Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Honda Pilot Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2013 Honda Pilot

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Sport Utility Vehicle
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 6
MPG: 17-18/24-25 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
3.5L V6 250HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 8 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2013 Honda Pilot in the top 38% of 2013 model year vehicles.
Rank:
62%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2013 Honda Pilot in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2013 Honda Pilot also consider:
Submitted Sep 8, 2015
Performance:2
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Honda Pilot?
Roomy for my three kids, plus the few that I ferry around, the middle row seats push forward for easy third row exiting. It's also decent with gas mileage, would've made a six hours trip with one tank except for the traffic stop in the mountains, filled up before that (yay for maps showing traffic). Turns on on a dime, too.

Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Honda Pilot?
The brakes issue, they are spongy and very slow to stop. And the car lurches so much, especially if you're driving on the tens. I'll have the cruise control on and it'll lurch like crazy to maintain speed...

Also, took a trip through the mountains and this car does not like altitude at all, it was a struggle to accelerate above 55, and at 60 would almost refuse to accelerate, so unless it's tubed for high altitudes, it's a pain.

2013 Honda Pilot Review:
It's a great vehicle to get you from A to B, and very roomy trunk space when the third row is down. Tons of hidden storage spaces in the back as well, but stuff is very loud when it's rolling around in them. Speaking of loud, 50+ creates a loud cabin noise that you can notice as soon as you slow down. Many whistles and bells, but overall I wish I'd had the opportunity to drive this vehicle more before buying it because I would've found something else, the drive is not smooth, the engine seems weak for the weight of the vehicle, and the time to stop is so much I end up pushing harder than I want, or slowing way before I should need to. The constant jerking of the vehicle is just too much to deal with!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 29, 2013
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

2013 Honda Pilot Review:
I have a 2013 Honda touring. It's a nice car in a good gas mileage on it but the biggest problem I've seen so far is it's too stiff on a long trip like 70 or 100 mile trip. And if You go 60 miles plus per hour, it has too much noise and the air start hurting, either you're in the backseat on the front seat. Don't buy it if you are going go more than 60 mph with windows down.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 21, 2013

Mark Collins
Performance:2
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Honda Pilot?
Roomy, decent mileage for it's size.

Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Honda Pilot?
Brakes- like the other reviewer noted, very soft pedal (very spongy at times), with excessive travel before engaging brakes.
Also tends to hunt for gear at times. This is pronounced when traveling through hilly terrain. Shifts can be rough to the point of lurching the car.

2013 Honda Pilot Review:
It's OK, but there are far better compatible vehicles in its category. The brakes are a reason to avoid this vehicle.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 18, 2013

mayer santer
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Honda Pilot?
Everything is very nice but only one thing.

Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Honda Pilot?
I would put in proper brakes for the size vehicle. I definitely would find out what is wrong with the brakes that give it a low pedal and spongy feel.

2013 Honda Pilot Review:
It would definitely be a great vehicle with good brakes.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 14, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Honda Pilot?
Space inside- my wife and I have had our Pilot for 2 years and we have two small children 4 and 2. We have had the two kids, in their seats with two other people plus ourselves, with the double stroller and snacks and never been uncomfortable. I'm a big guy (6'2") and I've folded the seats down to sleep in the back a couple times and been very comfortable.

DVD Entertainment system- wouldn't have another vehicle without one, we can listen to our music while our kids watch their movies with their head phones on, even on 20 minute rides it's so great to not hear "Mom, Dad? Mom, Dad" every two seconds, and for longer trips it's priceless.

Ride- firm ride, always feels comfortable and the AWD keeps you feeling safe in the winter.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Honda Pilot?
If I had to be really picky just to give anyone considering the vehicle the best possible review, I'd have to say the fact that there's no Aux port to plug in one's ipod really sucks sometimes; even though there's a 6 disc cd changer in dash it doesn't feel as convenient as plugging the ipod in.
The sound system for a vehicle in this price range is not as good as it should be. If you turn the music up even to three quarters the back speakers bass rattle's so bad (even when bass control is minimal) that you have to turn the radio down..

2006 Honda Pilot Review:
We've had the truck two years, used it a ton under every condition and with two small children and loads of family and friends, and my wife and I swear by this truck.

We just decided to sell it and we thought we would look around at other options. All of the cross overs are too small, all of the minivans lack the style that the Pilot helps us feel so as a result we just purchased the 2010 Pilot and we're stoked to get it.

Overall- can't go wrong with this truck.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 21, 2009
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Honda Pilot?
It's built as tough as a tank.
The VCM is a win especially for highway level cruising. I got an average fuel consumption of 9.4l /100KM going to London, and 8.2l/100KM coming to Toronto from London Ontario. The cruise was set at 100KM/hr both ways.
The breaks are very responsive. Big improvement over my previous 2006 Pilot.
The 4wd slippage response time seems to be faster than on 2006 Pilot.
The premium stereo is incredible.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Honda Pilot?
Put more sophisticated electronics like night infrared pedestrian detector. I am a hunter and up north I sometimes need to avoid deer/moose on the road.
Need a link to a local weather doppler radar. Maybe this can be done over the satellite link/cell.
Gear ratios are good during the start and over 60KM/hr. In between, during level cruising you can notice that the engine speed is too low for the gear ratio (sounds rougher), especially when the VCM is working. Need a 6 speed. I believe this would improve the city fuel consumption considerably.
There appears to be some kind of resin on the rear wheel wells. I believe this is some kind of protection against road stones as well as rust. I would use the 2003-2008 Pilot rubber weather strip. Rust will form under the resin, just like it did under all the resin around the front and rear doors of the 2003 Accord.
The ipod use does not allow for search via first letter, forcing one to scroll though hundreds and hundreds of song titles.

2010 Honda Pilot Review:
This is the best SUV in the auto industry today.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Dec 1, 2009

Phil571
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Honda Pilot?
Build quality.
Fuel efficiency for the size and weight of the vehicle.
Inside design and utilitarian layout.
Third-row seats.
Flat folding seats for camping trips. They become virtual beds.
Not a minivan.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Honda Pilot?
The only negative is that it's too heavy.

2010 Honda Pilot Review:
With growing family in mind, we looked at the minivans fist. Odyssey was our first choice, and Sienna and Town & Country.

A friend of mine then told me that the Pilot is basically the same "car" as the Odyssey. So I started researching.

Here are some of the comparison notes I had:
Pilot get about the same MPG as Odyssey.
Pilot doesn't have the sliding door, which can be the most convenient feature in hauling small kids around.
Pilot does have better ground clearance, which is a big plus for us, since we like going camping trips. We drive mostly on paved roads, but time to time, muddy and snowy roads can be a challenge for a minivan.
Pilot has the seats that fold COMPLETELY flat. We use this as beds, when we go hiking and the outside temperature gets too cold. Also moving boxes can be much easier with flat beds.

The only real complain I have is the overall weight of the Pilot. It goes same with Odyssey as well. The MPG is little too low for a Honda. Even with the cylinder management system, fuel efficiency is a problem. I am just hoping that the gas price does not spike up like before. I am sure Honda engineers can figure out a way to make same kind of SUV with much better gas mileage.

This is THE ideal family car for us. I am glad I bought it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 10, 2013

GUEST
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2012 Honda Pilot?
Great Blend of mpg economy and power.

Cons: How would you improve your 2012 Honda Pilot?
Install much more durable latch and cargo tie down covers as two of ours have been broken withing 6 months of owning the car. Or, offer a heavy rubber mat that can be placed to cover all 2nd and 3rd row seats back hardware.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 7, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Honda Pilot?
Has a real good ride.
I like the way it takes off - motor is quiet.
Have't notice anything about the oil.

2009 Honda Pilot Review:
Love it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 16, 2011
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Honda Pilot?
This is a great car for the money.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Honda Pilot Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2013 Honda Pilot?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Honda Pilot? Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Honda Pilot? 2013 Honda Pilot Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2013 Honda Model Lineup:
2013 Accord
2013 Accord Coupe
2013 Accord Crosstour
2013 Civic
2013 Civic Coupe
2013 Civic Hybrid
2013 Civic Si
2013 Civic Si Sedan
2013 CR-V
2013 CR-Z
2013 Fit
2013 Insight
2013 Odyssey
2013 Pilot
2013 Ridgeline
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2013 Honda Pilot | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact