Log in
5.7 million people served. 2,202 users online. reviewLIFE Network
Select Scion xB Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2006 - 2005

2013 Scion xB

Vehicle Overview:
MSRP: $16,800 - $17,750
Invoice: $15,960 - $16,863
Vehicle Type: Compact Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 6
MPG: 22/28 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.4L I4 158HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 49 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2013 Scion xB in the top 50% of 2013 model year vehicles.
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2013 Scion xB in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2013 Scion xB also consider:
Be the first to review 2013 Scion xB!
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Sep 4, 2012

jiml
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Scion xB?
Peppy engine.
Real nice handling.
Highway noise fine.
Getting about 28 m/gallon mostly on highway driving.
Great styling (for a guy in his 70s)
Lots of room inside.
Like standard gear shifting (wife hates it!).

Bought Scion in 2008 when we went to dealership looking for a pickup. The Scion Xb was on the showroom floor and that's where we bought it. My wife doesn't like "box type" vehicles..says "they are ugly" but she fell in love with this specific Scion Xb style.

Radio system fantastic with nice sound.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Scion xB?
Need two back up lights.
Still trying to get used to having speedometer in center of console...hard to see overhead traffic lights with front windshield and roof where it meets blocking the signal...also, have that same problem when the sunshade is lowered.
Arm rest might be widened a little more.
Have big problem with wind sound when back windows are down.

2008 Scion xB Review:
With all those "cons" I listed above, I would still say my 2008 Scion Xb is an excellent vehicle well worth what it cost.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 18, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Scion xB?
I've owned 4 xBs: 2004, 2005(2ea), 2006, all the same.
#1 Best room in its class.
#2 Great gas mileage (add cold air kit for performance issues) - BIG Difference.
#3 Fun to drive (I carry 2000 lbs of catalogs).
#4 I've put over 100,000 miles on this one no major repairs at all, 140,000 miles and still chirps the tires.
#5 No windshield problems at all, ever, most of mine is highway miles, too. 30,000 plus per year driving.
#6 Best bang for the money.
#7 Best trade in value of any car I've owned (over 30). 04-06 xBs sell in 2011 for more than new list with 25-50 thousand miles on them. I was offered $8000 trade in another 2006 with 140000 miles.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Scion xB?
I put a small piece of Aluminum (1'x2"x1") under the 2 front seat brackets to improve seating. Now my knees don't hit the dash, nice tilt, very comfortable.
No cruise - had installed 2 days after I purchased xB.
Should have kept 04-06 body style. New on for 2008 NFG. Loss of everthing especially $$$ out of your pocket.

2006 Scion xB Review:
04-06 scion xBs Box truck - best values on the road, mpg, too comfortable, too fun.
My 04 had $20,000 in accessories. Yes, you can spend that much, trust me. It was a dealer demo - 1st one out. They put on every accessory they could find and then some more.
Graphics to custom interior and lighting, wheels etc., etc., etc.
I WILL ALWAYS HAVE A 04-06 XB TO USE FOR WORK. BEST DEAL EVER. I'M A ON THE ROAD SALES REP. DRIVE 50-300 MILES PER DAY EVERY DAY. NEVER TIRED AFTER A DRIVE IN MY XB. VERY ROOMY.....


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 14, 2010

denverhigh
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Scion xB?
I totaled my 2005 scion on February 24, 2010. I just bought a 2009 xB.

I like the more room it has behind the rear seat.
I love the room at the front seats.
I like that the right hand armrest is on the drivers seat.
Radio is just the same.
I love the cruise control.
I hate the mileage - it is quite low compared to the 33 plus up to 38 miles to the gallon I got on my 2005 automatic.
I love the extra places to put drinks.
Love the driver seat goes up and down.
I hate the small visor that lets the sun in. I invented some that I will put on this xB, it will keep the sun out of you face when the sun shines in from the left.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Scion xB?
More mileage: at least over 34 mpg. Sure it has the larger Camry engine and transmission for those that want power.

Softer seat feel.

When I drive I always remove the passengers head rest, so I get better view when changing lanes.

Wish there were red lights on the door edge when the door is opened, it can be seen from behind. That would be for safety, like for bicycles.

2009 Scion xB Review:
I just drove this from San Diego to Sonoma county. The ride was a little bumpy almost like the old 2005 xB. I'm thinking of installing the Firestone air suspension kit on it. The rear seat do lay quite flat and the rear cargo area has more room for all my bowling balls and groceries.

Strange how the new headlights work. The normal light are just two small projecting lamps and the high beam turns on the two large lamps.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 2, 2007
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Scion xB?
Customizable.
Spacious.
Quirky.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Scion xB?
Windshield cracking/chipping.
Sluggish engine.
Rough ride.

2006 Scion xB Review:
First off I really did love my xB and I think Scion made an interesting product with its boxy shaped step-child. I have owned my xB since August 06 and have thoroughly enjoyed it most of the time. I had all sorts of bells and whistles added to the car including interior illumination, premium audio system, panoramic sun roof, sport exhaust, spoiler, tail light - the list really does go on-and-on. That is the great thing about this car; it is completely customizable.

Overall the car has been a real blast to own. I do get a lot of looks and it handles pretty good. The engine is definitely sluggish, so don't think you are going to be out there street racing like The Fast and Furious, because it's just not going to happen. It is very spacious and I haven't had any complaints about leg room. That is the one thing that surprises people most of the time is the interior space is such a small looking car.

There isn't a whole lot of storage space in the back since it is a stubby little machine, but it makes up for that with tons of headroom. By adding the premium sound system with the bazooka-tube subwoofer you decrease that space about 35%. If you are just running to the store to pickup a few groceries it has plenty of room for them, but don't try to hogtie your friend and toss them back there because they just wouldn't fit.

The main issues I found when looking for the car before I purchased it was no cruise-control and no center armrest. I did get an armrest installed at the dealership, but never got around to the cruise control. Other than those two items nothing bad was said about the car and most of the time the car does indeed deserve its rave reviews, but why did I score the xB so low?

The main problem I have with the car is broken windshields. I have looked around online and no one seems to be bringing this little design flaw up. I have owned my xB for about 6 months now and I have had to replace the windshield glass 7 times. That means 7 entirely new pieces of glass have been installed on the car. That is just insane. This week alone I have had to replace the glass 3 times. Each time the glass has cracked/chipped, the first time was 2 days after I purchased the car, I was driving between 40-70mph and have been about 4-10 car lengths away from the person in front of me.

Since I know the glass installers on a first name basis now I asked them about the whole windshield issue, because I have never had a problem like this with any other car I have ever owned. They told me that the Scion xB windshield is the most replaced windshield at their company, the second being the Jeep. They said it wasn't just my car that was having this problem but all of the xB's that have been produced. I asked them what made the xB such a problem child and they said the steep grade of the windshield and the fact that the car sits so low.

Knowing that it wasn't just me having the problem made me feel a little better, but it was still an issue. The funny thing is I have spoken to numerous people now; from owners to people who run the local car wash, and they have all informed me that the windshield problem is quite common. At the car wash the attendant came up first thing and started looking at my windshield and asked me if I had problems with it because his friend who owns an xB does and he sees lots of cracked/chipped windshields roll through his business on the xB's.

Well, the 7th cracked windshield happened last night on my way home from work and I pretty much just lost it because that was the 3rd new windshield this week that has been busted. I called up the dealership and asked them how much they would give me for a trade-in on the xB and they wanted to know what was wrong. I explained the situation about the windshield and they informed me they had never heard another complaint about it. They tried to blame it on where I live, but I am just not falling for it. Granted, I do understand that in the desert, I live in Arizona, there is going to be more rocks, but how come my wife, my parents, my co-workers, my friends, and everyone else I talk to do not have this problem? We have lived out here 5 years now and my wife has only had a crack once in that entire time. I have only had a chip once in that entire time on another car.

Luckily for me I do have full coverage insurance that has glass protection on it, so I do not have to pay a deductible every time I get a new windshield, but I have at least $3,500-$4,900 in new windshields paid for by my insurance. I am now afraid they are going to raise my rates because of this when it is the car's design flaw, not mine, that the causes the windshield to keep getting cracked.

Well, having already said I lost it, I decided to take a loss and trade-in the car for something else. Yeah with all the bells and whistles I still owe about $24,000 and I know they are going to stick it to me with a new car, but what other choice do I really have? I see the glass installers about every month. I am tired of the smallest speck of dust causing the glass to chip/crack. I am tired of losing my temper when it happens. I am tired of having to deal with my insurance company about it. I am tired of taking time off from work so I can go down and let them work on my car. This experience has been a real bummer. *sigh*

Having the xB, which I researched for 2 years before moving on it, has been a real headache. The car was equipped with everything I wanted, but it turns out to be more hassle than it is worth. No one can fix the issue that is causing the chips/cracks because it is a design flaw in the car. What is Toyota going to do about it? Nothing. They would have to design a whole new car to fix the issue and I don't see them doing that anytime soon. So the rest of us are stuck with the stress of driving our car around like it is a fragile egg because we are afraid of the smallest rock coming close to us.

So for all the headaches my xB has caused me I have decided to look at the PT Cruiser GT, Pontiac Solstice, and Chevrolet HHR. All I really wanted was a Scion xB, but the stress it causes is just not worth it in the end. If you do decide to get an xB I would suggest upgrading your insurance, if it isn't already covered, to handle glass coverage because you are going to need it. You will also want to put the auto glass replacement company of your choice on your cell phone's speed dial, mine is on #9, because you will be calling them frequently.

The other reviews are correct and the car is a lot of fun and a real blast, but in my shoes with my experience the windshield issue is just too much to put up with. If it wasn't for the windshield I would love my xB and would probably purchase another one, but with the experience that I have had I won't be purchasing an xB again. I would still consider a tC or the tA(?) because Scion seems to have a nice product but never again an xB.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 28, 2007

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Scion xB?
It's a great little vehicle that has nice creature comforts, awesome gas mileage, great visibility, Toyota workmanship, a good ride for a short wheelbase, opens up a lot of room in the garage where the SUV was being parked, one of the best standard sound systems I've ever heard/felt, lots of customizing options to make your xB really your xB. The Torched Penny paint turns heads and gets comments that most other sub-$20k cars just don't!

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Scion xB?
Do away with the STUPID SCION "PURE PRICING"...Yeah, some pure pricing. One local dealer advertised all 2006 Scions at FACTORY INVOICE in the paper...So I e-mailed all the others in the metro area and told them about it and asked if they also had a "sale" on the xBs...Talk about stirring up a Hornet's Nest! I had dealers COMPETING for my business while trying to stay "within the Scion pricing rules"...Absolutely hilarious!! They were offering "referral checks" as a discount under invoice or to write it up as an "Employee Deal". I actually felt sorry for these dealers who were desperate to move the cars off their lots before the 08 model is announced in a few days, but the STUPID Scion Pricing Policy has their hands completely tied! You would NOT BELIEVE the deal I got on a Series 4.0! Pure Pricing? Yeah, Pure Hell for the Dealers! Introduce competition where none existed and everyone benefits! We never would've paid MSRP for this vehicle...So I hope Scion deep-sixes this STUPID pricing that forces consumers to pay MORE than they should for a commodity...

2006 Scion xB Review:
We got the Release Series 4.0 for my wife's commuter car and she LOVES it! I find myself having to run many errands on the weekends just for the head-turning effect this vehicle commands. Wildest paint job ever and twice the MPG her SUV got. Standard Pioneer sound system ROCKS on "feel" setting, and I get out with my ears ringing like I've been to a concert. The kids love it, it hauls nearly anything and has Toyota quality, reliability and resale value built into it...A fine automobile that Detroit couldn't build in 100 years (sadly). Weirdest "feature" is how you can sit straight up in the driver's seat and no matter how fard you try, you couldn't reach the windshield if you tried! Nearly as much leg room in the back as front and headroom is simply unbelievable. You have to see it for yourself to believe it...


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 2, 2012

Marcia
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Scion xB?
Overall love my box.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Scion xB?
Mechanics.

2005 Scion xB Review:
When I had 32,000 on my 05 xb which has really been babied (have 3 other cars so my 05 now only has 40,000) - had it in show because VS, tract light, and check engine light came on ....2,000 later they said a small piece of medal flap that protects the oil from spilling on the engine that had broken off. Now 10 months later and 7,000 miles the lights all came back on again. Have to take it to dealer on wed. Love my box but don't trust it anymore. Anyone had similar problems?


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 19, 2012

karla rivera
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Scion xB?
I love everything - it's small and big at the same time.
My friends call it the box car but I absolutely love my box car.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Scion xB?
I think they should improve the radio.

2005 Scion xB Review:
Just love it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 3, 2012

theresa richerson
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Scion xB?
Everything, especially gas mileage and handling.
I take care of 2 aging parents. They can get in and out of it easily.
How was this wonderful vehicle kept a secret? My grandkids call my car "the brave little toaster," "little t" for short.
I think Toyota could sell a whole lot mote of these now if they had left well enough alone.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Scion xB?
I bought mine used. The clutch sticks on the format. I need to get some other kind of floormat. I don't have an owner's manual either. But I love my "little t".


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 26, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Scion xB?
I like everything about this car! I'm 6'4" and the Xb fits me just right even if I have to sit in the back seat. I have 180,000.0 miles on it and have never had to take it to the shop to get work done on it well besides the stuff like tires, breaks and oil changes.

Overall a good and safe car. I got hit by a drunk driver in it and that told me it would cost 10,000 to fix it but I had the same work done for under 2,000 that just tells you that the insurance company was trying to get my car for them self because it is a good car. I would not sell my car for anything. This is the cheapest car I have bought but the best one I have had!

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Scion xB?
The high rpm's on the freeway and the two little grill pieces that keep coming off.

2005 Scion xB Review:
I see that most people talk about it not having a arm rest but you can buy one from the dealer. So anything I don't like about it I fix it put what I want on it. But the only think that I did not like was the high rpm's on the freeway but other then that I could not ask for a better car!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 13, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Scion xB?
Lots and lots of room.
It is fun to drive.
Comfortable seats.
It reminds me of my 1st love (1975 Fiat128), only a lot better constructed.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Scion xB?
I would say the windshield, I replaced 2 in a sort time, but then I put a Thule roof rack on top and have gotten 85,000 miles with out another replacement. I believe that the rack gives support to the windshield, I know that it's great for hauling my canoe or ladders.

I think that more sound insulation would have made it more enjoyable, I have to get softer tires next time out and see if I can turn my tunes to below 29 on the highway.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Scion xB Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2013 Scion xB?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Scion xB? Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Scion xB? 2013 Scion xB Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2013 Scion Model Lineup:
2013 FR-S
2013 iQ
2013 tC
2013 xB
2013 xD
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

If you have questions or comments, please contact us here.

©2006-2014 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2013 Scion xB | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Advertise