Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Ford Flex Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009

2013 Ford Flex

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Sport Utility Vehicle
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 6
MPG: 17-18/23-25 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
3.5L V6 285HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 7 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2013 Ford Flex in the top 14% of 2013 model year vehicles.
Rank:
86%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2013 Ford Flex in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2013 Ford Flex also consider:
Submitted Aug 24, 2013
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Ford Flex?
I love the visibility through all of the windows. I love the lights on the outer mirrors when a car is in the blind spot. I love the auto tailgate. I love the 10-way Power Passenger Seat. I love the Sync. I love the Navigation. I love the Cruise Control which slows down or speeds up, depending upon the car up front. I love the auto windshield wiper in the rain. I love the 2-person seat and steering wheel placement.

Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Ford Flex?
Adding a sliding cushion onto the seat belts?


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 12, 2013
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Ford Flex?
I will start out by saying this is my 3rd Flex (2009, 2011 and 2013). I have purchased a limited each time. Always have fwd. This is the only Flex that I have had without a panoramic roof, don't seem to miss it.

What I like best about the 2013 Flex vs the earlier models is push button start, remote start and BLIS.

All of my Flexes to this point have been problem free, and I no reason to expect anything different from my 2013.

Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Ford Flex?
I honestly can think of nothing.

2013 Ford Flex Review:
For you nay sayers out there, drive one. You will become a believer.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 17, 2010

David Turgeon
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Ford Flex?
Pretty much everything, but these stand out the most:
1. EcoBoost engine.
2. Front seats.
3. Handling and stability.
4. Overall fit and finish.
5. Auto-park feature (it's truly amazing).

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Ford Flex?
1. Add a light to the glove box.
2. Powered steering wheel adjustment, rather than manual adjustment.
3. Active head restraints, to improve their angle.
4. Brake and gas pedals should be closer in height to each other.

That's it, folks. Other than the above, it's perfect right out of the box (pun intended).

2010 Ford Flex Review:
I own an EcoBoost Limited. The power, handling and smoothness of the drivetrain are simply amazing. Very stable and secure on the road, with good safety features. Very comfortable seats, with excellent visibility, driver position and controls.

We travel long distances with three cats and a dog; trust me, this thing holds a ton of stuff. I can't imagine a better vehicle for road trips.

It's the best vehicle I've ever owned, period.

If you get the EcoBoost engine and you parallel park a lot, be sure to get the self-park option.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Nov 23, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Ford Flex?
Comfortable seating and overall interior.
Mileage.
Engine performance.
Road stability.
Just about everything except for the price I had to pay.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Ford Flex?
Availability, mine was located in Kansas and I live in Oklahoma.
Easier option choices.

2010 Ford Flex Review:
I have severe neuropathy in my feet, legs and hips, so when I went in search of a new vehicle, my number 1 priority was comfort, ie no sport bucket seats. The kind that cup your rear and hips are killers for my condition.

My son tried to talk me out of the Flex, commenting that it looked like a toaster on wheels. I took him with me to test drive one and it was an instant love affair for him also.

This is a road trip addict's dream.

My daughter (she hates big cars) raved that the Flex practically drives itself, and I agree. The first time I sat in this car/truck/crossover, I was doomed to buy it.

Price was no issue. I was going to have to give up driving altogether had I not found and bought the perfect vehicle for me.

The fact that Ford took no federal money and that my first car purchase was a '69 Mustang played a small part in my decision.

I have had my Flex for a year now and I still love, love, love it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 15, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Ford Flex?
The Flex is extremely quiet, smooth riding, and great handling.

Taking a several-hundred-mile trip in it is not tiring at all.

It is the best vehicle that I have ever owned--have purchased around 25 new vehicles in my life including Ford, GM, and Nissan. I cannot think of another vehicle that I would prefer over the Flex.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Ford Flex?
I do not have any recommendations here. I don't share the concerns of other people with the headrests, steering wheel, fit and finish, and looks.

2010 Ford Flex Review:
The Flex is a great vehicle for a couple or for a family.

The gasoline mileage is reasonable for a vehicle of its size and weight--25+ mpg on the highway. Of course, it is big because it is capable of hauling 6-7 people in comfort.

I would like it if there were a little more room behind the third row of seats--making the vehicle around 6 inches longer.

It took me a few days getting used to backing the vehicle in tight spots, but that no longer bothers me; I don't have a camera.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 14, 2009
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Ford Flex?
The whole package is great, we were looking for a replacement of our GMC Suburban with more performance and better packaging without the mini-van or crossover look.

The twin turbo six speed with paddle shift makes this the sports car of people carriers. We own a C-6 Corvette and race a historic 63 Vet and this truck has about the best driving experience you could ever expect in a vehicle of this type, really fun, never feels big or heavy.

The quality control is excellent and interior trim level (Limited) great.

All the torque is in at 1500 RPM, gives a real punch at the bottom end, great for guys (zero soccer mum comments) and the wife loves it.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Ford Flex?
The features on the Limited really work, drive-train, nav, park assist, driver position all excellent.

Two things I miss from the C-6 are heads-up display and the turn signals flash three times with just one touch which is really great for lane changes. Add these two items and it would be perfect.

2010 Ford Flex Review:
The design team have done a great job in creating a truly different package. The Oakville assembly team have really got their act together, fit and finish, excellent, zero defects on delivery.

Ford need to advertise the nature of this beast much more as few people know about it. If you can only have one vehicle for a family and you still want something interesting to drive take a test drive with Ecoboost.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 10, 2014
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Ford Flex?
1. I love the wider view of the headlights because they greatly improve my night vision. I can see off to the sides and therefore can see where to make a turn.
2. I love that the cargo area is flat and huge when 2nd and 3rd row seats are down. Easily fits two 80# dogs, one 55# dog and one adult in back.
3. I love the rear view camera. I hadn't thought I wanted it but I am so glad I have it. Extra perks-it's wide view lets you see objects to the side that are not (yet) directly behind you and it totally lights up the view when backing up at night.
4. Good pick up with eco-boost, almost as good as previous V-8 for fast pull into traffic.
5. Windows large enough for good vision. Note: Windows major reason I purchased Ford Flex instead of Ford SUV. Previously owned and liked my 4 previous Eddie Bauer/Explorer/Mountaineer models. Could not tolerate SUV change to smaller, limited vision, windows. SUV window glass started at neck level, definitely not comfortable for a short person.
5. Premium sound system excellent.

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Ford Flex?
1. I would have larger front console by moving shifter to steering wheel.
2. I would have the cargo area made of a material that is not a dog hair magnet.
3. I would have 2nd row seats fold down all the way to back of front row seats so dogs don't fall down to floor (I had this feature on an early Explorer -maybe it doesn't work with 3rd row seats?)
4. Don't like 2nd row bucket seats (purchased used vehicle) because dogs fall down hole in the middle between seats, because can't find canvas cover that fits this configuration (re: con #2) and because it's easier to load things in a rectangle space than an odd shaped space. Had to build custom insert to be able to set down large dog bed behind driver.
5. I would have a cup holder (please Ford!) that can accommodate varying size cups.
6. Mileage not great when towing trailer.
7. Cannot tow heavier trailer with slide out.
8. Easier, more understandable and intuitive voice and touch commands Too much to learn and remember and, worse yet, too much to read while driving.
9. Cannot access many commands while driving. I get it but here's a great idea (not mine). How about a touch screen that could also pull out on an arm and lock-in facing the passenger for a "passenger only control mode". This would enable more functions to be available but more importantly, for safety, would allow the passenger to learn and operate the system, while the driver who could not see the screen in this mode, would not be able to assist or teach or do anything except watch the road (or switch back to regular dash mode).
10. Offer a medium color golden tan or taupe on seats and dash to lighten up the interior (needs to be darker than what's available to show less dirt -I've heard gold is the best color for that). I like black but am so tired of it. How many women do you think choose dark gray as a favorite color? Also, for women who don't look good in black or gray (yes, it matters, check with any interior decorator), tan or taupe is a good choice.

2011 Ford Flex Review:
I love my Flex! It's . . .
GREAT for a person who has problems with night vision.
GREAT for person who travels with dogs or hauls a lot.
GREAT for comfort.
GREAT style & color (Marine Blue).
GREAT in bad weather (AWD)
GREAT for peace of mind (0 problems).


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 17, 2009
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Ford Flex?
On the highway, it drives like a dream. With cruise control there is very little driver input-just point it where you want to go! I had a blowout with a rear tire on the highway, and the vehicle just sat down - no hint of a rollover or any other hazard. No damage to the rim either.

I drive twice a week over the Burlington Skyway where the winds have turned over tractor trailers. This week under severe wind conditions, the Flex got buffeted a bit, but it held its own. My old GMC Jimmy would have rolled or blown sideways under these two conditions (blowout and high winds).

It comes loaded with way cool standard features - I really love the heated seats, the backup alarm and the Sirius radio, AND that I can sync my cell phone and my Ipod for hands-free voice commands especially since that is the only legal way to use these things in Ontario.

The 2nd row seats fold with the push of a button and Finally I can get my two big dogs into the car easily without humping their unwilling butts into a high and hard to reach rear seat.

My tall wife loves the legroom in all the seats she has tried (and that's all of them).

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Ford Flex?
The backs of the rear seats could be made of a heartier material since we are doing a lot of renovating and envisage damage to the material with loading in of reno stuff.

Being a short guy, in the event of an accident I could see the driver airbag blowing me into the next world. Something less dramatic (yet just as efficient) would be nice. Adjustable pedals should be standard.

Parallel parking in a big city is heart-stopping (since I couldn't afford the park assist feature).

The front row headrests make it uncomfortable for everyone. They force me to look at my lap. Couldn't something be designed that just popped up if whiplash were inevitable?

Your owner manual sucks. Way too much information on child seating and not nearly enough information about what all those little buttons do. This needs major improvement.

I would like control over the AWD. My GMC Jimmy was too stupid to realize that conditions just became really hazardous and it needed my input to adjust. I'd like that here too.

One last thing - despite the value, the Flex is too expensive. I've never spent this much for a car even on my 1986 SAAB which was a superior vehicle in its time. I had that car for 16 years and it looked as good the day I sold it as the day I bought it. Too bad about the electrical problem.

2010 Ford Flex Review:
Despite my criticisms, I LOVE this car. The ride, the seats and the finish are beautiful, and I'm still finding places to store stuff. The fact that the manufacturing of it near my hometown and employing my neighbors is a big plus, and the fact that Ford didn't need the bailouts that GMC and Chrysler did gives me confidence that Ford will be there to back me up when I need them.

Best wishes to all.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 22, 2014

AJM
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2014 Ford Flex?
The complete package.

Cons: How would you improve your 2014 Ford Flex?
Gas refill in the center back or one on both sides.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 16, 2012

josh alvidrez
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2011 Ford Flex?
Everything. I traded my 07 Silverado for the Flex and I love it. It's quiet and rides smooth.

Cons: How would you improve your 2011 Ford Flex?
I wouldn't.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Ford Flex Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2013 Ford Flex?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Ford Flex? Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Ford Flex? 2013 Ford Flex Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2013 Ford Model Lineup:
2013 C-Max
2013 Econoline
2013 Edge
2013 Escape
2013 Expedition
2013 Explorer
2013 F-150
2013 F-250/F-350
2013 Fiesta
2013 Flex
2013 Focus
2013 Fusion
2013 Mustang
2013 Shelby GT 500
2013 Taurus
2013 Transit Connect
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2013 Ford Flex | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact