Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Nissan Maxima Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2013 Nissan Maxima

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Midsize Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 6
MPG: 19/26 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
3.5L V6 290HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 2 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2013 Nissan Maxima in the top 41% of 2013 model year vehicles.
Rank:
59%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2013 Nissan Maxima in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2013 Nissan Maxima also consider:
Be the first to review 2013 Nissan Maxima!
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Sep 28, 2012
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Nissan Maxima?
The Ride (it glides smoothly)
The Large Interior (Not many cars have a large back seat)
The Features (It has and does everything)
The Design (the car is to date)
The MPG (about the same MPG on the highway as 2010 Altima 2.5)

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Nissan Maxima?
Turning Radius (this is not a greyhound bus)

Notorious for transmission failure 2004-2006 (cost of repair 3000 to 3500)
Steering wheel shimmy (its the tires)(roadforce balance from Discount tire will fix this problem)

Either way you look at it this car will not leave you stranded. Its a high performance sedan dont buy it and expect to use regular unleaded and to maintain it like a Honda Civic. Use preventative maintenance and take care of your car. We have an 06 SE and an 06SL. Bought the SE new currently has 109,000 on it never had any trouble out of it. The SL was preowned converted to synthetic oil changed the timing chain out early runs great. People reading these reviews this is one of the best cars on the Market. All cars have problems and far much worse than the 6th generation Maxima.

2006 Nissan Maxima Review:
The car is fantasic it rides and handles great. When loaded you can easily compare this to a Mercedes E320. Bottom line maintain your vehicle and it will run for years to come.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 23, 2009

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Nissan Maxima?
I love this car. I had a 97 Maxima and put 344,000 miles on it. It never saw a repair shop. I had to buy another one. I didn't even compare other models.

The car is sharp to look at. I love the big wheels and the roominess in the cabin, as does my golden retriever. I like the modernness of the instrument panel. The car can more than hold its own against its much more expensive counterparts. I love the auto stick on the out of the way windy roads.

The car pretty much does everything for me. It dims the mirrors, defrosts the side mirrors, turns on the lights and adjusts the temp in the cabin.

It is a smart car. Maybe smarter than I want it to be though.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Nissan Maxima?
Considering the amount of driving I do, the seats are my biggest complaint. My legs fall asleep when I'm driving. The seats don't go into the position I want. my old Maxima did. My 97 Maxima had much more comfy seats for long drives.

The turning radius is something that takes time to adjust to. It has to be one of the worst on the road.

The AC likes to turn on by itself. I understand that the AC is needed to defrost windows, but it does it all the time.

The transmission is very jumpy at low speeds. It's like the car is trying to tell me to drive fast, which it is very good at doing.

I don't like the brake assist. I know how to operate brakes and don't need help in that department.

2006 Nissan Maxima Review:
I would recommend this car to anyone in need of a fun car to drive that has a kid or 2 to transport. It is a very roomy car. I cant even reach the back ceiling light from the driver seat.

I love how the car looks. It's the best design that Nissan has even made, including the new Maxima. The day I drove it home, I had a couple follow me to a parking lot just to tell me how pretty my car was, then they drove off. It looks fast and doesn't disappoint.

Every time I drive it I'm tempted to blow the doors off whatever car is sitting next to me at a traffic light. I don't because I'm a good driver : )

I have driven my last 2 Maximas 500,000 miles (97 & 06) without ANY problems. Neither car has ever seen a repair shop for anything other than routine maintenance. I have owned 2 Hondas and 2 Toyotas and cannot say the same thing about them. The biggest plus is no time belt to change every 60,000 miles. Maximas have timing chains which never need to be replaced with routine oil changes. On average, I change my oil every 7000-8000 miles.

I think it's one of the best made cars on the road. They invented to 3.0 V6 back in 1994 that every other company copied. Now they have the best 3.5 V6 that everyone is also copying. When it comes to performance engines, they are definitely the leader.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 25, 2009

rb
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Nissan Maxima?
It is a beautiful vehicle! I love the overall look!
It has the smooth ride of a luxury car, but with a sporty appearance.
It is sleek and looks more expensive that it actually is.
I love the room inside the cab and the leg extension on the drivers seat.
The stitching on the leather seats is gorgeous and enhances the inside appearance.
I am impressed with the heated, memory steering wheel.... what a great feature.
I also enjoy the variable volume of the radio with road noise.
I considered purchasing an Infinity or Lexus, but quickly changed my mind when I test drove the 2009 Maxima! My Maxima came with standard features that I would have had to pay extra for on other vehicles.
I, also, love the way my Maxima handles! There is lots of power under the hood so you have to be careful because it would be easy to lose control!!
All heads turn when I drive my car. People constantly admire this vehicle and I'm so proud to drive it!

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Nissan Maxima?
Storage space in the lower dash.
Sensored windshield wipers.

2009 Nissan Maxima Review:
I drove a 1999 Altima for 10 years. It died May 2009 after 245,000 miles..(city driving only!) Before then I owned an earlier Altima. Nissan has always been a good car for me. I need something reliable and dependable and Nissan offers that. I now own a 2009 Maxima and I'm confident that I made another great choice in vehicles! My Maxima is awesome.....Nissan had done it again!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 23, 2009
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Nissan Maxima?
It's a great looking car with lots of power.
It has a very sporty look from the front and sides.
The 2009 Maxima is much roomier than you would think.
It comes with some great features as well, which includes the Navigation system with phone number routing, a 9+ gigs music box, a true Ipod interface and a compact flash player.
Although you're low to the ground, the seats and the ride is still very comfortable.
The Bose system is awesome. It's one of the main reasons I purchased this car.
I love using the hands free navigation and Bluetooth phone.
The automatic headlamps and up/down front windows are great features.
The push button start system is very new age and it's so cool not having to put a key in the ignition.
Reasonably priced for the included features.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Nissan Maxima?
The back-up camera should also have a bell when backing up, so you don't have to focus on the monitor screen.
A fog light indicator light on the dashboard would be helpful.
For convenience, the cup holder on the console should open towards the passenger side.
Lift out mats in the cup holder would also be helpful.
Steering can be difficult when taking off at an intersection where you're turning right or left. If you step on the gas to hard, the car gets a bit out of control.
I'm not very happy with the trunk; the look, the shape, and the tin can sound it makes when you close it and having to reach into the car to open the trunk if your keys are in the house.
It's uncomfortable leaning your leg against the door handle with the music is on. All the vibration from the system goes directly through your body. Padding on the door handle may reduce the vibrations.
I wish sunglasses cases actually fit today's sunglasses.

2009 Nissan Maxima Review:
As you can see, there are no "major" drawbacks with Nissan's best Maxima yet. These are minor inconveniences and as a result, I would recommend this car.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 30, 2015

edward
Performance:4
Exterior:3
Interior:2
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Nissan Maxima?
Power.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Nissan Maxima?
Front end problems shocks, control arm, tie rods engine mount changed multiple times. Traction in the snow the worst. Interior cheap plastic.

2006 Nissan Maxima Review:
Catalytic converter replaced, transmission replaced before 100 thousand miles. Unbelievable.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 22, 2014

kelly
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Nissan Maxima?
When Renault partnered with Nissan, the designs of Nissans started looking really good. I love the bold lines and cool features (sky view roof).

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Nissan Maxima?
Unfortunately, Carlos Ghson also brought Renault's atrocious reliability to the table. With Renault mgmt seeping into Nissan's air, the focus on reliability has diminished. The VQ engine use to be flawless, extremely reliable. Now, after Renault, timing chain tensioners go bad, head gaskets fail, they burn oil all very expensive repairs ($5000+). The once reliable automatic (4 and 5 speed automatics) transmissions became problematic. Then with the CVT introduction, those were trouble too. A/C units fail. Unfortunately, these Maximas are Japanese in name only. Underneath, they are burdened with French reliability thanks to Renault. Never again Nissan!! I'm sticking with Toyota and Honda.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 15, 2014
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Nissan Maxima?
The look is stylish and powerfully muscular. I am a female and the muscular look does not intimidate me because of the luxurious style. People often compliment the stylish look of this car when I'm driving. The power is great! This car can move fast, though not quickly unless you press firmly on the gas pedal. The power can be a bit much when you accelerate to fast.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Nissan Maxima?
I would not improve a thing. It's very dependable.

2010 Nissan Maxima Review:
It is a beautiful sports car that drives like a sedan. This car is great!!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 28, 2013

DustinH
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Nissan Maxima?
It looks good. The engine has plenty of power. All of the features that the interior holds are incredible, i find something else new that it can do every day!

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Nissan Maxima?
My car went through this stage where i would press on the accelerator and my car would do nothing. The engine would not rev but the car would roll forward as if it was just simply in drive. This would leave me stranded at random points in time. I put the car into the shop and they had absolutely no idea what was wrong. The replaced the tranny which was 3500 dollars. While they had my car they damaged the interior. Anyways the new tranny did nothing. They put a new battery in it and somehow its magically fixed.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 11, 2013

GUEST
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Nissan Maxima?
Luxury.
Stability.

2006 Nissan Maxima Review:
Never ever Nissan again - transmition is bad, after 70k, gone.
Don't buy this car.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 28, 2013

mary cheeseboro
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Nissan Maxima?
Its luxury.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Nissan Maxima?
I wouldn't change a thing, it's a head turner.

2010 Nissan Maxima Review:
I love my Maxima. When I stop, someone always says I love that car.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Nissan Maxima Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2013 Nissan Maxima?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Nissan Maxima? Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Nissan Maxima? 2013 Nissan Maxima Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2013 Nissan Model Lineup:
2013 Altima
2013 Altima Coupe
2013 Armada
2013 cube
2013 Frontier
2013 GT-R
2013 JUKE
2013 LEAF
2013 Maxima
2013 Murano
2013 Pathfinder
2013 Quest
2013 Rogue
2013 Sentra
2013 Titan
2013 Versa
2013 Xterra
2013 Z
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2013 Nissan Maxima | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact