Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Toyota Corolla Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2013 Toyota Corolla

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Compact Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 4
MPG: 26-27/34 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
1.8L I4 132HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 4 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2013 Toyota Corolla in the top 23% of 2013 model year vehicles.
Rank:
77%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2013 Toyota Corolla in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2013 Toyota Corolla also consider:
Submitted Sep 25, 2013
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Toyota Corolla?
I like the styling (I have the S), drive, manual transmission, push button start (I'm Canadian), fuel economy, and ride.

Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Toyota Corolla?
Softer materials inside.
More horsepower.
More gears for automatic

2013 Toyota Corolla Review:
I really like my Corolla. The S is the best looking trim of the family. I have a few things I needed, like bluetooth, and a few I don't particularly need but enjoy, like the push button start.

Although I have no issues with the engine it could possibly use a few more horses but it is not the least in the segment, the Jetta tales that crown. 4 speed automatic is old school but I got the manual transmission so I don't have to deal with the automatic.

More soft touch materials on the inside could help but it is all simple and easy to use. Other cars I have test driven have hard plastic on the doors and dash as well so I don't see why so many negative comments on the Corolla. It has a bullet proof reputation and it is known for reliability. It is a good vehicle that does not pretend to be anything else but good, reliable and easy to own.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 19, 2013
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Toyota Corolla?
Exterior styling is very good.
Interior is comfortable with not a lot of 'bells-and-whistles'.
Very comfortable ride.
Decent gas mileage and should have exceptional reliability.

Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Toyota Corolla?
I would have liked rear disc brakes instead of pads.
Push- button start option, leather and seat warmers for the "S" model.

2013 Toyota Corolla Review:
Great value and reliability. This isn't a luxury car but it is dependable and reasonably comfortable.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Dec 17, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Toyota Corolla?
- Body style has more sophistication than previous years.
- 6-speaker, XMradio, bluetooth & USB upgraded sound system with steering wheel controls.
- Dual glove boxes.
- Keyless trunk release.
- Heated side mirror defroster; better rear window defroster.
- Telescoping steering wheel.
- Amber instrumentation lighting is much better (with less driver-side window glare) than 2003 Corolla S model with the white gauges.
- Windshield washer nozzles are under the hood, which should help preserve the spray of the fluid onto the windshield. Of course, a simple paperclip or thumb tack would help if there was a build-up on the nozzles.

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Toyota Corolla?
- Adjustable lumbar support.
- Dimming rear & side mirrors.
- Optional integrated navigation system.
- Optional leather seating.
- 2" more in leg room.

2011 Toyota Corolla Review:
I owned a 2003 Toyota Corolla S model for nearly 7 years and over 150,000 miles. Great car. (It was repo'd 2 years ago). The only problem I had was the catalytic converter went out at 79k miles and replaced under warranty. After that, I drove a 94 Toyota Camry V6 LE model with 220,000 miles. Also a great car, but its time was coming short for the age & mileage. Got this car with 0% financing, 24 months free maintenance and an affordable payment. (Had to have someone co-sign to get that kind of a deal with a repo on my credit report.)

The areas I mentioned as 'pros' were the improvements that I saw over the 2003 model. I see this car as a perfect car for the outside salesman that I am. It's sharp and you'll never have to apologize or 'save face' for this car. With my company paying for my travel miles, it was an easy choice to get a high MPG car with the reliability and reputation of Toyota.

I also compared this car to a 2011 Hyundai Elantra & 2011 Nissan Sentra. Both of those cars would've cost about $5k more and don't have the same reliable reputation that Toyota cars have.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 28, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Toyota Corolla?
The build quality.(Mine is Canadian build.)
Room inside.
For a cheap car, it has so many standard features.
6 Air-bags.
Best glove box in the industry.
Better trunk light than a Lexus.
Absolutely noise and rattle free.
Silent wipers that clean (almost) the entire windshield.
I am 6.2 and 110 kilo, it feels like it was build for me.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Toyota Corolla?
The dashboard glare in the summer is annoying, dash should have been black, instead of grey.
The clock is indeed in a kind of silly spot, but so what, at least it has a clock.

2010 Toyota Corolla Review:
I have my car now for 18 months and put 30,000 on it.
The day I bought it, I changed the tires and I had the steering ECU replaced.(You have to complain about it.)

I have not had a second of buyer's remorse. It runs on fumes. I never felt the need for a six speed automatic and I just love how the drivers door sound when you close it.
I consider it my "Mini Lexus". Imagine, heated mirrors are standard on a car that is tax in not even $20,000.

The press does not think it is sporty enough. I think for what it was made to do, it is as perfect as cars come.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 25, 2011

Lila Rose M
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Toyota Corolla?
-Quiet cabin even when at highway speeds.
-Owned it for a little over a month with 3000kms on the od. I am averaging 450Kms per 50L tank. (I do drive fairly economically and also run mid grade/89 octane.)
-Solid pick up and handling.
-Tons of room.
-Good looking car inside and out.

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Toyota Corolla?
-Radio display disappears in sunlight.
-Radio FM reception weak.
-Clock is in a strange location.
-Driver seat more comfortable with no air pumped in it.

2011 Toyota Corolla Review:
So far every time I drive my Corolla, I instantly smile. It's a great car. I specifically bought it because of the history of this particular model and the lack of problems with the model in general.
As for the "floor mat" recall, I use after market all weather floor mats, and did feel my pedal stick. But you have to literally be standing on the pedal to achieve this. Normal driving situations will or should never require that much acceleration.
Great car, excellent value (current and re-sale), solid reputation look forward to using this car for many years and many more kilometers.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 18, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Toyota Corolla?
1) Quietest, smoothest ride of any compact out there.
2) Good visibility from inside out.
2) Sharp exterior appearance, especially the "S" version.
4) Very nice interior on the "S" version.
5) Excellent instrumentation on the "S" version.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Toyota Corolla?
1) Sell it with cruise control as standard.
2) Pricey vehicle as it is. It should come with more standard features.
3) They should have left well enough alone. The 2010 model looks better than the 2011 version.

2010 Toyota Corolla Review:
For such a small vehicle, I am amazed at how quiet and smooth the Corolla's ride is, even at 80 mph on the highway.

While some reviewers prefer the Honda Civic because the handling is somewhat more sporty and spirited, there is a huge difference in the seating height, instrument layout, ride, and road noise when compared with the Civic. It's like comparing apples and oranges. The comfort difference on long trips makes Corolla the obvious choice in the smaller vehicle class for most drivers. If you want something more sporty, get a sports car.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 1, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Toyota Corolla?
I like the build quality, how well equipped it is, and the fact that it runs real smooth.

I also like the overall size, not too short; not too long.

After owning several GM cars, I don't know why I didn't look at Toyota years ago.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Toyota Corolla?
If I had to change one thing, and only one thing, it would be the location of the clock. It's way too low to actually see without taking one's eyes of the road and the glare on the lens doesn't help either.

2010 Toyota Corolla Review:
I did a lot of research before actually deciding to buy the 2010 Toyota Corolla. I considered the 2010 Honda Civic and the 2010 Nissan Sentra. In the end I chose the Corolla because of its price and the deal I got. Both the Honda and the Nissan were a bit pricey for my bank account.

I got the LE version with the value package that includes keyless entry and cruise control. My dealer added a 5-piece floor mat set.

So far so good! Great gas mileage! I'm currently get 28 mpg in the city and 35 mpg on the highway. Driving it is a joy and I feel that acceleration is very good, as I outgrew the urge to "floor" the gas pedal sometime ago.

The transmission shifts almost as smooth as the Nissan's CVT transmission. Access through the front doors is more than adequate, however, very tall people may have problems entering the rear seat if they're not careful. The radio/CD player is easy to operate. The maintenance schedule works at 5,000 miles or 6 month intervals. I noticed that the tire size (195-65/15) is a common one that are less expensive tires to replace.

I expect to have my Corolla LE for a long time as I also researched their reliability record. To say that I love it is an understatement.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 29, 2009
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Toyota Corolla?
Very good mechanically for the type of car it is.
Great fuel economy.
Quiet, pleasant, and smooth.
Uses 15" wheels (cheaper tires).

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Toyota Corolla?
Improve ergonomics for tall(er) people, and for adults of average (and above) European and American girth.
Improve the look of the butt of the car.
Improve the color combination of the instrument panel.
Make the car fun to drive.
Program the auto tranny to downshift even by two gears if necessary for quicker acceleration.

2010 Toyota Corolla Review:
I did a lot of research before buying this car, and came to the conclusion that for the money this Corolla has the best value. Honda Civic would probably be a better car (for me), but equally equipped it's more expensive. I got the CE version with the enhanced convenience package.

I actually like the look of the car from the front and from the side; the back of the car, however, looks like someone melted the previous version's butt with a torch and slapped it on this new version; it looks weird - has a poor flow, to my taste. Inside the car looks OK; not exciting, but not offensive either. The dash has a reasonably elegant flow, the center stack looks modern-ish, and the layout of the controls is good (except perhaps for the clock's position at the bottom of the stack). The back-lighting of the IP is amber, which I like a lot, but the needles are red = poor color combination (doesn't Toyota have designers trained in aesthetics?).

When it comes to ergonomics, this car was designed for short and thin people (and even they get short-changed). The front seats' cushions are too narrow for anyone but tiny people - the side bolsters dig into the butt, making longer rides quite uncomfortable. Also, the front seats lack lumber supports. I'm 6'2" and 175 pounds, and I had to add some serious padding to the driver seat to compensate; this shouldn't be needed on a 20-thousand-dollar car in the 21st century. The driver seat moves back far enough to offer a just-about-so-so space for my longer legs. The steering wheel telescopes and tilts nicely. When the driver seat is moved all the way back (or almost), the driver's elbow is way past the door's elbow rest, so there is nowhere to rest the left arm. And even though short people line up with the door's elbow rest well, due to the convex shape of the door, the elbow rest is too far from the seat to be a comfortable support. The right elbow lines up with the right elbow rest nicely, but the rest is made of hard plastic...

At normal legal speeds the car is very quiet (unless the road gets very rough) and has a pleasant and smooth ride. The engine has enough power for normal driving, but don't expect any quick acceleration. When you floor it, the transmission might think for a second, and when it decides that you're serious about gathering some speed, it downshifts quickly and smoothly. However, from my experience it's only willing to downshift by one gear - then it stays in that gear and all you have left is a prayer that the engine will hit higher RPMs fast, and thus gather steam much quicker. In normal driving the transmission behaves well, shifts very smoothly, and when it detects a downhill and you brake, it downshifts to utilize engine braking.

Handling is secure; the car can negotiate curves surprisingly well, and I find high-speed tracking just fine (some people have reported drifting at higher speeds, but my car doesn't do it).

Steering is OK for a commuter car. Though it doesn't offer much feedback, and is not sports-car sensitive, it responds well enough, has a reasonably good on-center feel, and returns to the center position well.

The brakes are very good.

The stereo system's sound quality is about as good as a 100-dollar (CAD) stereo system from Best Buy.

If I had to summarize 2010 Corolla, I'd call it quiet, smooth, pleasant, but needing some substantial improvements in ergonomics for real-world people; I'd also love to call it fun to drive.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 16, 2009
Performance:4
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Toyota Corolla?
Good seating position and good visibility all around, particularly after removing back headrests.
Smooth auto transmission, nice downshifts coming to stop.
Easy to service engine compartment but what is to service?
Nice smooth acceleration.
I like door protector strips but are not offered on later Corollas.
Good old fashioned door locks and hand crank windows (CE stock).
Xlnt air conditioner/heater.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Toyota Corolla?
Adjustable steering wheel position.
Reduce spare key cost, $200 for spare keys for ignition (computer chip inside key) but $1 for door key.
Shorten turning radius, cannot U turn on narrow streets like my old Honda Civic could.
Offer softer suspension, dealer wants $1,600 to change shocks.
Offer rear disc brakes option.
Put bigger knobs on radio.

2007 Toyota Corolla Review:
Bought used 2007 CE automatic with 73,000 miles recently. Very disappointed in the lousy gas mileage: 23mpg city/highway. First two 11 gallon refills over 505 miles makes 23mpg. I drive very slow around city and 55MPH on highways right lanes.
How do you tuneup a computer?
Car rides hard & choppy like Conestoga wagon over plains of Kansas. Dropped tire pressure to 28psi to soften ride a bit.
Seatbelt retractor weak.
Overhead dome lamp switch is flakey.
Horn is weak, must be made for a bicycle.
Lo beams lousy but hi beams xlnt. Cannot turn off headlights during day.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 22, 2012
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Toyota Corolla?
felt comfortable the day i bought it
great gas mileage
great handling
love my car

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Toyota Corolla?
i would have preferred a higher console between seats for arm rest
not a big complaint - still love my car

2008 Toyota Corolla Review:
anyone buying a corolla will not be disapointed


Rate this review:
1
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Toyota Corolla Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2013 Toyota Corolla?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Toyota Corolla? Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Toyota Corolla? 2013 Toyota Corolla Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2013 Toyota Model Lineup:
2013 4Runner
2013 Avalon
2013 Camry
2013 Camry Hybrid
2013 Corolla
2013 FJ Cruiser
2013 Highlander
2013 Highlander Hybrid
2013 Land Cruiser
2013 Matrix
2013 Prius
2013 Prius C
2013 Prius Plug-in
2013 Prius V
2013 Rav4
2013 Sequoia
2013 Sienna
2013 Tacoma
2013 Tundra
2013 Venza
2013 Yaris
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2013 Toyota Corolla | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact