Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Honda Accord Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006

2013 Honda Accord

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Midsize Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 6
MPG: 24-27/34-37 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.4L I4 185HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 7 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Best Pick ?Consumers rated 2013 Honda Accord in the top 5% of 2013 model year vehicles.
Rank:
95%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2013 Honda Accord in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2013 Honda Accord also consider:
Submitted Sep 10, 2013

M K
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Honda Accord?
Power.
Styling.
Tech Features.

Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Honda Accord?
The V6 EX-L has HORRIBLE stereo sound quality. Very disappointed in the stereo - my 2010 Accord sounded great but the 2013 is crap.
Also very poor quality of carpets and floor mats.

2013 Honda Accord Review:
Looks great - drives great!
Cheap interior and poor sound quality.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 2, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Honda Accord?
The interior styling.
Ergonomics.
Technology (except no USB interface).

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Honda Accord?
Several different rattles.
Wind noise is too loud at highway speeds.

2009 Honda Accord Review:
I've had my car to the dealer a few times for rattles. Some were fixed, some were not.

The wind noise at highway speeds isn't loud enough to make conversation difficult, but it is too loud for a car that costs this much.

I do like the ergonomics for most of the controls. EXCEPT, the auxiliary port is inside the center console, under a removable tray, and behind a spring loaded cover. You cannot plug in your MP3 player to this port safely while driving as you can't clearly see what you're doing, and you need two hands due to the spring loaded cover; poor location.

The technology items (Bluetooth, navigation, voice recognition) all work well, with no major glitches. No Homelink available except in the V6 package, which is pretty ridiculous.

The car rides decent, but can be a little harsh over some bumps. The rattles are sometimes terrible. At one point when going over certain bumps, I could hear rattles coming from no less than six different locations. This has been an issue identified by some owners on a couple of Honda forums.

The stereo sounds decent. Automatic climate control works well; just set it and forget it.

Overall this is a nice car, but has some problems. I haven't had to replace the brake pads yet, but I only have 7000 miles on the car. Having to replace the brake pads at around 15-20,000 miles seems to be a recurring problem with owners.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Jan 11, 2009

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Honda Accord?
Good quality interior and exterior. Great handling. Fun to drive. I like the accessory port for MP3 player. Roomy interior and trunk.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Honda Accord?
More comfortable driver and front passenger seats. Better gas mileage. The gas mileage in this car with Variable Cylinder Management is worse than my parents 2006 EX-L V6 Accord!!

2008 Honda Accord Review:
This is my 5th Honda; this is the 17th Honda owned in my family. Overall, I am pleased with the car. We opted for an Accord this time because of the gas crunch. We were planning on an SUV or another van.....anyway, the gas mileage is not at all what we expected. We have a EX-L V6 with the "highly recommended" Variable Cylinder Management. We get 19 to 21 mpg combined and have gotten no better than 24 - 25 mpg highway. I have complained to the dealer, and they acted surprised and basically blew me off. Also the front seats are uncomfortable and extremely hard to get used to. They are very firm and have a pronounced lumbar arch which is very uncomfortable for trips any longer than a few minutes. It took me 6 months to get used to the seats. My husband (who is not the primary driver) still hates the seats. We did not notice this on the short test-drive. My parents own a 2006 V6 Accord and their seats are much more comfortable, and they get much better gas mileage. My in-laws own a 2004 V6 Camry and they get much better gas mileage. So much for technology!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 29, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Honda Accord?
Smooth engine.
Nimble handling.
Decent ride.
Good visibility.
Good brakes.
Roomy interior.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Honda Accord?
Body rattles.
Tinny radio.
Road/engine noise.
Dowdy styling inside and out.
Not totally reliable.

2007 Honda Accord Review:
I bought mine in April 2010 as a CPO vehicle from a Honda dealer. Overall it's a basic family sedan with a little bit of sports sedan DNA, as though its grandmother slept with a BMW. It's definitely more nimble and fun to drive than a Camry. The engine has good power and emits a nice growl at high RPM. Add in good gas mileage (about 28 in mixed driving), and you have a pretty good overall package.

There are problems, however. The body rattles on bumpy roads, although most other cars do that as well. Like most Hondas, there is relatively more road and engine noise than other cars. My Mennonite edition VP Automatic has a short list of standard features- it has a cheap tinny sounding radio and lacks variable intermittent wipers, power mirrors, and adjustable lumbar seats, although it does have AC and cruise control.

The car has not been totally reliable. The heat shield that protects the catalytic converter fell off on a busy highway. The repair was not covered by warranty and the dealer charged over $200 to fix it. Also, every time I take it in for an oil change the dealer hits me up for $200-$300 worth of "scheduled maintenance". It has not been an inexpensive car to own. I have had no problems with the brakes or transmission.

Overall I'd say Honda is on a downward trajectory. The newer cars are not as good as the old ones, and I don't know if I'd buy another one. I'm also not happy with the way the Honda dealers have treated me.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 26, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Honda Accord?
Looks and style.

Power with the V6 and fuel economy with the cylinder management system.

Handling is good, but not "sporty".

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Honda Accord?
Road noise!

Rear deck noise/rattle.

Head rest is very uncomfortable.

Cheap feeling interior.

2011 Honda Accord Review:
When shopping to replace my wife's Passat, she fell in love with the Honda Accord V6. We had test driven a Camry and Fusion prior. Camry was out because we didn't like the interior styling and Fusion was out because the salesman was so pushy and clingy that we didn't want to go back to the dealership.

The Accord is nice, but not 28K nice.

Road noise. It's pervasive. Not much else to say except that we're going to have sound deadening material put in.

Rear deck noise/rattle. When we got the car it was early spring and daily temps didn't exceed the 70's. Now that it's HOT, the rear deck bakes in the sun. After the deck gets hot, any movement causes noise. The radio causes an annoying buzzing. Road vibration causes buzzing and more. It's been to the dealership twice for this (they put foam tape in around the brake light) and while it's better, it's still there. I stumbled across this site today while trying to find a do-it-yourself fix. So far I just jammed pipe insulation in there and it seems to be 90% better.

The head restraint is always against the back of your head. My wife has to put the seat in a fair recline when she wears her hair in a bun (military) just to make it comfortable. No adjustment.

The interior is a bunch of cheap feeling plastic. We were used to the soft-touch interior of the VW. My Toyota has a nicer feel to the interior. Even the leather feels so-so.

We have the homelink system with bluetooth. When using the handsfree link, it works fine when at a stop. When moving, take into account all that road noise. We have to practically shout our side of the conversation while inclining our head towards the mic just so the other side can hear what we're saying.

Now that we've had the car for 3.5 months, I sometimes really regret buying the Accord. The Camry would have been quieter and smoother. The Ford had a nicer interior and less expensive. If we would have spent a few thousand more, we would have been up in the next class of cars.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 22, 2010
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Honda Accord?
Interior and exterior styling are best ever for this car.
The audio input is nice.
The 190hp four is good but I can tell I should have bought the six cylinder.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Honda Accord?
Better sound dampening as there is too much road noise.
The rattles from the front driver's side door and the back deck covering the speakers and the trunk are not what I was expecting from a Honda in 2009.

I may not buy another Honda if these things can't be fixed.

Also have a problem with the dash swelling in the middle at the top by the windshield. It's going to the shop for all the interior issues tonight. I hope they can fix them.

2009 Honda Accord Review:
Good car but with the quality issues from the interior I would definitely agree with other people that Honda is taking advantage of years being ranked high in quality and reliability to cut corners in building slightly lower quality cars.

I'm still happy with my car but at times I'm really disappointed with the rattles, fit and finish. I ask Honda to do better or I'll buy a Sonata with my money next time.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 23, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:2
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Honda Accord?
I have a LX-P model and I love the exterior style.
Very nice handling.

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Honda Accord?
Couple things:

1- Seats are really uncomfortable. My suggestion is before planing to buy an accord make a contract with a chiropractor.

2- Wind Noise & Engine Noise. The noise is killing me. You can't even talk to someone in your car when you driving down the highway. It's like one of the windows is open and all the wind noise comes inside the car. Even when you driving very slow steel you hearing the engine noise very loud. Basically this is the only sedan that I drove so far that makes sound like truck inside the cabin.

3- Air comes inside the car. I don't know it's my car issue or all the Accords are like this but when I drive my car in cold weather all cold air comes inside the car from the dashboard and specially around the string wheel. God my hands freezing.

4- Noise from every corner of the car. Specially from the center console around the shift knob and from the doors. Every morning I hear a new noise in my car. I took my car to the dealer and before anything they asked me what kind of car did you drive before this car? and when I answered why they told me because this noise are normal in Honda. NORMAL IN HONDA!!!!! NORMAL, I couldn't believe it.

2009 Honda Accord Review:
I know and I think everybody believes nothing is perfect. Even when you buy a very luxury car you can find some issue on it. Because everybody is different with different taste. But also I know some times fixing small things can make huge differences. In my case if I had choice I would definitely return my car and get my money back.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 22, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2008 Honda Accord?
I have the EXL V6 model.

Great smooth engine and transmission.

Nice handling and LOVE the traction and stability control with winter tires in the snow and ice. Drives like on rails. A solid drive whether empty or fully loaded.

Really enjoy the satellite radio - seldom listen to radio or CD's.

The auto dimming rear view mirror is an excellent feature.

Cons: How would you improve your 2008 Honda Accord?
Better quality control - interior creaks, especially from shifter console too much road noise.

Gas mileage not nearly as good as expected, even with cylinder management.

Too many buttons! Radio display poor with polarized sunglasses - no green light on AC button to tell if AC is on or off and writing is too small. HVAC controls and trunk design was better on older Accords.

I have owned three Accords and a number of other domestic and foreign vehicles and never had brakes wear out this fast.

Couldn't they have done the seat belt labels in another color than white or at least put the labels on the backside, out of sight?

Even though I have winter tires on separate rims, I have to recalibrate the TPMS sensors at each changeover - $70 per year.

2008 Honda Accord Review:
I bought my Accord early in November, 2007 and had a number of post-delivery door panel, door handle and hood adjustments, all rubber around doors had to be reglued, and trips back to the dealer for multiple creaking issues. Honda needs to get back for better quality control and ergonomics.

Contrary to some other reviewers, I have had no vibration or issues with the Variable Cylinder Management system.

Design of center console not great for storing cd cases and the accessory outlets should be more convenient.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 15, 2009
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2009 Honda Accord?
- Exterior and interior looks
- Wide variety of features
- Manual transmission available
- Interior room

Cons: How would you improve your 2009 Honda Accord?
***The rear brake pads wear far too quickly. Less than 5000 kms and the brakes are squealing like crazy. Honda is aware of the issue (although they claim it's regular wear and tear), but are not doing anything to resolve the issue***

2009 Honda Accord Review:
I fell in love with the new design. It looks great and drives well. I purchased the 4-door EX-L model in a manual transmission. I did a large amount of research before purchasing this car and found that it was really the best car for the price. The Honda Accord has always been a leader in its class for many reasons: reliability, performance and value.

All of this to say, I am extremely disappointed in my vehicle purchase. Apparently I should have done just a bit more research. The squealing brakes after less than 5000 kms (about 3000 miles) are completely unacceptable. I would never recommend purchasing this 2009 (or the 2008 model which has the exact same issue) model to anyone. It is not worth the hassle of having your pads/rotors replaced every 10,000 kms.

Honda has disappointed hundreds, if not thousands, of people by creating, marketing and selling such a product. Not only is the product disappointing, but so is Honda's response (or lack thereof) to the issue. Just because you have years of reliability behind you, does not mean it's ok to slack off and ignore the copious amounts of complaints you receive.

My advice: Do not buy this vehicle until Honda decides to issue a recall and fix this problem that cannot be ignored.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 21, 2013

Hatim Hamdani
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2007 Honda Accord?
I bought the car brand new. To date, I have only replaced rear brakes and a battery.
The car is outstanding.
It has a 4 cyl eng.
The tires were replaced at 70,000 KMS.
The gas mileage is excellent.
The ride is smooth and comfortable.

Cons: How would you improve your 2007 Honda Accord?
USB port, MP3 and dual steering wheel controls.
Service at Honda dealers a bit pricey.

2007 Honda Accord Review:
I am very happy with the Honda Accord. Prior to purchasing this Honda, I always purchased GM products and they were very expensive to maintain. The driving was no match to the Accord.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Honda Accord Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2013 Honda Accord?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Honda Accord? Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Honda Accord? 2013 Honda Accord Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2013 Honda Model Lineup:
2013 Accord
2013 Accord Coupe
2013 Accord Crosstour
2013 Civic
2013 Civic Coupe
2013 Civic Hybrid
2013 Civic Si
2013 Civic Si Sedan
2013 CR-V
2013 CR-Z
2013 Fit
2013 Insight
2013 Odyssey
2013 Pilot
2013 Ridgeline
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2013 Honda Accord | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact