performance:4
Exterior:3
Interior:2
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Nissan Maxima?
Power.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Nissan Maxima?
Front end problems shocks, control arm, tie rods engine mount changed multiple times. Traction in the snow the worst. Interior cheap plastic.

2006 Nissan Maxima Review:
Catalytic converter replaced, transmission replaced before 100 thousand miles. Unbelievable.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 22, 2014

kelly
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Nissan Maxima?
When Renault partnered with Nissan, the designs of Nissans started looking really good. I love the bold lines and cool features (sky view roof).

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Nissan Maxima?
Unfortunately, Carlos Ghson also brought Renault's atrocious reliability to the table. With Renault mgmt seeping into Nissan's air, the focus on reliability has diminished. The VQ engine use to be flawless, extremely reliable. Now, after Renault, timing chain tensioners go bad, head gaskets fail, they burn oil all very expensive repairs ($5000+). The once reliable automatic (4 and 5 speed automatics) transmissions became problematic. Then with the CVT introduction, those were trouble too. A/C units fail. Unfortunately, these Maximas are Japanese in name only. Underneath, they are burdened with French reliability thanks to Renault. Never again Nissan!! I'm sticking with Toyota and Honda.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 28, 2013

DustinH
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Nissan Maxima?
It looks good. The engine has plenty of power. All of the features that the interior holds are incredible, i find something else new that it can do every day!

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Nissan Maxima?
My car went through this stage where i would press on the accelerator and my car would do nothing. The engine would not rev but the car would roll forward as if it was just simply in drive. This would leave me stranded at random points in time. I put the car into the shop and they had absolutely no idea what was wrong. The replaced the tranny which was 3500 dollars. While they had my car they damaged the interior. Anyways the new tranny did nothing. They put a new battery in it and somehow its magically fixed.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 11, 2013

GUEST
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Nissan Maxima?
Luxury.
Stability.

2006 Nissan Maxima Review:
Never ever Nissan again - transmition is bad, after 70k, gone.
Don't buy this car.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 20, 2012

lovescars
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Nissan Maxima?
Powerful engine. Smooth forgiving ride handles well. Sexy exterior. Roomy cabin and trunk. Feels like luxury. Excellent car for highway driving. I have driven this on rain sleet snow and hail.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Nissan Maxima?
Turn radius makes it a little difficult to maneuver tight spaces and to park. Vertical skylight beautiful but does not open. Expensive gas premium and tires. A hybrid would be wonderful. Traction control is decent but could be even better.

2006 Nissan Maxima Review:
I Love this car 70 000 miles and three years in. It has needed repairs but my usage is above average 450 miles a week. I stay on maintenance oil changes etc. Shocks struts brakes catalytic converter rack and pinion and stabilized linkages were the repaired items. Next car will likely be Maxima or infiniti God willing.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 1, 2012

lasay thomson
Performance:1
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Nissan Maxima?
Looks nice. That is it.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Nissan Maxima?
Why fix what isn't broke or worked so great in the older Maxima's at least for the engine etc! Anything to do with the engine, transmission, brakes, etc. needs improvement.

2006 Nissan Maxima Review:
I purposely bought a brand new off the lot 06 Maxima because the older models would last a life time. I was certain Nissan would only improve over the years. NOT! I am the only owner and I have had numerous problems the worst now being the transmission and we replaced the mounts.....I will never ever buy a Nissan again! I might as well have bought a beat up used car. Not happy with my Nissan and I want everyone to know the problems.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 22, 2011

TAlston
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Nissan Maxima?
Sexy design.
Nice power.
The handling is great.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Nissan Maxima?
The skyview is a waste of a fishbowl effect...it should open.
The turn radius sucks.
The interior looks generic compared to the exterior design.

2006 Nissan Maxima Review:
This is my 3rd Maxima. Unfortunately, it is the worst. Nissan is not making them like they used to. I got almost 300K miles on older Maximas with minimum maintenance costs. The 2006 has been a headache. At 65K miles I've replaced the AC, the O2 sensor, and now the catalytic converter. Although it rides great, all of the problems are making me think it's time to find a new brand.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 27, 2011

paul_taylor
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Nissan Maxima?
This car is fast, has lots of room, is stylish and great on gas.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Nissan Maxima?
Had to replace the converter.
Wish it could use 87 instead of 93.
Tires wear faster because of the low profile tires (no biggie).
Turn radius.

2006 Nissan Maxima Review:
Other than the small cons, the car runs great with no problems. It will be my next car also. Hope they will have a hybrid by then..gas prices are crazy! lol


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Nissan Maxima Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2006 Nissan Maxima?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Nissan Maxima? Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Nissan Maxima? 2006 Nissan Maxima Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2006 Nissan Model Lineup:
2006 350Z
2006 Altima
2006 Armada
2006 Frontier
2006 Maxima
2006 Murano
2006 Pathfinder
2006 Quest
2006 Sentra
2006 Titan
2006 Xterra
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

©2006-2020 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2006 Nissan Maxima | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact