Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Hyundai Elantra Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2013 Hyundai Elantra

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Compact Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 6
MPG: 26-28/37-38 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
1.8L I4 148HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 8 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Best Pick ?Consumers rated 2013 Hyundai Elantra in the top 7% of 2013 model year vehicles.
Rank:
93%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2013 Hyundai Elantra in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2013 Hyundai Elantra also consider:
Submitted Feb 2, 2013

gaston
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Hyundai Elantra?
We just purchase a 2013 Elantra.
Excellent little car.
Very comfortable to drive and handles very well on the road.

Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Hyundai Elantra?
The only thing that we don't like would be it has many blind spots when driven in a city.

2013 Hyundai Elantra Review:
Overall fine car. Well equipped inside and easy to operate radio hand free cell ext.
The heated seats and sun roof are a plus in the GLS.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Jun 15, 2012
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Hyundai Elantra?
Tons of room for a compact car. It doesn't feel like I am driving a small car. There is plenty of space in the front, back, AND trunk. You'd be surprised how much stuff I fit in this car when I moved.

Gas mileage is amazing. I often go on 500-800 mile trips, and I have recorded on average 40.5 mpg. I get about 41-42 with A/C turned off, and 38-39 with it on.
Driving to/from work I get about 31-32 mpg (City).

I drive the GLS, and the audio is excellent. I recommend using ipod/mp3 player through the Aux input to fully utilize the sound system. No need for FM transmitter.

Interior looks great inside. It is stylish and easy to clean. Has useful random compartments below and above radio. Also has two cigarette lighter inputs which works great if trying to charge phone and GPS.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Hyundai Elantra?
The USB input is only fully functional for iPod/mp3 players if you buy the Hyundai specific cord that plugs into both USB and Aux at the same time. This cord will allow you to scroll though songs/folders using your car. The USB is great for charging your iPod but not great for listening to music. I can only listen to 2 songs using the USB, since I do not have their special cord. I bought a cheap USB converter that allows me to plug into the cigarette lighter. This way I can plug into both Aux and charge my iPod without the cord.

Exterior is not as stylish looking as other cars in its class. I remember looking at the fiesta and almost falling in love with it. Once I test drive the Elantra though, I forgot all about the tiny claustrophobic fiesta. The newer models look great though.

Sometimes makes a rattling noise when idle at a stop light. Can be fixed by switching to neutral, but the noise is normal.

2010 Hyundai Elantra Review:
This car is designed for comfort and economy. If you want speed/power/luxury, look somewhere else. The car can accelerate fast enough IF needed, but not this first. I see so many drivers out there accelerating so fast when the light turns green. Did you know that this burns up so much gas?? Look at how much higher my mpg is than what Hyundai lists this car at. If you are annoyed with gas prices and are one of those people(majority of people do this) who accelerate so fast, than you are an oxymoron! If you care so much about gas prices than stop burning up so much of it!

How I get better mpg::
I never accelerate past 3000 rpm, but try to keep it at 2,500. Very very rarely do I ever go past that. For anyone who thinks that is too slow, you are an impatient person, because I will just end up behind you at the next light. Speeding/accelerating (especially speeding) will rarely get you anywhere faster unless driving a long distance. Do the math and factor in street lights :)

If you drive this car and get bad mileage, then you are either in a high traffic area, or need to change how you are driving.

I love this car and have had it for 2 years now. I highly recommend it to anyone.


Rate this review:
1
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 16, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Hyundai Elantra?
Initially it was the exterior styling that grabbed me, but after getting a good look at it, the interior was hands down the best in its class.

I'm averaging about 36 mpg combined driving (highway driving could easily be 40+ mpg if you don't have a lead foot), so the gas mileage is fantastic!

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Hyundai Elantra?
The exterior/interior of the Limited (which I own) makes you think you are driving a much more expensive car - however, while greatly improved, the ride is not as soft as I'd like it to be, but still on par or better then most in this class.

2011 Hyundai Elantra Review:
I researched for over a month before buying this car. This is the first Hyundai I've owned and could not be more impressed.

I also liked the Focus but the Elantra Limited had a more appealing exterior and interior for less money.

If you don't at least consider this vehicle in your search then you are doing yourself a disservice. I was not a Hyundai fan going into this, but can honestly say that I fall in love with this car more each time I drive it.

Be sure to check out the Civic and Focus (I found the Corolla and VW to be very cheap inside) and then give this car a whirl.

If you like toys, then the premium package is worth it - but if you can live without navigation and push button start, you'll save $2,000 and still have a superior vehicle in its class.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 16, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Hyundai Elantra?
Everything.

I have sold cars for 27 yr. and recently retired-hooray!! I sold many and I do mean many, many over the years. American, Japanese, Korean, and last but not least, the car I sold for many years - the Volvo. In my 20's plus I was a VW Beetle guy. Still my favorite car.

I was totally in love with the Japanese cars. It was their reliability. Sold Nissan and Subaru. But after I started to sell Hyundai's, I was a believer. They are great, very dependable. I love dependable. I never thought I would say this, but they are ahead of Toyota. If I sold them and didn't feel this way, I would have bought something else. My info on there department came from my customers. They would be back for their second and third. One guy bought his 8th or 9th from me. A tough marine. He said, "I will never buy anything else."

The new look is awesome, and, by the way as a salesman, I leased the new 2011 Sonata LTD to my then fiance. If you can find one, please check it out and baby you will love those 40 mpg highway and 29 city. Good luck!

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Hyundai Elantra?
I am a pretty particular guy. But sitting here trying to think of a con., well, I just can't. So my hats are of to you Hyundai for another fine product. I am a huge believer in leasing. No, it is not for everyone. But I leased this with a $2000.00 trade and $800.00 from me. 36 mos/12,000 per yr./$total of 2800.00 down w/ trade. How about $198.72 per month and that inc. tax.

2011 Hyundai Elantra Review:
A true believer in your products, Hyundai. One problem you need to figure out as a former salesman - you bring out a great product and advertise it a lot, but the poor salesmen have no product to sell. You did that to us with the 2011 Sonata and Tucson. I got lucky. The car I got was THE only one on the lot but it was what I wanted. Yes I love it!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 9, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Hyundai Elantra?
So far, everything.
It came with a 10/100,000 warranty.
The seats are more comfortable than the 2006 Kia Spectra we traded in on it. There is a lot of leg and head room. The same can said for the back seats too. The trunk is huge for a car this size.
We are getting an average combined mileage of 29.8 MPG.
It has much less road noise than the Spectra EX had. It's quieter outside too.
The radio picks up stations we couldn't get before. We love the antenna, you need not remove it to go through a car wash.
The oil change is listed at 7500 mile intervals for the way we drive.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Hyundai Elantra?
I can't think of anything.

2010 Hyundai Elantra Review:
We bought this car on February 21, 2011. We bought it for the 10/100,000 warranty, and because we got $2500 cash back to help on the down payment. We had a 2006 Kia Spectra EX that had 92K trouble free miles on it. We liked our Spectra so much, we decided to either buy a Hyundai or another Kia.
I noticed two of the other reviews were poor. If you put what was stated together, you'll notice a trend.
1. Slow off the start - it has a 2.0L engine built for sensible driving, not hot rodding.
2. Bad fuel mileage - you get bad mileage when you do rabbit starts.
3. Bad over all drive - It is an economy car, not a sports car.

If I dogged a car, it wouldn't last for me either.

Our car is a GLS. It has appropriate take off for the engine it has. Our Spectra also had the 2.0L engine. They're not spectacular in performance, but they aren't supposed to be either. It gives an average combined 29.8 MPG. It's rated for an average combined 29 MPG. It gives a comfortable ride. If I wanted a sports car with sports car handling, I'd have bought one.
We got great service with our Spectra and will most likely get the same with the Elantra. Hyundai makes a good car. I'm seeing more of them all the time.

The dealership loaned me a 2011 Sonata Limited to drive because our car was at another dealership, and we had to wait until the next day for it to come in. If I could have afforded it, I would have bought the Sonata - wow. But, we like our Elantra and its payments just fine.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 16, 2012

Stef
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Hyundai Elantra?
Comfy, roomy, seat adjustments, good peripheral vision when driving, enough engine performance for my tastes.

Loving the look of the front end, looks stylish, a bit BMW like.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Hyundai Elantra?
Mine didn't come with rear end disk brakes, this is a feature I would have enjoyed cause disk brakes are a breeze to maintain when you do a bit of mechanics by yourself compared to drums.

I would have love the electric doors and windows but hey, can't have everything for such a low price tag.

2006 Hyundai Elantra Review:
I like this ride, think it's kinda stylish and behaves like a luxury car.

Smooth suspension, lots of adjustment for the driver seat, roomy car, roomy trunk, mine came with a Hyundai CD/mp3 player so it's just fine for my tastes, sounds decent when you tweak it a bit.

As far as performance goes, being 45, I have past the point where my testosterone meter gets the best of me and my hardcore street racing days being over (joking of course). I am not seeking engine performance as I used to, but that being said this little car can pack a serious punch if needed and I never felt unable to pass a car on the highway if needed so it's alright for me.

It's reliable, gets me from point A to B and the ride is comfy and classy, it's all I really ask In a car and my Elantra provides this and more.

So far, I'm loving it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 20, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Hyundai Elantra?
Style & comfort is important in a vehicle..This car has both.
Handling like a sports car...response is great...
Fuel economy excellent.
In short has all bells & whistles for the price.
Access to dashboard is easy and not complicated to operate... all functions at finger tips.

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Hyundai Elantra?
Even though the 1.8 liter is peppy and responds well. I think a 2.0 or 2.4 liter with turbo would be a plus as this is found in Sonata's & Genesis coupe.
Otherwise this car is great value for the buck.

2011 Hyundai Elantra Review:
In today's world of high gas prices ...if you are looking for a good economical car but don't want to loose comfort and performance...this is the car to have.... Easily fits any budget and won't break your wallet.

This is my fourth Hyundai my last was the Tucson... Going back to a car instead of a SUV. I thought I would not... but this car is incredible. It sold me straight away when I test drove it..

My Elantra is GLS model and for $2000 more, it's worth getting the GLS. You won't be disappointed.

Style /comfort /performance..

I tested Honda Civic, Toyota, Kia, Chevrolet etc...nothing as to price and equipment comes close to the Elantra for value.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 25, 2009

darren
Performance:4
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Hyundai Elantra?
So far I have 40000kms. Everyday driver and is working just fine.

Stereo is great and it makes very good sound.

Also as for parking downhill, you are supposed to put the parking brake on so you don't put all the strain on the transmission in any car......ooooohhhh and don't forget to turn your tires to the curb so you don't have issues such as rolling downhill the curb will stop you. I think they need better training courses for this so things won't happen as there happens to be some stupid people out there.

Also for those of you who drive at night there is a tab on your rear view mirror for a reason flip it and see what happens it does move towards the driver for a reason.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Hyundai Elantra?
The only thing I would do is put a better set of tires as I push this car to her limits when driving and have had one issue that I solved myself. I got a hole in the right front tire. Nothing serious just due to the way I drive this car if you drive normally you should not have these issues. And if this car puts up with what I dish-out than most people won't have a problem.

Seems to me the only problem with this car is the stupid people that drive it.

2009 Hyundai Elantra Review:
My overall review is that this is a good car and is actually pretty good on gas. As I get on average 700-800kms per tank and that is a mix of city and highway driving. And again I DO! drive this car very hard.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 20, 2010

Bryan89
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Hyundai Elantra?
Warranty.
Fuel economy.
Purchase price.
Durability.

Purchased new 8/'06, now have over 153k miles. Typically 27MPG, even 34MPG - over 500 miles per tank without a/c use (winter).

Interior still in great condition, exterior paint still very good. Everything still works as it should, except the windshield washer pump.

Still have roadside and have used it for running out of gas a couple times. Can go 50 - 70 miles once gas pump light comes on.

Cruise control holds steady on long, flat drives.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Hyundai Elantra?
Changing the timing belt every 60k miles is expensive.

There is a stink that re-occurs from time to time since new - cannot find the cause.

Could use a more powerful air-conditioner.

The buttons to control the sunroof are too close to the buttons for the overhead lights and should be back-lighted.

The speedometer reads slower than actual speed.

It could be a little bit quieter (road and wind noise).

2006 Hyundai Elantra Review:
Really a good car for the money. Not my favorite though - '88 Cougar, '96 Intrepid and '75 Monte Carlo were more to my liking for styling, power and space (everywhere).

Running the car out of gas, it'll take 17 gallons to fill. Loses fuel economy and power quickly with added weight of passengers or cargo.

Overall though I do like this car.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 27, 2014
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2014 Hyundai Elantra?
performance,i have the sport model with the 6-sp manual,features,looks

Cons: How would you improve your 2014 Hyundai Elantra?
tighten the steering on the sport model,add a trunk spoiler on the sport model

2014 Hyundai Elantra Review:
coming from a 2013 volvo convertible,i must say,what a nice suprise !!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Hyundai Elantra Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2013 Hyundai Elantra?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Hyundai Elantra? Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Hyundai Elantra? 2013 Hyundai Elantra Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2013 Hyundai Model Lineup:
2013 Accent
2013 Azera
2013 Elantra
2013 Equus
2013 Genesis
2013 Genesis Coupe
2013 Santa Fe
2013 Sonata
2013 Tucson
2013 Veloster
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2017 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2013 Hyundai Elantra | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact