Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Kia Soul Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010

2013 Kia Soul

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Compact Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 4
MPG: 23-25/28-30 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
1.6L I4 138HP
2.0L I4 164HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 6 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2013 Kia Soul in the top 21% of 2013 model year vehicles.
Rank:
79%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2013 Kia Soul in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2013 Kia Soul also consider:
Submitted Sep 29, 2013
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Kia Soul?
My Soul Exclaim and I am celebrating our 1 year anniversary this week! Rarely have I bonded with a car over the years since I got my drivers license...the last car I had a real love affair with was a new Red FIAT 128SL sedan. The Toyota, Nissans, Chevy's, Dodges and Fords that followed were 'just" transportation!

But the Soul...has Soul! Character, personality, stands out in a crowded parking lot which is often a sea of all to common Hondoyta Clones!

My Soul is loaded with a suprising level of standard equipment, much of which is extra cost or not available at the price I paid for my Soul Exclaim.

I found that J.D. Powers rated the Soul #1 in it's class in initial customer satisfaction. In the year I've owned it, I certainly haven't been disppointed. As a matter of fact...my wife bought a new KIA Sorento SX, my son a Forte Coupe and my daughter a KIA Sportage LX! Howz that for a recomendation?

Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Kia Soul?
The 2014 KIA Soul has been redone extensively, and KIA is typically ahead of the game as far as anticipating what the Customer wants..and has made a bunch of subtle and not so subtle changes to the 2014 Soul...especially the handling and ride. So anything I could have suggested have already been done!

2013 Kia Soul Review:
The Volkswagon was first conceived to get "the peoples car", a vehicle that would meet the needs of most common folks! The First Fords...Model A and Model T were conceived by Henry Ford to be his view of the peoples car...reliable, simple and cheap! It was wildly successful.

The Soul is a modern rendition of the original VW and Fords early cars. Starting at $14,400 with a manual 6 speed, A/C, which includes the 10 year 100,000 mile warranty. My Soul has things like turn signals in the side mirrors, the side mirrors are power folding too, LED rear taillights, LED front lights, Infinity stereo system with 350 watt speakers wit separate amp and subwoofer..and so on!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 19, 2013
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Kia Soul?
Most things I like, since I did study & now drove the car for 1,200 miles.

I'm 6' - 2", 215 lbs so I'm not tiny. I HAVE THE BEST MODEL (!) w/18" wheels, max height, so that was part of the total package. I get in & out easily, plenty of head space with seat at it lowest. This is the most important thing for me with a compact car, specially with a bad back, bending is a big problem for me.

This car/model works fine here. With larger engine, it is very adequate for me, did not buy a performance car.

So, without writing a book, I like it for what it is.

Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Kia Soul?
Since I only have 1,200 miles on it & do mostly around town (city) driving getting 23.5 mpg mainly. I hope I get a little better than that later. I don't push the car hard & it's mainly only myself + not a young guy any more. (75 y.o.)

For one, if I had a choice, I would like it to be just a little bigger, maybe 8" to 10" longer.

Second & last for now, a V6 would be nice too (option).

2013 Kia Soul Review:
I believe you know I like this car, serves my purpose so far now at least. Had a Honda Odyssey prior to this, that was Wonderful, (1999) bought it new, but did not need that large size anymore.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 17, 2010
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Kia Soul?
It is one heckuva a ride. It is super fun to drive.

Somehow I ended up with a soul plus with the complete sport package (completely loaded) in a color that is not even part of building a soul on their website. It is vibrant orange with black racing stripes, the fog lights, moon roof, 18 inch alloy wheels that are black, mud guards, all of the trim gear from foot steps, to the awesome gear on the back. I don't know how this happened, and I've yet to see another... It was a Suzuki dealership changing to Kia and they only had one of each Kia model made, so it was the only Soul, and I grabbed it. It unfortunately does not have the red speaker lights, which is part of the sport package upgrade, so they wrote me a check for 1000k for the difference, said they couldn't put the lights in which was a bummer. I had it done at a speaker shop for 250$ haha.

I would be a millionaire for all the people that ask me about it or the honks with thumbs up I get when driving if I got ten bucks every time this happens. It is 6 months later, and I still smile when I turn the key to take off for the day... EVEN when going to work.

I love the back with the compartments for groceries... It is awesome. I think this a solid car for a single guy or a couple, maybe a child also... It is extremely safe and ranked to prove it.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Kia Soul?
The plastic interiors scratch easy. I would offer it in leather.

The road noise is evident on the 18 inch wheel base upgrade and is a little too loud.

I live in Florida, and it is rainy season, since that started, my remoteless key accessory, does not sound the horn to let me know it has unlocked the door or locked it. The horn works when it wants too. Also the fog lights go out occasionally. So, i am taking it in to see what is going on.

It does have a bit of a rough acceleration from the end of first gear to second.. It's quite noticeable in my automatic.

I would also offer more power, a six cylinder would be great.

It also requires more fill ups, as I believe it has a small tank and requires frequent fill ups...

I would pay more for it to be keyless, and to have complete gps... also the cord provided only works for an ipod touch and not an iphone... The wheel at your fingertips for the radio, satellite, ipod, is not easy to use and I've tried and tried to use it.. the talking voice just turns off if you don't tell it what to do correctly and quickly... I am still working on that...

It also needs somewhere to latch your gas cap while filling up. If it has one I haven't figured it out..

All in all, its a winner, although I did pick it apart. I felt like I got a special order someone backed out of or the dealership ordered wrong. The price was right though as they came down a bit... I think with it having a color not offered and perhaps it being a special order, they missed some steps assembling these little things at the Georgia plant...


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Nov 28, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Kia Soul?
I like everything.

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Kia Soul?
Needs to handle better in mud.
Better gas mileage.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 1, 2011
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Kia Soul?
I love this car! When it came out in early 2009, I told myself I will own this car! I did end up buying one and I couldn't be happier! Everything about this car makes me smile! I've had it for 2 months and I still get excited to drive it, even to work!

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Kia Soul?
Fog light option should be available for the 2U model.
GPS would be nice.

2010 Kia Soul Review:
I wouldn't trade this car for the world!!!!!!!!!!! No amount of money could make me trade in my white Kia Soul 2u aka "Betty White".


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 31, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Kia Soul?
Over all just a fun car, great styling and very roomy. Fits 3 golfers and their gear easily. You just want to smile every time you drive it. Good proformance (when you turn off e.t.c.).

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Kia Soul?
A little more power,and better front seats - you tend to slide around when cornering hard.

2010 Kia Soul Review:
I love my Soul. I owned an Accord before this car : good car but boring.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 6, 2009

Don814
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Kia Soul?
Fun to drive. Lots of leg and head room. The red interior lights for night driving are excellent. The instrumentation is easy to use and well thought out.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Kia Soul?
Road/engine noise is high.

2010 Kia Soul Review:
This big-little car is well made, good looking, and is a great value.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 26, 2009
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Kia Soul?
Fresh, bold concept-has the "Cube and Element" beat in style and design.
Features are superb and the driving part is fun.
It's a real head-turner every where we go.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Kia Soul?
Softer suspension and less road noise would be a plus.
The positives of this auto out-weigh the negatives by a huge margin.

2010 Kia Soul Review:
On a scale of 1 to 10, I would rate it 8.5.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 23, 2009

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Kia Soul?
I like the fresh new design.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Kia Soul?
A little less road noise would be nice.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 15, 2009

kj
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Kia Soul?
Coolest looking car around, inside and out.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Kia Soul?
Overall driving is poor on highways.

2010 Kia Soul Review:
I love the Soul. I wish highway driving could be more fun, but I drive mostly in the city anyway. Soul is the coolest car around, and my friends love it as well.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Kia Soul Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2013 Kia Soul?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Kia Soul? Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Kia Soul? 2013 Kia Soul Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2013 Kia Model Lineup:
2013 Forte
2013 Optima
2013 Rio
2013 Sorento
2013 Soul
2013 Sportage
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2013 Kia Soul | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact