Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Toyota Highlander Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2013 Toyota Highlander

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Sport Utility Vehicle
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 6
MPG: 17-20/22-25 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.7L I4 187HP
3.5L V6 270HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 3 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2013 Toyota Highlander in the top 41% of 2013 model year vehicles.
Rank:
59%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2013 Toyota Highlander in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2013 Toyota Highlander also consider:
Be the first to review 2013 Toyota Highlander!
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Apr 24, 2015
Performance:4
Exterior:1
Interior:1
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2012 Toyota Highlander?
When we bought this car it was a very nice car, pleasure to drive

Cons: How would you improve your 2012 Toyota Highlander?
Install a screen over the cabin air intake hole, it is located under the plastic trim at the top of the engine firewall, which is under the hood, accessed by removing the wipers and removing the plastic trim cover. With the trim removed the top of the cabin air filter is clearly visible.

2012 Toyota Highlander Review:
I live in a country environment, the property next to mine is untouched brush and woodland, I park less than 30 feet from the woods. Without a screen over the cabin air intake mice decided to infest the filter, building a nest on the filter and tearing their way thru the filter. They then had open access to the interior of the cabin, leaving their droppings and urine all over the interior. We tried several things to get rid of them including peppermint oil and trapping. We do not eat in the car and have the car cleaned inside and out on a regular schedule. During a visit to the dealership they discovered the mice where coming in thru the cabin air filter and informed me of such, then promptly informed me that a new filter was required at my expense, but did not bother to tell me that the vermin were entering thru an open hole 2 inches high by 12 inches long under the firewall cover trim. I have replaced the filter twice, cleaned and deodorized, but they continue to come back. This is a significant health issue defect and needs to be addressed. The dealership informed me that they see this problem often but apparently do not feel the need to correct it. Mice leave urine and droppings everywhere they go, and when the air that you are breathing is being pulled thru a mouse nest, YUCK. My wife is not happy and my great granddaughters health is at risk as well since her car seat remains in the car most of the time. Thinking of getting a different car.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 12, 2012

guest873
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Toyota Highlander?
The sound system is the best I have EVER heard in ANY car, EVER.
The ride is so smooth.
It is an incredibly powerful car (0-70 in 5 seconds).
Nice leather seats.
Overall design is really cool.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Toyota Highlander?
The inside could be a little fancier.
Gas mileage could be better, but hey, it's an suv.

2005 Toyota Highlander Review:
I absolutely love this car. My friends always insist that we take my car whenever we go places, because it is very fast, and the sound system is beyond perfect. I wouldn't trade this in for any other car on the road, new or used. Absolutely amazing car. Everyone in my family always wants to drive it. My girlfriend once said that she wants to get married in my car.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 31, 2012

Star
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Highlander?
Drives like a car.
Very roomy interior.
Quiet ride.
Great for travelling.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Highlander?
Gas mileage.

2008 Toyota Highlander Review:
Great xover for the price.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 8, 2012

Nwanne Okereke
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Toyota Highlander?
Roomy interior (w/o 3rd row seats).
Comparatively fuel efficient.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Toyota Highlander?
There are several problems that just seem to crop up - the adjusting arm for the fan belt, the air conditioner compressor, the drive shaft heads worn too quickly.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 2, 2012

GUEST
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Toyota Highlander?
We have 90000 and just now did the rear brakes and rear struts, one was leaking. Front brakes went 65k. That is fantastic.
We got Michelin tires from new and they lasted 75000 miles.. Remarkable.
Interior and exterior is holding up fantastic.
We have two wheel drive four cylinder with leather interior.
Easy access.
22/24 mpg.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Toyota Highlander?
Too simple design.
Tan interior is impossible to keep clean.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 29, 2012

ss
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Highlander?
Interchangeable center console/middle seat in second row.
Good height for visibility while driving but also easy to get into and out of it.
Reliable.
Fair gas mileage (21-22 mpg).
Very roomy second row.
Lots of cargo space.
Nicely styled dash/controls even on the base model.
Love the body style compared to previous models.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Highlander?
Tires are expensive.
I have a base model with leather interior and wish the power liftgate was standard on this model as it has everything else I need.
A bit noisy on the highway.

2008 Toyota Highlander Review:
I just put my *first* 100,000 miles on this vehicle and have found it to be very reliable and a pleasure to drive. Except for the tires being expensive (probably not as big a deal if you don't drive as many miles as I do), I have only had to get regularly scheduled maintenance. When the time comes to replace this vehicle, I will definitely get another Highlander.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 29, 2012

GUEST
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Toyota Highlander?
1) - Have cornering lights.

2) - Have back side windows open like on a van so that the air flows right through the vehicle - less wind noise.

3) - Have the buttons to adjust the front seat up on the door panel near the window controls to make access much easier when the door is closed such as when wanting to adjust the seat while on long highway trips.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 19, 2011
Performance:3
Exterior:2
Interior:1
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Highlander?
Good ride.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Highlander?
Very poor tires - only 40,000 kms tread life!!!

Rear door motor, blew out at 40.000 kms, replacement part blew again at 60,000 kms.

2008 Toyota Highlander Review:
Nice ride, poor craftsmanship and poor quality materials - and very poor tires OEM.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 18, 2011

Tammy137
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Toyota Highlander?
Nice smooth ride.
Roomy.
JBL 6 cd player.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Toyota Highlander?
I wish mine had the Navigation system but in 2005 I don't think that was a option.
I have the Limited with all the options they had on the lot at the time.
Brighter headlights.
I wish the rear glass in the back door would slide ope like the 4 runners.

2005 Toyota Highlander Review:
I love my Highlander Limited!!! It's the perfect right size SUV for me.
The best.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 26, 2011
Performance:2
Exterior:3
Interior:2
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Highlander?
Nothing.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Highlander?
Expensive tires that wear out fast.
Poor gas mileage.
Cheap interior materials.
Dash, sunroof, and engine rattle sounds that the dealer can not "replicate".
Navigation disc is expensive to update.
Car must be completely parked to use navigation.
Seat heater does not heat as well as my GMC did.
Not much storage behind the third row.

2008 Toyota Highlander Review:
Regret buying.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Toyota Highlander Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2013 Toyota Highlander?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Toyota Highlander? Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Toyota Highlander? 2013 Toyota Highlander Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2013 Toyota Model Lineup:
2013 4Runner
2013 Avalon
2013 Camry
2013 Camry Hybrid
2013 Corolla
2013 FJ Cruiser
2013 Highlander
2013 Highlander Hybrid
2013 Land Cruiser
2013 Matrix
2013 Prius
2013 Prius C
2013 Prius Plug-in
2013 Prius V
2013 Rav4
2013 Sequoia
2013 Sienna
2013 Tacoma
2013 Tundra
2013 Venza
2013 Yaris
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2013 Toyota Highlander | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact