Log in
6.0 million people served.
Select Ford Escape Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2006 Ford Escape

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Sport Utility Vehicle
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 19-24/24-26 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.3L I4 153HP
3.0L V6 200HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 46 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2006 Ford Escape in the bottom 13% of 2006 model year vehicles.
Rank:
13%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2006 Ford Escape in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2006 Ford Escape also consider:
2006 Ford Escape Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2006 Ford Escape
  1. Plenty of power
  2. Comfortable seats
  3. Great visibility
  4. Looks good
  5. Huge sunroof
Top 5 Cons of the 2006 Ford Escape
  1. Gas mileage
  2. Rear headrests prevents seat folding
  3. More powerful AC
  4. Less wind noise
  5. Firmer front bucket seats
Submitted Apr 1, 2013

Noel
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:2
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford Escape?
1. Good acceleration.
2, Good all-around vision.
3. Not bad (could be better) gas mileage.
4. Good brakes.
5. Nice factory stereo.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford Escape?
1. Lousy seat material - water "stains" it. I think Ford bought this stuff while their procurement guy was drunk!

2. Recurring problem: "Low pressure tire light" flashes on dash although tires have the right air pressure.

3. Tie-down nylon straps in trunk instead of steel anchors (like my old Chevy Blazer had). I hate cheap replacements; "chinsy" substitute.

3. Previous owner's reports of engine and transmission failures and their respective high replacement costs have me worried...

4. Why is it that the new Escapes (2013) can give just as good performance as the 6 cylinder but a lot better gas mileage? - I'm not rushing to get the new one yet, I'll wait till a few owners post their results after 1 year of ownership... then decide.

5. LOUSY vent controls - will not completely close and will travel only very short distance so one does not really control air.

6. No interior air recirculation button. My wife's Focus wagon has this feature, and its really neat because in the summer, the AC cools the air a lot faster. Can't understand why Ford dropped this neat feature from the Escape.

7. Seats are a too short in length, (don't provide good leg support) and a little too stiff for long trips. After the first hour of driving I find myself shifting a lot in the seat - sore spots caused by too rigid upholstery.

8. Sort of "grinding" or amplified vibration coming through the steering wheel while accelerating (could be the tires, but I'm not sure) that thankfully, disappears after reaching highway speed.

2006 Ford Escape Review:
A mixed blessing - better gas mileage than my old Blazer - but very short of what I expected. Good performance from the engine & tranny but reliability concerns make me wonder if the trade I made was worth it. Those Blazers would last two lifetimes - if taken care of.

For now, I'm satisfied, but I'm going to have to play it safe and down the road in perhaps a year or so, trade once again.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 25, 2013

TAP3X
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford Escape?
Fuel Efficient
Heater and Air all good!
Cruise Control all operable!
5 Speed - Great speed pickup!

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford Escape?
A little more room in drivers seating area!

2006 Ford Escape Review:
Replaced a clutch at 97k. Standard maintenance, oil checks, winter package, etc. Currently 194, 000 + miles and running smooth!...
5 Speed...


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 4, 2013

kevinbellc
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford Escape?
Great gas mileage
Good for towing smaller boats/trailers
150000 km so far and running great.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford Escape?
Small gas tank
Heated seats turn on by themselves all the time.

2006 Ford Escape Review:
I love my escape it gets great gas mileage but a larger gas tank would be ideal. Runs great in these cold canadian winters. 150000 km and running strong no major break downs just general maintenance and up keep.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 5, 2013

GUEST
Performance:1
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford Escape?
Make the engine last longer than 85000 miles.

2006 Ford Escape Review:
The car is a lemon! No engine should fail after 85000 miles and following the recommendations for maintenance.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 11, 2012

rgalvarez9999
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford Escape?
Like everything about vehicle

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford Escape?
I hate the automatic door locks! Back window exploded inside garage?


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 5, 2012

GUEST
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford Escape?
I have now 226,000 on it. Mostly highway driven for my sales work.
Good in snow and dirt roads.
Seats are comfortable and overall engine performance is good.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford Escape?
Have changed oil every 5,000 and followed all maintenance requirements. Have had the transmission rebuilt twice now and still find it wines a bit now. This seems to be a common problem with the Escapes.

2006 Ford Escape Review:
Would be nice if it had 4x4 lock available.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 13, 2011

B933
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford Escape?
Very responsive engine, fun to drive, the appearance (like the style better than the newer ones as well as the competition.)

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford Escape?
The AC could perform a little better. (I like it cooler than most.)

2006 Ford Escape Review:
Very fun to drive, good performance, reliable (so far). Rides very well in the snow. Fuel economy could be a bit better. Overall very good value.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 25, 2011

Dean183
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford Escape?
Performance.
View of the road.
Longevity - if you take care of them - how about 404,000 miles and counting.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford Escape?
Get a freakin' clue -
ALL CARS NEED UP KEEP!!!!!!!!!!

Seats were a bit hard - but I fixed that.

2006 Ford Escape Review:
Do any of you whiners know it takes money to maintain a car - ANY CAR! Most of the complaints here are for common up keep. Cars are mechanical machines . . . they wear. Brakes, transmission clutches etc. I'll bet not one of you have ever bothered to get the transmission flushed and filters changed. Or how about the coolant - ever had that flushed? Of course not - you just drive them into the ground and then bitch about how terrible they are.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 31, 2011

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford Escape?
Shifter, acceleration, and the way it can cut through the snow.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford Escape?
Better radio - it's very average, but nothing major.

2006 Ford Escape Review:
Works great in the winter. I live in Wisconsin and put my kids in it so I know they won't end up in the ditch. The performance of the v6 is good. The interior is average, yes a few stains but nothing a steamer and 20 mins won't take care of. Only thing I'd change is the radio - it's very very basic but good for a high school student to drive around in. I'd say the car can pull anything a v6 truck would pull. After 100,000 miles, it starts a little harder but that's to be expected.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 10, 2011

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford Escape?
-Spacious.
-Smooth drive.
-Leather.
-Power.
-Sunroof.

2006 Ford Escape Review:
I have the limited, V6 model with the heated leather seats and sunroof. The drivers seat is very uncomfortable during long trips. The heated seats at times have a mind of their own and turn on without pressing the button.

Last year I had to get the breaks replaced and the exterior plastic piece along the bottom is wearing down significantly. I have found that my Escape performs very poorly in the cold weather in Ontario and I am considering trading it in before next winter.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Ford Escape Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2006 Ford Escape?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford Escape? Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford Escape? 2006 Ford Escape Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2006 Ford Model Lineup:
2006 Crown Victoria
2006 Econoline
2006 Escape
2006 Escape Hybrid
2006 Expedition
2006 Explorer
2006 F-150
2006 F-250/F-350
2006 Five Hundred
2006 Focus
2006 Freestar
2006 Freestyle
2006 Fusion
2006 GT
2006 Mustang
2006 Ranger
2006 Taurus
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

©2006-2020 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2006 Ford Escape | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact