Log in
6.0 million people served.
Select Chrysler Town & Country Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2006 Chrysler Town & Country

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Van
ABS Brakes: Optional
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 18/25 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
3.3L V6 180HP
3.8L V6 207HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 27 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2006 Chrysler Town & Country in the bottom 12% of 2006 model year vehicles.
Rank:
12%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2006 Chrysler Town & Country in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2006 Chrysler Town & Country also consider:
2006 Chrysler Town & Country Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2006 Chrysler Town & Country
  1. Stow-n-Go
  2. Smooth & quiet engine
  3. Entertainment system
  4. Power doors
  5. Excellent handling
Top 5 Cons of the 2006 Chrysler Town & Country
  1. Quieter power sliding doors
  2. Standard third row floor mat
  3. Reliability
  4. Illuminated temp control slides
  5. Plasticky interior
Submitted Feb 1, 2014

CDC
Performance:1
Exterior:3
Interior:1
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chrysler Town & Country?
Van has lots of room and features that are nice.
Fold down seats are nice.
The automatic sliding closing doors are very nice feature.
Has nice ride and is quiet.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chrysler Town & Country?
This Limited 2006 Town and Country has a lot of problems that any buyer needs to know about.

1. To start, the mileage is REAL BAD. I mean REAL REAL bad. We currently are getting around 14.5 MPG for city driving with the 3.8. That is a deal breaker for most.
2. You may think that the seats are real leather on the Limited, but the leather is FAKE plastic leather. If you want the real leather you need to get a Honda EX-L or some other van. These OEM fake leather seats SUCK and look cheap. And you are basically paying for leather with the high price they charge on a used car! Use this fact as a big bargaining chip! Real leather installation would cost $3000+ for all the seats in this car.
3. When you fold the seats down, the metal fasteners are exposed on the floor and will KILL your feet or knees if you stand or kneel on them. We put plywood on the floor for trips. This is another bad design.
4. The electrical system on the Limited is a total nightmare. Many times we go out to start the car and it won't start due to electrical lighting issues and shorts. This is another deal breaker.
5. We have the automatic headlights on our van. They have a LOT of issues coming on and off. Very buggy.
6. The center console is way to small and has no cup holders. Basically it takes up a lot of space. Many just take it out.
7. With all the bells and whistles on this Limited edition, there is no jack for a iPod. This is crazy.
8. We now have window seal noise issues on the passenger window after the dealer replaced the window motor.
9. The door locks suck. If you have standard slave keys for others, they can only unlock the car doors from the driver side door, since it has the only key lock. You need the full remote control on the Limited edition to unlock doors without going to the driver side. This is a pain, since our kids have just standard slave chipped keys on their key chains, not the HUGE remote key.
10. Chrysler dealers TOTALLY suck. The last time we took the car in they scratched the fender badly parking it. They did a very very poor job fixing it with heavy touch up paint and zero prep. Did not even go into their body shop for proper paint and sanding/fill. Do you think Honda, Toyota, Lexus, or Mercedes would do a half ass job repairing a car they damaged? Having to deal with these greedy, self serving, crooks is another deal breaker!

2006 Chrysler Town & Country Review:
All I can say is stay away from this car. It looks nice but the car and dealer both have huge issues. You are better off with a Honda or Toyota. They are a few thousand more, but worth every penny in the long run on a used car.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 25, 2011

Mike_Cook
Performance:1
Exterior:3
Interior:4
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chrysler Town & Country?
The interior is good and the stow and go is good.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chrysler Town & Country?
Make it more reliable.

2006 Chrysler Town & Country Review:
I bought this van with 18,000 miles on it from a dealership. It now has 80,000 +/- and in the last year I have rebuilt the transmission ($1500), and just in the last month I have had a blown head gasket ($1100), water pump, brakes (it was time for them), and now the rear A/C condenser is bad and it's another $700. I went on the Chrysler website to find an area for customer feedback and there isn't one. I have a Honda Accord with 260,000 miles on it and I'd feel more comfortable taking that car on a long trip over this van.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 17, 2011

Penny_J
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chrysler Town & Country?
Only had to take it in once for rear break pads in four years. Nothing else but regular oil changes.

The stow n go should be a must in all trucks/vans!

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chrysler Town & Country?
The front bumper, below it is an even lower spot underneath that you don't realize is there until you hit the parking curb and it cracks.

2006 Chrysler Town & Country Review:
I LOVE this van. We have owned it since 2007 and it still runs great. The electric locks, key remote to find your car in a lot is great, stow and go is fantastic! You can do it with one hand and don't have to be able to lift 50 pounds to do it. We stow em all and don't need a truck to go to Home Depot and can haul 6 teenagers and their stuff in it comfortably. You sit high so you can see better than in a car. It's classy not a dumpy mommy minivan.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 21, 2010

Mary_M_Langner
Performance:2
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chrysler Town & Country?
It has a lot of interior room and comfortable seating on long drives.

Love the cruise control and it really gets great gas mileage on the highways.

Front wheel drive is great on ice and in the snow.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chrysler Town & Country?
Have had to replace brake pads at 42,000 miles. Original equipment was totally inferior. I guess they thought they were doing great to save the company money but delivered sub par parts.

Was driving down the street in my neighborhood and the right axle broke apart. The mechanic said he had never seen a car that young fall apart so easily. He said the part was defective because the boot was in perfect shape (just what you would expect for a 2006 with 47,00 miles on it.)

Does anyone know what car I should buy? I need a dependable automobile.

2006 Chrysler Town & Country Review:
Give me a dependable car that can get down the road in one piece!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 30, 2010

dan_Mangum
Performance:2
Exterior:3
Interior:4
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chrysler Town & Country?
When they work the power doors and stow-n-go.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chrysler Town & Country?
Power windows/locks/doors don't work most of the time. Transmission is JUNK!
Bought touring signature series new in 2006 and by 2009 the transmission was shot.

2006 Chrysler Town & Country Review:
Do not buy Chrysler products...no wonder they had to get bailed out by the government.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 5, 2010

JUNE R DOWNEY
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chrysler Town & Country?
I LOVE THE STOW & GO SEATS. I HAVE CATS AND CAN DROP THE SEATS AND LOAD THE CATS IN THEIR KITTY CARRIERS.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chrysler Town & Country?
MY VAN HAS 22030 MILES ON IT. BOUGHT IT NEW. YESTERDAY HAD SOMETHING LEAK OVER MY DRIVEWAY. TOOK IT TO HAVE OIL CHANGE. IT IS THE RACK & PINION. COSTING ME $1440.31..WITH A NEW WATER PUMP AND NOW THEY ARE SAYING I NEED NEW BRAKES. I WILL NEVER EVER BUY ANOTHER CHRYSLER AUT0MOBILE AGAIN. HAD A 1991 CARAVAN AND THE BRAIN WENT 2 TIMES. TOO COSTLY TO MAINTAIN. AM LOOKING TO SEE IF THERE IS ANOTHER VAN WITH THE STOW & GO SEATS. IF THERE IS I WILL TRADE THIS PIECE OF GARBAGE IN.

2006 Chrysler Town & Country Review:
THEY STINK. WOULD NEVER OWN ANOTHER CHRYSLER PRODUCT. HAD A 1991 CARAVAN-BRAIN WENT 2 TIMES. 2006 TOWN & COUNTRY-RACK & PINION WITH WATER PUMP...AND BRAKES AND THE DARN THING HAS 22030 MILES ON IT AND I AM THE ORIGINAL OWNER. HAD A 1972 FURY 2...LEAKED INSIDE AND LIVING IN FLORIDA HAD ROACHES IN IT FROM THE A/C LEAKING...NO MORE CHRYSLER FOR ME !!!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 1, 2009

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chrysler Town & Country?
I love the stow and go and the power sliding doors and rear door.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chrysler Town & Country?
My van only has 32,000 miles on it, the warranty just expired, and every week something needs to be fixed! So far I have replaced a window motor, door lock actuator, all brakes, spark plugs and wires, and now my airbag light is on! A friend owns the same van and has had all the same problems. This van needs to be built to last! I am about ready to trade it in after only one year of ownership.

2006 Chrysler Town & Country Review:
The Chrysler Town and Country is a beautiful van that drives wonderfully and has lots of nice features, but it is very high maintenance and expensive to fix.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 27, 2008

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chrysler Town & Country?
Its roomy, quite, stow-n-go, power doors.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chrysler Town & Country?
I would make it more dependable. I have to jump mine off every few days. I carry cables with me all the time. I would make the backup signal much louder, I can hardly hear mine, I can’t hear it at all if I have the radio on. put better bumpers on it .


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 14, 2007

djohnfot
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chrysler Town & Country?
This is a generally very refined vehicle. It's quieter and rides better than my '94 Caravan and gets better highway fuel economy.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chrysler Town & Country?
The air conditioning is very effective but also very noisy at any fan speed above low and has a musty odor when first turned on so I guess the system needs a few tweaks. Standard Goodyear tires are pretty low end - they work but show noticable wear after only 9K miles and a scheduled rotation. (I had 30K on my Toyo ties when I traded the '94 Caravan and they showed about the same wear) Rear window motors are very noisy. Front cupholders are big enough but rather flimsy. Stereo is pretty good but the standard front speakers are boomy and should be replaced by better units. Rear speakers are much better sounding.

2006 Chrysler Town & Country Review:
Despite the inroads made by Toyota and Honda, the Town and Country is still competitive. It's 100% minivan but its ride and handling is as good-or-better than the competition. Its powertrain is buttery smooth. Fuel economy is good. Dealer service has been outstanding.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 6, 2007

Guest
Performance:2
Exterior:3
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chrysler Town & Country?
its roomy ,quite ,stow-n-go,power doors.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chrysler Town & Country?
i would make it more dependable. i have to jump mine off every few days.i carry cables with me all the time.i would make the back up signal much louder,i can hardly hear mine,i cant hear it at all if i have the radio on. put better bumpers on it .


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Chrysler Town & Country Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2006 Chrysler Town & Country?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chrysler Town & Country? Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chrysler Town & Country? 2006 Chrysler Town & Country Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2006 Chrysler Model Lineup:
2006 300-Series
2006 Crossfire
2006 Pacifica
2006 PT Cruiser
2006 Sebring
2006 Town & Country
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

©2006-2020 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2006 Chrysler Town & Country | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact