Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Hyundai Sonata Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006

2013 Hyundai Sonata

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Midsize Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 6
MPG: 22-24/34-35 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.4L I4 198HP
2.4L I4 200HP
2.0L I4 274HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 4 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2013 Hyundai Sonata in the top 23% of 2013 model year vehicles.
Rank:
77%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2013 Hyundai Sonata in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2013 Hyundai Sonata also consider:
Submitted Jul 17, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Hyundai Sonata?
This review is for the *2011 Hyundai Sonata Limited Turbo w/Navigation system*

Powerful turbo combined with direct injection engine.
The exterior and interior styling are very successful.
Commands and buttons are easy to reach and to operate.
Cabin storage is excellent.
All seats are heated (Limited version).
iPhone compatibility (Bluetooth) is excellent.
Price is very realistic.

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Hyundai Sonata?
Suspension is very firm on the Turbo version. On the limit between firm and rough.
Abnormally very low front passenger seat.
Wheel noise is very noticeable.
Engine noise (when outside) is normal due to direct. injection, but may bother some buyers.
No memory seat even on the "Limited" version.
Navigation system is not as complete as a top of the line.
Garmin portable unit.

2011 Hyundai Sonata Review:
The turbo "limited" version of the Sonata is all about style and power. It also offers plenty of bang for your buck in terms of features, but some points will remind you that this is not a German sport luxury car. The Sonata would be almost perfect if not for the "very firm suspension", the wheel noise and the very low front passenger seat, which are reminders of the progress still to be made by Hyundai. Those points put aside however, the Sonata in its "turbo limited" trim leaves the other family sedans in the dust, literally!


Rate this review:
1
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Mar 25, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Hyundai Sonata?
Everything (too many things to list individually).

Paddle shifters on my SE 2.4L are a great feature for those of us who like to "race" the car on certain occasions.

Dual exhaust tips and 18" rims, just sweet.

It's hard to drive this car slow, because engine is usually around 2000 rpm (it's quiet) even if you are going 60mph. It accelerates effortlessly and quickly all the way to its top speed (over 130).

Easy to drive on highway, easy to drive in city.

Turning radius of 35.5ft for this size of car, OUTSTANDING!

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Hyundai Sonata?
Make it optional to have a factory deck-lid or lip-mount spoiler.

Include heated seats in the SE model.

2011 Hyundai Sonata Review:
For everyone saying that fuel economy is bad, try hitting the reset button (after fill-up) on the steering wheel under the "Average MPG" menu and for that fuel tank drive it mixed city/highway. The car remembers your driving style, therefore you need to reset it after you fill-up and try changing your driving style and you should see a better fuel economy.

I'm really amazed how much this car is improved vs. the previous generation Sonata. If you want to hustle the car into corners, it does extremely well for its size.

And to all Sonata owners, if going in reverse is difficult in terms of judging how far you are from a car or wall, I recommend installing a simple OEM lip-mount spoiler. Numerous are available, just Google it. It makes parallel parking a breeze and it also contours nicely with the Sonata's body. A lot of compliments received for that.

Absolutely love my Sonata SE and I wish all other owners satisfied years of ownership.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 30, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Hyundai Sonata?
Great Price. Got the car for 13,500 with 22,000 miles on it.
Power Train AND Bumper to Bumper warranties carried over.

Good gas mileage.

Wasn't even considering a Hyundai when I was looking because I though they were pieces of junk, but after I test drove and negotiated the price for 10 hours I bought it. Apparently Hyundai redesigned everything after 2002 when they realized their cars sucked and they did a good job.

Got the pearl white color, which I LOVE.

Interior space is utilized VERY well. Same size bumper to bumper as my 04 Monte Carlo but Sonata is much more comfortable.

Quite a bit of power for a 4 cyl.

I like the ABS and ESC.

Best car for the price. Forget Honda and Toyota.

Oil change isn't needed for 7,000 miles.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Hyundai Sonata?
Suspension a little tight.

I don't like that I have to push a button to open the gas tank. It's right next to the trunk button and I get them confused. It sounds like I'm lazy but it gets really irritating.

Not enough console space. I'm always yelling at my boyfriend for not leaving me any room in the cup holders.

2009 Hyundai Sonata Review:
Really the best car for what I spent. I will never buy an American car again. I am absolutely in love with the way this car looks. Only I wish I had a sun roof. :(


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 16, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Hyundai Sonata?
Very smooth, quiet ride.

I wasn't even considering Hyundai when I first started looking, but wound up buying the Sonata this weekend. I took a road trip yesterday and, according to the trip computer, I was getting 34mpg (albeit that was going 50-55mph on the highway since it's still in the break-in period).

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Hyundai Sonata?
The stereo isn't quite as nice as I had first thought it would be. Don't get me wrong - it has crisp sound but the bass can be a little muddled and the middle obscured (of course, you can play around with the EQ a little and make it sound somewhat better).

Also, it isn't something they'll tell you at the dealership but the iPod control only works if you put it in disk mode and name the folders yourself. It will play the music in regular mode, but the car display defaults to the file name and the iPod stores the mp3s in random folders with random 4-letter filenames (I have an older iPod, so this could have changed).

Also the dual-climate sounds like a nice feature but in reality it doesn't work so well because there is only one main AC fan, so if the temperatures differ by more than a couple degrees one or both people get a lot of unnecessary airflow in their face.

2009 Hyundai Sonata Review:
Overall, a very nice car with an incredible deal. I was able to talk them down to $22k (list price is around $26500, and the only rebate listed is $1500).


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 25, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Hyundai Sonata?
I have owned this car for a little over a year now. Bought used from a dealer in Fairfield Ohio and thus far as with the last Hyundai I owned (Accent), it has proven to be a very reliable car.

Perfect for road trips and family vacations. The 4Cylinder is plenty powerful enough and gets great mileage on long trips. Have gotten as high as 37mpg. Made several trips from Cincinnati to Indianapolis and back and Once I got back to Cincinnati I barely used 1/2 a tank.

It's very quiet riding and smooth. 4 speed transmission sometimes forgets to shift, but thanks to the shifttronic,I can make it shift if need be.

Hyundai has been very reliable for me thus far and I look forward to my next purchase when the time comes.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Hyundai Sonata?
A 5 speed auto would have been nice for this configuration.

Could ask for better combined city/ highway fuel mileage.

2008 Hyundai Sonata Review:
Great car for the money. Beats the pants off of Honda hands down. I have no reason to think of buying another car other than Hyundai as long as they continue their quality and reasonable prices.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 27, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Hyundai Sonata?
The stylish look, the interior is decent.
Roomy.
Nice console storage.
Decent sound system.
Love the look of the odometer.
Still riding on somewhat a full tank of gas..but then again I don't do a lot of driving.

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Hyundai Sonata?
Need power seats in the GLS; having to hand pump your seat to raise height on the driverside is quite embarrassing and low quality for a not so cheap car feels like the handle will eventually break if used too often (plastic). Also raise the low passenger seat..

The transmission is somewhat noisy and if you are going around 20-35 mph, you can feel the downshifting very well, almost feels like you are gliding and accelerating when coming to a stop somewhat scary. Takes some getting used to. Salesman said it's a shifter problem but I think it's the transmission. Said to me to bring it in if it continues.

Add floor mats, that should come standard they don't have to be high tech but something to cover the nice Sonata mats already added.

2011 Hyundai Sonata Review:
Overall I like my car. I have had it for almost a week. Wish I had that in love feeling you should have when buying your first car. If they tweak some of the issues they have been having with these cars, I would definitely upgrade to a better trim. Dealer also kind of tricked me into getting the extended warranty which I will be revoking. I may not keep this car more than 5 years as expected. If I don't get used to the downshifting.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 27, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Hyundai Sonata?
I've only driven my 2011 Sonata Limited a little over 1000 kms. (620 miles) but am extremely impressed.

I rated the interior a 5 and, except for the low passenger seat, that is true. Driver's seat is amazing for my 6'3 height. A power passenger seat is not necessary, set it to suit my wife and only adjust it for another passenger if necessary. In fact, adjusting a power seat for legroom is slow but a manual seat moves quickly. The manual seat back adjustment is fine.

The Navigation GPS vocal instructions are sometimes difficult to interpret, maybe something to do with our Canadian highway signage but after a while, I have learned to make sense out of it.

I have had a bit of a problem downloading my "Contacts" from my cellular phone through the car's Bluetooth system, but this is probably more of a function of my being 75 and technically challenged on some issues.

Over all, love the car, the exterior design is a masterpiece. If I am still around when the odometer turns over 200,000 kms., I'll really know how good a car this is.

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Hyundai Sonata?
Really only the passenger seat issue and that's not the end of the world, a driver's seat adjustment memory would be nice and I'm sure that will be in the 2013 Model.

I found the Dealer's Business Manager a bit too aggressive, selling a 75 year old an 8 year Extended Warranty package does not make sense but I could have refused, thought maybe one of my children will end up with the car.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 25, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:3
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Hyundai Sonata?
I purchased the 4 cylinder engine and am surprised at the power in this engine. I was passing another car and my car was able to get to 85 mph very quickly.

The gas mileage on a long trip of nearly 3000 miles was 32.3 miles per gallon.

I was able to purchase this car when it was about 22 months old for about 55% of its original price.

The car has some "extra" that are very nice such as 4 wheel disc brakes, ABS, and ESC.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Hyundai Sonata?
The cruise control makes the transmission shift down a gear or two on hills that thus the engine goes to about 3000 rpm.

I wished I had purchased electric seats and seats with more cushion.

The tire pressure regulator light goes on in cold weather and the tires still had 28.5 pounds of pressure. You need to keep the tires at 32 pounds of pressure to keep the light off.

The keys rub the lower part of the dash.

The ride on many roads is rougher that I wished it was.

2009 Hyundai Sonata Review:
Good car for the money. Great gas mileage. Rough ride.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 27, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Hyundai Sonata?
Quality of workmanship with interior (fit and finish).
Good balance with ride and road feel (not too stiff not too soft).
Nav/stereo upgrade is worth money.
Looks like a car costing $10k more.
Center console cubbies have rubber bottoms so items don't slide around.
Easy access to ipod hook-up.
Great gas mileage on freeway.
Lumbar in driver's seat is a very nice addition.
Is very quiet on smooth surfaces.
One can feel the interior quality compared to the newer Camrys.

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Hyundai Sonata?
Gas mileage goes down quickly when city driving.
Someone missed the cheap plastic on doors around window controls.
No power seat option for passenger.
Would be GREAT IF the GLS had the SE seats.

2011 Hyundai Sonata Review:
When sitting in the 2011 Sonata, one can quickly see that attention was paid to detail in workmanship along with where everything was placed.

So, with a quality interior, sharp exterior design, good balanced ride and very nice power/mpg ratio, one is only left with crossed fingers in hopes this very attractive car is able to rack up the miles with a reliable engine--like one can expect when purchasing an Accord; if it can, then we have a winner. Time will tell.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 9 Reviews
Select Hyundai Sonata Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2013 Hyundai Sonata?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Hyundai Sonata? Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Hyundai Sonata? 2013 Hyundai Sonata Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2013 Hyundai Model Lineup:
2013 Accent
2013 Azera
2013 Elantra
2013 Equus
2013 Genesis
2013 Genesis Coupe
2013 Santa Fe
2013 Sonata
2013 Tucson
2013 Veloster
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2013 Hyundai Sonata | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact