Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Kia Sportage Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2013 Kia Sportage

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Sport Utility Vehicle
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 6
MPG: 20-21/25-30 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.4L I4 176HP
2.0L I4 260HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 2 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2013 Kia Sportage in the top 41% of 2013 model year vehicles.
Rank:
59%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2013 Kia Sportage in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2013 Kia Sportage also consider:
Be the first to review 2013 Kia Sportage!
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Aug 18, 2010

Lex425
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Kia Sportage?
Smooth, quiet, reasonably powerful V6, good suspension, great versatility, looks funky, awesome safety features, excellent ride quality for an SUV-in fact better than most.

Priced reasonably unlike its competitors and also a great sized vehicle.

We just wanted something that worked well and looked good - it's an SUV not a sports car or an Off road full timer, so for what it is its perfect.

There are $40,000 SUVs out there that are inferior in many ways to the Sportage...but you will create an image of wealth due to the fact that you've purchased a substandard vehicle for heaps of money. People will know you've had no time to properly research your choice and assume you must be too busy working to make an informed choice ........ Or maybe not!

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Kia Sportage?
Na for an SUV it does what it has to do, and looks good doing it.

BTW it's quicker than any 4cyl non turbo option out there and most fall within that category. I wonder how that guy with the $35,000 Forrester felt when I dusted him off with ease? Hmmm I recon he wished he bought the XT turbo version for $40,000....sorry mate I paid $20,000 for mine.

2007 Kia Sportage Review:
My sports car: Nissan Skyline GTR.
My Off road buggy: Jeep Wrangler.
My SUV: Kia Sportage.

....and NEVER should the three combine! Cough XmercedesMLAMGX splutter!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 24, 2009

Vee
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:2
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Kia Sportage?
It looks good on the outside. Inside is roomy.... except, in the front. There is NO room for anything! I had a Spectra 2006, and it had more places to put things up front than the Sportage!!!

I like the V6 engine.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Kia Sportage?
I would improve it by having a Monster truck run over it until there was nothing left!!!

2009 Kia Sportage Review:
This car is NOT "like" the Ford Escape in any way, shape or form! It does NOT sit up high enough, which is important to me. It "appears" to be quite a step above from the Spectra (which is ick!), but the interior is basically the SAME only with less room to put things. The seats are very uncomfortable with the top head rest tilting FORWARD and there is no way to change that. It just moves forward and backward with the head rest still tilting forward, which is very uncomfortable! Also, there is NO soundproofing in this car. You can't listen to music or even talk radio, because all you can hear is the outside cars and the loudness of the wind and the highway, itself. Pathetic! The air conditioning is a joke, because the sun beats down in the car unforgivably and no matter how high the AC is, you still are burning up. My sunglasses melted while they were in the sunglass holder above. The ridiculous sun-visors do not let you put them where you want (and they have no lights on them, for a $20K+ SUV!) They sort of "click" into place.... never mind that you might be short or need to adjust your seat just so and still use them at a certain point. They go where they were made to go and there are only 2 options.... put it up all the way and don't use them or use them and live with where they are even if it doesn't fit your needs. The windshield wipers do not effectively clean off bugs that squirt on your windshield. You can go through a whole gallon of that stuff and they don't even wipe the window completely dry. They are not flush with the windshield at all. The mirrors on the sides of the vehicle are small! They are not comparable at all with the Ford Escape. I was talked into BOTH KIA's I ended up with, because Ford no longer made the car I wanted. KIA costs way more than they are worth, and they charge so much for financing that you end up owing way more than the blue book, even half-way into your payments. I got all the "deals" with rebates and everything, and all they really did was roll in what I owed (which was a very over-inflated price for the quality of KIA cars) and then ended up charging me over $22K !!!! with a huge $450 monthly payment! God help me! I'll never get the hell out of this vehicle. It is NOT at all worth what it is "supposed" to be. I don't care what anyone says.... KIA SUCKS BIG TIME, and I hope all their financial lending institutions end up in the toilet with the rest of the economy. They are just an OVER-INFLATED piece of JUNK! with NO quality to back them.

The Sportage is really only worth about $10,000 and NO more! It is also a gas hog. They make it look like it gets good mileage, but it really doesn't. I have to fill up my Sportage at least 2-3 times a week, and my husband and I only use it to go to work and back and run a few errands, like to the grocery store, the doctor's, and that's about it. We don't drive it on the weekends hardly at all, and most of our driving are highway miles.

I would NOT recommend this vehicle if you're looking for an SUV. I have been looking around to see if I notice any other KIA Sportage vehicles on the road.... haven't spotted one of them yet! Boy, do I feel stupid. I should have turned right around at the dealership.... a Ford dealership that I once was very satisfied with until they started selling KIA along with them.... and just walked out! Coulda, shoulda, woulda.... a very dissatisfied customer.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 25, 2013

GUEST
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Kia Sportage?
Good ride so far - only had it 2 weeks.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Kia Sportage?
Bad gas millage - upset about the gas. They told me 19 -21 in city. I'm lucky if I get 15. Bad part was I told the dealership I was looking to buy for the gas. 19 would actually have been good enough. I don't like if I don't get what they say.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 11, 2013
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Kia Sportage?
I like just about everything about the vehicle, not to impressed with their response to my questions.

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Kia Sportage?
The low beam headlights are very poor and I can't find brighter lights that can replace the ones that are standard. NO help from Kia! The mileage that they claim I will get is not what I am getting and I am a million miler and have been driving for 50 years and know what I'm talking about.

2011 Kia Sportage Review:
I have not had a response form Kia other then I have to phone them back east @ their working hours, not impressed! This our second Kia , had a Sedona and traded it in for the Sportage.

I will have to think about it when our vehicle is 5 years old and may not buy another one based on the lack of response from them.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 22, 2012

Bob Gould
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Kia Sportage?
Good ground clearance.
Quiet, stable ride.
Versatile seating / cargo capacity.
High seating, good visibility, even to the rear.
Inside spare tire & tools.
Dependable.
Good dealer support.
Nimble size and handling.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Kia Sportage?
It needed more power & gear ratios, which it received in the newer models.
Better fuel economy was frosting on the cake. Too bad we lost the visibility.
That rear wiper ($30 for a blade that lasts two weeks) and factory tires (wore out at about 35000).

2006 Kia Sportage Review:
After four years and nearly 100,000, I feel it was a good purchase.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 25, 2012

Samantha
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Kia Sportage?
Fuel efficiency.
The heat/A.C work quick unlike some other cars - you have to wait to feel it.
Rides smoothly and quietly.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Kia Sportage?
A bit touchy on the pedals at times.

2006 Kia Sportage Review:
Overall, I love the 2006 Kia Sportage. I got it 3-4 weeks ago, and the first day I got it, I traveled 300 KM and it was amazing on gas and I was very impressed, no problems with anything. I've probably put close to 2000 KM already on it just for traveling and town driving. I haven't once doubted my decision about buying this car. :)


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 22, 2012

jane
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Kia Sportage?
I love the size of it...not too big, not too small.
I love the way it looks and drives, and the roominess of it for a small suv.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Kia Sportage?
Keyless entry would be nice.

2006 Kia Sportage Review:
So far I love everything about it, but I can't comment on gas mileage because I've only had it for four days.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 17, 2012
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Kia Sportage?
Quiet ride, economic, roomy, dual exhaust, diesel, a/t. Installed a dvd player with tv, rear camera, bluetooth and navigation (double din).

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Kia Sportage?
more power would be nice.

2006 Kia Sportage Review:
I am quite happy with my car and may buy a new one in future.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 22, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Kia Sportage?
I like everything about this SUV. It handles well, it's roomy, it's comfortable, any mechanic, including myself can work on it, you don't have to take it to a dealer or foreign car specialist, and anyone who tells you that is full of it!

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Kia Sportage?
I like it fine just the way it is.

2006 Kia Sportage Review:
Great, comfy family ride. Good long tripper...comfortable, good gas mileage. Reliable and dependable.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 22, 2010
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:2
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Kia Sportage?
I like the look and the way it handles for an SUV.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Kia Sportage?
Do not like the fact that not just anyone can work on a KIA. Acts up occasionally like it's out of gas but a problem can't be found.
There is no way of changing lights or fuses without a owners manual.
The cruise very seldom works at all.
The plastic/vinyl interior scratches and mars very easily.
Would not buy another one at all!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Kia Sportage Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2013 Kia Sportage?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Kia Sportage? Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Kia Sportage? 2013 Kia Sportage Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2013 Kia Model Lineup:
2013 Forte
2013 Optima
2013 Rio
2013 Sorento
2013 Soul
2013 Sportage
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2013 Kia Sportage | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact