Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Toyota Prius Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2013 Toyota Prius

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Midsize Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 7
MPG: 51/48 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
1.8L I4 134HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 3 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2013 Toyota Prius in the top 29% of 2013 model year vehicles.
Rank:
71%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2013 Toyota Prius in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2013 Toyota Prius also consider:
Submitted Dec 1, 2009

Tailor621
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Toyota Prius?
Technology.
Technology.
And technology.

It is simply amazing how much technology Toyota was able to fit into this car. I can imagine all cars 20 years from now having this much advanced technology packed into a car. This Prius is a good representation of the future to come.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Toyota Prius?
Not much.

Maybe the fuel cell version that Toyota is working on. If they can figure out a good way to put in the fuel cell version that they are working on with Highlander into a Prius, I will be the first one to buy.

2010 Toyota Prius Review:
This version of Prius may be the best car ever built. It is the perfect expression of what a car should be, in almost all aspect.

No, this is not a truck, and it will not be able to tow much.

But as a car, this Prius utilized so much of the best technology available to be commercialized. I read through the manual, and I still am not sure if I understand all that goes on in this car.

If you compare this Prius with Honda Insight, you will see that it's no match. Prius is a far more superior car than the Insight. Yes, it is more expensive up front, but fuel efficiency is far superior, that within 16 months of my everyday driving, it would have paid for the difference. And I get a far more for the money.

I highly recommend this Prius. The previous version was a junk compared to this one.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Nov 17, 2009

Spam Menot
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Toyota Prius?
The technology.

This car does not have a transmission, it has a very sophisticated sun gear using two electric and one gas engine to pick the speed.

It has no belts, all electric.

You can get heat or ac without the engine running. It has a variable speed ac compressor. It has algorithms for controlling the AC. This thing is amazing and the potential for improving it are almost limitless.

Until the other manufactures start make the radical changes Toyota has to the drive train they'll be playing catchup.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Toyota Prius?
Rear viability is bad, but setting up your mirrors and a little more head turning can address the issue.

I strongly suspect the headlights will get cloudy early because they face up.

The little gear shift is in the way of the radio and other control buttons, but it is little, so you can get around it.

The rear wiper is worthless, loose it.

The door to change the oil is hard to deal with.

The little top glove box isn't very useful.

The center console door should open without having to slide back first.

The aux in (Ipod etc) should be in an easier place to get to and not be facing up so dirt and liquids will not be as likely to fall in.

There should be light into the space under the console.

2010 Toyota Prius Review:
50MPG is easy, 60 takes a little work, haven't gotten to 70 yet but it is still breaking in.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 1, 2009
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Toyota Prius?
We like its sharp styling, great mileage and futuristic cockpit with all the bells and whistles.
It is very comfortable with the adjusting drivers seat, the Smart Key is great, and the navigation system works well.
At this point we are really pleased with our purchase.
Averaging 48 plus mpg in mixed driving conditions.
It has as much if not more room than our 02 Camry and the cargo area is excellent.
We went with the 17" tires to get improved handling and this gave us a little rougher ride!

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Toyota Prius?
Visibility to the rear isn't the best - better have the back up camera.
Would have liked to see the headliner and cargo area in the same color as our leather seats - minor point.
Couldn't get the moon roof on the V which we would of liked to have.
It is overpriced!

2010 Toyota Prius Review:
Overall we are very pleased. It is a fun car to drive, although it takes some adjustment of driving habits. The mileage has been super and it is a comfortable ride with plenty of room in the cabin. Has plenty of "zoom" when you need it, although it isn't a sports car. You can't go wrong with this car if you can afford it!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 2, 2009
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Toyota Prius?
The 2010 Prius has added many new bells and whistles that keep this vehicle on top. I have a Prius V with the Advanced Technology Package on order. The test drive confirmed the new Prius' improved performance and seating comfort. I really like the adjustable driver's seat and telescopic/tilt steering wheel.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Toyota Prius?
Until I've driven the Prius for more than a test drive it's difficult to identify any cons. Perhaps a power outlet in the rear seats would be useful. Of course a plug-in would have been a nice option. But I'll be ecstatic if I can attain the 50 mpg rating.

2010 Toyota Prius Review:
I agree that the Prius is not a "cheap" car. But it is a quality made vehicle and way ahead of the competition when it comes to design and options. The interior is very clean and uncluttered. The basic Prius is well worth the extra $1500 over the Honda Insight. In my case the Prius V comes with leather, 17-inch wheels, LED head/tail lights...all features I couldn't get with the Insight. I'm anxious to show off my red Prius and will enjoy passing all those gas stations.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 22, 2007

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Toyota Prius?
I got the #2 option package, and this car has everything I want.
Great mileage, yet good power too.
Handles and drives like a dream, with tight turning circle.
Great hatchback design is super practical with lots of room.
Rear seat leg space is also great, not tight like other smaller cars. This is a true mid-size in a small car body.
The Smart Key is incredible. It was hard at first to stop using a key, and just leaving it in my pocket all the time. But it is a great feature.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Toyota Prius?
Improve front seat and make it more adjustable! Slightly more front leg room would be nice also, but currently not that bad. Note: I am 6' 2 1/2" tall.
A little more horsepower and load capacity would be nice.
As well as plug in recharging for HV batteries, to get more MPG in the city.
Rear visibility and side mirrors could be improved too.

2007 Toyota Prius Review:
Very hard to fault this car in any way. There is a reason why in Consumer Reports poll 95% of Prius owners say they would buy a Prius again. Compare that to 80% figures for most of the popular models from Honda and Toyota. This was the highest approval rating for any car in the poll.

The surprising thing is that the car is so very easy to drive. This is a true driver's car. If you love to drive, this car is for you!! Toyota reliability and quality really shine in this car. The high MPG was NOT my main reason for getting a Prius. You really have to drive one, to fully appreciate it. That, plus the FANTASTIC list of features the car has: Electronic Brake Force Distribution Anti-Lock Break System ( ABS ) with Brake Assist, Traction Control, Vehicle Stability Control ( VSC ), Full Air Bag system including side Curtin Air bags for all passengers, great 6 speaker Audio system, easy to use an fully automatic Climate Control with LOTS of vents, great center console with lots of storage, plenty of cup holders for everyone, easy to use hatchback design with lots of storage even with back seats up, back seats fold down super easy to give even greater storage in a few seconds, extensive hidden storage under rear cargo floor, outstanding windshield wipers that offer great control of operation. I don't like moon roofs myself, so I don't mind the Prius not offering it as an option. Why put a hole in a perfectlyh good roof??


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 15, 2007
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Toyota Prius?
It fits in my garage a whole lot better than my Big Chevy Van ever did!

I like the gizmos and displays. They can be entertaining.

The hatchback has plenty of cargo space. There is a lot of storage space in all the nooks and crannies up front too.

The biggest reason I love my new Prius is the Partial Zero Emissions designation. I'm a scientist and firmly believe in doing as much as I can to do less harm to our environment. Also, the regnerative brakes are awesome! They are just one more way of reducing consumption of nonrenewable fossil fuels.

My husband is impressed by the reliability of the car. That was his number one criteria when we started researching different models in our price range. He was surprised that the car was priced much lower than $30,000. We paid $8,000 less for this car than the van we bought 12 years ago!

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Toyota Prius?
Cushier Seats for passengers! - We just switched from a full size conversion van with great captains' seats to these hard as rock seats in the Prius.

I would also like to have the lights stay on for a little more than 15 seconds.

Our 6'2" driver would like just a little more leg room. My family erupted in laughter when we read about the 800 lb. load capacity. We are big people. Which one of us will have to run behind the car?

I would design the center console to hold a plastic bag (grocery store bag) for trash collection. The little tray inside the console is too unstable to be useful. Also, I don't like to keep my purse on the passenger seat, but it slides off the drive train hump in the floor. The center console doesn't have a lip or depression on top to keep a purse from sliding off of it either. Maybe a carbiner device on the front of the console or under the center dashboard to anchor the purse by its straps would be nice.

The cupholders look slick but adjustable ones would be more practical. Speaking of prcticality, I think the floor mats and/or the carpeting should have a heather pattern to help hide the dirt.

The cargo space is plenty big, but I do miss having rear doors on side hinges that could be closed with the swing of a hip when my hands were full. In time, I'll figure out how to best manage the hatchback door.

The jury's still out on the beep for Reverse. We've only had the car for 4 days.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 18, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Toyota Prius?
Before I start, let me mention I'm a driving instructor and I plan to drive this car until it shrivels up and dies. Bought a 2010 premium pckg last week.

Beautiful interior. People that have never been in a Prius are always blown away with the center dash and the look of the interior. My girlfriend's first words about it were, "I feel like I'm in a spaceship". She's a little out there :) ... but you get the point...

I don't understand the reviews from people complaining about gas mileage not as advertised. I bought it last week and so far I've been getting 4.4L/100km (53.46MPG).

This car is supposed to be idiot proof in terms of improving gas mileage. Put the car in eco mode at all times. If you need to floor it, it will still get up and go. Ie) Yesterday I floored it to overtake slower vehicles and make it onto an entrance ramp, boom no problem. I used to drive an 02 Benz c240 so I know get up and go.

(There are several gauges to help you reach your desired fuel levels. Learn to read them and then use them. If you are still getting high mileage, take it in to your dealership and complain because something is wrong.)

Rear view camera is awesome. Helps line you up perfectly in your spot. Although my students aren't allowed to use it... cheating...

JBL audio sounds great. Blasted it way up, and the sound was still crystal clear. I'm a music lover, I paid 300.00$ for Bose headphones so quality matters to me.

Quietest thing in the world as well. Sometimes it gets so quiet in the car, you can hear people having conversations in other cars. Like look at that driving instructor, he's $%^&* hot!

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Toyota Prius?
Auxiliary output placement is questionable.

Rear view is compromised. Rear view camera helps, but really, let's make the rear visibility a non-issue.

No other complaint yet, mind you it's been a week. I'll write another review when I reach 140,000km!

2010 Toyota Prius Review:
Great car so far. Spent countless hours, really countless, if you had a timer with me, with the amount of articles, dealerships, reviews, I've read... the counter would blow up.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 10, 2009
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Prius?
MPG
Comfort
HYBRID System
Touch Display
Steering Wheel Controls
Cargo Space

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Prius?
Poor Tire Wear
Small Gas Tank
Better Quality Interior (Materials)
Better Location of AUX Connection
Cruise Control Resume

2008 Toyota Prius Review:
Very reliable. Great MPG even when not focusing on getting better MPG. I carry two bikes on the roof (THULE) at times, and I still get 45 plus MPG. Surprising power at highway speed. The rear hatch doesn't always latch correctly. It's been aligned, but it still has issues unless it's firmly closed. Tire wear could be better. Better quality materials for the dash and other parts of the interior would make it easier to keep looking new. Overall the car is better than I expected. very roomy, which was a surprise.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 23, 2009
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Prius?
Love the gas mileage and low fuel costs!
Very Comfortable on long trips for my 6 ft 5 inch frame.
Very quiet! I can hold Blue Tooth Cell phone conversations at highway speed.
I like the fold down rear seats for cargo. I've even carried a 9 ft long banana board. (No front seat passenger of course) - Honda Civic Hybrid does not have fold down seats.
Love the small car maneuverability after years of driving a Dodge Grand
Caravan. Very quick steering and short turn radius.
Love the styling - except for the front end which looks 'Mickey Mouse'. Great aerodynamics though! Thats what really counts.
Very good passing acceleration on Highway.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Prius?
1 - Improve the gas gauge - Make it larger and with eye catching warning when low fuel is sensed.
2 - Add engine gauges - RPM, Temp, Oil Pressure.
3 - Allow the the EV button on American models. Many times I need to repark the car in driveway and engine doesn't need to fire up then.
4 - Relocate rear view mirror so it doesn't block view of tall drivers.
5 - Off-the-line acceleration is poor until the engine powers up. Never try to beat traffic from a standing start!

2008 Toyota Prius Review:
Bought a 2008 Prius about a year ago and have driven close to 18000 reliable miles. I average 47-49 MPG usually. About 5mpg less in rainy weather. Last summer I built up a box trailer using a Habor freight 1100 lb GW chassis. With load and cargo box I was pulling 750 lbs. Traveled from Calif to Indiana & return - 5000 miles at 36mph average. No probs except for the time I ran it out of gas. Power ramped down and when I pulled over every light on dash lit up like an XMAS tree! Thought I had ruined it. On restarting the engine came on and we were able to return to a gas station a few miles back at 45-50 mph. This is an undocumented feature of the Prius. Now I religiously monitor the fuel gauge and refuel when it gets down to 3 of 10 bars! Dealer said it's very expensive to completely run dry as the fuel pump is ruined and very expensive!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 9 Reviews
Select Toyota Prius Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2013 Toyota Prius?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Toyota Prius? Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Toyota Prius? 2013 Toyota Prius Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2013 Toyota Model Lineup:
2013 4Runner
2013 Avalon
2013 Camry
2013 Camry Hybrid
2013 Corolla
2013 FJ Cruiser
2013 Highlander
2013 Highlander Hybrid
2013 Land Cruiser
2013 Matrix
2013 Prius
2013 Prius C
2013 Prius Plug-in
2013 Prius V
2013 Rav4
2013 Sequoia
2013 Sienna
2013 Tacoma
2013 Tundra
2013 Venza
2013 Yaris
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2013 Toyota Prius | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact