Log in
6.0 million people served.
Select Volvo XC90 Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2005 Volvo XC90

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Sport Utility Vehicle
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 8
MPG: 15-17/21-23 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.5L I5 208HP
4.4L V8 311HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 3 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2005 Volvo XC90 in the bottom 13% of 2005 model year vehicles.
Rank:
13%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2005 Volvo XC90 in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2005 Volvo XC90 also consider:
2005 Volvo XC90 Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2005 Volvo XC90
  1. Awesome V8
  2. Comfortable seats
  3. Safety features
  4. Great sound system
  5. Handling
Top 5 Cons of the 2005 Volvo XC90
  1. More leg room for 3rd row
  2. Better fuel economy
  3. Smoother transmission
  4. More elegant interior design
  5. Better tires
Submitted Dec 14, 2009

Ron_Kenney
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Volvo XC90?
Looks...
Safety features..
Overall performance.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Volvo XC90?
Nothing that I have noticed that is lacking.

2005 Volvo XC90 Review:
Comparable to a 4 wheel drive that I owned previously ..
Excellent support on warranty ... was close to an 80km issue.. one phone call to head office, extended my time line to get from one service area to another.. not only covered the rear bearings on one side... even did the other at the same time.. no charge... you can hardly beat that...


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Aug 4, 2011

Tim W481
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2012 Volvo XC90?
Third row seats.
Safety features.
Separate video screens for second row.
Classy exterior styling.

Cons: How would you improve your 2012 Volvo XC90?
More engine power.
Dealer service.

2012 Volvo XC90 Review:
XC90 is the best value in its class. We compared all available vehicles with 3rd row seatings. The XC90 rose up to the top in value to cost ratio. The price was on the higher end of non-luxury vehicles, but the features were similar to most of the high-priced luxury vehicles.

We do not use the third-row seating on a daily basis, but it is a great feature whenever we have to haul kids' friends around, or when we have grandparents visiting.

It is a heavy vehicle, and the engine seems a bit underpowered. But I would not want to lower the MPG any, so the power to MPG ratio may be well-balanced.

Dealers can definitely improve on their service attitude. People working at the Volvo dealers do not seem to act like other luxury brands' dealer people. Maybe the whole transition from Swedish to American to Chinese shook up the dealer training process.

We love our XC90, and we got a great deal in this slow economy. We hope that Chinese ownership of the company would improve the overall Volvo brand.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 26, 2011

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volvo XC90?
Roomy in front and middle isles.
Very attractive exterior.
The car is the epitome of driving class without all of the bells and whistles.
Drives strong, moderate acceleration capability which prevents irresponsible driving.
Beautiful sound system and great placement of interior adjustment knobs.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volvo XC90?
For the class that the car competes, seems to be at the bottom.
Car could use better 'bells and whistles' inside the car.
Center console design should be sturdier and accessible.
More outlets for electrical appliances.
More third row space for adults.
Add at least 6 inches to the cars length and another 6 in depth or height.

2006 Volvo XC90 Review:
Overall, the vehicle is average. It falls short of the Volvo owner's longevity expectation. The old motto, "Drive the Volvo like you hate it" will not survive with today's Volvos. My car is always in the shop and it is just a matter of time when your Volvo will get another transmission. Most fall apart around 80k-100k miles. Get extended warranties for all parts. Volvo maintenance is horrible. Mechanics are of poor quality, seems Volvo spends more time planning to repair cars than selling.

My entire family has driven Volvo since 1985, sadly to say after: my sister's car caught on fire, poor maintenance issues and repairs with dad, mom, sis, bro, and myself....our view has changed about the brand.

I have owned the S40, S80, and currently own the XC90. Mom and Pop each own a S80, bro owns a S60, and sis owns a S40. My XC90 drives the best, when in operation but the poor quality of dealer mechanics and constant attention of the care downgrades the car's rating.

The car does not have quality lined within the parts we cannot see. Nor is the service system at the dealerships equip to car for you car with the luxury tag you expect from Volvo. My sis bought two new suv's, a Mazda and a GMC, both outperform the XC90.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 1, 2010

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volvo XC90?
The 2006 XC90 is a fabulous vehicle.
It rides and drives securely with all of the most advanced safety features available.
Ingress and egress are very easy.
The high lift gate gives easy access.
There is plenty of room to carry all sorts of items including a bicycle.
The wide stance and the driving height give one high visibility.
Bottom line...it is a great vehicle...just the right amount of everything.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volvo XC90?
High dealer service costs, like all luxurdy vehicles.

2006 Volvo XC90 Review:
This is a great SUV for all sorts of good reasons!
It is the best I have owned for safety, security and ease and comfort of operation.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 18, 2009

facebook user
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Volvo XC90?
Safety features, luxury features, built-in booster seat, third row (not available in many similar SUVs), ipod connection, park assist safety system.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Volvo XC90?
I can't stand the local Volvo service department so that is the biggest downside of owning a Volvo. Otherwise I love the car.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 25, 2007

gregordway
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Volvo XC90?
no hesitation with v8.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Volvo XC90?
power second row seats

2007 Volvo XC90 Review:
great vehicle


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 4, 2007

Zenaida5
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Volvo XC90?
Easy to handle and takes smooth turns.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Volvo XC90?
Better mileage.I wish that it had more standard things like the cargo cover, mat and net.

2007 Volvo XC90 Review:
I had the S60 and was disappointed. I traded it for the XC90 and I am really glad.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 23, 2007

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Volvo XC90?
Powerful V8

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Volvo XC90?
Nope


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 24, 2007

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Volvo XC90?
Looks, Speed, comfortable

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Volvo XC90?
have GPS

2007 Volvo XC90 Review:
I will give the car a 4.5 star rating. I just wish there was a GPS


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 20, 2007

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volvo XC90?
A lot of space inside without being big outside, very comfortable ride, V8 rocks! , smooth 6-speed tranny, great sound system

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volvo XC90?
Can not think of any

2006 Volvo XC90 Review:
We bought 2005 V8 which was produced in the summer -identical to 2006 MY. The SUV is great on all the roads -V8 is VERY quiet at any highway speed, and the truck holds the road even at speeds 95-100 MPH. The ride is also very comfy without compromizing handling -very minimal body roll comparing to other makes (Lexus, MDX).
Good reliability - had a couple of minor glitches nothing major.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Volvo XC90 Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2005 Volvo XC90?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Volvo XC90? Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Volvo XC90? 2005 Volvo XC90 Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2005 Volvo Model Lineup:
2005 S40
2005 S60
2005 S80
2005 V50
2005 V70
2005 XC90
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

©2006-2020 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2005 Volvo XC90 | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact