Log in
5.7 million people served. 3,978 users online. reviewLIFE Network
Select Ram 2500/3500 Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006

2013 Ram 2500/3500

2013 Ram 2500/3500
Vehicle Overview:
MSRP: $29,220 - $52,990
Invoice: $27,250 - $48,822
Vehicle Type: Pickup
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: N/A (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
5.7L V8 383HP
6.7L I6 383HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 11 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2013 Ram 2500/3500 in the top 50% of 2013 model year vehicles.
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2013 Ram 2500/3500 in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2013 Ram 2500/3500 also consider:
Submitted Nov 20, 2014

daniel
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Ram 2500/3500?
Great power, Good brakes, comfortable seats, with lots of cup holders and storage, charges dump trailer fast, aisin tranny responds quickly and downs shifts super quick, 19.5 mpg @65mph empty. 17mpg@75mph empty, run around town 16mpg empty. Hauling heavy 25,900lbs plus in town 9mpg with a heavy foot. Can't over heat engine.

Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Ram 2500/3500?
Don't load anything from the side of the truck, it will dent easy. Could use overload springs. Slight vibration from cummins at certain speeds, which I guess is normal for a cummins.

2013 Ram 2500/3500 Review:
Bought my concrete company truck in December 2013. Truck is a 3500 cummins st/tradesman with aisin tranny (non- dually). Paid $42,070. Have 27,xxx miles. I haven't had any troubles with this truck (thank you Jesus). We haul a dump trailer everywhere we go with skidsteer-concrete demo and gravel. It has no problem going down the road with 33,000lbs load(truck-trailer-payload) @ 65mph and stops that load. Factor break controller works great. Breaks have no spuggyness what so every. Good sound system. Jack brakes actually works. Love the longer back seats with little storage units. My truck has 6 cup holders which the guys totally use. Transmission shifts aggressively(down shifts) without hesitation, very smooth. The truck actually charges my dump trailer-12 dumps a day with no worries of the battery going dead. The jiff of it all, we (my guys) work this truck very hard 5 to 6 days (27xxx miles on it) a week and it hasn't let me down. This truck feels like it is made to work hard without wearing out early because of hard use.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 2, 2014
Performance:2
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Ram 2500/3500?
Liked Nearly everything but mine is a 2014 looks great, rides great, pulls great, comfortable. Right up until 11000 miles when pulling a trailer on the last leg of a 3000 mile trip. After crossing the desert in 100+ degree heat all day the temp. Outside dropped So I turned heater on and no warm air was produced . Turned off and back on and adjusted temp. Down, then up and it blew hot. 2 minutes later the temperature gauge rose to 3/4 and by the time I got to shoulder it was into the red with the light on. 1st repair attempt at dealer was a flush and fill. Picked up and got less than 1/2 mile and repeated problem. Took back to dealer and still there 500 miles from my home. No rental car, no nothing on a holiday weekend so rented a trailer and truck and hated car off gooseneck home. $67,000 truck and Ram left me hanging on a holiday weekend in a strange town. Customer service blows, dealer can't get it right, I'm sure they will make my payment while it's down, NOT!

Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Ram 2500/3500?
First off, don't strand your customers in a strange town over a holiday weekend after promising a rental, have Dodge customer service reps attend training in CUSTOMER SERVICE as their skills are lacking. Ought a be a law that if your $67,000.00 truck breaks down if under a year or at least 50,000 mi, you should get a similar vehicle loaner vehicle at no cost. They charge like crazy for these trucks and need to be accountable for failures . Especially with an extra several thousand dollars for the cummins engine upgrade. Also fuel mileage SUCKS HAVE BROKEN 10 MPG EMPTY, LOAD ED 5-8 MPG

2013 Ram 2500/3500 Review:
Pretty package but between issues, inability to repair, poor customer service and lousy fuel mileage. I begrudgingly REFUSE to recommend and cause someone else the grief and financial hardship that I am experiencing. Have a 2013 gmc Sierra 2500 HD Duramax diesel and have had 0 problems except for headlight moisture which they have replaced while servicing the truck without hesitation or B.S. regretting the Ram purchase at this point. I'll update review if they redeem themselves but not holding my breath at this point.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 11, 2014

David Humke
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Ram 2500/3500?
The interior is roomy, great seats, plenty of head room.

Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Ram 2500/3500?
Check engine light comes all the time. Customer Service at the dealership sucks! Truck has been in the shop 8 times for check engine light and on the last visit they tell me the issue is the pump on the DEF system.

2013 Ram 2500/3500 Review:
This is a 2013 Larmie Big Horn Meg Cab 4x4 with the Cummings Turbo. This was a $60K plus truck bought in late October of 2013 and has been in the service department 8 times for check engine light problems. Dodge needs to fix the DEF issues on the Cummings Turbo or they will lose a lot of customers.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 25, 2014
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Ram 2500/3500?
nice, heavy duty truck, gets pretty good mileage, safe, will tow and haul good, put together tightly

Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Ram 2500/3500?
no way to control vent system except through touch screen, screen can be a severe distraction while driving, fairly rough overall ride, basically terrible (not Aisen) tranny with lots of jerks & hard shifts & clanking going on.

2013 Ram 2500/3500 Review:
check engine light keeps coming on -- 3x now w/less than 5500 miles logged -- a major irritant because the dealer always wants me to leave the truck with them. I don't think they can fix it. Also engine surges up & down at first start in cold weather, dealer couldn't find the cause for that either. It's got some bugs in it, for sure.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 28, 2013
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Ram 2500/3500?
Love the truck but i hate it because it shakes and check engine light comes on all the time since day 1

Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Ram 2500/3500?
get rid of the shake and all the emissions crap and the def fuel witch is worthless.

2013 Ram 2500/3500 Review:
I have owned mopars my whole life and i will have to say-this 2013 Larmie Longhorn 3500 has been the worst. Since i bought this truck which i use for my business it has been in the shop more than 30 days and i have lost between 30-45 thousand in revenue. Front end has been totally replaced,new back tires along with brakes and rotors all done at 30 thousand miles. that was between 9-09-13 to 9-26-13 in the past 3 weeks its been back in the shop because of check engine lights,fuel filter,air filters that Chrysler made me pay and wouldn't cover it under warranty when there was nothing wrong with them,also they ran a diagnostic check on it it Iowa city,Ia and because they did not have time to fix in a half of a day on friday and was closed on the weekend and wanted me to stay and i said i couldn't stay they charged me another 250.00 and as of today they said they would not buy my truck back nor would they give me another truck and it still shakes as bad as it did and continuously breaks down.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 26, 2013

Todd Church
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Ram 2500/3500?
Awesome interior and exterior.
Lots of power.
Great mileage.
Teched-out!

Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Ram 2500/3500?
Improve? How?

2013 Ram 2500/3500 Review:
Truck is AWESOME! Customer service is very good as well.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 11, 2013
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:1
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Ram 2500/3500?
Good looking truck.
Excellent interior layout.
20 mpg.
Best seats I ever had in a truck.
Easy to drive / handle.
Lots of power.

Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Ram 2500/3500?
Maybe have Ford or Chevy for customer service! Ram CS sucks. Not that a map light is a big deal, but for $61 grand it should work, right. Been almost 6 months dealing with Ram Customer Service (it's a joke to call it that) they tell me they have no parts to repair it with and this is out of corporate office. I have contacted BBB and they didn't have any luck either.

2013 Ram 2500/3500 Review:
Terrible customer service. I have never had Ford or Chevy tell me they have no parts to repair a truck (see above map light). I'm just glad it's not a starter. The radio touch screen system locks up at times and I have to turn the truck on & off a few times to get it back working and the dash display will say audio off when it's on. The transmission really bangs at times at low speed or starting out. That being said overall I love the truck design. The DEF appears to use about 5 quarts per thousand miles. My average mpg is 20, not bad for a heavy duty truck (not towing). To bad they don't care once you leave the lot. Will not buy a Ram again. At least Ford & Chevy have parts.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 18, 2013

erik larsson
Performance:2
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:2
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Ram 2500/3500?
Looks great inside and out.

Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Ram 2500/3500?
Check engine light issues code P2459 diesel part filter
Regen freq.
Now the touch screen won't come on.

2013 Ram 2500/3500 Review:
What a big letdown over $60,000.00. Less than 1,000 miles and issues started. Now 3,000 miles and the problems just keep coming. I wish I didn't buy this truck.


Rate this review:
1
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 29, 2013

Mike Austin
Performance:3
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Ram 2500/3500?
Interior and layout!
Great comfort.

Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Ram 2500/3500?
Overpriced! Excessive issues with DEF and diesel particulate matter engine light! Within the first 30 days I had to visit the service department over 5 times for engine light.
Customer Service and processing! Had to request loaner vehicle although the sticker price was over 60k! Of the last 30 days I was without the vehicle because they were troubleshooting the engine check light related to diesel particulate matter!

2013 Ram 2500/3500 Review:
Love the overall vehicle but reliability and poor customer service may force me to find another brand! I have been brand loyal for over 25 years.


Rate this review:
1
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Aug 18, 2010

Wayne Bartlett
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Ram 2500/3500?
3500 dual wheel 4x4 diesel automatic laramie.
Acceptable ride.
Excellent noise level inside.
Transmission and exhaust brake in combo are top notch in mountains with 8000 lb trailer.
Driving empty truck is comparable to a gas engine in performance.
However: see cons.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Ram 2500/3500?
I replaced a 2005 3500 dodge 5.9 dually SLT standard shift 2wd with this truck, empty mpg 24 to 26 on the 05, loaded 15 to 17. The 2010 (5500 miles so far) 14mpg empty, 11.5 loaded. This is with the same exact load over the same exact roads at mostly the same speeds (65mph). I drive like your grandma. So much for technology.

2005, better (harder) paint, 2010 chips and scraps easy.

Interior plastic, my jury is still out, seems to be fading out very quickly.

2010 Ram 2500/3500 Review:
I believe Dodge needs to stop following the pack and start thinking for themselves in the 2500/3500 small truck segment. 90% of the buyers don't want or need 400 horsepower 600 lbs of torque. Offer a detune option to increase economy.

For generations Dodge trucks have been noted to have crap for springs, my 2010 right rear is already sagged 2" in 5500 miles, (yes, I do haul a 3500lb overhead camper) but they have had 40 years to figure this out, and can't do it. Look at the Kelderman rear suspension design, how come the manufacturers cannot do this setup in house.

Most buyers of 1 ton trucks will usually pull a fifthwheel or gooseneck trailer, so why not build crossmembers in the frame to accept the hitches. All manufacturers provide jacks that are useless for these trucks, wheres Dodge's lead the pack capabilities on this small issue.

I compared Dodge, Chevrolet, Ford when buying this time, and did the same as in political elections, went with the lesser of the three evils.

I own an RV storage facility and have lots of interaction with customers on their tow trucks, my observation:
Dodge - best engine;
Chevrolet - best transmission;
Ford - best body and frame.

General comments from customers - the 2010/11 Dodge 3500 will get a very in depth look for their next purchase as no one manufacturer seems to be ahead of the others.

Loaded Dodges in Houston run about $10,000.00 less than Ford or GM, that's a lot of diesel.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Ram 2500/3500 Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2013 Ram 2500/3500?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Ram 2500/3500? Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Ram 2500/3500? 2013 Ram 2500/3500 Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2013 Ram Model Lineup:
2013 1500
2013 2500/3500
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

If you have questions or comments, please contact us here.

©2006-2014 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2013 Ram 2500/3500 | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Advertise