Log in
5.7 million people served. 1,600 users online. reviewLIFE Network
Select Ford Escape Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2014 Ford Escape

Vehicle Overview:
MSRP: $23,100 - $30,850
Invoice: $21,772 - $28,769
Vehicle Type: Sport Utility Vehicle
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 6
MPG: 22-23/30-32 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.5L I4 168HP
1.6L I4 173HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 1 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2014 Ford Escape in the top 50% of 2014 model year vehicles.
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2014 Ford Escape in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2014 Ford Escape also consider:
Be the first to review 2014 Ford Escape!
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Apr 1, 2013

Noel
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:2
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Ford Escape?
1. Good acceleration.
2, Good all-around vision.
3. Not bad (could be better) gas mileage.
4. Good brakes.
5. Nice factory stereo.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Ford Escape?
1. Lousy seat material - water "stains" it. I think Ford bought this stuff while their procurement guy was drunk!

2. Recurring problem: "Low pressure tire light" flashes on dash although tires have the right air pressure.

3. Tie-down nylon straps in trunk instead of steel anchors (like my old Chevy Blazer had). I hate cheap replacements; "chinsy" substitute.

3. Previous owner's reports of engine and transmission failures and their respective high replacement costs have me worried...

4. Why is it that the new Escapes (2013) can give just as good performance as the 6 cylinder but a lot better gas mileage? - I'm not rushing to get the new one yet, I'll wait till a few owners post their results after 1 year of ownership... then decide.

5. LOUSY vent controls - will not completely close and will travel only very short distance so one does not really control air.

6. No interior air recirculation button. My wife's Focus wagon has this feature, and its really neat because in the summer, the AC cools the air a lot faster. Can't understand why Ford dropped this neat feature from the Escape.

7. Seats are a too short in length, (don't provide good leg support) and a little too stiff for long trips. After the first hour of driving I find myself shifting a lot in the seat - sore spots caused by too rigid upholstery.

8. Sort of "grinding" or amplified vibration coming through the steering wheel while accelerating (could be the tires, but I'm not sure) that thankfully, disappears after reaching highway speed.

2006 Ford Escape Review:
A mixed blessing - better gas mileage than my old Blazer - but very short of what I expected. Good performance from the engine & tranny but reliability concerns make me wonder if the trade I made was worth it. Those Blazers would last two lifetimes - if taken care of.

For now, I'm satisfied, but I'm going to have to play it safe and down the road in perhaps a year or so, trade once again.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 1, 2012
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Ford Escape?
I like all the pockets inside that you can put things.
Drives very well.
Passing excellent in my V6, Heats up great, cools great.
I love the 4WD system.
I like the blue interior lighting system and the sync system and laptop, etc. outlet and enough other outlets for gps and anything you can think of.
Also like the tinted windows in back, legroom is good, I am over 6 feet. Seats adjust to where my 5 foot 3inch 83 lb. wife can drive it using a seat cushion.
I think it is very safe.
Very happy with it.
Looks good with a bull bar and set of lights on it. Rugged looking.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Ford Escape?
Get rid of the cheap air-brushed plastic, and use better quality. Scratches very easy.
Also bigger gas tank and locking plug in gas refill.

2009 Ford Escape Review:
Overall, I would recommend the Ford Escape as a good if not excellent for mid size vehicle. Does exactly what I need in snow up here in Upstate NY.

Love it!!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 12, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Ford Escape?
-Exterior styling
-4WD ability in snow
-Decent fuel mileage for an SUV
-Always starts regardless of outside temp (started as low as -15 degrees)

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Ford Escape?
-Interior styling
-Cheap plastics everywhere inside
-Hideous center stack
-Instrument cluster is bland and produces annoying glare at certain times of day
-Transmission hesitates in low temperatures

2009 Ford Escape Review:
I have a 3.0L V6 XLT 4x4...

The exterior is very appealing and makes the Escape seem to have a solid presence. There isn't too much plastic on the exterior which makes the vehicle seem more upscale than some other Ford models. The ride height on the XLT is great for winter (southern Wisc).

The feel of the vehicle is quite nice depending on what time of year you're driving it. During cool-warm months, the acceleration, braking and steering are smooth and controlled.

Acceleration is ample and with normal driving habits the revs will rarely go over 2800rpm from a stand still to about 40mph. Pressing the accelerator will produce a good jolt of speed, however it is limited by the shifting properties of the gear box. I would assume a 0-60mph time of ~ 7sec with the pedal down.

The vehicle is fantastic in snow up to 10-12" and I was even able to rock out of a 4ft pile I drove into on purpose to test it's abilities. Took about 7min w/ traction control off in low gear.

The back has ample room for passengers and the cargo area enough room for a husky/shepherd mix dog (same size as a pure Husky, 55lbs). We can fit ~ 8 full bags of groceries in the tailgate section.

The interior is where Ford really needs to improve. The center stack for the radio/climate control is hideous. Everything is clumped together in one big panel and is made of cheap plastic. The dashboard and cup holders are also cheaply made and the doors below the arm rest are of the same material and easily scratched. The instrument cluster is too bland and at certain times of day will produce an unholy glare of sunlight directly into the drivers eyes.

The vehicle is rather uncomfortable to drive in cold weather (20 degrees or below) due to slow shifting and hesitant acceleration. Once the engine heats up, the shifting becomes smoother and the accelerator more responsive.

Fuel economy in winter goes down quickly but stabilizes around 16/20 city/hwy. Normally I get 19/27.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 30, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Ford Escape?
Great visibility and interior room.
MPG is outstanding for a V-6 with 4WD.
Front chrome grill on Limited.
Ford did not succumb to the new sleek, swoopy styling that most other SUV's have and provide horrible outward visibility and utility.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Ford Escape?
Transmission feels like it bogs down when car is cold and shifting out of lower gears.
Squeaks and rattles in plastic trim and panels that come and go.
Has a WAY too big turning radius for such a small vehicle.
Feels flimsy and less rugged compared to my old Jeep Liberty.
Outside metal easily dented.
Cannot manually shift into 4WD (actually an AWD system though Ford calls it 4WD).

2010 Ford Escape Review:
The thing I love about this SUV is the mileage: 24.5 in mix city and hwy. driving (with a/c going on level roads) with Limited V-6 and 4WD. But in exchange for mileage, this vehicle feels a bit flimsy and less rugged and durable than my 2004 Jeep Liberty which I traded for this Ford.

Also wish this was true 4WD that driver could control. Ride is o.k. and handling is good though turning radius is huge and makes a U-turn very difficult in tight spaces.

Some interior rattles with under 10k miles... my Jeep had no rattles at all at 78,000 miles and never a repair. The Ford has already died once as the battery needed replaced with about 6,000 miles on it. But no additional repairs.

I like the Ford, but still miss my Jeep, although it only got 18 mpg. But so far, pleased with the Escape overall.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 9, 2011
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Ford Escape?
Over all, I like it but now my warranty ran out.... Now issues are surfacing. The dealership and service department treat me very well. :)
Customer service at Ford Credit Company are wonderful!
This is my second Escape Limited. The first one was lease and I gave it back just in time. This one was good til 30,000 kms, then went to bad fast. I love the way it handles on the Alberta winter roads.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Ford Escape?
Extend your powertrain warranty to 90,000 from 60,000 kms.
Finance department did not cancel my 2006 Escape lease to Ford in time (2.5 weeks they had) and I had two truck payments the first month owning this one. All they said to me was, "you have to contact Ford to cancel you monthly payments." In the end, they credited my new term with the money they withdrew from the lease. They have caused me a lot of hassle that could have been avoided.

Tire wear is horrible. Lucky if I got 55,000 kms on original tires. Second set of Michelin lasted to 90,000 kms. Rating was 100,000 kms. Now onto set #3. Moved to Firestone Destination tires and they good so far.

My gauge used to state I could get at least 550 km to a tank. now it reads between 390 - 420 kms. I feel like I'm spending more time fueling up than enjoying driving like I used to.

Heated Seats only heat the bottom of seat not your back.
The rims rust very easy. I had 17" chrome wheels on both escapes and they both started rusting at less than 10000 kms on both vehicles.

2008 Ford Escape Review:
I like it because it is my second limited. I would not get a cloth version. It has a sleek, unique design which is what I liked the most.

My daughter picked this one out. Truthfully I can't wait to cut my ties / losses when I have less owing since it is worth 1/3rd of what I paid for it 2.5 years ago. Good for taking trips with, but not so good when driving short distances.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 24, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Ford Escape?
I own a Black 2008 v-6.

1. Surprisingly fast SUV. When I see an opening to merge onto I-83...there is no problem with acceleration and control.

2. I have hauled grills, tv's, lumber, yard tools, etc. in it. I have only needed to borrow a truck twice since I have owned it. Once for a crib I didn't want to break down, and another for a free snowblower.

3. Does very well in the snow.

4. I feel safe. I know accidents are all circumstantial, but recently here in PA, we had one get hit by a train, and the people survived. That says something.

5. Easy to zip around parking lots and squeeze into Target's tiny spaces.

6. Does good off road. Being a hunter, there are times when I go up an old farm trail where I have to straddle vehicle crippling ruts and washouts....it climbs them just fine.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Ford Escape?
1. I don't think I am getting as good gas mileage as I should. I'm no speed racer, and I don't run the AC a lot. The only time I feel I'm getting the best is on a long trip with cruise control on.

2. An occasional rattling when I turn on the heat.

3. Braking is tricky when it rains. Sometimes I would slow down to pull in a parking spot....and it would keep going. No it's not my tires, I have new ones. It almost seems like the ABS kicks in, and I very slowly (2-3 mph) "coast". I hit the brake again and it slam stops us. The dealer didn't believe me.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 20, 2010

Greg279
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Ford Escape?
Great looking exterior, roof rack is a plus.
Cargo area is spacious for a smaller sized SUV.
Have cloth seats and are easy to clean.
4 wheel drive ability when front wheels begin to spin.
Standard 4 speaker stereo sounds deep and elegant.
Ability to seat (2) 6'2 males in the front and 3 average height women comfortably in the back for a long trip.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Ford Escape?
Emergency brake need to be on the driver's side and not the passenger side.
Cupholders need to be a little smaller (not everyone drinks a 32 or 64oz drink all the time).
Interior is a little cheap and the stereo could be moved down just a bit.
Road noise is a little loud but stereo drowns it out.
Needs a cargo net from left to right side for smaller things in the cargo bay (stuff tends to bounce off sides as you make turns).
Ford claims it has a 16.5 gallon fuel tank and gets 340-360 miles on the highway on a tank but the most I have filled up with when the low fuel light comes on is 13.5 gallons and that is with overfill. And on the highway, it only got a tad under 300 miles on that full tank.

2007 Ford Escape Review:
Overall, I really enjoy my '07 Escape. Some things could be upgraded or made a little better but you have to expect that on a smaller SUV. I have yet ti tow anything but will be towing a boat once the weather warms up as it snowing right now.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 15, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Ford Escape?
Sync.
V6 has good power and MPG.
Truck-like appearance vs. car look.
Leather seats.
Ice Blue dash lights.
Roomy back seats.
Cargo room for small SUV.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Ford Escape?
4-wheel Disc Brakes.
Replace plastic chrome wheels with solid wheels.
Wider arm rests.

2010 Ford Escape Review:
So far, so good. The MPG (and I drive a lot in stop-go city driving) is about 19.5 in the city and 21.0 when I drive some freeway mixed in. The Sync is just awesome, especially with directions and the phone. Love having my MP3 synced with voice-recognition. The seats are more comfortable than the 2007 Limited Sport Trac I traded for this Limited Escape. Cornering is very good and the ride is smooth - just needs 4-wheel disc brakes but brakes aren't horrible.

I got the Tuxedo black Limited with all the chrome, looks like a mini-Expedition and this appeals more to me than the car-like RAV-4 and Outbacks. I'm very impressed with this vehicle and strongly recommend it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 1, 2009

Cly
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Ford Escape?
Solid performance.
Conservative exterior styling.
Workable interior.
Price.
Fuel economy.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Ford Escape?
Spruce up the interior.

2010 Ford Escape Review:
I love the Escape. I love the fact that my Escape still looks like an SUV, not a bubbly shaped, ubiquitous looking thing that rolls around town.

Escape is not a fancy car. I knew that when I was getting it. But it gets the job done.

It has a good rectangular shape, that yields good headroom and cargo clearing space.

It does not have a lot of power, but it is more than adequate for regular day-to-day driving. And its fuel efficiency is great. I am averaging 25 MPG, commuting everyday.

I didn't get the hybrid version because it is oxymoron - hybrid and SUV.

I love my Escape, and I hope Ford continues to make it in the future. And make it more fuel efficient without having to cop out with a hybrid. All the hybrid vehicle studies I've seen says it has more carbon footprint than a fuel efficient gasoline car.

Anyhow, I recommend the Escape wholeheartedly.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 21, 2009
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Ford Escape?
When I purchased the vehicle, I liked the fact that the rear seats folded perfectly flat. Enjoyed the drive, interior and satisfied with the performance for a 4 cylinder vehicle.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Ford Escape?
For a SUV, and being the owner of a canoe, there are no real tie downs to secure the canoe to the vehicle. Roof rack seems to be more cosmetic than functional - too small.

My key issues are with the workmanship and dealer support. Paint on side trim pieces flaked off and dealership would not cover. Paint on rear hatch hinges starting to do the same. Uneven wear on tires and is starting to sound like a bus when driving highway speeds. Vehicle has been under the dealership's care the whole period and they are not owning up to the problem.

The redesigned windshield washer blades are useless in Canadian "slushy" winters. During one storm, I had to pull over on a multi-lane highway three times to clear the blades. They do not offer a winter version of the blade and they are too new to find an aftermarket brand.

2008 Ford Escape Review:
Though I enjoy driving the vehicle, the issues I have run into with the dealership / Ford standing behind their product is leaving me bitter. We are looking for a new vehicle for my partner and am about to send an email to both Ford and the dealership letting them know that we will not be looking at their product due to the lack of confidence


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Ford Escape Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2014 Ford Escape?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2014 Ford Escape? Cons: How would you improve your 2014 Ford Escape? 2014 Ford Escape Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2014 Ford Model Lineup:
2014 C-Max
2014 Econoline
2014 Edge
2014 Escape
2014 Expedition
2014 Explorer
2014 F-150
2014 F-250/F-350
2014 Fiesta
2014 Flex
2014 Focus
2014 Fusion
2014 Mustang
2014 Shelby GT 500
2014 Taurus
2014 Transit Connect
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

If you have questions or comments, please contact us here.

©2006-2014 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2014 Ford Escape | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Advertise