Log in
6.0 million people served.
Select Toyota Prius Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2005 Toyota Prius

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Compact Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 51/60 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
1.5L I4 110HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 7 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2005 Toyota Prius in the top 12% of 2005 model year vehicles.
Rank:
88%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2005 Toyota Prius in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2005 Toyota Prius also consider:
2005 Toyota Prius Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2005 Toyota Prius
  1. Great gas mileage
  2. Spacious interior room
  3. Fun to drive
  4. Cargo space
  5. Value
Top 5 Cons of the 2005 Toyota Prius
  1. Lumbar support
  2. Improved upholstery
  3. Simplify display
  4. OnStar-like system
  5. More adjustable front seats
Submitted Aug 16, 2010

duck219
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Toyota Prius?
Great vehicle.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Toyota Prius?
Make it into Chevy Volt system.

2005 Toyota Prius Review:
Love the car.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 15, 2008

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Toyota Prius?
Fuel economy (of course)
Space-age styling
The feel of "gliding" on electric power
The high-tech gadgets.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Toyota Prius?
Improve interior plastic parts that rattle and shake. I always heard about Toyota quality--if this is it, I'm sticking with my wife's Chevy! Fix the (software?) problems that cause quirky delays and hesitation in power delivery under full throttle, especially in cold weather. The body lean and lousy stock tries need some attention, too. At least the tires I could fix with aftermarket upgrades.

2005 Toyota Prius Review:
Forget fuel economy for a minute. The interior of this compact-sized car is mid-sized generous--and comfortable. Where else can you get bluetooh, navigation, and a host of other cool conveniences without stepping into a luxury car showroom and spending thousands more? The off-the-line punch of the electic motor feels great--when it finally figures out what to do. And sometimes it pauses around 18-19mph to second gues whether it needs to be running on gas, electricity, or both. After nearly 15,000 miles in my loaded 2005, I appreciate the high-tech, high-end features more than ever. The accomodations are family friendly and I love that it has taken only a little more than 300 gallons to go that far. But when I need to pull into traffic, waiting for the drivetrain to sort itself out is getting tiresome.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 11, 2007

Luigiengr
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Toyota Prius?
The Prius is an engineering marvel

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Toyota Prius?
1)Make the cruise control resume better.
2)Give it a solid rear window.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 10, 2007

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Toyota Prius?
It is the most cleverly engineered car on the market; user friendly in every way.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Toyota Prius?
A little more lumbar support in the seats; plug-in capability.

2005 Toyota Prius Review:
We have 4 cars but I prefer the Prius over any other car -- it is easy to drive, quiet, and great for the city parking and stop and go traffic. Nothing has ever gone wrong with my car.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 7, 2007

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Toyota Prius?
Quick little car. Lots of space savers.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Toyota Prius?
Electric adjustable front seats. Lumbar adjustment. Heated seats.

2005 Toyota Prius Review:
Overall, we like this car but the comfort for front passenger and driver needs a little more attention. The Camry's front seat adjustability wins.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Dec 1, 2009

Tailor621
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Toyota Prius?
Technology.
Technology.
And technology.

It is simply amazing how much technology Toyota was able to fit into this car. I can imagine all cars 20 years from now having this much advanced technology packed into a car. This Prius is a good representation of the future to come.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Toyota Prius?
Not much.

Maybe the fuel cell version that Toyota is working on. If they can figure out a good way to put in the fuel cell version that they are working on with Highlander into a Prius, I will be the first one to buy.

2010 Toyota Prius Review:
This version of Prius may be the best car ever built. It is the perfect expression of what a car should be, in almost all aspect.

No, this is not a truck, and it will not be able to tow much.

But as a car, this Prius utilized so much of the best technology available to be commercialized. I read through the manual, and I still am not sure if I understand all that goes on in this car.

If you compare this Prius with Honda Insight, you will see that it's no match. Prius is a far more superior car than the Insight. Yes, it is more expensive up front, but fuel efficiency is far superior, that within 16 months of my everyday driving, it would have paid for the difference. And I get a far more for the money.

I highly recommend this Prius. The previous version was a junk compared to this one.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 17, 2009

Spam Menot
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Toyota Prius?
The technology.

This car does not have a transmission, it has a very sophisticated sun gear using two electric and one gas engine to pick the speed.

It has no belts, all electric.

You can get heat or ac without the engine running. It has a variable speed ac compressor. It has algorithms for controlling the AC. This thing is amazing and the potential for improving it are almost limitless.

Until the other manufactures start make the radical changes Toyota has to the drive train they'll be playing catchup.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Toyota Prius?
Rear viability is bad, but setting up your mirrors and a little more head turning can address the issue.

I strongly suspect the headlights will get cloudy early because they face up.

The little gear shift is in the way of the radio and other control buttons, but it is little, so you can get around it.

The rear wiper is worthless, loose it.

The door to change the oil is hard to deal with.

The little top glove box isn't very useful.

The center console door should open without having to slide back first.

The aux in (Ipod etc) should be in an easier place to get to and not be facing up so dirt and liquids will not be as likely to fall in.

There should be light into the space under the console.

2010 Toyota Prius Review:
50MPG is easy, 60 takes a little work, haven't gotten to 70 yet but it is still breaking in.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 1, 2009

Jim_Krob
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Toyota Prius?
We like its sharp styling, great mileage and futuristic cockpit with all the bells and whistles.
It is very comfortable with the adjusting drivers seat, the Smart Key is great, and the navigation system works well.
At this point we are really pleased with our purchase.
Averaging 48 plus mpg in mixed driving conditions.
It has as much if not more room than our 02 Camry and the cargo area is excellent.
We went with the 17" tires to get improved handling and this gave us a little rougher ride!

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Toyota Prius?
Visibility to the rear isn't the best - better have the back up camera.
Would have liked to see the headliner and cargo area in the same color as our leather seats - minor point.
Couldn't get the moon roof on the V which we would of liked to have.
It is overpriced!

2010 Toyota Prius Review:
Overall we are very pleased. It is a fun car to drive, although it takes some adjustment of driving habits. The mileage has been super and it is a comfortable ride with plenty of room in the cabin. Has plenty of "zoom" when you need it, although it isn't a sports car. You can't go wrong with this car if you can afford it!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 2, 2009

Bart
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Toyota Prius?
The 2010 Prius has added many new bells and whistles that keep this vehicle on top. I have a Prius V with the Advanced Technology Package on order. The test drive confirmed the new Prius' improved performance and seating comfort. I really like the adjustable driver's seat and telescopic/tilt steering wheel.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Toyota Prius?
Until I've driven the Prius for more than a test drive it's difficult to identify any cons. Perhaps a power outlet in the rear seats would be useful. Of course a plug-in would have been a nice option. But I'll be ecstatic if I can attain the 50 mpg rating.

2010 Toyota Prius Review:
I agree that the Prius is not a "cheap" car. But it is a quality made vehicle and way ahead of the competition when it comes to design and options. The interior is very clean and uncluttered. The basic Prius is well worth the extra $1500 over the Honda Insight. In my case the Prius V comes with leather, 17-inch wheels, LED head/tail lights...all features I couldn't get with the Insight. I'm anxious to show off my red Prius and will enjoy passing all those gas stations.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 22, 2007

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Toyota Prius?
I got the #2 option package, and this car has everything I want.
Great mileage, yet good power too.
Handles and drives like a dream, with tight turning circle.
Great hatchback design is super practical with lots of room.
Rear seat leg space is also great, not tight like other smaller cars. This is a true mid-size in a small car body.
The Smart Key is incredible. It was hard at first to stop using a key, and just leaving it in my pocket all the time. But it is a great feature.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Toyota Prius?
Improve front seat and make it more adjustable! Slightly more front leg room would be nice also, but currently not that bad. Note: I am 6' 2 1/2" tall.
A little more horsepower and load capacity would be nice.
As well as plug in recharging for HV batteries, to get more MPG in the city.
Rear visibility and side mirrors could be improved too.

2007 Toyota Prius Review:
Very hard to fault this car in any way. There is a reason why in Consumer Reports poll 95% of Prius owners say they would buy a Prius again. Compare that to 80% figures for most of the popular models from Honda and Toyota. This was the highest approval rating for any car in the poll.

The surprising thing is that the car is so very easy to drive. This is a true driver's car. If you love to drive, this car is for you!! Toyota reliability and quality really shine in this car. The high MPG was NOT my main reason for getting a Prius. You really have to drive one, to fully appreciate it. That, plus the FANTASTIC list of features the car has: Electronic Brake Force Distribution Anti-Lock Break System ( ABS ) with Brake Assist, Traction Control, Vehicle Stability Control ( VSC ), Full Air Bag system including side Curtin Air bags for all passengers, great 6 speaker Audio system, easy to use an fully automatic Climate Control with LOTS of vents, great center console with lots of storage, plenty of cup holders for everyone, easy to use hatchback design with lots of storage even with back seats up, back seats fold down super easy to give even greater storage in a few seconds, extensive hidden storage under rear cargo floor, outstanding windshield wipers that offer great control of operation. I don't like moon roofs myself, so I don't mind the Prius not offering it as an option. Why put a hole in a perfectlyh good roof??


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Toyota Prius Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2005 Toyota Prius?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Toyota Prius? Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Toyota Prius? 2005 Toyota Prius Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2005 Toyota Model Lineup:
2005 4Runner
2005 Avalon
2005 Camry
2005 Camry Solara
2005 Corolla
2005 Highlander
2005 Land Cruiser
2005 Matrix
2005 Prius
2005 Sienna
2005 Tacoma
2005 Tundra
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

©2006-2020 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2005 Toyota Prius | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact