Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Hyundai Santa Fe Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2013 Hyundai Santa Fe

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Sport Utility Vehicle
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 6
MPG: 18-20/24-24 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.4L I4 190HP
2.0L I4 264HP
3.3L V6 290HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 10 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Best Pick ?Consumers rated 2013 Hyundai Santa Fe in the top 5% of 2013 model year vehicles.
Rank:
95%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2013 Hyundai Santa Fe in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2013 Hyundai Santa Fe also consider:
Submitted May 19, 2013

Michael
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Hyundai Santa Fe?
Exterior Look and Internal Blue LED console.
The 2.0T engine is very smooth for a turbo.
No real power grab right or left.
Quick acceleration.
Falling a little short in mpg compared to competition but not sure competition has the same power level. I know the thrifty in thirst of CX-5 - still lacked the umph but delivered huge mpg and really should not be compared to the Santa Fe, which is much more sizable in comfort level.

Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Hyundai Santa Fe?
A bit disappointed compared to the Sorento, Korean made auto, and others in certain features that were lacking in my fully loaded Santa Fe. For example, no power lift gate like Sorento and Escape, no blind spot detection like almost everyone including lesser priced CX-5 Mazda. CX-5 even gave the auto brake detection on their model. Not saying Santa Fe needed to go all that route but really Blind Spot detection or BLISS as known should have been standard in my 7K of option packages.
Oh, and really, sun shades as an option for back seating area as part of the most expensive package option to get for your kid in the back seat, really!! It should have been standard or in a basic upgrade package not in the last package you could purchase, so it is all or your kids iPad can't be seen in the back seat.


Rate this review:
1
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 9, 2014
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Hyundai Santa Fe?
Nice design, exterior and interior. Comfortable. Nice options

Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Hyundai Santa Fe?
More reliable engine, 2.0T model, fix known emission issues. Better sound system, radio and interfaces are good, just speakers could be better

2013 Hyundai Santa Fe Review:
My SF developed an engine knock within 2 weeks. Tech said it was normal noise for GDI engines. 2 weeks later I brought it back with audio recording as the knocking noise is not normal and there have been numerous reported engine failures with same symptoms. Also random emission codes thrown to which a TSB has been issued to fix, but not all dealers are aware and thus not fixed. So have to live with fault emmissions/codes on brand new vehicle that I have owned for one month.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 6, 2009

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Hyundai Santa Fe?
Very comfortable to drive,
Excellent handling in traffic, braking very positive,
ESC saved the vehicle and me this past winter when traction was lost on a hill and curve in bad conditions,
Excellent Audio entertainment system, I like the touch screen.
Heated Seats very good,
Select shift used regularly, quality materials used on interior,
Outstanding fit and finish,
Tight body without squeaks or rattles,
Good visibility, except directly behind and below (a camera would solve this)
The quality for the money unsurpassed,
Good acceleration when needed,
Highway MPG at 24,
Headlight coverage good,
Smooth ride not fatiguing,
Audio and Cruise controls on Steering wheel easy to use,
I love the blue instrument and dash lighting, and as an aviator; it is better for your eyes.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Hyundai Santa Fe?
The GPS is inferior to other products in other automobiles.
Night lighting of GPS is unusable. Green and brown on Blue is horrible. Needs more detail and control. Note: I have had several discussions with
Relocate fog, ESC and 4WD switch to make it visible from drivers seat, Steering wheel gets in the way of vision.
Place lights in the outside rear view mirror controls on drivers armrest.
Offer the cooler machinery in the counsel that is offered in the Asian and European models. Die cut is already there below mat insert.
Have turn indicators in outside mirrors.
Seat position memory would be a nice addition.
Offer trailer hitch package without third seat.
Six or seven speed transmission,
Rear View Camera is a real need.
Power rear hatch option would be nice.
Offer 110 outlet without touring option.

2008 Hyundai Santa Fe Review:
I test drove, the Honda CRV, Acura RDX, Mazda CX7, Nissan Murano, Toyota Rav4 and Highlander, Saturn Vue, Ford Escape, PT Cruiser, Chevrolet HHR, Subaru Tribeca, Buick Enclave and the Hyundai Santa Fe.
Lb for lb and dollar for dollar I found the Santa Fe to be the SUV of choice for me. Some of the vehicles I tested were too small, (CRV, HHR, PT Cruiser). The Enclave and Toyota Hightlander were too large.
I liked the Mazda CX7 but at the time I was looking it required premium fuel. The Toyota Rav4 drove out the smoothest of all but the front seat bottom was way too short for a 6' male. The fit and finish along with lack of features made it no competition for the Hyundai. The Acura RDX with the electronic package ran about 6-8 thousand more in cost. It did have the most comfortable cockpit to me. I liked the electronics and the position of the wheel. The turbo charger really gave this vehicle the best performance. However, the sports like suspension transmitted every road bump and hole righ up my back. As a spine surgery patient, I could not tolorate that. It also required premium fuel. I delayed my purchase a long time because, I was leaning toward the RDX. The Mazda was very impressive, particularly since they redesigned the nose after the 2007 boondoggle.
It might have been close if I had the dealer compete for the sale.
The Ford escape really disappointed me. When I was test driving it, the temperatures were in the 90's and the sun was beating down. Naturally, I had the air conditioner on. I noted that the engine did not quit at stop signs. Then I learned that Ford uses an engine driven compressor and therefore the engine must be running whenever you use the airconditoner. So much for high mpg and the advantage of a hybrid. The Escape also had no assist straps anywhere in the vehicle and I had the top trim line. The interiro did not come close to the Santa Fe. It was less roomy and there was alot of road noise. Also the Atkins gas engine was geared very low so there was engine whine at highway speed.
I have owned my Santa Fe for a year now. I have grown to apprecitate it more each time I drive it.
I would recommend it to anyone. The critique list I provided is not something to take litely. I have compiled it over the past year of owning a Santa Fe.

Here is one really important ownership tip. The Paint used by Hyundai is from PPG.
I had the unfortunate experience of having my rear tailgate keyed when it only had 300 miles on it.
I took it to the best body shop I could find. They used Glaserit paint which is used by Mercedes and Porche. Unfortunately, as hard as they tried they could not match my Deepwater (Midnight*) blue.
Unhappy with the result they agreed with me to use PPG paint to do it over. I told them to wait until I got back to them.
I contacted Hyundai and they were very helpful. I ended up getting the PPG formula from the factory and it matched perfectly. Here is the answer to so what? The painter at the shop asked me where I got my formula because it matched perfectly yet the formula he got from PPG for my car did not match. So, word to the wise. Use a Hyundai provided formula if you cant in the event you need to have your Hyundai painted.

* Midnight Blue wa used instead of Deepwater Blue by the Hyundai Plant.

Chuck Velte


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Aug 8, 2013
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Hyundai Santa Fe?
Have owned it for a year now, and I really enjoy the way it handles, the quiet, the power options and the 6 disc cd in the dash.

It has a 200 watt power amp and infinity sound system that sounds great when set-up properly.

Auto temp control and heated seats are nice in winter.

Gas mileage is close to 28.5 for hwy. and about 18 around town. We have the 242 hp V-6.

Folding ear seats and a big hatch makes carrying large items a breeze.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Hyundai Santa Fe?
Vehicle rides pretty rough on all road irregularities, partly because of the 18 in. wheels on the LTD.

Front seats need a little more lower support if your over 6 feet tall.

Blue dash lights reflect on windshield and driver's window at night, takes a while to get used to not seeing them.

Power rear latch would have been nice.

2008 Hyundai Santa Fe Review:
Great value compared to the competition, plenty of room, open greenhouse for good visibility.

Sharp design looks like a BMW 5-Series SUV. Many people ask me what brand it is and if I like it, because they are admiring the looks and want one like it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 12, 2012

S.C.
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Hyundai Santa Fe?
Midsize SUV for the price of a compact car.
Fully equipped.
Decent V6 power, nice ride. Nothing special but OK.
The looks are great, it is spacious and comfortable.
Comes very well equipped for a GL, w/passive and active safety gadgets std.
Built quality is improved and rivals other Japanese vehicles.

Finally, THE PRICE !!!!
Either they are not making money on these cars or the other competitors make too much...
That is why it is a great value.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Hyundai Santa Fe?
- The fuel economy is not great, for sure...needs improvement, but somewhat decent considering that is is not a compact SUV, but MIDSIZE. (Not the same size, interior space and weight as Ford Escape, Nissan Rogue or RAV4, even though they list these as its direct competitors).
- MP3 radio USB port!!!!
- I have had no experience with the dealerships or service centers yet (too soon) but I've heard very, very bad things from the reps here in Canada. Hope I don't have to deal with them soon...

I will publish and make public and scream and post and go to press if any warranties are not honored, you can take this to the bank-beware Hyundai dealers. - HYUNDAI, READ THIS.

- Rear coils are getting softer, front suspension is noisy, have heard of suspension problems before....
- Shiftronic shifter hard to get off park sometimes...

That's all, all other are irrelevant, who cares about the dash lights? You should be looking at the road... cheap faux wood? Chop down a tree and replace it if you want...

2007 Hyundai Santa Fe Review:
Good SUV, good ride, spacious, could use better fuel economy, specially with upcoming fuel prices... I bet the next 2012 model will...
Built quality nears Japanese.
The price is GREAT !!! By far the most important aspect of it all (if it increases for the 2012 model then the game changes)- HYUNDAI, READ THIS.
The first time a Corolla guy can afford a fully loaded, good quality, decent size, great looking SUV.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 3, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Hyundai Santa Fe?
Exterior looks great, interior has good space for adults.

Stereo and blue tooth are convenient; easy to operate, good sound.

Good gas. mileage considering the size and weight of the Santa Fe.

I had driven it on high ways and performs well. The six speed transmission also helps.

Besides and if compared to other similar vehicles, the purchase price is also good. This together with the warranty, can not be beaten.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Hyundai Santa Fe?
They need to design better cover seats; because of the side airbags, the cover seats I bought move too much.

The center console seems to be very close to the drivers right arm, when it is opened.

I would give it a wider rear view mirror as the head rests are sometimes in the way.

2010 Hyundai Santa Fe Review:
I drove Hondas for several years; my most recent was a 2005 CRV; however once my daughter purchased a 2009 Santa Fe and I drove it I liked and started looking for one for myself.

If you like style, space, nice interior, nice interior lights, good mileage and very good warranty, this should be your car.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 22, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Hyundai Santa Fe?
* Excellent value for the money.
* Well-built all the way around; hardly anything looks or feels "cheap".
* Interior deceptively roomy.
* Interior and dash lighting is unique.
* 2009 GLS came with 185 HP V-6 (newer base models are V-4).

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Hyundai Santa Fe?
* Make 17-inch wheels standard, instead of 16-inch, on the base GLS trim.
* Cargo area cover, liner, and netting should be readily available as an option.
* Rear cup holders should be based in center console, not center seat.
* Like the other reviewers, I feel a better set of starter tires would be a plus.

2009 Hyundai Santa Fe Review:
I just purchased a used 2009 Hyundai Santa Fe, GLS trim, AWD. It replaced a 2001 Nissan xTerra. The xTerra was more rugged, no question. But anyone looking to four-wheel-it shouldn't consider a Santa Fe in any case.

The Santa Fe does provide a smooth ride and the all wheel drive is great.

The power is adequate - I'm not drag racing - and the fuel efficiency is better than the xTerra's was (even though the Santa Fe has the same room and the same-size engine).

It is a well-designed and refined vehicle, especially for the price.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 24, 2010

Charles A Spencer185
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Hyundai Santa Fe?
My Santa Fe seems to be well built and sturdy.

I like the 3.3 ltr. engine - it is plenty powerful enough. Sometimes you need to be able to move a bit more quickly when merging on the interstate, or some other traffic situations.

The instrumentation panel is well laid out and has a pleasant glow to it at night.

Also,there is plenty of cargo space with seats folded down, not planning on hauling everything I own with me.

The reclining rear seats are nice as well.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Hyundai Santa Fe?
GAS CONSUMPTION!!! I list this first and probably foremost because the mileage is poor. Although, it's about average with other SUV'S of comparable size.

I would also use a higher quality tire on this vehicle.

I believe that accessories like a bra for the front bumper and other things need to be readily available as well.

2009 Hyundai Santa Fe Review:
I like my vehicle very much. Just hope that the quality is there for the long haul. This is my first Hyundai product so there is no track record for me to go by. Other people I have talked to, and reviews online say that Hyundai products are pretty reliable.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 26, 2010
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Hyundai Santa Fe?
In no particular order:
a. Great value when compared to competition, concerning features/options.
b. Very good exterior design, though other models are as good or better.
c. Our favorite interior of the SUV's that we considered.
d. Roomy enough.
e. Comfortable seats.
f. The best sounding stereo system of the SUV's that we considered.
g. Smooth ride.
h. Good gas mileage.
i. Excellent warranty.
j. "Black Forest Green" is a beautiful color.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Hyundai Santa Fe?
The 4 cylinder engine does not make for a sporty ride.

2010 Hyundai Santa Fe Review:
My wife and I looked at and test drove a few crossovers/small SUV's in the low $20k's before buying the 2010 Santa Fe. The contenders were: 2010 Hyundai Tucson, 2010 Chevy Equinox, a used Hyundai Veracruz, and a used Nissan Murano.

The Hyundai Tucson: Pros: Gas Mileage / Excellent styling; Con: Cramped

Chevy Equinox: Pros: Excellent exterior styling, roomier; Cons: Highly trendy interior, 'okay' ride, a few grand more in price

Used Hyundai Veracruz: Pros: Nice exterior styling, roomy; Cons: Gas mileage, 'okay' interior styling

Used Nissan Murano: Cons: Most models in this price range had many miles, and are the outdated 2008- models

2010 SANTA FE: Pros: Nice exterior styling, our favorite interior of all, roomy enough, good gas mileage, the best stereo system of the contenders, great price, the color of ours, "Black Forest Green," is one of the classiest vehicle colors I've ever seen, comfortable seats, smooth enough ride; Cons: Not great acceleration, but we gladly traded that for M'sPG

We bought this vehicle recently, so we don't have any reliability comments. However, Hyundai offers an excellent warranty, and we bought the extended warranty for $1,400, covering even the radio up to 120,000 miles on the vehicle.

We wear big cheesy grins every time we take it for a ride!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 13, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Hyundai Santa Fe?
Side profile nice.
Front profile soft, lady like.
Rear profile large, for a good reason; get rid of the back hatch handle, tuck it away.
3.3 V-6 built on the Sonata frame, good. I own a 2006 Sonata, with 3.3 V-6, and the power to weight difference is too much in a 4 season climate.
Too much power for the front end. I bought the SE front wheel drive because I couldn't justify the AWD that didn't prove to be a $2500 upgrade. I live with 4-5 months of snow.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Hyundai Santa Fe?
A more powerful grille design.
Accessories: Front Grille. Side running step bars. Wheel well flares or mud guards.
5000 in rebate...LOL
Two piece bathing suit delivery! (Without the family present)

2009 Hyundai Santa Fe Review:
This vehicle is not for the off road minded mud flippers. It does give you a piece of mind to drive from "A" to "B" under unusual STREET conditions. Snow. If you seek something to get you from point "A" to point "B" comfortably, safely, and keep you're hard earned dollars off the emblem on the front of your hood; buy one and take the family on an awesome vacation, like I'm doing this year.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Hyundai Santa Fe Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2013 Hyundai Santa Fe?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Hyundai Santa Fe? Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Hyundai Santa Fe? 2013 Hyundai Santa Fe Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2013 Hyundai Model Lineup:
2013 Accent
2013 Azera
2013 Elantra
2013 Equus
2013 Genesis
2013 Genesis Coupe
2013 Santa Fe
2013 Sonata
2013 Tucson
2013 Veloster
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2013 Hyundai Santa Fe | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact