Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Volkswagen Touareg Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2013 Volkswagen Touareg

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Sport Utility Vehicle
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 8
MPG: 17-20/23-29 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
3.6L V6 280HP
3.0L V6 240HP
3.0L V6 380HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 2 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2013 Volkswagen Touareg in the top 41% of 2013 model year vehicles.
Rank:
59%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2013 Volkswagen Touareg in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2013 Volkswagen Touareg also consider:
Be the first to review 2013 Volkswagen Touareg!
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Aug 30, 2012

David
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Volkswagen Touareg?
Performance.
Fit and finish.
Very comfortable.
Solid feel.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Volkswagen Touareg?
Gas mileage.
Nav not very user friendly.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 30, 2012
Performance:1
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Volkswagen Touareg?
I love the look of the Touareg. It's the smoothest ride of any of the four wheel drive SUVs we test drove. The inside is very nice as well. I love the beeping when you are too close to an object.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Volkswagen Touareg?
We have had the Touareg in for service at least five times this year. One of the things that is insane is that because of a design flaw, the air conditioning ducts plug up with stuff like leaves and petals. This causes the water from the air conditioning to overflow into the front floorboards. This wouldn't be a big deal except you can't clean them yourself. You have to take it in to a shop to have it cleaned out, which isn't cheap. The Touareg is rated to pull 7500 lbs. In August 2011, our son's band came to Washington State, and we wanted to see him play. In order to spend extra time with him, we decided to trailer his car to the gig about an hour away. It was about 4000 lbs. which was way under the 7500 lb. limit. Half an hour into the trip the prop shaft bearing broke. It was a Saturday evening and we were in Cle Elum, Washington, no tow trucks, rental cars, nothing. We have an extended warranty with roadside assistance, but when we called the dealer to get a tow truck, the dealer told us we didn't have that service. We missed my son's concert. We paid a tow truck to come get us only to find out the next day from Volkswagen America that we did have roadside assistance, but they wouldn't reimburse us because we didn't go through the dealer. The dealer put in a new prop shaft bearing and everything was fine. Fast forward nine months. My son got married May 27th, 2012. We have a 1972 VW Bug that my father-in-law bought new. My husband drove it when he was 16. We dated in that car and had two car seats in the back when my kids were little. My son drove it when he was 16. My husband had it restored in time for the wedding and wanted to trailer it to the wedding in Tulsa for my son and his bride to drive away in. We also wanted pictures with it and the newlyweds. It was an integral part of the wedding. They even planned their colors around it, teal, yellow, and gray. Again, the total weight of this transport was 4200 lbs., well under the weight limit. My husband got all the way to Colorado Springs and the nine month old prop shaft bearing went out. This was on Thursday, and my husband needed to be there Thursday night because my other son’s band was playing. He missed his concert, again. The car couldn’t be fixed until after the weekend, because they had to order the part. So, my daughter-in-law’s father drove 11 hours straight to get them and the trailer in his Porsche Cayenne. So now we have been trying to get our car to Tulsa so we can pull the trailer back to Seattle. My father-in-law was going to rent a car, drive to Colorado Springs from New Mexico, and drive the Touareg to Tulsa, but the VW dealer in Colorado Springs told my husband they could have it to Tulsa on Thursday. So, my father-in-law got on a plane and flew back to Seattle. Then, the VW dealer tells my husband they can’t have it to us until this weekend. Well, my husband has to be back in Seattle to work by Monday. So, they basically screwed us. Volkswagen America told my husband they couldn’t help him and would only pay for $200 to have the Touareg shipped anyway, and it costs $800 to trailer it to Tulsa. Now, my husband spent $1200 for a plane ticket to Colorado Springs to get the Touareg to drive 11 hours to Tulsa and turn around and drive three days back to Seattle. Volkswagen America won’t reimburse the ticket at all.

2008 Volkswagen Touareg Review:
I will never buy another VW because of the poor service and misinformation that we have gotten from either the dealers or Volkswagen America. I do not feel as if they stand behind their vehicles. I was going to purchase an EOS next year, but will probably be getting a Toyota instead. They never break down.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 9, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Volkswagen Touareg?
Drives Great.
Comfortable ride.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Volkswagen Touareg?
I love everything about it, however it's an expensive vehicle.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 19, 2011
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:2
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Volkswagen Touareg?
Smooth highway ride.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Volkswagen Touareg?
Plastic or vinyl interior components that peel off with heat.
Inadequate air conditioner.
Improve maneuverability on sharp turns.
Lets expensive maintenance.
Gas mileage.

2005 Volkswagen Touareg Review:
I have told various people I would not buy this vehicle again. Too many cons. Should have listened to family members who suggested trading it in within the first year after purchase.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 18, 2011

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

2008 Volkswagen Touareg Review:
It could be a costly beauty, but so far, I am the happiest VW owner.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 10, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Volkswagen Touareg?
10 cylinders and torque monster.
Trans logic makes tiptronic use almost not needed.
Big tow capacity.
Excellent hvac and "rest" is awesome. Fast heat up for Diesel. Amazing almost instant cold starts. No diesel characteristics, no smell, noise, etc.
Big 350x34mm 6 piston brakes do the job!
Drive it like CVT at 2,000 rpm shifts for economy.
Adaptive lights and Euro parking lights.
Great traction and air suspension makes the package work.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Volkswagen Touareg?
Radio is average.
Missing underseat storage.
Complicated rear seat fold-down.
No paddle shifters.

2007 Volkswagen Touareg Review:
Dual personality; easy truck performance, or get on throttle and run like a performance car. Amazing mileage for heavy truck. Comfortable and selective suspension. Best brakes of SUVS (same as Porsche C) ZF 6 speed trans perfectly matched for big torque curve, with firm, quick shifts.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 11, 2009

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Volkswagen Touareg?
Excellent feel inside.
Clean and bold outside look.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Volkswagen Touareg?
MPG.

2009 Volkswagen Touareg Review:
Why did Volkswagen have to make the fuel economy so bad? I love the SUV, but it gulps down gas like nothing else out there.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 2, 2009
Performance:2
Exterior:3
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Volkswagen Touareg?
Interior.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Volkswagen Touareg?
No power.

2005 Volkswagen Touareg Review:
Needs more torque and power.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 23, 2008

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Volkswagen Touareg?
Styling
Stereo
Comfort

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Volkswagen Touareg?
7th gear or different ratios for better MPG on highway

better fuel economy in general

better maintenance program

cut the weight of the car down by about 1000 pounds

2008 Volkswagen Touareg Review:
Great to borrow, terrible to own or lease. The cost of maintaining this vehicle when you take 170 dollar oil changes 300 dollar routine maintenance, 1800 brake jobs every 20K miles because car is sooo heavy it kills the rotors to, and 1000 dollar tires, the pricekeeps ticking up, as the car ages a whle lot more creaks and groans. Terrible gas mileage, slow, and cumbersome, don't recommend it for its price.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 20, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Volkswagen Touareg?
I love the handling and the smoothness of the transmission.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Volkswagen Touareg?
Nothing its perfect


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Volkswagen Touareg Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2013 Volkswagen Touareg?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Volkswagen Touareg? Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Volkswagen Touareg? 2013 Volkswagen Touareg Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2013 Volkswagen Model Lineup:
2013 Beetle
2013 CC
2013 Eos
2013 Golf
2013 GTI
2013 Jetta
2013 Passat
2013 Tiguan
2013 Touareg
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2013 Volkswagen Touareg | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact