Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Mazda CX-9 Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007

2013 Mazda CX-9

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Sport Utility Vehicle
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 6
MPG: 16-17/22-24 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
3.7L V6 273HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 3 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2013 Mazda CX-9 in the top 37% of 2013 model year vehicles.
Rank:
63%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2013 Mazda CX-9 in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2013 Mazda CX-9 also consider:
Submitted Oct 23, 2013

T
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:2
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Mazda CX-9?
Nice to look at.
Fun drive.
Comfortable on long drives.

Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Mazda CX-9?
Not a family friendly car. Have to fold 3rd row headrests down to see out back window. Have to completely remove 2nd row headrests and pull front seats completely forward to fold 2nd row seats to allow entry to 3rd row. Slats in 2nd row floorboard is perfect place for toys, cheerios, drinks, etc to fall into. Rear doors open out wide and placing of 2nd row seats makes almost impossible to wedge into to place a child in a car seat if you are in a parking space beside other cars. Finally, my engine has had to be replaced only after 36k miles and less than a year due to a grinding type noise coming from the front right side. Techs were really not sure what the issue is. Dealership has had it for 30+ days now while I am driving a tin can rental. Not happy!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Nov 9, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Mazda CX-9?
The V6 engine is very smooth quite and revs freely. The six speed Ansin transmission is a jewel and shifts without any noticeable noise or hesitation. The manual transmission option is nice when you want hold the revs on a twisty racy road.

The suspension and steering give a responsive feed back.

The interior is very attractive. The heated leather powered seats are very comfy and you can find the ideal driving position with the telescopic, tilting steering wheel. Love the look of the dash lights, very classy.

Like the keyless entry but have some reservations see Cons.

I like the rear passenger space with reclining seats and having the option of the third row when needed, although I have never used them. With the third row down the cargo area is big enough to accommodate all my needs. With all the seats down you can actually fit in a double mattress.

The Bose CD and speakers are good but the I pod attachment is lacking - see cons.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Mazda CX-9?
Mazda please read this and improve.

I dislike the way some of the options are not factory installed. I wanted to get the auto rear dimming mirror with compass also the tow hitch with wiring. These are dealer installs. What about the roof rack, dealer install and very expensive. Why do this when all the other vehicles in this category include these features?

I also miss not having a trip computer.

The smart key is not smart enough. It should unlock the door when you approach the vehicle. The little unlock button on the door is far too small. Do not get the self locking activated. The range is too short. Jump out the vehicle to clean the windows it locks. Walk around to open the passenger door it will be locked.

The Ipod attachment in the central arm rest is dumb and it will not control through the stereo system.

Tires are an absolute disgrace and dangerous in winter driving conditions. If you want further prove go to Tire Rack web site. Once the ABS comes on you are totally out of control and sliding on four skates.

Please watch your head when entering the vehicle it is possible to bang your head. Another poor feature to get used too is the large front window A pillars as it is possible to loose site of a car at an intersection.

Last gripe is fuel consumption. I had a best avg of 24mpg warm weather avg, through winter of 18mpg, mostly highway.

2008 Mazda CX-9 Review:
After selling my Grand Jeep Cherokee LTD V8, which was very noisy and thirsty but had great AWD. Loved the powerful engine and now found I can't do with out all the options. A replacement must have AWD and more space and not be a SUV.

Time for a change, I started off in 1989 with the first four door SUV on the market the Toyota 4 Runner. I now liked the look of the new CUV class.

The list of vehicles I considered included the Acura MDX, best in class but to expensive, not enough cargo space. The Buick enclave, great looks nice interior but to big and still rides like an armchair on wheels. The Saturn Outlook was the same as the Buick but cheaper and more truck like in appearance. Toyed with the idea a Volvo XC 90 but with out the expensive V8 is underpowered and again small. The new Toyota Highlander is also way over priced. So it was the Mazda that won the day. Now I just had to wait for the new 3.7 engine to arrive in the AWD GT with the Bose package, delete the Nav and entertainment system to include the sunroof.

The defining attribute for me with the Mazda is the responsive feedback the suspension and tires gives through the steering wheel. Very sports car like. The body is the best looking in class altogether a very attractive package.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 5, 2013

Ray Cordero
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Mazda CX-9?
Sporty styling backed by great handling, smooth transmission and engine.
Transmission shifts effortless.
Lots of room.
Fit and finish is up there with the Lexus, BMW's and Audi's.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Mazda CX-9?
Fuel consumption a bit high but what do you expect from a 4,500 lb vehicle?

2007 Mazda CX-9 Review:
I would recommend this vehicle to anyone looking for a people mover but wants excitement and good looks. My wife also drives a Mazda 5 and she absolutely loves it. No problems at all. My CX9 has a very luxurious ride and interior finish yet it exudes sportiness. Bang for the buck. If you don't mind paying a bit more for gas then go get one.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 11, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Mazda CX-9?
Best automotive product I have ever owned.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Mazda CX-9?
Improve mileage a bit.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 14, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Mazda CX-9?
Features and general appearance. Very high quality for the cost.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Mazda CX-9?
The factory accessories are not 100% available at this time. Roof rack rails, all weather mats and towing hitch.

2007 Mazda CX-9 Review:
Very high value for the cost. Drive and ride is exceptional. Why don't Ford follow suit? I am a 100% Ford person but don’t understand why FOMOCO can't do a better job of upscaling one of the three brands.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 5, 2008

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Mazda CX-9?
Overall, great sports Utility.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Mazda CX-9?
Give it 300 horse power!!

2008 Mazda CX-9 Review:
Great looks, great driving, and plenty of room for a mid size Sports Utility.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 28, 2007

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Mazda CX-9?
All the gadgets! It is roomy, deceivingly so,and smooth performance.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Mazda CX-9?
gas mileage, mute button for making calls from cell phone.

2008 Mazda CX-9 Review:
Overall, good value! GT with all options except for DVD for $36,000. This CUV is for my wife and she loves it- to transport our 9 yr old and 3 month-old daughters around. Acceleration is strong and you definately feel the torque. Looked at all the competitors- MDX, pilot, Acadia, XC90, Enclave, Highlander, etc. Although all have some stronger points- CX-9 has the most complete package for the price.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 16, 2007

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Mazda CX-9?
It can seat seven and it is also quiet and fun to drive.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Mazda CX-9?
The front glass needs to have more of a tint in it. If you have the dark interior it gets pretty hot in the sun. I would also put the auxilary plug for the ipod in the das not in the middle console.

2008 Mazda CX-9 Review:
It is a very nice vehicle and the different packages make it affordable to a wide group of customers. It has a sporty ride and is a great car for a family.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 1, 2007

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Mazda CX-9?
looks, quietness,performance,quality

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Mazda CX-9?
better gas mileage


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 13, 2007
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Mazda CX-9?
Handling, looks, quality.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Mazda CX-9?
gas milage indicator, real time.

2007 Mazda CX-9 Review:
The best car I drove and I drove them all.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Mazda CX-9 Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2013 Mazda CX-9?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Mazda CX-9? Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Mazda CX-9? 2013 Mazda CX-9 Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2013 Mazda Model Lineup:
2013 CX-5
2013 CX-9
2013 MAZDA3
2013 MAZDA5
2013 MAZDA6
2013 MAZDASPEED3
2013 Miata
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2013 Mazda CX-9 | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact