Log in
6.0 million people served.
Select Dodge Charger Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006

2006 Dodge Charger

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Fullsize Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 14-19/20-27 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
3.5L V6 250HP
5.7L V8 340HP
6.1L V8 425HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 135 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2006 Dodge Charger in the top 17% of 2006 model year vehicles.
Rank:
83%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2006 Dodge Charger in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2006 Dodge Charger also consider:
2006 Dodge Charger Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2006 Dodge Charger
  1. Power of the Hemi V8
  2. Sound system
  3. Smooth ride
  4. Room for adults in rear
  5. Exhaust note
Top 5 Cons of the 2006 Dodge Charger
  1. Odd looking cruise control
  2. Sportier seating
  3. Adjustable lumbar support
  4. Sportier suspension
  5. Tighter steering
Submitted Aug 19, 2011

TJ296
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Dodge Charger?
Love the style of the car. I have a 2006 SXT high output 3.5 engine. While not a hemi, this car has plenty of punch and cruises like a dream. The upgraded (6) speaker system is outstanding.

I added remote start and the OEM navigation system (installation took about 5 minutes total to swap the stock radio with the Navigation/stereo system and change the bezel). Also added front chin spoiler.

I purchased in the first year or production of the new model and for the first year everywhere I went I received compliments and questions.

Now anyone would be hard pressed to not see a Charger on the road anytime they are driving as they are extremely popular.

I see an equal amount of Hemis and SE models on the road but SXTs which are the midpoint model does not appear as common.

Due to personal reasons the car sat for a couple of years and just recently has been returned to the road with a mere 36K miles on it.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Dodge Charger?
Exterior molding around windshield and side molding on doors prone to fading.

Quality of tires on car when new was low. Only got about 20K out of them.

Input speed sensor failed at 36K causing car to randomly go into limp mode. Upon researching appears a fairly common issue with the NAG1 transmissions in the Chargers.

2006 Dodge Charger Review:
Overall I love the car. Intend to keep it and pass it on to my youngest son as his first car at which point I may go to an R/T.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 28, 2011

Lisa Meadows
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Dodge Charger?
Purchased in July 2006 with 8000 miles.
Best of 3 worlds - power, comfort and style.
Awesome to drive..love, love love it.
R/T with Hemi was the perfect choice (inferno red).
All leather interior was good quality. Has worn well.
Nothing like it on the road when I bought it.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Dodge Charger?
Tail fin paint peeled at 80,000 miles. (cost $75.00 to repaint)
Other than general maintenance and light brake work...it's been a jewel.

2006 Dodge Charger Review:
My husband thought this car had too much power for me. This car has been an awesome purchase. I feel completely in control and know how to handle this vehicle.

I am now at 89,000 miles and had a slight thought about trading. After shopping, it is hard to compete with the styling and power of this car. Although others cars have more bells and whistles, I have found nothing that I love as what this car offers me. My opinion, the 2011 body style hampered my decision to go with another Charger this year.

Think I will hold on to this car a little while longer.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 4, 2010

Dave261
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Dodge Charger?
I bought my Inferno Red Charger R/T in Feb of 06 and it always gets a lot of attention.
The Hemi has all the power I need to pass anyone any time I want.
The first time I drove it I was going 75 when I thought I was doing 65.
Very quiet at cruise.
Very nice sound when I floor it and very, very quick.
I have 40,000 miles on it.
I do enjoy using the manual shift at times.
Very roomy and comfortable and on a trip I average 25 miles per gallon.
Better quality front end tie rods sway bar construction.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Dodge Charger?
Original Continental Tires wore out with only 18k on them.
Emergency Brake light came on at 8k miles and was fixed?
Transmission O ring fixed at 15k miles.
Wiper Delay problem at 16k miles. They replaced with all new switch.
Clunk noise from front end at 22k. Fixed by replacing tension struts & sway bar bushings.

The above was during warranty.

The following is out of warranty problems as it was past the 3 years.

O2 Sensor failed at 27k miles. Fixed and I paid.
Rattle in front end at 36k again and parking light comes on again. They replaced the right front tension strut and replaced the left outer tie rod end. And the last item to date is they replaced a failed right outer tie rod end at 37k miles.
I now hear another clunking noise from the front end that will probably be the same problems as before. Not looking forward to paying for another repair.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 9, 2010

charlene
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Dodge Charger?
I have always loved muscle cars. I wanted to be a race car driver as a little girl..

When they brought out the New Charger I was in love.. I bought my 2006 Charger Se 3.5 high output Inferno Red Metalic Pearl paint job on May 30, 2006.

I love everything about it it has a great sounds system and great ESP the worked great in the Illinois snow.. I love my car I get some me heads that turn when they look at me. I have a little over 47000 miles on it right now.. I love the adjustable pedals..

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Dodge Charger?
I wish the 2006 Se would have came with fog lights.

Better wheel covers..

I did have the O ring replaced a couple of months after I had the car but that was standard recall no biggie to me..

I have had to replace the tire rod on the driver side.. but I made a lot of trips to Georgia and Georgia has some rough highways and streets..

2006 Dodge Charger Review:
I LOVE MY CAR.. HOPING ONE DAY I CAN TRADE IT IN FOR A NEWER MODEL DAYTONA R/T SAME COLOR OF COURSE WITH RACING STRIPE. BUT I ALSO DO LOVE THE NEW CHALLENGER.. BUT THE CHARGER IS MY BABY.. CAUSE I LOVE THE 4 DOORS. AND IT IS VERY ROOMY ON THE INSIDE...


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 31, 2014

Dave
Performance:1
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Dodge Charger?
When my clean white Dodge Charger runs, it's a nice ride... the car literally feels like it was designed around my body.. comfortable bucket seats, etc.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Dodge Charger?
The con is this... Dodge Chargers stall... for no apparent reason in the middle of a highway, going from 45 to 0 .. NO POWER on the roadway is dangerous! These cars are going to get someone killed if they haven't already - and Chrysler doesn't seem to care less without federal intervention. They extended warranties on model years after 2007... so guess who get's screwed. Yup - everyone with a 2006... WTF Dodge? I nearly got killed when my car stalled without any previous warning. I sent a message to Chrysler, and NHTSA... Chrysler looked at the car, said fuel pumps and no warranty.. this isn't a "warranty issue" it's a defective product issue.. It isn't just "one car"... its many of their Chargers.

2006 Dodge Charger Review:
If you have the opportunity to buy one at a great price.. walk away... it seems like a beautiful car... don't be the moth next to the flame.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 13, 2012

Trina
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Dodge Charger?
Very little repairs.
Comfortable
Beast for speed.
Handles well, corners, stopping, passing etc.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Dodge Charger?
Cruise control is in a difficult place.
A little stall when starting out, shifting from P to D
Big blind spots.

2006 Dodge Charger Review:
I love my car and wouldn't trade it in for a new one. However, recently (over the past 6 mo or so) I have had issues with it stalling out while driving it. Needless to say, it is very hard to handle when that happens. We have taken it in a few times with them sending it back and not finding anything wrong. We took it in again 2 days ago and found out that it was the gas tank. After filling it up the engine stalls. It turned out that it was the purge solenoid and/or control valve on the tank. 1400 repair estimate. I am out of factory warranty and don't mind paying for the repair but I would like to let other lovers of their beautiful chargers know that this is a known issue and maybe you can get it checked before your warranty goes out.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 22, 2011

mike701
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Dodge Charger?
Good smooth power.
Great looks.
Comfortable roomy car, seats 5 fairly comfortable.
Good handling car for as big and heavy as it is.
I had a 530 BMW before this and between the two, I would choose the charger.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Dodge Charger?
Tie rod issues and sway bar bushings replaced at 60000 mi. I have 22" wheels and lowered so that could be the cause.
Other than that, just normal maintenance.

2006 Dodge Charger Review:
The car is a "top banana" - yellow R\T Daytona, great styling. My wife drives the car most of the time and loves it. I would buy it all over again if I had the choice.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 12, 2011

Kim293
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Dodge Charger?
Bought my 2006 Hemi with about 10K miles on it.
Love the way it passes other cars on the road.
Never have had any real issues. Just took in for 60K service.
Very HOT car!!!

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Dodge Charger?
Service for the Charger is way over priced.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 7, 2011

D191
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Dodge Charger?
It's hot and fast. What else do you need?
Top banana yellow.
Great acceleration.
Handles well.
Plenty of room in the back seat and the trunk.
Great styling.
Good front gauges.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Dodge Charger?
The Daytona model has custom seats, but if you lean into the seat to pick something up and put your knee on the seat, it sort of pops in and out. They look nice but it seems like the infrastructure might be lacking, although to be fair - they haven't broken down or anything. This car is terrible in the snow and I grew up in the snow belt. I've driven everything in the snow and this is the worst car ever. The gear shift is in the center of the console and it doesn't take much to accidentally bump in and change the transmission to manual. Surprise - rpm rev and you can change it back but it's annoying. Brake pads seem to wear out quickly and needs better rims and I'm not heavy on the brakes at all. This also seems to be a car that aerodynamically is styled so that it gets chips in the windshield often. It's an odd thing to notice on a car but I drive a lot. The last car that I that problem with was a Jeep Cherokee.

2006 Dodge Charger Review:
I really like it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 26, 2011

Sean Smith
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Dodge Charger?
I like the size, (i'm 6'4) great performance and style.
55,000 trouble free miles.
Easy to custom upgrade, power and looks.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Dodge Charger?
I have the 3.5 SE, so better tires and rims from factory would be nice. Otherwise I'm very happy with it!

2006 Dodge Charger Review:
Excellent all round car.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Dodge Charger Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2006 Dodge Charger?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Dodge Charger? Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Dodge Charger? 2006 Dodge Charger Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2006 Dodge Model Lineup:
2006 Caravan/Grand Caravan
2006 Charger
2006 Dakota
2006 Durango
2006 Magnum
2006 Sprinter
2006 Stratus
2006 Viper
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

©2006-2020 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2006 Dodge Charger | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact