Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Honda CR-Z Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011

2013 Honda CR-Z

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Compact Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 6
MPG: 31-36/38-39 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
1.5L I4 130HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 3 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2013 Honda CR-Z in the top 32% of 2013 model year vehicles.
Rank:
68%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2013 Honda CR-Z in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2013 Honda CR-Z also consider:
Submitted Jun 28, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Honda CR-Z?
I love the sporty look.
For a woman it handles fine, not too fast, not too slow.
The panel is informative and colorful.

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Honda CR-Z?
* Sunroof.
* "Handles" on both sides to help with getting in & out of car.
* Arm rests & center console should be standard.
* Drink holders are to far in on console (need to be relocated for easier use).
* Terrible blind spot when looking over left shoulder.
* Being 5ft tall the main mirror is really of know use to me. With the way the rear trunk is designed, it's difficult to see out the back. I would redesign it so there is no break. Also consider putting in a rear camera.
* The space where there should be seats is "dead space". It would be nice to have some kind of storage that is better configured. I put stuff in the seat area and it rolls around. Heck put 2 seats back there.
* The seats should have pockets on the back for storage.

2011 Honda CR-Z Review:
Love the car regardless. :)


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Nov 4, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Honda CR-Z?
The interior and dash is so 21st century. The blue lighting outshines my 2008 Mustang pony package.

The ground effects are so cool.

After two months of driving my city mileage is over 34. Highway over 37.

The stereo is rated good my Mustang stereo is super.

All my neighbors look at it in the cool blue and I notice everyone looking at as I stop in traffic.

After driving my traded 2008 Honda Civic EX for two years I feel I moved up to a higher level car with good gas mileage.

It's not a 350 ZX, had one, but if you're green and love the blue lights inside the doors, you'll love a CRZ EX.

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Honda CR-Z?
Add more horsepower. It could be a pocket rocket. Take off some weight and you're in the Fast and Furious movie area.

Bad news my daughter will be home from college with her 2010 Insight and I guess I won't be seeing the CRZ very much.

2011 Honda CR-Z Review:
I buy 3 new cars every year. We have a 2010 Nissan Pathfinder, super truck, 2009 Toyota Prius, boring, 2008 Mustang, pony package, super car, my daughter 2010 Insight and my CRZ. We love the Japanese products. My PT Convertible Cruiser was just so inferior, as many other American products.

My CRZ is like my 2006 Miata, head turner and just cool. And most of all, it's a Honda, great driving for many years and good trade value. Everyone wants a used Honda but not a used Ford. Five years from now the CRZ will still look fresh while the other companies are still catching up.

Sorry Nissan my Maxima, 2010 was just too plain and caught nobody's eyes.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 20, 2010

ANN936
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Honda CR-Z?
- Great exterior styling (you'll ask yourself is it a sports car or a hybrid?).
- 3 modes of performance to choose from.
- 6-speed manual transmission is easy and fun to drive.
- Nice throwback to the CRX.
- Engine "shuts down" when the car is idle - pretty cool!

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Honda CR-Z?
It would have been nice if it had a back seat.
I have the EX and wish it had a little more bells and whistles.

2011 Honda CR-Z Review:
It is exactly what it's advertised as - a sporty HYBRID car; don't expect it to perform like a Porsche.

I like that you could shift between 3 modes of performance - ECO, NORMAL, and SPORT. You can feel the difference switching between ECO and SPORT, but it's nice to be able to save tons of money on gas on ECO and then have the option to switch over to SPORT for a bit more driving fun on the freeway.

Was looking for a hybrid and thought I'd end up with one that has that typical hybrid shape but was pleasantly surprised to find the CR-Z. Sweet sporty styling for a hybrid car. Handles great with the reliability of a Honda.

Very pleased.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 31, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Honda CR-Z?
Have only driven my new CR-Z 250 miles, but so far very happy!

Driving in ECON is fine and getting 39 mpg and driving in SPORT is awesome... it Rocks! Suspension and steering is tightened (although I don't know how they do this) and power is increased greatly.

When in SPORT, I feel like I'm driving a Porsche or possibly a Mustang, but with much greater handling.

Controls for Radio and CD on steering wheel is great. Engine shutting down when stopping at Red Lights is cool! I've got "bragging rights" with this car!

Dash board panel is great with all the feedback and info you get i.e. is engine charging battery or drawing power from battery. Fuel economy printout is also cool.

Best part is starting the engine and choosing between 3 driving modes: Normal - good power and fuel economy, ECON - slightly less power and great Fuel economy, SPORT - Lots of Power and less fuel economy!

Audio system is very good!

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Honda CR-Z?
Could have normal headlamps that aren't expensive to replace.

Could have LED running lights in front and back to make car noticeable to other drivers.

Raise front and back 2", it rides pretty low.

Battery in rear is awfully heavy, when driving over a set of bumps, it feels like I have a 1000 lbs of bricks in the trunk.

2011 Honda CR-Z Review:
So far, very happy.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 20, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Honda CR-Z?
Cool looks.
Love the 3 modes and the dash, it's like playing a video game.
LOVE the hill assist.
Love the bar across the back, it blocks suv headlights.
Heated mirrors.
Hid headlamps.
Fog lights.

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Honda CR-Z?
Sunroof.
Heated seats.
Rain sensing windshield wipers.
Blind spots on both sides.
Doors are too wide, hard to get out of without hitting the next car.
Grabbing the seatbelt is way too far back.
Make it a 4 seater, at least put seatbelts back there.
Windshield wiper for the rear window down below.

2011 Honda CR-Z Review:
I traded in my 2003 mini cooper s for a 2012 cr-z ex. There's a lot that I miss from my mini as you can see from my cons list. It will be taking some getting used to.
The cr-z is a different driving style. Now I'm in gas saving mode vs sport mode. I think I will eventually fall in love with the car. Just give me some time!


Rate this review:
1
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 1, 2011
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Honda CR-Z?
Sporty look both interior and exterior.
Great sound system (EX model) 360 watt system with sub woofer.
Great handsfree link technology.
Great dashboard with gas efficient technology and 3d speedometer.
Has three driving modes....Sport, Normal and Econ.
Sport mode changes both the throttle response as well as steering gets tighter and gives more direct feedback.
Really fun to drive.
Maintenance is very reasonable and typically does not cost more to maintenance then a standard Civic.

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Honda CR-Z?
Overall this car is great....would like to see if advancements in technology can accomplish the same gas mileage options, while improving the sport option so that it has more horsepower....in the 200 range would really be a formidable accomplishment....then it would be truly a sports car and not just sporty looking.

2011 Honda CR-Z Review:
I am a huge fan of this car. I really like the way it looks both inside and out and is a great alternative to the Prius and other less attractive hybrids.

The dashboard gives an array of information that is very easily accessible, giving the driver a real opportunity to truly have control over gas consumption. It provides information like average gas mileage based on real time date, your average speed, saves historical data regarding mileage on last three driving sessions, and tells you when you are accelerating inefficiently or braking to hard. I especially like the oil life meter which monitors the condition of the oil and tells you when it is time to change it. No more annoying stickers in the window.

The other thing that is really great is that the maintenance on this car is really easy to keep up with, as essentially it is a Honda Civic with some really cool technological enhancements. Although the car looks like it is from the future when you get inside it, it still takes regular gas, does not require synthetic oil, has four spark plugs that are easily accessible, and regular tires...not sport tires that cost 185 to 245 bucks a peace like the car I traded (Chrysler Crossfire). I am already seeing a tremendous savings in gas and maintenance.

I have the manual shift so I don't get quite as good mileage as the automatic with the paddle shifters, as I don't shift at the lower RPMs that the automatics do, but I still get about 32 city and 38 highway. I am still working through how I can train myself to drive more efficiently (a fun challenge). However, just keeping the car in normal mode and driving it with moderate aggression should produce comparable results in mileage.

I will say that if you are looking for a competitive sports car...this is not it.....let's face it though....that is not really the purpose of this car. It is a hybrid that blends the fun of driving a sporty looking, fair performing car (122 horses), with the efficiency of a typical hybrid. It's not a Volkswagon GTI or an R32 so if you are thinking that the sport mode will produce similar results this is not the car for you. Don't expect to win any 0-60 races...but it is truly fun to drive and gets a lot of attention.

You will be winning the contest of the least amount of trips to the gas pump. Moreover, it has about a 10 gallon tank and even with gas prices at about 3.79 I spend an average of $33 to $35 dollars to fill this car and get a range of about 380 miles to the tank.

Some other really cool things that you may not expect is that on the EX version you get the HID lights, a 360 watt audio system with sub woofer (sounds awesome), a dongle that allows you to access and control and Ipod (old and new generations), Iphone/Itouch (old and new generations), flash drive, and other standard MP3 players. The car also has a very cool handsfree system that talks and accesses a paired phone. You can tell it to call some one practically in free speech as long as you don't have a ton of ambient noise it works really well. It also has a pretty robust tutorial regarding the handsfree functions where the care actually speaks and tells you how to use its functions.

If you would like a smart car that still says "I am cool", I would seriously consider this over other hybrids. It is great looking in and out and is a great blend of practical and cool.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 10, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Honda CR-Z?
It's a hybrid with some choices - Eco/Norm/Sport.

Good styling queues. Not for everyone but I like it.

Traded in my 07 Civic Ex Hybrid with NAVI and a full HFP package including 18" HFP rims.

Picked up the CR-Z EX with NAVI, 17" rims and all the extras. I like it for what it is.

Drove a full tank of gas in Eco and got 47MPG without trying to hard. In Sport got about 32 on a full tank.

Engine cutoff at a stop is a good thing. How much gas do millions of vehicles waste waiting for the green light?

Interior is to my liking. But, I am a 150K a year empty nester. Think I put passengers in my back seats in the Civic once or twice a year. Wife has the big car.

I like the CR-Z for what it is. A somewhat sporty hybrid.

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Honda CR-Z?
More adjustable seats.

Arm rest should be standard.

Does have a blind spot which takes a little getting used to. A couple of initial close calls when merging to the left.

2011 Honda CR-Z Review:
It is what it advertises. If you have driven a Honda Civic hybrid or other hybrids, it can be classified as a Sport Hybrid. If you compare it to a 200+ HP Sports car, you will be disappointed.

I like it for what it is - A somewhat sporty Hybrid.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 13, 2015

zevvalen
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Honda CR-Z?
The three modes it has for driving. I like the gas mileage and the size of the trunk. I like the shift assist and the stock stereo system. I love the control I have when driving it. I love the hands-free system in the car as well. The autostop that does save some gas.

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Honda CR-Z?
Would add seats belts for just in case in the back.
There are 2 huge blind spots that made looking back almost pointless and even hindering. Which knocks down 1 star from the performance.
Needs backup sensors.
Could use a Sun roof for fun.

2011 Honda CR-Z Review:
Great car. I hate the blind spot but it is barely workable. It drives great. I would get cr-z with cvt next if I could. I would recommend it because of the ease and fun of driving it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 7, 2014
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Honda CR-Z?
Awesome gas mileage, I average about 43mpg. FUN to drive. Reliable: not one single problem in over 50k miles. Handles well.
I like the hatchback much more than a trunk. Hold A LOT of cargo for it's size.

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Honda CR-Z?
More plush interior; the seats need a little more oomph. Power seat controls would be nice. I can do without heated seats myself.
Optional rear seat.

2011 Honda CR-Z Review:
I love this car. I have no regrets buying it. The people who whine about blind spots don't know how to use their mirrors or turn their heads.
My only real complaint is I wish they'd seat had more padding. I have a 3rd party car seat cushion, but my wife did NOT want one for the passenger side.
I wouldn't mind having a real rear seat, however small it would be, but I modified a cushion for my dog to sit in back.
Whenever I finally buy a new car, I am sure I will check to see if they are still making CR-Zs


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 9 Reviews
Select Honda CR-Z Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2013 Honda CR-Z?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Honda CR-Z? Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Honda CR-Z? 2013 Honda CR-Z Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2013 Honda Model Lineup:
2013 Accord
2013 Accord Coupe
2013 Accord Crosstour
2013 Civic
2013 Civic Coupe
2013 Civic Hybrid
2013 Civic Si
2013 Civic Si Sedan
2013 CR-V
2013 CR-Z
2013 Fit
2013 Insight
2013 Odyssey
2013 Pilot
2013 Ridgeline
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2013 Honda CR-Z | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact