Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Chevrolet Malibu Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2013 Chevrolet Malibu

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Midsize Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 6
MPG: 21-22/30-37 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
2.4L I4 197HP
3.6L V6 259HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 6 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2013 Chevrolet Malibu in the top 31% of 2013 model year vehicles.
Rank:
69%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2013 Chevrolet Malibu in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2013 Chevrolet Malibu also consider:
Submitted Apr 30, 2013

Rob Olsson
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Chevrolet Malibu?
Exterior styling, the car's electronics.

Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Chevrolet Malibu?
Increase back seat legroom, improve upon the extremely light steering.

2013 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
My new 2013 Chevy Malibu is an attractive, moderately comfortable mid-sized four door sedan. Fuel economy at 26 MPG is average for its segment. The car features many impressive bells and whistles including XM radio and Bluetooth smartphone integration. Chevrolet's OnStar system - basically a glorified pre-paid cell-phone subscription - is offered. The car features a large 7-inch screen which tends to wash out on sunny days. The view from the rear view camera is displayed here. It's fortunate that this car includes a rear view camera because the rear view from the driver's seat is very poor.

Those who prefer a more firm feel and much lumbar support will appreciate the seats in this car. Others will consider the seating hard and uncomfortable, especially on longer trips. Interior fit and finish is good on the LT trim. Some might find the two-toned seat color schemes on higher trim levels a bit gaudy and unrefined. All seats are quite firm regardless of whether they're leather or cloth. This car is very, very quiet. Wind noise is virtually non-existent at any speed.

Handling and especially steering are this car's Achilles heel. Handling is fair with a rather floaty ride with minimal road feel. But the electrically assisted power steering is far too light and sensitive for this driver's tastes. While it's adequate and borders on nimble on a winding country road, a long drive down a highway is like a tug of war with a very determined opponent who wants to lean right or left but never center. Minimal corrective driver inputs cause the car to veer ever so slightly in the opposite direction. The end result of this is not so much steering as it is a process of constant correction. As this is a new car with less than 200 miles it is possible that this driver is simply unaccustomed to the performance characteristics of this car. Or, it may work itself out as the car is broken in.

The 2.5 liter engine seems neurotic as it is smooth and competent at some points and at others seems lacking in confidence and torque. However, the 6-speed transmission is smooth and delivers a consistently refined performance whether on the freeway or driving at slower speeds.

This car's styling and overall build quality seem quite good, the paint and fit and finish on the exterior are are outstanding. Another strong point is the extremely quiet ride. But I do have other concerns: The uncertain feel of the engine, the steering, road-handling, and interior comfort quality all leave much to be desired. The electronics are great but as usual, OnStar falls short of delivering a competitive navigation system without charging a monthly fee which is disappointing. This car has potential but I don't see it fully realized this year. Therefore I give the 2013 Chevy Malibu a "C."


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Apr 7, 2010

Andy
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Malibu?
Have the SS sedan. Definitely the only way to go with Malibu's.

Roomy enough to sit 4 adequate sized adults very comfortably, sometimes 5.

The 3.9L engine is awesome. A lot of power at any speed. I still get an average of 20 in mostly city driving, which isn't too bad considering the size of the engine.

The car handles beautifully, kudos to the upgraded SS suspension and 18 inch wheels. Corners on a dime.

Dual exhaust adds nice appeal and exhaust note.

Side airbags are a plus.

Remote start is a nice add-on.

And I could keep going on...

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Malibu?
The 4 speed auto with manual mode is interesting. Would have preferred a shift gate, rather than a button control on the knob, but it still works. I wish it could have been maybe a six-speed auto like in the Pontiac G6's?

Interior is no eye-catcher. I would have liked to see more brightly lit gauges at night. And no other SS emblems in the interior other than on the steering wheel. Would have liked to seen maybe SS in the carpeting or the embroidered into the seats.

2006 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
The SS sedan is worth it. It looks and performs better than any other Malibu that Chevy offers. The engine sounds very smooth, yet is a powerhouse. The interior is comfortable, but Chevy could do a little better with their interior styling. It's functional, but it's not going to blow you away. And as much as I would prefer a different tranny setup, this Malibu is still a performer.

If you're looking for a car that's roomy, a performer, has got nice appeal to it, but yet don't want to spend the extra money, then I would strongly recommend the Malibu SS. You'll love it.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 3, 2009
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Chevrolet Malibu?
The vehicle looks very sporty for a "Family Sedan" especially the LTZ model with its well styled 18" wheels.

The ride is very smooth, quiet and comfortable seats are a big plus.

A nice dash/cockpit layout enhanced by the excellent two tone interior and leather seating surfaces give the Malibu LTZ an air of refined sophistication.

The 2.4 ltr. engine gives the car good pep and the paddle shifter on the column adds a bit of zoom when needed.

The care handles really well almost too well due to a bit of over-steer, but is very responsive to any situation.

Test drove the Accord but decided on the Malibu due to its better interior design, roominess and overall looks of the Malibu LTZ compared with the much smaller Accord.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Chevrolet Malibu?
As the other reviewer said the rear could be better designed, and by that only a change in the tail lights, not the shape of the rear is needed.

The car has a low opening and taller folks find it a bit difficult to enter the vehicle.

2010 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
Malibu LTZ is by far an outstanding car, many double takes are noticed while driving and the car couldn't be more comfortable. Great gas mileage makes one think they have a sort of "green vehicle" averaging up to 36 miles per gallon highway traveling at 70 mph.

Chevy has a real winner in the Malibu!!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 7, 2009

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Malibu?
Like almost everything. Was very affordable. Great gas mileage. I get around 30 mpg driving in rush hour traffic. I can get 35+ with careful driving on highway trips. Comfortable to drive and ride in. Can easily fit 2 carseats in back. 3 is a squeeze but we have done it. Exterior looks good. 54,000 miles and nothing has gone wrong. (We had to get new tires last year)

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Malibu?
Interior seems cheap but is comfortable and seems to be wearing well even with 2 small children and their "stuff"

Rattling noise in the dash. Dealer couldn't locate it. It drives my husband nuts so I get to drive it instead.(A pro for me)

Doesn't handle well in slippery conditions. Any thought of touching the brakes and it goes sideways.

2006 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
Overall, we have been very impressed with this car. We traded a dead Lumina with 220,000 miles for the Malibu with 1. Once the inital new car "look it only takes one try to start it; all the windows go up and down; all four doors open" glow wore off we were still impressed. The gas mileage is awesome. It is a smaller car but it is roomy on the inside. Recently we made a 4 hour drive with 3 adults and 2 kids in booster/carseats. The back seat was cozy but my 6 month pregnant sister was able to fit in the back seat comfortably. (We took turns driving) It is the first car I have ever been able to successfully parallel park.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 7, 2012
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Malibu?
Simply an easy car to drive. Comfortable, Quiet, Roomy, Good Gas Mileage, Nice instruments, Many power options are included in the base model, Reliable, Trip computer and Oil life Monitor, Regular maintenance tasks are easy, Bright headlights, Large trunk and rear seats fold down opening to trunk, Larger than expected rear seat room.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Malibu?
Small Glove Box, Interior show dirt and stains way too easily, Wiper control is confusing, Sunvisors break easily, Front suspension components wear out, Engine is noisey under load, Paint on radio controls wears off, Drink holders could be located better, Interior materials are cheap, Center armrest feels poorly made, Dome light switch feels cheap,

2006 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
This is a 4 cylinder, Mid size, Family Car. It is not a sports car. I wanted it to be quiet, comfortable, roomy and get good gas mileage. It has delivered slightly above average in all of these areas. Again I must say, it is simply easy and comfortable to drive and does not fall short in any area. I have over 100,000 miles on this car and I don't think I've spent more than $1,000 on repairs. I'm excluding tires and brakes and oil changes from this figure.

The car has a few minor flaws but hell, it's a cheap car to buy. It is true, that if you push hard on the gas, the engine gets loud and sounds rough but it's only a 4 cylinder and when you take it easy, the engine is quiet and smooth.

I am a conservative driver and I am very please with this car. I would rate it good to excellent on long trips and I have often seen 43 mpg U.S. whiie on interstate highways.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 18, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Chevrolet Malibu?
1. Good Mileage (have seen 30+ mpg, typically 27-29 on mostly highway driving).
2. Low Noise.
3. Interior & Exterior styling.
4. Good legroom in the back.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Chevrolet Malibu?
1. Bigger gas tank (good mileage, but want to more range).
2. A few more HP...would be willing to give up a little mpg, but not enough for the V6...maybe consider the 4-cyl Turbo from the Regal (but only if the gas tank gets bigger).
3. Wider ... hard to squeeze three in the back even for short trips.
4. More headroom in the back.

2010 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
22K miles, mostly long commutes and business trips. Overall happy with it.

When I'm driving colleagues out to lunch, most of whom are my size, (6+ ft. tall), the interior feels small. No way to get three in the back. Just an inch wider and an inch taller in back would make a big difference.

Have a long commute, and a bigger tank would be a plus.

Will get 380-420 miles on a tank (without sweating it too much). Was able to get 500+ in my old Altima.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Dec 28, 2010
Performance:3
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Chevrolet Malibu?
Sold my 1994 Pontiac Bonneville with 3.8 engine in April and replaced it with a 2010 Malibu 2LT. We have put 8400 miles on it, including a 3000 mile trip, so we know it pretty well. While it's no Bonneville, it is a good car that I would buy again.
1. Decent acceleration with the four cylinder and six speed trans
2. Highway mileage almost as advertised at 30 to 33 mpg
3. Interior is comfortable
4. Handles well
5. Looks good, even received compliment from stranger
6. Fold down rear seats allow us to carry skis inside the car
7. Bluetooth makes it very easy to use the cell phone in the car

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Chevrolet Malibu?
1. Hard to get in and out
2. Steering wheel buttons too small
3. Transmission/gas pedal way too slow to respond after coasting
4. City gas mileage is terrible, less than my V8 Oldsmobile Aurora
5. Tilt steering wheel needs to actually tilt up out of the way
6. Center console not comfortable

2010 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
The 2010 Malibu is a very good car. Though it isn't perfect, it compares very well against the Fusion, Camry and Accords that I have rented on business trips and I believe it is the superior car. It is great for an around town car even though the around town gas mileage is way lower than expected. It is also surprisingly comfortable and peppy on the highway. I would buy it again.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 15, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Chevrolet Malibu?
I just bought this car a few days ago and it took all of 24 hours for me to fall in love with it!

I love the redesign of the Malibu from it's boxier predecessor, and it has one of the smoothest rides I have experienced in a while.

It handles extremely well - I love the electronic power steering, though it does take a bit to get used to.

This is by far my favorite of the many cars I have purchased over the years.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Chevrolet Malibu?
I agree with the others that the trunk is somewhat awkward, but it is still very roomy.

I wish they would have moved the power jack over a bit, it seems to get in the way of the gear shift when the car is in park.

Also - I think the 33 mpg highway that Chevy proclaims may be stretching it a little, but it is all in how you drive the car.

2010 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
Overall - I really do love my Malibu. My husband swears by his Accord, but I think the Malibu definitely has him beat in styling and handling. I think the gas mileage of the Accord is probably a little better, but that is the only thing!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 13, 2010
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2006 Chevrolet Malibu?
Great gas mileage.

Styling could be better, but each time I stand back; I like it!

Fantastic performance on the 3.5 V-6 engine. Friend drove it from the British Columbia interior as I drove my Jaguar in lead. As we drove through the Canadian Rockies, I noticed this mild mannered, 65-year old woman taking the corners very aggressively and would accelerate, pulling up beside me and then fall back. I asked over the two-way radio what was she doing and her answer was a resounding Yahoooo!!! She owns a far more expensive car and stated she was absolutely impressed with the handling and performance. What more can I say?

Interior space is great.

Trunk space is great.

Cons: How would you improve your 2006 Chevrolet Malibu?
The dash is plan.

The seats show stains too easily and must be cleaned on a regular basis.

I have 140,000 kilometers on the ticker. Not impressed with the fact that there is an oil leak on the ground. I was informed that Chevy has a service note out on the fact the rear seals might have to be replaced on some cars.

Today noticed I have a hum from the front wheel bearings. Had it checked and sure enough, both bearings will have to be replaced. Bummer.

2006 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
OK for the next month I'm going to invest about $1,200 for repairs on a car that is four-years old. That equates to $25 a month of ownership.

I can think of other cars that had I replaced the same parts, I'd need to auction off my first born. Hummmm, maybe that's not a bad idea.

Overall, I love my Malibu.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 2, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Chevrolet Malibu?
Styling is very fresh with an understated look. Others have had issues with the tail lights, but I think they look great--especially the LTZ. Thank God they didn't put red plastic all over the back end like older Impalas.

Very quiet at cruising speeds. Comfortable seats.

4-cyl has plenty of smoothly delivered power and great gas mileage. (6 speed automatic is a must, however--the 4-speed transmission is rough shifting.)

Body very solid. Braking is excellent.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Chevrolet Malibu?
Standard Goodyear Eagle LS2 tires are AWFUL. Replaced them with Hankook Optoma's at 6,000 miles. What a difference in handling and ride!

Electric power steering with 4 cylinder engine feels numb (like most American cars).

Trunk opening is too small, and lip too high. Difficult to get anything larger than a valet case in.

Rattle in the trunk area drove me nuts until I discovered there are two recesses in the wheel well cover than fit over two tabs at the rear of the trunk causing the lid to buzz whenever any irregularity in pavement was crossed. Bad design--even the dealer couldn't find out what was causing the problem. Only my own perseverance saved the day. Buzz now gone.

2010 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
A winner for GM! Far from perfect, but better in most respects than either Camry or Accord. Priced somewhat higher than comparable imports, but substantial discounts from list make it more than competitive. This one's a keeper!


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Chevrolet Malibu Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2013 Chevrolet Malibu?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Chevrolet Malibu? Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Chevrolet Malibu? 2013 Chevrolet Malibu Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2013 Chevrolet Model Lineup:
2013 Avalanche
2013 Camaro
2013 Corvette
2013 Cruze
2013 Equinox
2013 Express
2013 Impala
2013 Malibu
2013 Silverado
2013 Silverado HD
2013 Sonic
2013 Spark
2013 Suburban
2013 Tahoe
2013 Traverse
2013 Volt
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2018 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2013 Chevrolet Malibu | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact