Log in
6.0 million people served.
Select Chevrolet Cobalt Model Year - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2005 Chevrolet Cobalt

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Compact Car
ABS Brakes: Optional
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 23-25/29-34 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.2L I4 145HP
2.4L I4 171HP
2.0L I4 205HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 43 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt in the bottom 20% of 2005 model year vehicles.
Rank:
20%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt also consider:
2005 Chevrolet Cobalt Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt
  1. Quiet and smooth ride
  2. Acceleration
  3. Good gas mileage
  4. Radio controls on steering wheel
  5. Stereo with XM radio
Top 5 Cons of the 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt
  1. Better visibility - rear window
  2. Nicer interior material
  3. Cup holder location
  4. Poorly designed center console
  5. More color choices
Submitted Jun 3, 2011

chris80
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Good on gas.
Pretty quick.

2005 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
I'm tired of people complaining this car is slow or it's made cheep. Well, yes, it's cheap because the price is cheap and it's slow because you have a 4 banger. If you want speed, get a more expensive car.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 4, 2011

khrystie
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:2
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Too many to list.

It's not a Ford. I hated my Ford!

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Power steering went out- fixed with recall.
Odd knocking sound that randomly happens- never have figured out what that is.
Interior paint comes off.
Silver stuff on door handles peels off- friends and I have cut ourselves on it opening the doors on occasion.
Interior stains too easily.
Air conditioner leaks onto my passenger floor.

2005 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
I love my car, she is my baby! I bought her in June of 05 straight off the lot and have loved her from day 1. She handles great and I feel completely safe driving her (minus the 1 time power steering issue).

The only times I have had problems was when the power steering went out (scared me to death because my then boyfriend's 5 year old daughter was in the car with me). It had been briefly mentioned that there had been a recall but no one told me what it was for (letter went to my mom's address where I lived when I bought her), and having the battery changed was a pain in the ass because no one will change one in the trunk. I had to buy the battery and then take it to the dealership to have it installed, but this was 2 weeks ago, original battery held up well.

I heard today that Cobalts have a problem with the engine locking up once they hit 100,000 miles, which is why I am looking at reviews. I am at 94,000 miles today and if that is going to be a problem then I need to get looking. So far I have found nothing confirming this info.

The car wasn't offered with dark interior for the color I wanted so I ended up with light grey, it stains really bad. My son will be 4 in June and between his juice cups that leaked and my friends and boyfriends who just don't care about something that isn't theirs, it is stained pretty bad. I intend to have her detailed soon, whether to trade in or keep, I would hate to let her go - she is the best car I have ever owned. I would love to have another one as long as the 100,000 mile thing isn't a problem I find I actually have to worry about.

So other than these few things, I think she is a great car. Good stereo, I play my metal loud and proud, brakes are very sensitive so I never have to worry about not stopping in time and still have the same brake pads that were on it when I bought it, has the latches for car seats, good trunk space, easy to jump off if you need one, plenty of places to put stuff, black cup holder comes out to make room for larger cups, keep her maintained and she will be your best friend-- as will any good car.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 17, 2010

christine11
Performance:1
Exterior:2
Interior:1
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Nothing!

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Where do I start? I could write a novel on what NEEDS to be improved in this car but I will sum it up in my review.

2005 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
My, and THOUSANDS of others', 2005 Chevy Cobalt is HANDS DOWN the WORST vehicle I have ever purchased! From day one it has given me nothing but problems... everything from the key getting stuck in the ignition, power steering issues, air conditioning going out, radio breaking, the gear shifter being stuck in place, to the electric windows not working! As a matter of fact I've had to replace all the motors to the windows in the first week of owning it and SEVERAL times there after! EVERY knob, button, piece of fabric, etc... is the cheapest they could find & horribly made! It has been one defect after the next!
The entire car should be recalled! I have seen & heard thousands of the same complaints about this car and they have only recalled the power steering since they can not recall anything else because "they are broke & bankrupt!" So it is US, the consumer, that will have to pay for this massive defective car! It's not fair & it's not right! Such a HUGE company such as Chevy should be ashamed of themselves! DO NOT BUY THIS CAR!!!!!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 1, 2010

Eugenia Long
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:1
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Not to much it burns gas to fast the air condition went out on me blows hot air, speakers go out sometimes. When I place it in gear it sticks with a sound coming from it the outside looks good but the inside stains real bad.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Give it a better gas mileage and equip the dashboad better.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 21, 2010

John879
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Good fuel economy.
Easy to change oil.
Low maintenance.
Good power.
Handles well.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Improve transmission (I had to replace a solenoid inside the transmission twice...$900 once...$500 the next time.)
Make alternator easier to change.

2005 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
Have 382,000 miles on this car with very little trouble.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 5, 2010

Miltongina
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt?
I like the style, it's a pretty neat small car but it runs good, no problems except change the spark plugs and the MAF sensor when the engine check light went on, but a good car.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt?
N/A.

2005 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
Cobalt runs great, it's best to keep it on maintenance, every 3,000 miles change the oil, check the air cabin and air filter, rotate the tires around 5,000 miles, treat them well and the cars will last for a long time. My Cobalt has 75250 miles and it still runs great. It's a Chevy Cobalt LS sport sedan...


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 26, 2010

rebeccahoneycutt
Performance:1
Exterior:1
Interior:1
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Good gas mileage (the first couple years).
That's about it.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt?
1. Cigarette lighter fuse blows after a day or two of replacing it.
2. Too many recalls.
3. Paint wore off all interior buttons.
4. Key sticks in ignition until you repeatedly put it in park.
5. Battery is in the trunk give somebody a boost you'll blow your motherboard.
6. Power steering went out while I was driving with my child. Thank god I wasn't on the highway. The mechanics said the bolt fell out when the steering assist went out and damaged the steering column. They replaced the steering column and four days later it went out again (now currently in the shop).
7. Interior stains badly.
8. Thermostat heats up and down like a roller coaster (they say not to worry about it, that's normal).
9. Turn the radio up too loud you'll blow your speakers!
10. 99% of parts had to be preorded.
11. Getting tired of typing.

2005 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
They were only worried about money when they made this vehicle. They did not care about safety nor the lasting performance. I would never own another Cobalt and if they don't fix my steering column again, I will never buy another Chevy.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 14, 2010

Andy152
Performance:1
Exterior:1
Interior:1
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt?
My interior is leather. I like that.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Change everything about it and stand by your product.
Power steering goes out, traction control will mess up, anti lock brake will go off for no reason, and it shifts funny all at the same time. Dealer says there's nothing wrong. Well I got news for them - when I'm in a wreck with my kids, someone is getting an ass chewing.

2005 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
This car sucks. I will never buy a Cobalt again and Chevy needs to stand by their product. You made it so fix it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 1, 2010

Lorri_Kennedy
Performance:2
Exterior:3
Interior:1
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Corners well.
Exterior paint held up.
The rest of the car is junk.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Chevy needs to quit making junk.
Should have stuck with Fords.

2005 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
The interior is plastic and it all breaks with use. My motor has 57000 miles on it after five years and it is burning oil with no visible leaks and no smoking. My five year warranty is gone and now the car needs major repairs. Junk motor. Tires wear out funny. Trunk opening is too small. Over priced for what you get. Car has power steering recall, it is now surging and wanting to die at a stop. I have all my maintenance records and my mechanic says the motor is defective.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 15, 2010

deb
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:1
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Good gas mileage, cheap.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt?
Interior paint pretty crappy, tires wear really strange.

2005 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
I bought my '05 new in '06. It has been a VERY reliable car.

My steering went out, right before recall (I now have 86,000) so I waited. I have occasional problems w/ the key in the ignition. But when you move the gear selector from park back to drive it clicks and lets the key be removed (just isn't a priority to me to fix). I bought this car as a throw away vehicle. It actually has exceeded my expectations.

I spent $14,000 out the door for a new vehicle. This was the 1st vehicle I have ever bought new and probably the last, but mainly due to depreciation, not the car.

This isn't a $30K car, and can't be expected to run like one. Maintain it, and treat it like a car and not a truck or a rocket and you should be fine. This type of car just isn't made for long term use.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 11 to 20 Reviews - « Previous Reviews || Next Reviews »
Select Chevrolet Cobalt Model Year - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt? Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt? 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2005 Chevrolet Model Lineup:
2005 Avalanche
2005 Aveo
2005 Cobalt
2005 Colorado
2005 Corvette
2005 Equinox
2005 Malibu
2005 Silverado
2005 Silverado HD
2005 SSR
2005 Suburban
2005 Tahoe
2005 TrailBlazer
2005 Uplander
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

©2006-2020 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2005 Chevrolet Cobalt | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact