Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Kia Optima Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2013 Kia Optima

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Midsize Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 6
MPG: 22-24/34-35 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.4L I4 200HP
2.0L I4 274HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 5 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Best Pick ?Consumers rated 2013 Kia Optima in the top 3% of 2013 model year vehicles.
Rank:
97%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2013 Kia Optima in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2013 Kia Optima also consider:
Submitted Oct 17, 2013

Bryan
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Kia Optima?
Great looking car.
Lots of options which are user friendly.
Full 5 passenger capacity.
Excellent gas mileage.

Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Kia Optima?
Better tires, Nexens are cheap and feel like it.
Engine is a bit noisy under acceleration.

2013 Kia Optima Review:
Very happy so far, good fuel mileage, beautiful looking car, lots of options and like the interior.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 1, 2013

david wilm
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Kia Optima?
Great balance of looks, performance, value...

Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Kia Optima?
Not much, update of some tech for 2014 which is coming.

2013 Kia Optima Review:
I feel great driving my Optima SXL, it has a great feel of a cockpit and I do not feel like the value will hold.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Nov 1, 2012
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2012 Kia Optima?
Nicest looking car in class bar none inside and out.
Stong engine for a 4 cyl, auto trans is very smooth
Getting 35+ mpg (us) highway and 25 in city in the real world
Controls are easy to use and well placed.
Love the ease of use for the manual shift option.

Cons: How would you improve your 2012 Kia Optima?
Head room a little tight, couldn't get the panoramic sunroof without knocking myself out on grab handle.
Seat bottom is a little small.
Bigger and better tires (I have the base model) I will be putting larger custom wheels and tires on in spring.
Would prefer a handle for the e-brake vs the pedal.

2012 Kia Optima Review:
Have put 6000 miles on it in 2 months and still love it.
Needs better tires, I will put snows on the OEM wheels and get larger wheels and tires next spring.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 20, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Kia Optima?
Loaded with options.
Very Comfortable to drive.
Gorgeous to look at, especially in a large glass shop front as you drive by :o)
I Love the Panoramic roof...Memory seating, Reversing camera, auto fold up side mirrors etc etc etc.
Great fuel economy and overall great value for money,,,,,
Move over Japan!!!

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Kia Optima?
I own the Australian Release TF Optima "Platinum". No 2.0Lt Turbo or Manual shift option yet for right hand drive models, although this car would benefit from a V6 power plant. Mine is 2.4Lt and produces 250Kw, but at a ridiculous 6000+ RPM,,,,,,Needs a bigger engine!!!
Oh, and no satnav or digital radio tuner till 2012 release.

2011 Kia Optima Review:
For the price, and in comparison to current competition in this segment of the market, KIA Optima (K5) ticks ALL of the boxes.
I first saw this car exiting a 7/11 about a month ago, I slowed down and allowed it to catch up with me, and Yuck,,,it was a KIA! The yuck soon turned to WOW when I checked out the KIA website looked further into the car and what it had to offer. I was at the dealership and signed a sale contract the next morning! The day before, I would not have Pee'd on a KIA if it was on fire! now I'm a proud owner. I was going to purchase an OPEL Insignia in 2012, but this baby has all the Insignia has and more,,,,,for a Much lower price.
The build quality of the car is exceptional, the ride is excellent and the car is responsive and sure footed, the ECO function really does work a treat and increases fuel efficiency, and if you put your foot down, the power is there for over taking if you need it. Cabin noise is minimal even with the sun roof open thanks to an excellent wind deflector that deploys on opening. HID headlamps are excellent as are the side illuminating cornering lamps and the day time running lamps (DRL'S) and LED tail lamps are an added treat. The interior is superbly finished with charcoal black Full leather seating, the center dash console is angled to the drivers seat (love that).
My car is Snow White Pearl, and it has to be seen,,,,,no plain white on my baby, the pearl really looks beautiful on a sunny day, especially with the black roof, black exterior trim and chrome highlights. 18" alloys shod with 225 x 45 LP rubber are brilliant, and the huge front disc rotors (12.6" on Aussie version) stop this baby in a heartbeat.
Six speed "tiptronic" style auto is very nice, and shifts smoothly, the "J" gate shifter is good for shifting the auto manually, but the "flappy paddles" on the steering column are a brilliant addition, yeah I know, it's no BMW M5, but I always loved the concept and look of the paddle shift.
In short, if you are in the market to purchase a Mid sized sedan, check this baby out, you will be in for a treat, leave your EGO and doubts at home and take one for a test drive. You will soon see what I mean. Oh, and people NOTICE this car.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 3, 2008
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Kia Optima?
It rides comfortable and smooth, and it's decent on gas. From the exterior to interior it's a good car. Value wise, its great! People complain about the audio, but it sounds the same as if you bought any car off a Car Dealership Lot minus a self installed/pro installed sound system...in other words a minor concern. Maybe you will find one for sale in someone's driveway somewhere, with the system already installed. The car is smaller, therefore it's for smaller people. Would someone complain that a Lamborghini is small on the inside? The Lambo is a sports car, they tend to be. In other words, smaller cars do exist. Regarding liability, I've heard it's good, but at the same time I've heard it's a bit on the "ify" side...as long as there is no recall, concerning the tires, engine, transmission or any of those major car parts, it must be more safe than not. As drivers, it's up to us to drive safe. I feel safe.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Kia Optima?
Keyless entry...it should have come with it. I just bought my car, so I have yet to order keyless entry. It's an unnecessary expense and waste of time. I don't need it, but I guess I would like to have it? I'm a girl, but I know more than most girls about cars. As a girl, I pay attention to little noises. If you're like me; male or female then, just for the simple fact of the Kia LX being a four cylinder will just bother the hell out of you...only at first. It runs a bit louder, but it's not a bad loud, just a unique loud. It's a little engine you know. So it makes little noises, especially when the heat is on. It's nothing to worry about though. Nor is it noticeable to someone outside of the car, or inside besides yourself for that matter. Half of the time you won't even notice it, or even care.

2006 Kia Optima Review:
Overall, I love it. I'm 20, I'm in college and yes I make the car payments. It's a great car, and it's worth its price...as long as you wern't duped. Drive safe!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 26, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:2
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Kia Optima?
I have had no problems with the engine.

No major repairs.

The interior has held up good.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Kia Optima?
New headlight wiring. The headlight bulbs. In the last year I have replace the bulbs 6 times. No joke.

The upholstery is kind of ugly.

No keyless entry. This should come standard. Trying to unlock your car in the rain stinks.

Gas mileage is not the greatest.

2006 Kia Optima Review:
I would have to say, I would not recommend the 2006 Kia Optima, but I bet they have upgraded them a lot by now.

I just got off the phone with the service department about the headlight issue and they have come across a few 2006's with the same problem. The only solution is to keep replacing the bulbs or putting a new wiring system for the headlight which costs 365.00 for one head lamp. I was also told the wiring system is the same one have now, because they have not updated it. So it may fix the problem but it is possible in the future I could be dealing with the same issue. Not happy about that at all.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 15, 2012

felix gelbart
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Kia Optima?
Comfort, looks, and ride are super.
Lots of admiring glances.

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Kia Optima?
Led daytime runners.
UVO even with navi.

2011 Kia Optima Review:
Great car. Better than Accord. Smoother and more comfortable. Faster.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 22, 2011

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Kia Optima?
The car handles beautifully.

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Kia Optima?
I have a white Optima. When the car is wet, there are two distinct black lines that run down the doors where the door handles are; very ugly. Improve the material that is used in the door handles to prevent this from happening.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 22, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Kia Optima?
Great gas mileage.
Look.
Travel.
Trunk space (LOVE IT).
Lights.
Cruise.
Radio operation from steeling wheel.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Kia Optima?
More leg room.
Automatic lights.

2007 Kia Optima Review:
I have had my car almost a year now and I love it... I wish it had more leg space in the back, but overall the car is great.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 3, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Kia Optima?
Everything and plenty car for the money.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Kia Optima?
Maybe less road noise.

2007 Kia Optima Review:
Have had car for 3 years have 45000 mls on it and still love to drive it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Kia Optima Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2013 Kia Optima?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Kia Optima? Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Kia Optima? 2013 Kia Optima Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2013 Kia Model Lineup:
2013 Forte
2013 Optima
2013 Rio
2013 Sorento
2013 Soul
2013 Sportage
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2013 Kia Optima | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact